How do you rate LIV Student Sheffield?

credit: https://livstudent.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/6981955.jpg
 image credit  |   report abuse
https://livstudent.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/6981955.jpg

Most helpful review

Nothing is ever too much for the staff, they’re very welcoming and helpful.. Social spaces are brilliant and cleaned regularly… Rooms in apartments are spacious and the shared areas are very comfortable with a very good quality TV and soundbar… Studios are not worth the money as they don’t get anything provided; no tv, no toaster, no kettle, the oven is only a microwave and they are very small compared to the shared apartments. However the Shared apartments are brilliant. Location is also perfect, shops, nightlife and university campus on the doorstep.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member561193
On 21st July 21

Sheffield Hall Rankings


Charlotte Court #34
Devonshire Courtyard #35
The Anvil #36
The Trigon #37
LIV Student Sheffield #38
Hannah Court #39
Trippet Lane #40
Stanage Apartments #41
One Brittain Street #42
Laddow Studios #43

All Student Accommodation in Sheffield


Most helpful review

Nothing is ever too much for the staff, they’re very welcoming and helpful.. Social spaces are brilliant and cleaned regularly… Rooms in apartments are spacious and the shared areas are very comfortable with a very good quality TV and soundbar… Studios are not worth the money as they don’t get anything provided; no tv, no toaster, no kettle, the oven is only a microwave and they are very small compared to the shared apartments. However the Shared apartments are brilliant. Location is also perfect, shops, nightlife and university campus on the doorstep.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member561193
On 21st July 21

Q&A


Q
It is now May 2021 and have they got the new building Problems worked out or still poor especially things like hot water and amenities
By member658420 On 21st May 21
Reply from LIV Student Sheffield
On 3rd September 21

Hi! 

 

The hot water fluctuation issue that we experienced has been fully resolved since the beginning of this year. All of the promised ammenities are fully accessible and we will be even opening our 9th floor resident-only cafe from this month! 

 

Please feel free to give us a ring or drop an email if you have any other questions at all, we'd be happy to chat to you about them.

 

Thanks,

 

LIV Student Team

Reply from LIV Student Sheffield
On 3rd September 21

Hi! 

 

The hot water fluctuation issue that we experienced has been fully resolved since the beginning of this year. All of the promised ammenities are fully accessible and we will be even opening our 9th floor resident-only cafe from this month! 

 

Please feel free to give us a ring or drop an email if you have any other questions at all, we'd be happy to chat to you about them.

 

Thanks,

 

LIV Student Team

Q
Do residents have to buy a tv licence for the communal tv’s that are provided in the kitchen areas of the flats?
By member1053513 On 17th January 21
Reply from LIV Student Sheffield
On 3rd September 21

Thanks for your question! 

 

TV Licenses for TV's in shared apartments are not included. However it is a Smart TV so you are ableo to use Netflix / Amazon Prime Video and that does not require a TV License. If all flatmates agree to share the cost of a TV License we can show you how to purchase one.

 

Thanks,

 

LIV Student Team

Q
The accommodation has a lot of potential i would be lying if i said it doesn't but the management is horrible. The building was supposed to be finished in September. They then told us November then April and its still not finished. The cafe in the sky lounge only had a soft opening for a week and never reopened again. All in all the building was never ready to accommodate anyone this year. From p...
By member447112 On 3rd April 20
Reply from LIV Student Sheffield
On 3rd September 21

Thank you for your post.

 

We're sorry that you encountered some problems during your time at LIV Student. Rest assured the team have done everything possible to ensure that going forward none of the issues you faced reoccur. It's now September 2021 and we are ready and excited to welcome our next intake of residents - our 9th floor cafe will be fully operational, providing a student-friendly priced menu that's both delicious and nutritious! 

LIV Student did issue refunds for the academic year students of 2019/20 so we sincerely hope that clears up the second of your two points.

If there's anything else please do contact a member of the team who are willing and ready to chat with you.

Thanks,

LIV Student Team

Q
Dear liv management The recent coronavirus outbreak has meant that the overwhelming majority of students have been forced to return home. This has means that they are effectively paying over £2000 for nothing. Despite repeated requests, LIV have refused to allow residents to leave their contracts and issue a full refund. While LIV professes to ‘create student communities’ they have demonstrated...
By member1347094 On 2nd April 20
Q

Ask a new question about LIV Student Sheffield

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read LIV Student Sheffield Reviews


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 19th October 21

Management team are so friendly, they always go above and beyond! Great amount of events too.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 1 /5
By On 14th August 21

I can’t explain to you how bad this place is, stayed here for my first year and stayed through lockdown and can honestly say the place is disgusting. Staff are very young give emails about inspections and come 2 hours later. No hot water half the time, internet cuts out all the time even with a Ethernet cable and the internet on the phone is terrible. I have no good words to say about this place because it was a nightmare

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from LIV Student Sheffield
On 3rd September 21

Hi Member1361706, speaking on behalf of the team. I am so sorry to hear of your negative experience during your stay. Please could you let me know (p.brook@livstudent.com) or a member of the Sheffield team (sheffield@livstudent.com) either your details or location within the residence so we can investigate further.  We follow a room and apartment entry procedure; Wi-Fi is on a managed network and the hot water is on a monitored system.  It would be of great value to understand why the service and your expectations were not met in these areas.  Kind regards and best wishes for the continuation of your studies, Peter


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 21st July 21

Nothing is ever too much for the staff, they’re very welcoming and helpful.. Social spaces are brilliant and cleaned regularly… Rooms in apartments are spacious and the shared areas are very comfortable with a very good quality TV and soundbar… Studios are not worth the money as they don’t get anything provided; no tv, no toaster, no kettle, the oven is only a microwave and they are very small compared to the shared apartments. However the Shared apartments are brilliant. Location is also perfect, shops, nightlife and university campus on the doorstep.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from LIV Student Sheffield
On 6th September 21

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We appreciate your feedback regarding our studios, and we've since made adjustments that will hopefully improve our residents living experience going forward. You're definitely right about the location, being so close to everything you need is so convenient, especially now that our 9th floor resident-only cafe is open.


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 21st July 21

Staff are extremely friendly, helpful and often efficient in solving problems. The accommodation is modern and in perfect location for both nightlife and university campus. 9th floor roof terrace is an excellent social space and provides a great view of Sheffield. It’s a place I feel safe and would recommend to anybody.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from LIV Student Sheffield
On 6th September 21

Thank you for your review, the team at LIV Sheffield are really grateful! This coming academic year we'll be hosting lots of exciting events on the 9th floor, from cooking classes to DJ and open mic nights! We hope to see you there.


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 15th December 20

Good rooms, generally clean. Laundry room could do with cleaning more, as people leave washing machine pretty grim. They run out of breakfast so quick- people obvs don’t just take one. Reception staff are always helpful though.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from LIV Student Sheffield
On 6th September 21

Thank you for your review! Our laundry room is cleaned every weekday morning but if there's ever a time you see something that doesn't look right just let the team on the 9th floor reception know and they'll make sure it's resolved as fast as possible.


Student Review: 2 /5
By On 28th August 20

not worth the money, room is not that big, everything the promise the dont do it wifi is s*** the hot water is mostly cold you email them about anything related to the room, wifi or shower the dont get back at u and dont move in

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By On 1st June 20

Room not ready to be moved into, followed by constant noise when we did. No communication with members of staff. No hot water for showers after lunch. Shambles from start to finish.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By On 8th April 20

DO NOT STAY HERE The company are scammers, they promised many things and didn’t deliver, any complaints are not dealt with. The rooms are nice but it isn’t worth the trouble

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from LIV Student Sheffield
On 21st July 21

Hi member1047227 thank you for taking the time to review, and we are sorry to read of your frustrations relating to the new building and through the first Covid-19 lockdown 2019.20.

 We are proud to have been able to offer all students a voluntary release from their tenancy and refund of rent in 2020 due to the first covid-19 lockdown but appreciate our timeline to facilitate this was not in line with your expectations.

 Since your post, we have listened; there’s a fantastic new team at Sheffield as well as a new security partner for 24/7 support, a new Wi-Fi operator, so all receive a super-fast connection, the hot water pressure which effected some rooms intermittently is resolved.

 Throughout the current academic year, we’ve supported students required to self-isolate, maintained access to the roof terrace, social spaces, games room, cinema with covid-19 safe procedures and opened up the gym as government restrictions lifted, as we fully appreciate the amenity space is an integral part of the accommodation. 

 We wish you the best for the continuation of your studies, and would like to hear more about your feedback at sheffield@livstudent.com


Student Review: 1 /5
By On 6th April 20

Hate this place. Very terrible. Would not recommended. There are better accommodations. Trust me on this

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By On 2nd April 20

Moved in to unfinished and badly managed building, go for any other accom in sheff

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By On 2nd April 20

Was really not set up for taking on students for this year, rooms not finished and things missing and braking. No hot water and the fact you couldn’t sleep without someone coming into your room atleast 2 times a week to do something. Terrible management and never tried to help with anything you had to say or needed. This is just some of the things why this place has been terrible first year experience.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 1 /5
By On 2nd April 20

Would not recommend to Anyone moving to university. Building still not completed even though it was meant to be completed by December, cannot do any uni work from constant noise starting at early hours disturbs sleep constantly. Staff are useless, builders wolf whistled and inappropriately stared and commented, got reported several times to management nothing was done. No cafe or proper breakfast which was advertised (clearly bait) repeated internet issues, power cuts and constant cold showers due to no hot water. Security that was promised is not at the entrance to the building but on the 9th floor which is useless, anyone can get in as people hover for someone with a key card to open the door and they go in with them. Massive issues with privacy, male builders repeatedly enter the flat and rooms without permission Occurred many times when I was asleep. Restrictions on collecting parcels no weekends and certain times in the day. Washing machines don’t work and take all your money!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 1 /5
By On 2nd April 20

While LIV may look like an attractive luxury accommodation from the pictures, the management is so shocking it’s made living here an awful experience. We’ve had no end of issues and you really aren’t getting what is advertised and what you’re paying for. The showers ran cold for over a month, the building was never finished even though it should have been by December at the latest. The washing machines don’t work and take your money, the often closed the social spaces (which are the only thing that actually redeem the place) just for photo/video shoots and to host guests. They aren’t releasing us from our contract early due to covid-19 like most other accommodations are because they are money grabbers. They don’t care about their tenants whatsoever.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By On 2nd April 20

Don’t recommend, shocking experience

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 1 /5
By On 2nd April 20

Dear liv management The recent coronavirus outbreak has meant that the overwhelming majority of students have been forced to return home. This has means that they are effectively paying over £2000 for nothing. Despite repeated requests, LIV have refused to allow residents to leave their contracts and issue a full refund. While LIV professes to ‘create student communities’ they have demonstrated that they only care about profit as opposed to the welfare of their residents who are extremely anxious and worried during this difficult time. This distress has been compounded by the financial worry resulting from having to pay thousands for facilities and accommodation they are no longer using. The rent is not just for a room and a bed, it is for electricity, water, the shuttle bus, the breakfast every morning,the kitchen facilities as well as use of the 9th floor which for many was the main reason for booking with LIV in the first place. LIV is failing to fulfil its obligations as the shut

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By On 2nd April 20

Whilst being a lovely accommodation my time here has been plagued by issues you shouldn't expect whilst paying the premium price charged. -Sewage water coming through the shower tray. -Facilities promised not being available. -Water pressure and temperature not working properly for over a month. -Constant disruption from the builders that were supposed to be done by December. -Invasion of privacy, walking into flats without notice.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Considering LIV Student Sheffield?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.