How do you rate The Depot?

credit: https://herestudents.com/location/exeter/the-depot/
 image credit  |   report abuse
https://herestudents.com/location/exeter/the-depot/

Most helpful review

Out of my four years at university, the Depot is definitely my most favourite (and the best!) student accommodation I have lived in. Aside from the amazing facilities, proximity to town and campus, the whole Depot Team are SO amazing! They have worked so hard to put on lots of great and varied events throughout this academic year, which my friends and I have really enjoyed getting involved with! All of the staff are so friendly and kind - always saying hello, checking in on us, helping us when we are in need and clearly communicating important information to us students. I would encourage anyone who is looking for accommodation to book here - it’s really great value for money and I have no doubt that you will have as wonderful a time as I have!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member567483
On 22nd March 22

Exeter Hall Rankings


Queen Street Studios #13
The Northfield #14
The Barn #15
Renslade House #16
The Depot #17
Iron Bridge Studios #18
Cricket Field Court #19
Birks Grange Village #20
Cook and Llewellyn Mews #21
James Owen Court #22

All Student Accommodation in Exeter


Most helpful review

Out of my four years at university, the Depot is definitely my most favourite (and the best!) student accommodation I have lived in. Aside from the amazing facilities, proximity to town and campus, the whole Depot Team are SO amazing! They have worked so hard to put on lots of great and varied events throughout this academic year, which my friends and I have really enjoyed getting involved with! All of the staff are so friendly and kind - always saying hello, checking in on us, helping us when we are in need and clearly communicating important information to us students. I would encourage anyone who is looking for accommodation to book here - it’s really great value for money and I have no doubt that you will have as wonderful a time as I have!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member567483
On 22nd March 22

Q&A


Q

Ask a new question about The Depot

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read The Depot Reviews


Student Review: 4 /5
By member1267581 On 25th March 22

The place is great, dormían Ian deserve a special comendstion for his funny caring and helpfull nature. Only real comolain is the usebof circuit loundry which is the worst service ever and a scar and should be ilegal and I hope I NEVER have to deal with then again.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 28th March 22

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. I will be sure to pass on your lovely feedback to Ian our security guard. I  do apologise you don't like using circuit laundry, i will check the machines and report back to them with any issues we identify. 


Student Review: 5 /5
By member567483 On 22nd March 22

Out of my four years at university, the Depot is definitely my most favourite (and the best!) student accommodation I have lived in. Aside from the amazing facilities, proximity to town and campus, the whole Depot Team are SO amazing! They have worked so hard to put on lots of great and varied events throughout this academic year, which my friends and I have really enjoyed getting involved with! All of the staff are so friendly and kind - always saying hello, checking in on us, helping us when we are in need and clearly communicating important information to us students. I would encourage anyone who is looking for accommodation to book here - it’s really great value for money and I have no doubt that you will have as wonderful a time as I have!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 23rd March 22

Thank you so much for your lovely review.  It is so lovely to hear that you have loved living at the Depot and you and your friends enjoy all the events and activities. We have lots more planned for the rest of the year so looking forward to seeing you at those. 


Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member1067277 On 15th March 22

The Depot is amazing! It's located in the city center with everything so close. The building in itself is fantastic, with lots of social spaces such as a gym, study area & social events space which has a pool table, table football and bunch of ping pong tables. There is a slight issue with how clean the place is but it's an issue in the courtyard & not inside and it's more due to the students, rather than any staff negligence. The managment is absolutely fabulous! Constantly organising a wide range of events that would definitely suit everyone, ranging from parties, film nights, ping pong tournamets to social cause events. They respond to issues very quickly & effectively, and that's for the maintenance too! Slight issue for me is the mail as we do not get notified if something we aren't aware of comes through the post, but it's also understandable considering the sheer amount of packages coming in everyday. Overall, it is a great place to live, hence why I have rebooked twice now:)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 17th March 22

Thank you for you review of the Depot.  We love that you have rebooked twice to live here now.  It is great to hear how much you enjoy the variety of social events that we put on, please feel free to get in touch with any recommendations of other things you would like us to host. We agree that the courtyard can get a bit messy, the seagulls don't help but please know that we are working on something that will hopefully make this much better for you all.  Your points regarding the post are also very valid and we are too looking at alterntaive ways to manage the parcels so that the issue you have mentioned is resolved.  Thank you again for taking the time to review your personal experience of the Depot.


Student Review: 3.7 /5
By member767272 On 15th March 22

Great staff at reception and is in a great location in the city.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 17th March 22

Thank you for your lovely review of The Depot. 


Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member867249 On 14th March 22

My room has everything I need and I am more than happy and comfortable living there. It is very spacious and has loads of storage space for all my things. The best thing about my room is the en-suite shower and of course my comfortable bed.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 17th March 22

Thank you for your very kind review. It is great to hear that you are happy and comfortable living with us and that you enjoy your room and the privacy of your own en-suite bathroom.


Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member1267229 On 14th March 22

Absolutely love the location, my room, and the management. It must be noted that Emily is incredibly dedicated to her role on the building management, and has made living in the Depot a pleasure. The presence of the gym adds to the experience, and the convenience of the reception and all night security team leaves no issue unturned. The only real concern, and if being honest, it is on the students living in my section of the building, is cleanliness. The students tend to leave their garbage behind in the common hallways, which then tracks other dirt.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 17th March 22

Emily will be delighted to hear these lovely words, she works tiredlessly to ensure you all have a fantastic experience at The Depot. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention we will certainly do all we can to control this for you so that you enjoy your stay that little bit more. 


Student Review: 5 /5
By member467209 On 13th March 22

Couldn’t ask for a better student accommodation! The depot gives off a hotel vibe with an affordable rent price. Personally, I think the gym is what sets the depot apart from other student accommodations. It is convenient in terms of location (it’s literally 2 seconds away from my doorstep!!) and allows you to build that summer body that you always wanted or to impress your crush. This is definitely the reason why I am applying again to stay at the Depot for the next academic year.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 14th March 22

Thank you for your lovely review.  We a delighted to hear that you love living at The Depot so much you have rebooked for next year! We think the gym is a fabulous addition to the property and glad to hear that you as residents love it too. 


Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member667182 On 12th March 22

Great location with lots of space and a wide range of amenities although some require maintenance eg washing machines. The shower heads have restricted range of movements which make showering less convenient but it’s for safety reasons (eg risk of asphyxiation) and therefore understandable. It’s very convenient location but being so proximal to the bus station means the noises can be quite disruptive at night especially with the windows open. With a lot of residents’ mails and parcels to sort there are occasional mixups but the accommodation staff are usually professional and quick to resolve any issues.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 17th March 22

Thank you for taking the time to make a review of The Depot. We will take an extra look at the washing machines and report to circuit laundry if there are any maintenace requirements.  Thank you for your feedback regarding the parcels its lovely to hear that the team are professional and quick at resolving any issues for you.  We are currently reviewing alternative options for parcels so remove any of the current hiccups we encounter but we want to ensure we chosoe the perfect solution. 


Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member1367095 On 10th March 22

The staff are so friendly and helpful, even when I had to move out suddenly, they were able to quickly find someone to pick up my contract and help me with the move out process!!! The service is outstanding!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 14th March 22

Thank you for taking time to review The Depot.  I am glad the team were able to provide great customer service for you. 


Student Review: 3.6 /5
By member467092 On 10th March 22

Very good environment apart from the noises during the night. The wifi is a bit glitchy but it's livable. the rooms are very comfy and the price is reasonable. I would recommend this place

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 25th March 22

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.  Its great to hear that you would recommend us. Please to speak to us about the interent as if we know what part of the building you are in we can have a look to see if there is anything that can be done to improve this for you. 


Student Review: 5 /5
By member867073 On 10th March 22

From the staff, to the location and the building/facilities itself - everything is perfect. Would highly recommend!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 14th March 22

We love that you enjoy living at The Depot so much, thank you for finding the time to write a review. 


Student Review: 3.4 /5
By member1067054 On 9th March 22

Very friendly atmosphere, recently moved to the Depot from a different student accommodation and I feel so much more at home here

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 14th March 22

It's so lovely to hear that you feel more at home here.  Thank you for taking the time to review us. 


Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member567050 On 9th March 22

Depot has become Home. I feel like everyone is a part of this big family, and you don’t see that in a lot of accommodations. The Depot houses awesome people like me, so that’s a big plus too. (Also Emily and Tabby are g’s)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 17th March 22

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your time living here at The Depot. We agree that our residents are all awesome and we love having you all here! Emily and Tabs will appreciate your kind words.  Thank you. 


Student Review: 4.1 /5
By member567048 On 9th March 22

Having been given the Depot by the university, I was originally a little sceptical, knowing so many people that had on-campus accommodation. However, after 6 months at the Depot, I wouldn’t change it at all, and I am looking forward to staying here again next year. The rooms are brilliant, the building is lovely, the staff are so helpful and the location is perfect, so close to town and only a short 15 min walk to the university. Whether you apply privately, or you are given the Depot by the university, do not worry as you will have an amazing time!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 17th March 22

I'ts always so lovely to hear from residents that have been placed here from the University who turn out to really enjoy their time here. We are delighted that you love it so much you have booked again for next year. 


Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member1067046 On 9th March 22

It is a very student friendly accommodation situated in the heart of the city of Exeter. The Streatham Campus is only 15/20 mins of walk on an average day. I would highly recommend you to go for the 6/7 sharing en-suite flat as it gives you a private yet enough space to enjoy with your flat mates when you need them the most. The maintenance response is quick and rapid thus if incase there is any issue it can be taken care of readily. Safety and Security is top notch with 24*7 availability of someone who could help if you ever feel unsafe or have an issue, which is something that would never happen. The staff specially Emily and Tabby are like my close friends now who I look up to, not only they helped me find suitable flatmates but also they are always there for me if I want to talk about anything. It is a home away from home! highly recommended for people who like to party as all clubs are walking distance. Grocery stores right around the corner. Thank you!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 20th March 22

Thank you very much for you kind review.  I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to both Tabby and Emily. We are pleased that there is so much about living at The Depot that you love. 


Student Review: 2.7 /5
By member867045 On 9th March 22

The Depot’s infancy becomes very apparent once you have lived here. Firstly, whilst the staff members are all friendly, I do not believe they necessarily have a firm grasp on the needs and wants of students. As an example, they have attempted to put on social events yet turn-out rates have been embarrassingly low, given the number of residents. Secondly, The Depot lacks identify and sense of community. Thirdly, given the amount of money that any of the rooms command, they come worthfully under-equipped. Standard equipment/appliances that most halls provide (kettle, toaster, dustpan and brush, etc) I have had to buy myself. Moreover, no cleaning of bedrooms and kitchens is another noticeable standard service that isn’t included. In my opinion it’s unrivaled location to both St Luke’s and Streatham Campuses and the city centre, its modern finish and gym facilities are the only characteristics which can possibly justify its price.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 11th April 22

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.  We appreciate all types of feedback so that we can strive to continually improve. We are sorry to hear that you find some of the social events aren't suitable for the students within the building.  We continually try to design activities and events that a wide variety of students would like to be involved in.  We agree some are more poular than others but we review how succesful they have been after every one and adjust accordingly. We also welcome any ideas from students/residents so please do feel free to get in touch if you have any ideas and we will happily discuss and support. We are glad you feel the facilities have a modern characteristics. Thanks again for your feedback its very vaulable for us. 


Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member76704 On 9th March 22

The location of the depot is great, near city centre and a short walk to campus. Rooms are nicely refurbished with adequate storage spaces. Staff are helpful at most times. However, social spaces are always dirty and people smoke every night, leaving lots of cigarette ends in the courtyard. Perhaps more cleaning equipment (e.g. wipes, more bins) could be provided to encourage people to clean up after themselves. The post collection system is also not ideal, only 3 time-slots are available each day to collect your parcels (4 hours in total). This is extremely inconvenient as some students may have lectures or meetings all day, making it difficult to go to reception to collect parcels within that 1.5/1 hour time slot. The queue to collect parcels during each time slot is also quite long. It would be best if parcels can be collected anytime to better accommodate the large amount of students waiting to collect their parcels every day.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 11th April 22

Thank you for taking the time to review The Depot. We are delighted you find the rooms nicely decorated and provide adequate storage.  We agree that the cleaning is a slight issue at times and we are currently reviewing options to see this improve.  There is a strictly no smoking policy within the building and we strive to get residents to abide by this with the support of secuirty and we will continue to do so. The recent additional no smoking signs added to the tables is evidence of this. Due to the amount of residents on site we have to have allocated parcel times that being said same as the cleaning we are reviewing many different postal options to improve this service but we need to ensure that whatever we implement is perfect and not only allows parcels to be collected at any time but also notifys you when its been safely delivered. I appreciate that its not perfect for you all now but thats why there is a late slot during secuirties time for those of you that are out all day.  Hopefully there will be a new system very soon. Thank you again for taking the time as feedback does allow us to continually improve. 


Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member1167041 On 9th March 22

The location of the depot is great, near city centre and a short walk to campus. Rooms are nicely refurbished with adequate storage spaces. Staff are helpful at most times. However, social spaces are always dirty and people smoke every night, leaving lots of cigarette ends in the courtyard. Perhaps more cleaning equipment (e.g. wipes, more bins) could be provided to encourage people to clean up after themselves. The post collection system is also not ideal, only 3 time-slots are available each day to collect your parcels (4 hours in total). This is extremely inconvenient as some students may have lectures or meetings all day, making it difficult to go to reception to collect parcels within that 1.5/1 hour time slot. The queue to collect parcels during each time slot is also quite long. It would be best if parcels can be collected anytime to better accommodate the large amount of students waiting to collect their parcels every day.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 11th April 22

Thank you for taking the time to review The Depot. We are delighted you find the rooms nicely decorated and provide adequate storage.  We agree that the cleaning is a slight issue at times and we are currently reviewing options to see this improve.  There is a strictly no smoking policy within the building and we strive to get residents to abide by this with the support of secuirty and we will continue to do so. The recent additional no smoking signs added to the tables is evidence of this. Due to the amount of residents on site we have to have allocated parcel times that being said same as the cleaning we are reviewing many different postal options to improve this service but we need to ensure that whatever we implement is perfect and not only allows parcels to be collected at any time but also notifys you when its been safely delivered. I appreciate that its not perfect for you all now but thats why there is a late slot during secuirties time for those of you that are out all day.  Hopefully there will be a new system very soon. Thank you again for taking the time as feedback does allow us to continually improve. 


Student Review: 4.4 /5
By member967039 On 9th March 22

Friendly staff, who went above and beyond to deal with any issues. The Depot is minutes away from the city centre and has a gym, social space and study space which are always clean. Both university campuses are a short walk away, and the bus station is right outside the Depot, so getting to work is quick and easy.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 17th March 22

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a a review on your time living here at The Depot. We agree the location for both University and town is perfect and we are glad you think so too. 


Student Review: 3.7 /5
By member867038 On 9th March 22

I’ve really enjoyed my time at The Depot. I love the communal social spaces, they’re always well kept and a great place to hang out and the events hosted in them are lovely. The flats too are great I was worried living in an 11 person flat would be overwhelming but the spacious kitchens means it never feels crowded and you always have plenty of your own space in your room. The only issue my flat has had is our fuse going in the kitchen every now and then but the super friendly reception team and maintenance are more than happy to come and help so any major issues are fixed pretty quick.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 20th March 22

We are glad to hear that you have lovely living at The Depot and that you feel like you have enough of your own space within your flat. Shame to hear that there is a fuse that keeps tripping however i am pleased to hear that its always quickly resolved for you.  We will be sure to take a look at it so that it has more of a long term solution for you. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. 


Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member567037 On 9th March 22

Excellent location close to the city centre, fast WIFI and a lot more amenities than other accommodations have to offer as well as friendly and hard working staff.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 20th March 22

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. 


Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member467033 On 9th March 22

I loved the two years I have lived here in Bampfylde street, it genuinely feels like a home here. The staff have always been helpful and warm-hearted, could not have imagined a better place to stay in Exeter. The regular rooms have plenty of space, and a lot of cupboard and shelf space. Personally, I lived in an 11-person cluster and the kitchen was huge, it really created a good sense of community. The common areas are also really good. They can be a little better at washing and removing rubbish, but other than that they have been perfect. The convenience of living downtown Exeter can also not be missed; with short walks to everything and city-bikes readily available just a few meters away.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 25th March 22

Thank you so much for your review its great that you enjoy a number of different aspects of the building. We agree with you that the rubbish can be an issue at time, the seagulls don't help but please know we are looking at various different options to improve this for all our residents. It is great to hear that the staff have always been helpful I will be sure to pass on your comments.  


Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member467032 On 9th March 22

This is my second year in the depot and it genuinely feels like home, I love the space you get in the 11-cluster apartment (and the view that comes with it), compared to the rather claustrophobic kitchen I had in another student accommodation. The rooms are modern and have fresh feel, and the sense of community is great. One of the only negative experiences I've had is that there is sometimes garbage in the courtyard (but that's mostly the seagulls fault).

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 25th March 22

Thank you so much for you lovely feedback and we love so much that you feel there is a real community feel.  We agree with you that the rubbish can be an issue and that the seagulls dont help but we are reviewing many different options to improve this for you all. Thank you so much for staying here for 2 years we love having you here. 


Student Review: 5 /5
By member767031 On 9th March 22

I really can’t fault it! The style is modern (a rarity amongst student accommodation) and it also has so much opportunity to make it your own! There is plenty or storage and truly has everything you need. The staff are lovely and are willing to help as soon as you have a problem. There are also plenty of events held if you’re around and wanted something to do! Also you’re right in the city centre which is really handy! All in all a top quality place to stay :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 11th April 22

Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review.  We are delighted that you love living here and that you find there to be enough storage.  I'ts great to hear that you find the staff very helpful too. 


Student Review: 4 /5
By member967029 On 9th March 22

The depot is great! There are no cleaning services that I have seen, so hallways and corridors end up being dirty, plus the courtyard gets very messy. The depot is right in town so a great location and 5 mins from st Luke’s campus and 15 from streatham. Lots of events are held which is fun and great way to socialise. The depot is expensive for student accommodation, you would expect bigger rooms and bigger kitchens and facilities for the money.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 11th April 22

Thank you for tkaing the time to write a lovely review. There are cleaning services through out the entire day although we are currently reviewing the times and quanties of cleaning as we agree that there could be some tweaks made so that our residents see a difference. We agree the location is also ideal for both campuses and we love that you enjoy the activities we put on so that you are able to socialise.  Sorry to hear that you find us expensive but feedback like this is very helpful so thank you again for taking the time to review us. 

 

 


Student Review: 4 /5
By member1367020 On 9th March 22

The staff have been excellent in general, always willing to help and provide additional support for students who may be having a hard time settling!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 17th March 22

It is always lovely to hear that our residents think the team are excellent.  We all love looking after you all to ensure you are happy and settled. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience of The Depot and the team. 


Student Review: 4.4 /5
By member1167019 On 9th March 22

The Depot serves as an astounding home for undergraduates and postgraduates here in Exeter. With the hosting of social events, the aesthetically pleasing interior and the many shops/services within the vicinity to stop by, The Depot is an accommodation home that I would highly recommend for students who are looking for a student accommodation.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 17th March 22

Thank you so much for you lovely review.  It is great to hear that you love the interior and socail events. we also agree that it is super handy that there are so many lovely shops and cafes within walking distance. 


Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member967016 On 8th March 22

Really great place to stay, spacious, a place with many memories

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 17th March 22

Thank you for your lovely review. 


Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member867013 On 8th March 22

This is an amazing accommodation with great quality amenities and living conditions. The staff are always very friendly and often organise social events for residents to partake in. This is simply *the* place to be!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 11th April 22

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.  It is so nice that you love living here and find the staff really helpful and that you enjoy the activities we put on. 


Student Review: 3.4 /5
By member1267012 On 8th March 22

It’s a nice accommodation as it provides different facilities for the students like gym, study room. It also decorated the accommodations really nice. But the only thing is I have been asked for a mirror for my room, it takes 6months but still haven’t come through. And the bin store is quite dirty and stinks sometimes.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 11th April 22

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review, we love that you love the facilities. We do apologise there was a long wait on the mirrors we had sever issues with the supplier however I believe Darren has now resolved these but if you are still waiting for one please do drop us an email and we will get that sorted for you.  Thanks again. 


Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member967007 On 8th March 22

By far the best student accommodation in Exeter. The location is perfect especially if you are studying at St Lukes, it is minutes away from the high street with loads of restaurants and two cinemas near by. There is also a cafe and co-op onsite which is very convenient. All of the facilities such as the gym and common room are modern, well equipped and well maintained. There are also lots of events for residents which helps you meet and get to know other students. The staff is super nice and helpful and any maintenance issues are resolved quickly. After having a terrible experience at a previous accommodation I am so glad I made the decision to stay at The Depot and couldn’t imagine staying anywhere else in Exeter.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 11th April 22

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.  We are delighted that you have come to stay with us and that you enjoy living here so much. 


Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member1367005 On 8th March 22

The Depot is definitely the best private accommodation in Exeter by far. The location is great, and they have really good facilities like the gym (exclusive and free for residents) and loads of space to study and socialise. All the rooms are really nice and modern. The staff are also very helpful. I've already rebooked for next year. I would not choose any other accommodation.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 11th April 22

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely reveiw. We are delighted that you love living here so much. 


Student Review: 5 /5
By member767002 On 8th March 22

A truly stunning place to live. Modern and clean accommodation with the most attentive and friendly staff. The facilities are unmatched from the beautiful new gym to the lovely under grad cafe. Defiantly somewhere you would want to live while her in Exeter!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 11th April 22

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time here at The Depot.  We agree with you and think the facilites such as the gym are a great addition. 


Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member667000 On 8th March 22

For me, The Depot is one of the best student accommodation in Exeter. The staffs are helpful and friendly. The location is quite good (just next to the bus station and some Asian store).

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 17th March 22

Thank you for your kind review, it is great the hear that you think The Depot is one of the best accomodations in Exeter, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team.


Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member566999 On 8th March 22

As an international student with home being so far away the depot has been amazing in providing me a home away from home! The facilities are amazing and are easily accessible within the building, as well as the numerous shops and necessities nearby that are well within walking distance. The staff are also wonderful, kind and so helpful with any queries I may have about the building or city and will do whatever they can to help! I always feel comfortable and at home here and it is genuinely a wonderful experience living here!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 11th April 22

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We love that you feel at home here. 


Student Review: 5 /5
By member566976 On 7th March 22

The Depot is an amazing student accommodation in the heart of Exeter! It is very close to the city centre, has a wonderful community atmosphere, and the staff (Emily, Louisa, Tabby, and Darren) are amazing! I have lived here for two years and I would definitely rebook! There is a very large courtyard with deckchairs, seating, and table tennis tables. There is also a huge event space area where I love to watch TV, play pool and table tennis, and hang out with my mates. I love using the on-site gym after a long day of working. There is also an amazing cafe right by reception that does amazing food and drink - especially their pancakes and coffees! There’s been so many events hosted by the staff recently, including buffets (with a TON of amazing food) and an upcoming table tennis tournament (which I cannot wait to take part in)!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 8th March 22

Thank you very much for your lovely review.  The team here at The Depot are delighted to hear how much you enjoy living here and how much you enjoy the social spaces. the activities and social events we host. We also love the amazing coffee shop next door, a firm favouroite of all of ours. 


Student Review: 3 /5
By member1165585 On 22nd January 22

This accommodation is comfortable, the gym inside and the social spaces are nice. The rooms are large with nice en-suites and kitchens. Security is a big issue, parcels are left on the side for anyone to walk in and take and the accommodation doors are almost always left unlocked. Bins are a huge issue, the 'bin store' has no-where near enough bins for the number of residents so bin bags are always loose on the floor with no space to even place your rubbish. There is no recycling space and the council have even refused to collect due to contamination currently. The staff are friendly but could do with training on customer service professionalism; frequently sending emails which are aggressive and unprofessional such as one titled 'this is not spam'. There's substantial building-work surrounding the building so there is constant drilling from 8am so not the place to live if you want to get study done. There are also frequent alarms and sirens from the Royal Mail opposite.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 1st February 22

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoy the new social spaces that were added in the summer of 2021, we love the gym and the outside study pods in particular.  It is also great that you like the design and layout of both the en-suites and the shared kitchens.

 

In regards to the parcels and the bin store we agree with you that there has been a few issues, the Depot has never been this full due to its first year being in a covid era.  It's so great to now have the building a full occupancy but sadly that has brought up some operational issues.  We have since made some changes to allow for more space for parcel storage whilst we explore more substansial options to potentially bring in in due course. In relation to the bin store we have experienced a number of failed bin collections which due to the amount of residents we have on site causes the bins to overflow quite quickly.  We have now managed to overcome this issue and are also awaiting the delivery of more bins which again should solve the issue of limited space as long as the general waste and recycling bins are used correctly. 

 

In regards to the staff this feedback is really valuable to us as we are continually looking for ways to improve, I have noted your feedback on the subject of email headings and whilst they have been worded so that residents know it's important I will ensure that emails of that nature are not sent out again in the future. 

 

I believe there has been some work on the bus stop across the road which has been carried out by Exeter City Council although I believe that that has now come to an end, the same with any work going on within the building.  We made sure there were strict timelines in place so that the work was carried out at suitable times to minimise the disruption to any residents and where possible we have provioded pre warning in order to inform you have any noise distrubtion.  These works have now also been completed so I hope you find some comfort in there being no more building work within the property. 

 

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to make a review, your feedback to us is invaluable so we can continue to improve and ensure that all our residents enjoy living here. 


Student Review: 2.7 /5
By member450022 On 24th July 20

Studio nowhere near as well equipped as Northfield, but the main problem is that the rooms are unbearably hot, making it impossible to get to sleep at night, thus the review written at 0400am. Windows are barely able to open due to the security bar, which it is not possible to remove.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Depot On 11th April 22

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Depot.  Feedback is really valuable to us and we are also looking to continally improve.  I am sorry yu find the rooms hot, we have made some adjustments to the heating so I do hope you have noticed a difference.  I am afraid the windows must have safety restrictors on them for saftely reasons.  Thank you again for taking the time to write us a review we really do appreciate it. 


Considering The Depot?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.