How do you rate The Croft?

credit: https://wearehomesforstudents.com/student-accommodation/derby/the-croft
 image credit  |   report abuse
https://wearehomesforstudents.com/student-accommodation/derby/the-croft

Most helpful review

The best accommodation in derby. The location is perfect and would highly recommend to anyone who is thinking of booking for next year. The staff are friendly and always helpful. The accommodation is very secure

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member768810
On 10th May 22

Derby Hall Rankings


The Croft #1
Nunnery Court #2
Cathedral Court #3
Roman House #4
St Christopher's Court #5
Peak Court #6
Princess Alice Court #7
Abbey Lodge Student Village #8
Agard Court #9
Flamsteed Court #10

All Student Accommodation in Derby


Most helpful review

The best accommodation in derby. The location is perfect and would highly recommend to anyone who is thinking of booking for next year. The staff are friendly and always helpful. The accommodation is very secure

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member768810
On 10th May 22

Q&A


Q

Ask a new question about The Croft

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read The Croft Reviews


Student Review: 5 /5
By member668882 On 12th May 22

Based in the city centre. Washing room, brilliant WiFi and gym included. Recommended

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 12th May 22

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Kind regards, The Croft Property Team


Student Review: 4.4 /5
By member868881 On 12th May 22

This accommodation has given me the best experience for my first year at university

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 12th May 22

Hi, Thank you for your comment! That's the best feedback we could ask for. Kind regards, The Croft Property Team


Student Review: 5 /5
By member1068879 On 12th May 22

Staff are very friendly and always offering activities which are always good

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 12th May 22

Hey, Thank you for your kind comments! We are glad you enjoy the events at site, we try to keep it as fun as possible. Kind regards, The Croft Property Team


Student Review: 4.4 /5
By member668878 On 12th May 22

Located in a good area, close to a lot of stores and travelling facilities.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 12th May 22

Hi, Thank you for your review. We agree, perfect base for students in the city centre! Kind regards, The Croft Property Team 


Student Review: 5 /5
By member668877 On 12th May 22

The Croft has a great service and is good quality for money

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 12th May 22

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review. Kind regards, The Croft Property Team


Student Review: 3.4 /5
By member1068845 On 11th May 22

It is decent but fridges and freezes can be a bit limited on space and 1 bin for 9 people is not great. The facilities like the gym are good but there are not many washing machines. But I do love the vending machines they are a great idea.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 12th May 22

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I' not sure what happened to the others, but is not correct that you should only have one bin in the flat. Please come to reception and see us and we will issue you with more bins. We love the new vending machines too, a great addition! Kind regards, The Croft Property Team


Student Review: 4.4 /5
By member568844 On 11th May 22

Really nice accommodation, great value for money compared to other uni accommodation. However, not a fan of the lack of common area cleaners in flats. Staff are really friendly and everyone is very understanding and helpful

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 12th May 22

Hi, Thank you for your review and kind words about our accommodation and staff. Kind regards, The Croft Property Team


Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member768819 On 10th May 22

I have really enjoyed staying here this year, although we have had a few issues that did take slightly longer than expected to sort out (lift breaking) I understand this is out of the Croft’s staff control. The staff have always been super friendly and welcoming and I would definitely recommend this accom to a friend.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 11th May 22

Hi, Thank you so much for your review and your patience with things that, as you say, are out of our control. We hope you continue to enjoy your stay. Kind regards, The Croft Property Team.


Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member768810 On 10th May 22

The best accommodation in derby. The location is perfect and would highly recommend to anyone who is thinking of booking for next year. The staff are friendly and always helpful. The accommodation is very secure

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 10th May 22

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review - we're happy you love it as much as we do. Kind regards, The Croft Property Team.


Student Review: 3.3 /5
By member1066433 On 15th February 22

Comfortable rooms and nice common area BUT had several issues (some very concerning and dangerous issues that management didn’t want to solve & eventually ended up moving back home because of how unhappy and expensive this place was. Electricity issues happened often. On so many occasions we’ve been left with no lights and no way to get them to turn them on, especially over Christmas and New Years.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 16th February 22

Hello, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. Could I please ask that you send us an email to thecroft@wearehomesforstudents.com regarding the issues you mentioned so that we can look in to this further as there aren't any issues that we would not want to solve. Unfortunately sometimes, maintenance issues can arise, it is a fairly new building but we always try to remedy any issues as soon as we are able or instruct contractors for works we cannot complete in-house. We have an out of hours Help Desk that are available for the reporting/escalation of any issues outside of normal office hours. We look forward to hearing back from you on this matter. Thank you, The Croft Property Team.


Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member966216 On 10th February 22

I've been at The Croft for 2 years and even after a change of management, my experience has been great. The whole site is incredibly clean and well looked after. The staff are welcoming and polite too! Wifi is great, which is a bonus, and the ethernet ports are handy. For the price, you get a good room, sizeable kitchen and a great location.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 15th February 22

Thank you so much for your kind words, we hope you enjoy the rest of your stay and recommend us to your friends! The Croft Property Team. 


Student Review: 5 /5
By member565878 On 1st February 22

Great place to live recommend to other students

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 1st February 22

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, much appreciated - The Croft Property Team. 


Student Review: 3.6 /5
By member1265872 On 1st February 22

It was a decent location with good social spaced and room size was good.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 1st February 22

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. The Croft Property Team.


Student Review: 5 /5
By member1365869 On 1st February 22

Great reception team and amazing social ideas for the common room area

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 1st February 22

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. The Croft Property Team.


Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member565864 On 1st February 22

My move to the Croft has been amazing and the staff have informed me of everything I need to know, I definitely recommend living her and am considering staying for the next academic year.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 1st February 22

Hi, Thank you so much for the time to leave us such a lovely review! Come and see us at reception if you want any more information on booking for the next year! The Croft Property Team


Student Review: 5 /5
By member1365687 On 26th January 22

Love the experience here so much care here .

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 27th January 22

Hi, Thank you for your review! We do care a lot for our residents and property so that means a lot to us! We hope you continue to enjoy your stay and recommend us to your friends! The Croft Property Team 


Student Review: 5 /5
By member1165656 On 26th January 22

I had to move out of my previous accommodation due to fire safety concerns, moving into the croft was a relief i needed since i have been here is been nothing but amazing!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 26th January 22

Hi, Thank you so much for your review - we are glad to have helped and are thrilled you feel at home here. Thanks, The Croft Property Team 


Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member665635 On 25th January 22

Lovely staff and maintenance! Although the lift in B block has been broken for over 3 months with little communication. Very poor quality and common room is not as it is sold as. No access to pool unless in office hours and poor washing facilities .

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 26th January 22

Thank you for your feedback, we love to hear our staff are thought of in this way. The lift in B block has been fully out of our control and we have been as honest as we can be about it, we were at the mercy of waiting for contractors to schedule the repairs for us. But we appreciate is has been difficult and thank you for your patience. In regards to the pool table not being available out of hours, this was because we came in to 3 broken pool cues one weekend after another and someone stole a ball so we decided to remove it... We are more than willing to give it another chance and leave it out for your enjoyment but the next broken or stolen item will see it removed again instantly. Thank you, The Croft Property Team. 


Student Review: 3.6 /5
By member465629 On 25th January 22

Been staying here since september and i wouldnt fault it. What you pay for is what you get. The staff are polite and they even offer a parcel collection service. Maintence is carried out weekly and they give away a lot of freebies

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 25th January 22

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review - we are so pleased you are loving living with us at The Croft and hope our friendly team have enhanced your experience in Derby!


Student Review: 2.7 /5
By member961365 On 27th July 21

When we arrived in September 2020, the flat was left dirty which wouldn’t be good at any time but we were in the middle of a pandemic so having vegetables down the side of the sofa, dust everywhere and a very unclean floor wasn’t a nice experience to settle into when moving in. It is a nice modern building but it is poorly built - at the start of our tenancy there was cracks in the ceilings everywhere and as the year progressed these cracks spread across the whole width of our kitchen ceiling. Our flat had 2 double kitchen windows meaning it was constantly very warm in our flat as the windows do not have blinds, which is something I would recommend the Croft invest in for kitchens/communal areas. Due to the pandemic we were unable to use the facilities all year such as the gym and communal study and pool area downstairs but this is something which is included in the price of the Croft so I think the money wasn’t worth it because we were unable to use these facilities.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 28th July 21

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We would like to express our apologies that you didn't find the kitchen area met your expectations, I believe the cleaning issue was resolved by the onsite team when it was brought to our attention, and whilst we do use an external cleaning company to deep clean the flats over the summer, we have now put additional steps in place to ensure this doesn't happen again in the future. This isn't the normal standard that we operate to. The cracks are due to the building being a new build, it can take a few years for the building to "settle" so we apologise again if this effected your experience with us, any specific maintence requests can always be put forward to us on the mainmanager app where we can attend to this type on work upon request. We will pass on your comments about the blinds to the building owner to see if this is something they wish to invest in going forward but currently blinds are only provided in bedroom areas. During the coronavirus pandemic we do have to follow all laws and restrictions put in place by the government in relation to Covid-19, and can understand that this is frustating. We did have to close certain areas for varying time limits imposed on us by the government but this was solely for the protection, health and safety of all our residents and staff memebers to help stop the spread of coronavirus. All areas were re-opened as soon as we were able to legally do so. 


Student Review: 3.7 /5
By member1060525 On 25th June 21

The coronavirus pandemic has affected many student accommodations. For one being extremely strict and sending intimidating emails due to fire alarms accidentally being set off and flats meeting other flats through emails nearly every week at the beginning of the year. I understand that we are in a pandemic but isolating students and making them feel mentally alone is actually nasty behaviour. Due to this I’m not a fan of the staff. However the main maintenance guy, Andy is fantastic and has helped many students living at the croft by being quick efficient and kind.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 28th July 21

The health and saftey of our residents is our number one priority, and is something we take very seriously. We have to follow all laws including government guidence in relation to coronavirus, this includes not allowing the mixing of households when this is imposed upon us as a legal requirement. We would like to apologise if you feel any correspondence came across as intimidating, we can ensure this was not our intention. We are happy to hear that you are pleased with our maintenance operative so will pass on your positive feedback to him. 


Student Review: 4.4 /5
By member857694 On 13th May 21

if you expect a modern room, this suits you, and it close to the bus stop and easy to go town center, but if you don't like the smoke or weed smell you need to choose your flatmate who doesn't smoke, cause the staff doesn't do anything when you complain many times.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 28th July 21

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, sorry that you didn't feel that staff dealt with your issue effectively. 


Student Review: 5 /5
By Husnain On 10th May 21

Best accomodation ever fastest wifi can’t beat it. They look after everyone here and will feel welcomed upon arrival been here since September will be back next year :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 12th May 21

Best ever, wow! Thank you so much we couldn't be happier to hear this.

Fast wifi is essential to everyone these days so it's good to know we're working with the right service supplier, providing a fast connection to all our residents. We hope you continue to enjoy your stay this year and look forward to welcoming you back in September.


Student Review: 5 /5
By member857421 On 7th May 21

feels like home and they’ve been really helpful throughout :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 7th May 21

We really appreciate you taking the time to give us a review. We think The Croft is a comofrtable and friendly place to live & the team are happy to help with anything you need so it's great to hear it feels like home to you. 


Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member1157239 On 30th April 21

Staying at The Croft Accomodation has been great! It’s very safe and lovely to see maintenance staff and reception staff walking around and they are all very friendly. I am glad I stayed here for 2 years!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 4th May 21

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review - we are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us at The Croft and hope our friendly team have enhaced your experience in Derby!


Student Review: 5 /5
By member456786 On 23rd April 21

I have been living in The Croft for 8 months now and I have to admit that is one of the best student accommodation I have lived in. Amazing experience highly recommended

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 23rd April 21

It's great to hear that you're enjoying your student life with us at The Croft. We really appreciate your excellent review and would like to thank you for taking the time to let others know about your experience with us. 


Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member1056781 On 23rd April 21

The perfect location and brilliant helpful staff that are always around if you need help. Would be 5 stars for everything but due to covid we’ve not been able to use the social spaces!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 23rd April 21

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review! We are thrilled to hear about your experience - the team really appreciate your kind words, and we hope you will be able to fully enjoy the social spaces very soon when the government restrictions are lifted. 


Student Review: 4.4 /5
By member856748 On 22nd April 21

Absolutely love it, would recommend to anyone who is coming to the University of Derby. Clean, modern, stylish and top top tier staff! Very good sized rooms and perfect social spaces (although I did not get to use most of them due to Covid-19) best student accommodation in Derby in my opinion :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 22nd April 21

Wow, thank you for your fantastic review. Our team are delighted with your feedback, we will always strive to make your stay with us the best it can be - even with Covid-19 restrictions in place! We hope you can now enjoy the social spaces more often as the restrictions begin to ease. 


Student Review: 5 /5
By member756685 On 21st April 21

Really good experience in halls friendly staff and maintenance. Good times on calls out with faults. Really good facilities, really good internet, really good experience.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 22nd April 21

Thank you for your really good review! We are so pleased that you're enjoying your stay with us at The Croft. 


Student Review: 3.7 /5
By member556594 On 20th April 21

The Croft is a great place to stay, good value for money and the property team are excellent and thorough with the service they provide. In particular the caretaker Andy who has been very helpful with issues around the flat 👍

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 21st April 21

Thank you for your review, I will pass on your great feedback to the property team. Our caretaker is very passionate about his role and it's great to hear this is reflected in his daily work. 


Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member1256552 On 19th April 21

Living here has been a very pleasant experience. The staff are helpful and friendly. I would recommend The Croft to everyone.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 20th April 21

We are so happy to hear about your experience with us, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. 


Student Review: 5 /5
By member956543 On 19th April 21

Very modern rooms and building. Staff is very friendly . Never had an issue . 5 stars

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 20th April 21

Thank you for your great review, we are so pleased you are enjoying your stay with us at The Croft


Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member1355155 On 11th March 21

From its impressive architectural edifice to the incredible accommodation offerings ( excellent wifi, modern finishings etc) the Croft is a promise kept, and surpassed. A Serene environment strategically and conveniently located few minutes away from major facilities including the university. The onsite staff are highly professional, efficient and friendly, working tirelessly to ensure the property is impeccably maintained to the highest standards at all times. Also, the exciting give- aways make your stay even more enjoyable. I would highly recommend.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 12th March 21

Thank you for your review, we're so pleased to hear you enjoy The Croft and all it has to offer. The site team will be overjoyed to hear that all their hardwork maintaining the property and offering a friendly service are recognised :)


Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member554238 On 16th February 21

A very good accommodation with up to date features and really kind staff

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 17th February 21

Thank you for your review! It's great to hear you like the property and it's features, we will pass on your kind comments to the property team. 


Student Review: 3 /5
By member935201 On 15th November 19

Nice building but not recommended for first years

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 22nd April 21

Lovely to read that you like our building, as a private halls we accommodate students from all years of study. If you think there is anything we can do to improve, please contact the onsite team who are always happy to hear your feedback and suggestions. 


Student Review: 3 /5
By Duncan M On 15th November 19

Not awful, but just go over the road to Cathedral Court. For like £2 more a week you get a lift that works, laundry fees that don't require a second student loan and lights that don't turn off mid shower

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 22nd April 21

We are sorry to hear that you feel that you've not had the best experience at The Croft, if you have any maintenance concerns please report these to the on site team so they can deal with them promptly. We hope you can give us the chance to show you how we can improve our service to you, your on site manager will be happy to discuss any issues with you further. 


Student Review: 5 /5
By member1143007 On 29th October 19

Lovely place. The staff are extremely nice and welcoming. Would highly recommend to stay here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Croft On 22nd April 21

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we will pass on your thoughtful words to the team.  


Considering The Croft?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.