How do you rate Ropemaker Court?

credit: CRM Students
 image credit  |   report abuse
CRM Students

Most helpful review

I very much enjoyed my experience at Ropemaker Court this year. Despite the difficulties arising from the pandemic, the accommodation team managed to make the stay both fun and safe. The team were friendly and always inviting, making me feel very welcome, particularly Simon! The facilities at this accommodation are amazing. Arcade machines, football tables, tennis tables and a big TV room are examples of the recreational facilities available for students here. There is also a study room. The bedrooms are very spacious, equipped with great facilities, and the kitchen is more than satisfactory. I would definitely recommend this to people looking for a place to stay in the upcoming year!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1160680
On 2nd July 21

Manchester Hall Rankings


Manchester Court #2
Park View #3
Saint Anselm Hall #4
Birley #5
Ropemaker Court #6
Hulme Hall #7
Denmark Road #8
Oak House #9
Woolton Hall #10
Richmond Park #11

All Student Accommodation in Manchester


Most helpful review

I very much enjoyed my experience at Ropemaker Court this year. Despite the difficulties arising from the pandemic, the accommodation team managed to make the stay both fun and safe. The team were friendly and always inviting, making me feel very welcome, particularly Simon! The facilities at this accommodation are amazing. Arcade machines, football tables, tennis tables and a big TV room are examples of the recreational facilities available for students here. There is also a study room. The bedrooms are very spacious, equipped with great facilities, and the kitchen is more than satisfactory. I would definitely recommend this to people looking for a place to stay in the upcoming year!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1160680
On 2nd July 21

Q&A


Q
Do wardrobes have a shelf
By member562058 On 1st September 21
Q
How are houses within the Ropemaker court different from each other? Which one is the newest and cleanest?
By member560711 On 4th July 21
Q

Ask a new question about Ropemaker Court

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Ropemaker Court Reviews


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 4th July 21

Ropemaker Court is a great student accommodation in a few different ways: 1. The location is fantastic- uni is close, whitworth park nearby and shop/food places nearby. 2. The staff are fantastic. The reception team are friendly and work hard to help you have the best experience you can. Whenever I have had an issue with my room, the maintenance team ( in particular Steve-amazing!) sorts it out within an hour of me logging it. The security are also friendly and amicable. 3. The rooms are a decent size as well as the en-suite being a lot larger than other student accommodation I have seen. There is also a lot of storage- which is something I needed a lot.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 2nd July 21

Social experience was hampered by Covid-19 but nonetheless the accommodation is very modern and the staff are always helpful

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 2nd July 21

My experience at Ropemaker Court was overall a good experience. I felt that the accommodation looked stylish, the rooms were perfect size and the shared kitchens were nice. I thought the reception and staff were extremely helpful throughout my stay aswell as the security guards, in particular Scott. The only downside I had while staying here was that I found a mouse in our flat during winter. However, I understand that we live next to lots of restaurants and businesses where rodents would possible roam, and once I complained to the staff and maintenance, they quickly resolved the issues and no one in my flat came across one for the rest of the stay. If you are looking for a private accommodation in near fallowfield I would highly recommend Ropemaker as it is in a great location and has lots to offer for a student.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 2nd July 21

The rooms were clean, very comfortable, and the staff was amazing. There are many external activities as well and we just got treated with a bbq :D

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 2nd July 21

I very much enjoyed my experience at Ropemaker Court this year. Despite the difficulties arising from the pandemic, the accommodation team managed to make the stay both fun and safe. The team were friendly and always inviting, making me feel very welcome, particularly Simon! The facilities at this accommodation are amazing. Arcade machines, football tables, tennis tables and a big TV room are examples of the recreational facilities available for students here. There is also a study room. The bedrooms are very spacious, equipped with great facilities, and the kitchen is more than satisfactory. I would definitely recommend this to people looking for a place to stay in the upcoming year!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 30th June 21

It’s a really nice place with food places spas and many more around, it’s the best place for students and I would recommend it staff are really nice as well friendly and always there for you

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 21st June 21

Its an amazing accommodation to stay at. Its location is central as it is close to many supermarkets, restaurants, cafés, bus stops, University of Manchester etc. Rooms and kitchen have sufficient storage. Kitchens are cleaned every fortnight. I've stayed here for 2 years already and booked a room for my 3rd year as well. Rent is inclusive of all the bills including fast WiFi. I'd recommend students to stay here!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3 /5
By On 8th June 21

Decent accommodation in very convenient area. However there are regular maintenance problems.yet I would stay here again

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 8th June 21

Very good location but things can be improved

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3 /5
By On 23rd May 21

scott was a good help and always

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Ropemaker Court
On 1st June 21

Hi

 

Thank you for leaving us a 3* review for your stay with us.  We are really pleased that you found our Security Guard helpful. 

 

We noticed that you scored us low on the wifi and the cleaning and we wanted to reassure you that our Wifi provider is scheduled to upgrade our speed and connectivity during the summer months and thanks to restrictions being eased, our cleaner is now able to resume the fortnightly kitchen sparkle cleans to help our students keep on top of the communal areas in their flat.

 

We would like to take this opportunity to wish you every success with your future studies.

 

Kind regards

Jane & the Accommodation Team


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 21st May 21

lived here for 2 years already, staffs are really nice, rooms are clean and the kitchen is spacious. maintenance team works efficient as well.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Ropemaker Court
On 1st June 21

Hi,

 

Thank you for leaving a 5* review for Ropemaker Court.  We are really pleased that you enjoyed living here and that you found the accommodation spacious, and the staff helpful and efficient. 

On behalf of the team at Ropemaker Court we would like to wish you every success with your future studies.

 

Kind regards

Jane & the Ropemaker Court Accommodation Team


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 21st May 21

Friendly staff and great location

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Ropemaker Court
On 1st June 21

Hi

 

Thank you for leaving us a 5* review on Student Crowd.

 

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with our services and facilities.

 

We would like to take this opportunity to wish you every success with your future studies.

 

Kind regards

Jane & the Accommodation Team


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 21st May 21

Really good location and great place to stay

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Ropemaker Court
On 1st June 21

Hi

 

Thank you for leaving us a 5* review on Student Crowd.

 

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with our services and facilities.

 

We would like to take this opportunity to wish you every success with your future studies.

 

Kind regards

Jane & the Accommodation Team


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 20th May 21

I enjoyed my stay at CRM Ropemaker court. The location is excellent and the staffs were helpful.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Ropemaker Court
On 1st June 21

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 4* review on Student Crowd.  We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

 

We would like to take this opportunity to wish you every success with your future studies.

 

Kind regards

Jane & the Accommodation Team


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 17th May 21

Really enjoyed living here this year, team are very friendly and helpful and the accommodation is very safe and secure and has all the amenities you could want. Location is excellent, just next to Rusholme Lidl. Price for this and the quality is pretty good. Only thing I could improve would be wifi because it is temperamental, but this is the fault of Ask as I had them last year and they were equally poor then. The team here on site really do try to make your experience here a good one so I can’t recognise the reviews about rats etc from above, my experience has been totally opposite so take from that what you will!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Ropemaker Court
On 1st June 21

Hi

 

Thanks so much for leaving us a 4* review.   We are pleased that you found the staff friendly and helpful and more importantly that you felt safe throughout your stay.  We pride ourselves on the safety of Ropemaker Court and find that always having a Security Guard on site really helps our students to feel at ease.  We are pleased to say that our Wifi providers are carrying out some improvements to the speed and connectivity in the summer months which should mean that the service is even better for our students.

 

On behalf of the team at Ropemaker Court, we wish you every success with your future studies.

 

Kind regards

Jane & the Accommodation Team


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 17th May 21

The giveaways are awesome like the red bulls! Staff are friendly also!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Ropemaker Court
On 1st June 21

 

Hi

 

Thank you for leaving us a 4* review.  We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad you enjoyed the Red Bulls especially!  We enjoy leaving treats out for our students, and hopefully there will be some more soon!!

 

Good luck with your future studies.

 

Kind regards

Jane & the Accommodation Team


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 17th May 21

Really close to supermarkets and necessity stores (Lidl, Tesco, Superdry, etc). The rooms above the receptions are really quiet, rooms are newly refurbished. The staff and receptionists are all very welcoming and nice. Before I arrived at the accommodation, I posted all my belongings in three giant boxes to Ropemaker Court, the staff very kindly put the boxes in my room before I arrived. The bathroom has a towel rail, and there is a full-body mirror in the room which I like a lot. Very cozy and homey room. The curtains are absolutely great, they block the light very well. Overall very pleasant experience.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Ropemaker Court
On 1st June 21

Hi

 

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 4* review.

 

We are really pleased that you found the rooms cosy and the staff welcoming.  We are always happy for students to send any boxes in advance and we can arrange for them to be in their room when they arrive.

 

The supermarkets across the road are really handy for our students to grab any food or toiletries that they need.

 

We have taken on board that you were not totally happy with the wifi service, and you will be happy to hear that our Wifi providers are upgrading their service and connectivity in the summer months.

 

On behalf of the team at Ropemaker Court, we wish you lots of success with your future studies.

 

Kind regards

Jane & the Accommodation Team


Student Review: 2 /5
By On 8th March 21

This accommodation is literally infested with mice and rats. I have honestly lost count of the amount of rodents that have been reported in the past year. So much so, one flat mate found a dead mouse rotting underneath her bed. The flats had not been cleaned prior to our arrival, crumbs were all over the kitchen and the floors were sticky. The internet is appalling, yet they insist there’s nothing they can do about it. Most surrounding accommodation received compensation due to COVID, whilst they were not at their accommodation. We received absolutely nothing, as they couldn’t afford to give us a discount. This is despite them closing all social spaces in the accommodation, including study spaces. Not a lot of fridge/freezer space, and the hot water isn’t very reliable either. Don’t go here!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Ropemaker Court
On 2nd June 21

Hi

Thank you for sharing your experience on student crowd and I am sorry to read that your stay was below your expectations. I hope that you were in touch with us so we could address the concerns you had.

We have a 24 hours pest control response in place, unfortunately there are isolated incidents but there have never been any Rats inside the accommodation.

 

Our internet is provided by ASK4 and we do ask that students contact them directly in the first instance as you have signed up for their service.  However if you find Ask4 aren’t resolving your issue please let the site team know.  We can escalate the complaint with ASK4 and support you with resolution.  As an aside we are going to be receiving an upgrade to our service from ASK4 over this summer (2021). 

 

Throughout the lockdowns your Accommodation remained open and staffed, we increased cleaning across communal and high contact areas and only when Government restrictions forced us to, did we temporarily close some social spaces.  These are all back open now on a bookable basis with stepped up cleaning schemes in place.

 

If you are still a current resident please do contact us directly.

 

Thank you

Simon, CRM City Manager Manchester


Student Review: 1 /5
By On 5th March 21

FULL OF RATS , S***** WI-FI, RUDE STAFF No hot water most of the time, thin walls (can't get a good sleep because of al the noise) , Really small fridge space, staff is unhelpful, recurring rat problem that management doesn't deal with IGNORED STUDENTS PETITION TO REDUCE RENT DURING LOCKDOWN

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By On 23rd February 21

Can't lie it was s***, no parties, no one was very sociable and many are International students who keep to themselves. Wouldn't recommend for students wanting to have a good social life and it's a fair walk away from the main bars and clubs. Although the room was nice I really didn't enjoy my time here and I felt really isolated. On top of that when I went home for half term and couldn't return because of a national lockdown they wouldn't release my from my contract and have made me pay for the whole year even though I lived there for little over a month.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Ropemaker Court
On 2nd June 21

Hi

Thank you for sharing.  I am very sorry to read that you had a negative experience.

 

We do try very hard to please our residents but we do occasionally fall short.

 

Throughout the lock downs it was difficult to host events as Government restrictions meant we couldn’t have groups gathering.  We did host regular quizzes online through our dedicated social media channel @CRMManchester on Instagram with prizes for winning teams.  As restrictions eased we have stepped up this programme and recently carried out a really successful week of events for Mental Health Awareness.  We also did a Scavenger Hunt which proved really popular.  For students forced to self isolate we were able to bring up shopping and parcels, provide some basic necessities and keep in personal contact with a programme of well being calls.  At CRM students our residents welfare is central to our residences, so please do contact us at site to help identify what more we could have done to connect with you. 

 

Thank you

Simon, CRM City Manager Manchester


Considering Ropemaker Court?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.