How do you rate Seabraes 1?

credit: https://www.sanctuary-students.com/student-accommodation/dundee/seabraes-1
 image credit  |   report abuse
https://www.sanctuary-students.com/student-accommodation/dundee/seabraes-1

Most helpful review

I had an amaaaazing experience there, the only downside is the high rent, but for me it was worth it. Social 6/5

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1335457
On 11th January 19

Dundee Hall Rankings


Belmont Tower #4
Heathfield #5
Belmont Flats #6
West Park Flats #7
Seabraes 1 #8
West Park Villas #9
The Hub #10
The Old Mill #11
Kingsway Apartments #12
Meadowside Halls #13

All Student Accommodation in Dundee


Most helpful review

I had an amaaaazing experience there, the only downside is the high rent, but for me it was worth it. Social 6/5

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1335457
On 11th January 19

Q&A


Q
Is the Seabraes accommodation any better in 2021, there is little to no information online
By member1255001 On 7th March 21
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 16th September 21

Over the summer vacation all bedrooms in flats 1 - 32 have been refurbished including getting new bedroom  furniture, carpets and curtains.   More pictures are available on our Website-  Sanctuary Students Seabraes

Q
how much is a parking permit?
By member1047635 On 1st May 20
Parking Permits at Seabraes are £25. This covers you from September - June. You will be required to prove you are the registered owner
By member1259455 On 2nd June 21
Q
I want to ask is new seabrace a better accommodation Than old seabrace
By member633454 On 16th August 18
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 16th September 21

Seabraes Flats 1 - 32 have had bedroom refurbishment over the summer of 2021 - the photos above show the newly designed rooms

Q

Ask a new question about Seabraes 1

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Seabraes 1 Reviews


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 7th November 19

Heard majority bad things about seabraes before coming to university but it’s not that bad. I’m in the new seabraes and the flat itself is great. Always a party or a pre, great to make friends. I have some friends in old seabraes and although the flats are a lot more run down, they are still as social. In fact my flat have preferred seabraes to its rival Belmont as we are just far enough away from the union to miss noise at night but a 5 minute walk from the uni campus and a 5 minute walk from a huge Tesco. My only complaint would be it’s too expensive, but it’s worth staying in halls.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, this will be a great help to other students.  The rooms within Seabraes I , have been refurbished in time for Sept  2021 arrivals.


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 10th April 19

Dont get me wrong I absolutely loved living in Old Seabraes, its great for the social aspect of uni and is close to everything i need but i will admit the quality in the old buildings is terrible compared to other halls. It looks like a prison and can at times feel like it.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, this will be a great help to other students.  I am please to say that as part of our summer program, the rooms within Seabraes I , have been refurbished in time for Sept  2021 arrivals.


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 11th January 19

I had an amaaaazing experience there, the only downside is the high rent, but for me it was worth it. Social 6/5

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, this will be a great help to other students.  We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Seabraes Flats , thanks again


Student Review: 3 /5
By On 23rd June 18

TL;DR of Old Seabraes (flats 1-32), though not directly on campus it's still a great location, very basic but supports a good quality of student life (big kitchen, en-suites etc) I had a great time in my flat, however not naturally sociable halls though if you make an effort this isn't too much of a problem- the absolute worst thing is the PRICE- £604 a month for such basic accommodation in a city where normal flats or private halls (e.g. The Hub) cost £350-£400pcm is so ludicrous, so if money's really a worry go for private halls though in my opinion it was just about worth it for the experience. Visually the cinder block walls do make the place feel prison-like but this can easily be improved with a bit of effort in room decoration (e.g. posters, soft furnishings, photos, fairy lights etc), main problem in the rooms is the lack of good storage space, no bedside table, 2 shallow draws and 1 very deep one, wardrobe is decent, bathroom shelf very shallow and directly above the toilet

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, this will be a great help to other students.  We are so glad you enjoyed your stay  and the location of Seabraes.  We are sorry you felt the rent was too high and am pleased to say that all the rooms within Seabraes I , have been refurbished in time for Sept  2021 arrivals.


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 22nd January 18

It’s good for living in first year but not as good as Belmont etc

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, this will be a great help to other students.  We are glad you enjoyed your stay, but sorry to hear that you felt Seabraes accommodation was not as good as Belmont.  We are please to inform you that the the rooms within Seabraes I , have been refurbished in time for Sept  2021 arrivals.


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 21st January 18

Great WiFi throughout. Cleaning is personal responsibility

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, this will be a great help to other students.  


Student Review: 2 /5
By On 22nd December 17

A poorly furnished flat, with very limit lightening. The room itself is like a prison cell with its brick wall. The radiator is often out of function , so as the hot water supply in the bathroom. Honestly speaking, as an exchange student, I don't find my experience here welcoming.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By On 19th November 17

DO NOT LIVE HERE! The older seabraes are like prison cells and ultimately wreck your emotional and mental capacity. You can hear almost every noise in the entire building block, and outside every night of the week- this destroys your sleeping patterns and ability to function during week days! Accept any other accommodation but NOT THIS! Trust me:)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as Seabraes.  We are please to advise that the rooms within Seabraes I , have been refurbished in time for Sept  2021 arrivals.


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 19th August 17

I went for the cheapest option and have no regrets.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, this will be a great help to other students.  


Student Review: 2 /5
By On 6th January 17

Student housing is a total ripoff. In the seabraes flats it's only foreign students because the Scottish people obviously now better. The flats are super expensive, and poorly furnished! The mattress is tiny and you can feel the springs digging into your back. But the worst thing is the complete and utter lack of privacy and autonomy! Every week some unannounced person wanders into our flat so check on something or fix something that never needed fixing. At the beginning of the year one of the maintenance guys barged in one one of my flatmates and I (on two separate occasions) in various stages of undress. And I've walked into the kitchen way to many times to make my morning coffee and found someone I didn't know standing there for some reason or other. When I tried to address these concerns, management was patronising and rude and basically wouldn't believe me. They promised there would always be a warning email and there hasn't. DO NOT LIVE IN STUDENT FLATS!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are sorry you did not enjoy living at Seabraes.  We are pleased to advise that following feedback from our customers we have upgraded all beds from standard single to small doubles in all rooms at Seabraes.  We have also reviewed how we communicate to our residents  to ensure everyone is aware of all planned, preventative and reactive maintenance visits to the flats that are essential to  ensure we provide safe and complaint accommodation and complete required repairs.   


Student Review: 2 /5
By On 10th July 16

I just can simply say : Don't waist your money The worst accommodation first of all, the quality of walls is terrible , you can hear any movements of your flatmates. It is not about they are noisy, it means that even if they speak slowly, you can completely hear all their words ! it exactly looks like there is no wall! it is too expensive!! you can find a shared flat in Perth road only by 250 or 300 P !!! just google rent a flat in Dundee There is no TV in Flats They do not clean your shared area, they do not fix your problem quickly while they are charging you a lot! Do not come here!! Do not waist your money!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are sorry you did not  enjoy staying at Seabraes and did not find it to be value for money.  We do try to stay competitive in the Student Halls market in Dundee 


Student Review: 3 /5
By On 29th May 16

These residences are far too expensive and you certainly do not get value for money. The wifi is very good. Communal areas are not good at all and all cleaning is the responsibility of students. Areas such as corridors and kitchens are difficult to clean as flatmates will not that responsibility for their own mess and you may on occasion find yourself clearing the mess of yourself along with the mess made by six of your other lazy flatmates who can't be bothered. It is up to you to empty your own bins. Repairs takes weeks to be completed. Location is great. You'll find yourself utilising the bridge over the railway to tesco

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, this will be a great help to other students.  


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 2nd October 15

Not as modern as the other halls avaliable but still so great, had an fun time there are its in a really good location.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, this will be a great help to other students.  Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of Seabraes good..  The rooms within Seabraes I , have now been refurbished in time for Sept  2021 arrivals.


Student Review: 2 /5
By On 29th September 15

Just ok. Not great value for money and wifi keeps cutting out.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, this will be a great help to other students. For any Wi Fi problems Help4U@dundee.ac.uk should be contacted to resolve. thanks 


Student Review: 2 /5
By On 21st September 15

Although centrally located, the undergraduate part of Seabraes closely resembles a rundown council estate on the brink of closure. The staff are rude and unwelcoming and the rent is far too expensive, particularly considering the state of the buildings. The more modern buildings of Seabraes (pictured) are usually exclusively for Postgraduates, but one of the Postgrad buildings is sometimes used for undergraduates if all other accommodation is full. These flats are more modern and are larger but the rent is far more than for the older buildings and it really isn't worth it. The laundry facilities are shared between all buildings and comprise of about 4 washing machines in a spider-filled shed, which is insufficient for the number of residences, and there are very few residence events so there is not much of a sense of community.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review.  We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience of  living at Seabraes.  We strive to give excellent customer service and am sorry that you feel you did not receive this.  We have been working hard to meet our residents expectations and advise that all the rooms within Seabraes I have now been refurbished .  Both Seabraes 1 and II are now available for undergrads to give more choice.  We have been working hard with the ResLife Team at the University of Dundee to build community interaction within the residences.


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 10th March 15

Seabraes, although fairly dated, is surprisingly like home, much better than the industrialised Belmont flats I lived in during the summer! I would recommend seabraes to all prospective students!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, this will be a great help to other students.  We are please you felt at home at Seabraes and can advise that the rooms within Seabraes I , have been refurbished in time for Sept  2021 arrivals.


Student Review: 2 /5
By On 8th March 15

This halls is a complete rip off for your money, its over £5000 a year and is no where near worth £3000. The staff who deal with repairs are very rude and unwelcoming. The halls themselves look like a prison/council estate. My flat has had so many problems which is ridiculous and have taken numerous complaints for them to be seen to and when seen to we are told itl not be fixed until something happens for example my flat mate got electricuted by a plug they refuse to fix and once we brought it up again they were not going to do anything about it until that was mentioned and even then it took over a week for them to fix it even though we were promised days. When we moved in the halls were completely disgusting clearly had not been cleaned or checked. The actual flat is the problem with seabraes however its like its own wee community at night especially on skint tuesdays, there is always something going on, and its not just random peopl spilling out the union it tends to be people u know

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are sorry that you did not get the service you should have from the team.  We have worked hard to improve how we process repairs and carry out refurbishment to modernise the flats.  


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 6th March 15

Far too expensive for the state of the place, but location is great.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Seabraes 1
On 12th November 21

Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are pleased you found the location great and sorry that you felt it was too expensive.  


Considering Seabraes 1?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.