How do you rate Cable Street?

credit: https://thestudenthousingcompany.com/sites/default/files/styles/side_image/public/text-image/TSHC%203657-.jpg
 image credit  |   report abuse
https://thestudenthousingcompany.com/sites/default/files/styles/side_image/public/text-image/TSHC%203657-.jpg

Cable Street

What are the top reasons for choosing Cable Street?

We spoke to The Student Housing Company to find out more:

1. It’s just a short bus ride away from the University of Lancaster, and only a 20-minute walk from the University of Cumbria.
2. It’s right in the heart of Lancaster city centre, with easy access to shops, cafes, and restaurants.
3. There’s high-speed 100MB broadband and Wi-Fi throughout the building.
4. Every flat comes with its own laundry machine for you to use.
5. You’ll benefit from having an on-site maintenance team.
6. There’s on-site bike storage and parking, so whichever mode of transport you use, you can be assured it will be safe and secure.

Rooms:

Cable Street offers different sized rooms within shared 3-5 bedroom flats, which are all great value for money. All rooms come with a comfy bed, study space, washbasin, and ample storage. Shared spaces include a fully kitted kitchen and dining area.

Lancaster Hall Rankings


St Leonard's House #1
Grizedale College #2
Luneside #3
Furness College #4
Fylde College #5
County College #6
Bowland College #7
Pendle College #8
Lonsdale College #9
Cartmel College #10

All Student Accommodation in Lancaster


Cable Street

What are the top reasons for choosing Cable Street?

We spoke to The Student Housing Company to find out more:

1. It’s just a short bus ride away from the University of Lancaster, and only a 20-minute walk from the University of Cumbria.
2. It’s right in the heart of Lancaster city centre, with easy access to shops, cafes, and restaurants.
3. There’s high-speed 100MB broadband and Wi-Fi throughout the building.
4. Every flat comes with its own laundry machine for you to use.
5. You’ll benefit from having an on-site maintenance team.
6. There’s on-site bike storage and parking, so whichever mode of transport you use, you can be assured it will be safe and secure.

Rooms:

Cable Street offers different sized rooms within shared 3-5 bedroom flats, which are all great value for money. All rooms come with a comfy bed, study space, washbasin, and ample storage. Shared spaces include a fully kitted kitchen and dining area.

Most helpful review

The staff is very helpful. The reaction of the company is fast when Covid-19. Even though I plan to stay for 2 years but only stay for 1 year due to Covid-19. The Cable Street still refund me the unused rental fee. Also, when arranging for the moving, the staff is very kind and keep helping for checking my belongings since I am not in the UK. Overall, the experience to stay in Cable Street is very good.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member860449
On 23rd June 21

Read Cable Street Reviews


Student Review: 1 /5
By member1360580 On 28th June 21

This company is reprehensible and completely morally bankrupt. There have been no cleaning services AT ALL for the past year and a half and they have not adjusted their prices for it even though students are paying more for less. Obviously many students, including friends of mine, have been unable to stay or return to the UK and of course TSHC has refused to refund them at all. In addition, they left a FIRE DOOR broken in my flat for 5 MONTHS after I told them, which is a serious fire hazard and ILLEGAL. There have been other issues such as internet problems and the office not being open when it should. Please do not stay here. Do not give them your money.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cable Street
On 29th June 21

Thank you for your review.

We are truly sorry that you feel we haven't reached your expectations during this difficult year.  Due to Covid-19 restrictions and local government guidelines, internal cleaning services have been terminated.  This is to protect tenants and staff during the pandemic.  All tenants were notified of this prior to their contracts commencing.

Please accept our apologies for restricting the office opening hours due to the pandemic.  As you may have seen, the office has been operating at normal opening times, Mon- Fri 9am til 5pm since the lockdown ended.

We are very sorry that you have not been happy during these unprecedented times.  The Student Housing Company have offered refunds to all those who have been directly affected by Covid-19.  We feel that we have gone above and beyond to make tenants comfortable and safe, however, this has meant a reduction in some services provided.


Student Review: 5 /5
By member860449 On 23rd June 21

The staff is very helpful. The reaction of the company is fast when Covid-19. Even though I plan to stay for 2 years but only stay for 1 year due to Covid-19. The Cable Street still refund me the unused rental fee. Also, when arranging for the moving, the staff is very kind and keep helping for checking my belongings since I am not in the UK. Overall, the experience to stay in Cable Street is very good.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cable Street
On 24th June 21

Thank you for your kind review.  We strive to help our tenants wherever we can, and we are pleased that we have been able to exceed your expectations.  


Student Review: 2 /5
By member659254 On 28th May 21

You can definitely find better accommodation for the price of Cable Street or cheaper in Lancaster. Kitchen cupboard space is a minimum. Due to COVID, I was living in a 5 person flat as a group of 3 and still had to store some food in my bedroom as there wasn't the space in the kitchen. Being practically across the road from Sainsbury's is one of the advantages of living here. As is having the river round the back to be able to walk along. The Lancaster bus station is also across the road, but unless you're concerned about not getting a seat, you should get off/on at Common Garden Street as you can walk from the bus station to there faster than the bus. Unless you're moving in as a group, there is no social experience. Many of the tenants I've come across are International students who keep themselves to themselves. Wi-Fi is hit and miss. You get some good speeds but also frequent disconnects/lag, most noticeable if gaming.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cable Street
On 11th June 21

Thank you for your review.

We understand it has been very difficult for everyone during Covid times, however as restrictions are now beginning to lift, we are looking forward to hosting some great social events for our tenants in the near future!  We have our Annual Summer BBQ at the end of June- make sure you book on & join in!

With regards to the Wi-Fi, as you will know from emails communicated, there have been issues with the wi-fi this year.  A new wi-fi system is being installed in August 2021, which should eliminate the issue of disconnecting/ lagging whilst gaming.  We are really sorry that this has been a problem for you.

We are indeed in a beautiful location, having the River Lune on our doorstep, and Morecambe Bay just a short bus ride away.


Student Review: 4 /5
By member859153 On 28th May 21

Really great location in town and next door to Sainsbury's. Lots of the rooms have unique features that maintain the heritage of the buildings. Each room is equipped with ample storage space and a sink. The management team are fantastic and arrange multiple events and competitions throughout the year - there were still fun activities even with the restrictions of the covid-19 pandemic!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cable Street
On 11th June 21

Thanks for your lovely review!

We strive to provide the best student experience here at Cable Street, and try to create a fun yet homely atmosphere.

Our location is convenient as we are so close to the bus station, Sainsbury's and plenty of other amenities!

We are hoping that now the Covid 19 restrictions are beginning to lift, that we are able to host even more great social events for our tenants. Hope to see you there!


Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.