3.28 / 5

The Towpath Reviews

49 Reviews by Students

How do you rate The Towpath?

credit: University of Chester
 image credit  |   report abuse
University of Chester

Most helpful review

Value for money - it could be considered expensive, however it is a luxury student accommodation! People who complain about pricing should’ve looked it up online before booking and had a look round on an open day as well as figured out whether they can afford it first. I personally think it’s great value for what you get. The rooms are very spacious compared to a lot of other university accommodation (I have lived in three different types in Liverpool as well as towpath. I am most pleased with Towpath). The staff - Tracey, Gemma and Paul are always on hand to do what they can to make you feel safe and welcome - you couldn’t ask for more from site staff! I’ve had a great experience with them helping me out and maintenance is always fixed promptly and too a good standard. Looking forward to my second year stay :)

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member939198
On 10th June 19

StudentCrowd Hall Rankings


Brook Lane (26,27,28) #1
De Bunsen Hall #2
Sumner House #3
Fisher House #4
Granary Studios #5
Tramways #6
Lancaster Hall #7
Grosvenor House #8
Manchester Hall #9
Kingsley Lodge #10

See full league table...

All Student Accommodation in Chester


Join StudentCrowd, Like us on Facebook


Most helpful review

Value for money - it could be considered expensive, however it is a luxury student accommodation! People who complain about pricing should’ve looked it up online before booking and had a look round on an open day as well as figured out whether they can afford it first. I personally think it’s great value for what you get. The rooms are very spacious compared to a lot of other university accommodation (I have lived in three different types in Liverpool as well as towpath. I am most pleased with Towpath). The staff - Tracey, Gemma and Paul are always on hand to do what they can to make you feel safe and welcome - you couldn’t ask for more from site staff! I’ve had a great experience with them helping me out and maintenance is always fixed promptly and too a good standard. Looking forward to my second year stay :)

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member939198
On 10th June 19

The Towpath Information

Telephone01244 566233
PostcodeCH1 4GX
Price from£129.00 per week (subject to availability)
FeaturesFully Furnished, Gas, Intrusion Alarm
Top tipFree dual occupancy at no extra cost!


Q&A


Q
Why are all the good reviews made on the same day?
By Becky On 12th July 19
Q
Beware they reported my review! When there was nothing abusive! Just so it wasn’t shown on this page and was taken off. All I did was how come all the good reviews are on the same day?
By Member 5145236 On 18th June 19
Reply from The Towpath
On 26th June 19

Hi, this is a response from StudentCrowd. We have a verification process for the site so if you have received an email asking to verify your details, please do this and your review will be published. This is to ensure that all reviews are genuine and helpful. If you are still concerned about this please email me - lucie@studentcrowd.com.

Q
Hope you can sort out the problems students are trying to highlight here rather than them “suddenly” disappearing and you just writing “please report these to us and we will definitely sort it”.... reputations last, quality first!
By Steeeee On 8th June 19
Reply from The Towpath
On 8th June 19

Hi as per the message from Student Crowd, Student Roost are not able to delete reviews , they do have a spam policy and verification policy for all reviews so I'm not sure where your review has gone.  If you have any queries please contact them directly. 

We do want to sort out any issues but unless they are reported to us we cannot help further. 

Kind regards

...
Q
Stop getting student crowd or student roost to delete our opinion we want people to know about this place but they can't if the comments get removed. So stop it because more will go up of what we think about this place just so people get heard!
By member938893 On 4th June 19
Reply from The Towpath
On 5th June 19
Hi, this is a response from StudentCrowd. We only remove reviews that conflict with our review guidelines. To be really clear, Student Roost has no control over the removal of reviews. Please also note that reviews may be ‘pending’ as they need to be read by our team. Sometimes this can cause a delay - which may look as if they have been deleted. If you’re still concerned about this, please emai...
Q
Sort out problems rather than caring about your reputation, im sure these reviews won't stop until you sort it out... keep deleting the reviews, every 1 deleted 3 more go up!
By Sara B On 1st June 19
Reply from The Towpath
On 4th June 19

Hi Sara, we would love the opportunity to discuss any problems that you have at the Towpath , please call in to reception or email the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk so that we can help resolve these.

Kind regards

Traycie

Q

Ask a new question about The Towpath

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read The Towpath Reviews


1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 15th June 19

Very happy with accommodation,five minute walk to uni or city center. Somebody always on site to help out,comfy bed, good WiFi signal, nice bathroom,small compact yet functional rooms.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 17th June 19

Thank you for your review , it is great to hear that you are happy here and find it convenient for uni and walking into the city and it wondeful to read that the team are on hand for you too , reception is staffed 24/7 and if there are any ways we can improve your living experience here at the Towpath please let us know. 

Many thanks 

Traycie 


5
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 10th June 19

Value for money - it could be considered expensive, however it is a luxury student accommodation! People who complain about pricing should’ve looked it up online before booking and had a look round on an open day as well as figured out whether they can afford it first. I personally think it’s great value for what you get. The rooms are very spacious compared to a lot of other university accommodation (I have lived in three different types in Liverpool as well as towpath. I am most pleased with Towpath). The staff - Tracey, Gemma and Paul are always on hand to do what they can to make you feel safe and welcome - you couldn’t ask for more from site staff! I’ve had a great experience with them helping me out and maintenance is always fixed promptly and too a good standard. Looking forward to my second year stay :)

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 17th June 19

Thank you for your review, its great to hear that you feel the rooms are spacious and after living in 4 student accommodations I'm sure you have seen a good variety of room sizes and experiences to compare it against. It is great to hear that you are happy with the onsite team and that any maintenance issues are dealt with promptyly. It is wonderful to read that you are staying with us again next year and please as always let us know if there is anythign that we can do to improve your experience living at The Towpath.

Thanks again

The Towpath Team 

 


-3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 19

It's very nice beautiful and we all enjoy this

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 10th June 19

Hi thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to the UK. We loved having you here too and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Thanks again

The Towpath Team


-4
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 19

it is very good. l like this flat

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 10th June 19

Hi thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed / are enjoying your stay with us. Please let us know if there any ways we could improve by visiting reception or emailing the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk

Thanks again

The Towpath Team


-4
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 19

It’s a great apartment. I enjoy staying here very much. Thank you very much.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 10th June 19

Hi Thank you for your review, I'm so glad you enjoy staying here at the Towpath.   If there is anything we can do to help during your stay just let us know at reception or by emailing the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk

 

Thanks again

The Towpath Team


-3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 19

It's very nice and beautiful,we are very enjoy!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 10th June 19

Thank you so much for your review , we think it is beautful here too.  If there is anything we can do to improve the accommodation please let us know at reception or by emailing the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk

 

Thanks again

The Towpath Team


-2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 19

our environment is very clear.I live comfortably。excellent

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 10th June 19

Hi Thank you for your review, it is wonderful to read that you are enjoying the environment and are living comfortably.  Those things are important to both our residents and our team so I'm glad you find us excellent.

Thanks again

The Towpath Team

 


-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 19

Nice place to live in. Quiet and clean. A bit far away from Cheshire College though.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 10th June 19

Hi thank you so much for your review , it is great to hear that you find the Towpath quiet , clean and a nice place to live.    Cheshire College is about a 15 min car journey away but I'm aware its a bit longer to walk / get the bus too and it is a bit far for some.

Thanks again

The Towpath Team


-2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 19

Clean and tidy ,without any ribish.The lake there is very beautiful.The jym is very interesting for people to play.Thank you of your all.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 10th June 19

Thank you so much for your review, the water is very beautiful and we do have a great onsite gym.   The team work hard to keep the area clean and tidy so its great to read that you noticed that.

Thanks again

The Towpath Team


-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 19

It's a very clear and quiet room.we can relax by myself.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 10th June 19

Thank you for your review, I'm really glad you find the area relaxing and quiet.   If there is anything we can do to improve please pop to reception or email us on the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk

Thanks again

The Towpath Team

 

 


-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 19

this is a really excellent apartment

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 10th June 19

Thank you so much for your review, I'm so glad you are happy in the apartment / flat.

Thanks again

The Towpath Team


-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 19

The apartment is very clean and the kitchen is very tidy. It's comfortable to live in.lt very good.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 10th June 19

Thanks so much for your review, its great to hear that your flatmates are working together to keep the kitchen and flat clean and tidy. 

Thanks again

The Towpath Team

 


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 19

Very nice and good.It's very convenient location.I love this place

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 10th June 19

Thank you so much for your review, we love it here too, and everyone says the location is convenient for campus and the city so it is good to hear you feel that way too.

 

Thanks again

The Towpath Team


-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 19

It very beautiful and clean.It's like

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 10th June 19

Thank you so much for your review, we think it is beautiful and clean too, our team do an amazing job of keeping our communal areas and grounds tidy as do our residents.

It is great to hear you like it here.

Thanks again

The Towpath Team

 


-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 19

the sound of toilet is too noisy

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 10th June 19

Hi thank you for your review, so that we can repair the toilet please can you pop to reception with your room number or email us on the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk so that we can have the toilet repaired.

Thank you

The Towpath Team


-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 19

The environment is good and the room is clean.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 10th June 19

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you find our accommodation clean and that we have a good environment on site which is what we strive for.

Thanks again

The Towpath Team


-1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 7th June 19

I think this is a very good and its atmosphere is great

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 10th June 19

Thank you so much for your review, it is lovely to read that you find Towpaths atmosphere great .   If there is anything we could improve please let us know by emailing the.towpath@studentcrowd.co.uk or pop into reception.

 

Thanks again

The Towpath Team


-2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 19

Please done believe all The negative reviews! I am sad to leave towpath this year as I graduate in the summer. Fresh previous manament was fine but so is student roost. We have definitely seen an improvement on social events. Traycie will always post a question on Facebook asking what events would we like to see and I actually voted for ‘painting rocks’ very therapeutic. And how could you not love therapy dogs it was great fun and I believe Student Roost paid for this as they are a local charity. Traycie is a like a mum away from home, always there for a good chat, I will Miss her and her positivity. You can’t please everyone of course not but Towpath has by far been one of the best experiences of my life and I will always have fond memories.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 7th June 19

Hi thank you for your review.  It is wonderful to read you love living here and it is something I frequently hear from residents,  I'm so pleased you feel there has been an improvement on Social events and glad you enjoyed the options of rock painting and therapy pets, you are right they are a charity that we made a donation to during mental health awareness week and many residents loved having the dogs here and want them back.   We would however welcome ideas from you in relation to what other events you want so please let us know on Facebook, in reception or via the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk so that we can keep putting more on that our residents want.  Thank you also for your kind comments about myself.  

Thank you again for your feedback

Traycie


2
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 6th June 19

There is a reason that once Student Roost took over this place is now is no longer a 5 star accommodation. Don't live with them, worst student company. I feel like since living with them they don't actually care about us students, they just see the pound signs that we give them. Issues with this place since December. Very disappointed with how this place has become.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 7th June 19

Hi thank you for your review, I'd be really keen to find out more about why you feel this way , please could you call into reception or email us on the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk so that we can find out more.  I can assure you that our residents happiness and safety is my and my teams absolute priority  so to hear this saddens me.

I really would like the opportunity to talk to you about this and resolve any concerns.

Many thanks

Traycie


2
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 6th June 19

This accommodation doesn't even deserve 2 stars. Worst place to live in Chester. Student Roost took over and completely ruined the place. Get out of here while you still can

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 7th June 19

Hi thank you for your review, I would really like to find out more about how Student Roost have impacted you as the running of the site has not changed for our students and we have implemented things like the free play pool and enhanced social events .   Please email us on the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk or pop into reception so that we can chat and make any necessary improvements for our residents.

Many thanks

 

Traycie


3
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 6th June 19

I am not surprised at all to find The Towpath at 2 stars. Worst Student accommodation i have ever lived with. The only good things about it are the lovely cleaning staff who work tirelessly to keep the place clean and the security guard Colin who is amazing at his job. He makes us all feel safe at the night and makes sure everyone is being quiet past 11pm which students here seem to forget to do when he isn't here. Cannot think of a worse place to live. In Block A all you here are trains all the time, so if you get that unless you are a heavy sleeper in September good luck to you. Yes waterfront views are lovely for pictures but can you really deal with bugs all the time if you leave your window or balcony door open and even the smell the canal gives sometimes is disgusting. Don't even get me started on Telford's good luck getting to sleep before 3am, the drunk people and staff throwing barrels about make it impossible, i'd understand on a weekend but on weekdays during exams. Horrible

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 7th June 19

Hi again, thanks for your second review, I'm really sorry to hear this and we agree our team are fantastic.   Sadly wherever you live if windows are open bugs and flies will come in, its a pain but you can get fly catchers  / deterrents / mesh if you  would like to avoid this. 

I'm really suprised to hear that you are having trouble from Telfords Restaurant and Bar at 3am as according to their website they close at 1am at weekends and earlier in the week. have you addressed this with telfords?  I will also raise your concerns with the landlord regarding the barrels/ noise , deliveries are made during the day to most pubs so I'm not sure what they would be doing with the barrels, i know they use empty ones during the day to block off their car park spaces but again I'll speak to the landlord as I appreciate that any extra noise during exam time can be frustrating.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Traycie 


3
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 6th June 19

Glad to moving out in September. The Towpath is no longer a place i like to call home. After having to go deep into my overdraft just to pay my rent it really is not worth the amount of money you pay. Honestly would suggest trying to get on campus living as well as you more likely to attend lectures living there and it is cheaper. Furthermore, The Towpath just feels like an unhappy place to live, there isn't much to do here and the studios are not worth the money that you pay for them. If you look elsewhere you can get a Premium studio for what you pay for a silver here. Yes some places might not offer free dual occupancy however if you look other places are more modern and not small. So i would say that if you are coming to university in September go for university owned accommodation and if you are second or third year student houses are the way to go, they are cheap and you can live in a place that you make your own and feels like home.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 7th June 19

Hi thank you for your review, I'm sorry you feel that the accommodation isn't value for money, we have a very clear pricing which is displayed online along with everything it includes.  We are just 8 mins from parkgate campus on foot and find that most people say our location is fantastic.   We would love your ideas on what else to do on site, our events are always published on facebook and in each block and we welcome suggestions for events. In addition we have a free play pool table, free games , a free 24/7 gym and events at least once a month but please let us know what we can do to make your stay here more enjoyable either by popping into reception or emailing the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk

Thank you

Traycie


1
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 6th June 19

wish i could leave now its horrible here rooms smell of canal or weed if you have your window open. going to live back at fresh accommodation so much better there.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 7th June 19

Hi thank you for your review, I'm sorry to hear that you are experiencing smells from the canal, have you reported this to Canal and Riverways trust ? If you smell any drugs please report it to our onsite 24/7 team / the local police please so that we can investigate and deal with the situation.

 

Thanks again

Traycie


3
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 6th June 19

Really do not enjoy living here anymore. Telford's keep me up till 3am at night. Drunk students come back very loudly. During Exam week was the worst. Cannot wait to leave

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 7th June 19

Hi thank you for your review, I'm really sorry to hear that you are having a bad experience with Telfords visitors who may or may not be students.   I notice that the restaurant / bar closes at 1am on weekends according to their website.  Our security patrol the site hourly overnight and we do have a quiet policy from 11pm - 8am so please call or pop into reception if you are being disturbed outside of those times so that we can address the situation immediately.   

Thank you

Traycie


3
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 5th June 19

rooms are too small and there is no toilet in the social area nor and kitchen sort of facilities if people were going to stay down there.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 5th June 19

Hi thank you for your feedback.   I'm sorry you feel the rooms are too small , we offer viewings year round so that people can view the rooms before they move in and receive frequent feedback on the generous size of our rooms, we also offer 3 different room sizes so that people have a choice.    Sadly there is not a toilet in the social area but we do have a vending machine there and tea and coffee free in reception 24/7 for our residents.

Thanks again

Traycie


3
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 5th June 19

going to move to tramways as that is better value for money than this place nothing great happens here tbh unless you call a broken pool table fun.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 5th June 19

Hi I'm sorry to hear that you are moving to Tramways but thrilled you are staying with Student Roost, we have had no reports that the pool table is broken and we have checked it this morning and all working fine.   As soon as we notice that pool cues have been broken we order more but please always let us know at reception if there are any issues with the table so that we can resolve.

Many thanks

Traycie


3
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 5th June 19

The towpath is way too expensive for what it actually is. The shared flats are always a horrible environment for example; bins not being taken out, drugs in the flats or fall out with flatmates. These are only a few issues there are plenty more. The studios are way too expensive and tiny. There are much better places out there for Studios, even the ones on campus. Wouldn't suggest this place to anyone

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 5th June 19

Hi thank you for your review, I'm sorry to hear that shared living isn't for you.   We encourage residents to talk to each other when they move in just to set guidelines and can faciliate flat chats if you need us to help with these conversations.    Like any shared living it takes time to get used to living with others and we always encourage a rota for each flat to take out the bins and clean.    As to the mention of drugs we have a community police officer that patrols and 24/7 staff so  please report any instances to the Police and reception so that we can investigate further.

Thanks again

Traycie

 


1
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 5th June 19

moving to tramways next year so i do not have to smell weed anymore because of the flat below me. there is always some sort of drama going on and i would not recommend this place

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 7th June 19

Hi Holly , thanks for your review, I'm thrilled you are staying with Student Roost and am sorry that you have had difficulties with the flat below, please could you report this to the onsite 24/7 team / the local police so that it can be investigated further and dealt with accordingly.

Many thanks

Traycie


3
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 5th June 19

it is way too expensive for what you get.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 5th June 19

Hi Charlie, I'm sorry that you feel it is too expensive here, we are very clear and upfront with our pricing and what this includes so that all residents can make informed choices.

Thank you for your feedback

Traycie


3
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 5th June 19

shared flats are great if you want to cook in rubbish that has not been taken out for months and want your doors slammed at 3 am. all I hear at nights are the pub and the trains. really do wish it was a better place but unfortunately it's not.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 5th June 19

Hi thank you for your review, shared living can be hard in any location and we encourage flatmates to talk to each other about cleaning rotas/ standards and living together, we can also faciliate these conversations if needed.  If you aren't getting on with your flatmates please come and talk to us so that we can look at solutions for you.    We do have a restaurant / pub in the grounds but its the first time I have heard that the noise causes an issue for our residents please let us know if this continues to be an issue so that we can talk to the landlord.   As to the trains this is not a common complaint as we are not on a main line and the line is opposite one building of the towpath, again please come and talk to us about noise issues so that we can look at solutions or email us on the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk

Thanks again for your feedback.

Traycie


3
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 5th June 19

Thinking back to the towpath in September it was a lovely place to be, the team we had were amazing and friendly. Now it is the most unhappiest i have been here. The staff we all loved have all left, the place has really gone downhill. The shared flats are great when you first move in, as it was an easy way to make friends, but trust me shared flats never work out. You all fall out and it really isn't worth the hassle. The social events here have really gone downhill, its not worth the time to go to them anymore, no one really does. It makes me sad to write this as i used to love it here and now i cannot stand it. The trains or drunk people coming out of Telford's keep me up at night. In the Towpath by both students and staff i am made to feel unwelcome here. I cannot wait to move out of the here and into a student house, most people will agree this place just isn't what it used to be. The only thing i will miss is Colin the security guard, who is amazing at his job.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 5th June 19

Thank you for your review I'm sorry to hear that you are unhappy here and we really would like to help change that, if you would be happy to come and talk to us or email us at the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk we would welcme the chance to resolve any concerns.   Sadly yes two of our longstanding valued team have left and we miss them too but 5 of our team haven't changed.

I agree living within shared accommodation can have challenges no matter which accommodation you are in and so we encourage all flatmates to be open and talk to each other about cleaning rotas, standards and living together, if this doesn't work we can facilitate a flat chat or look at alternative options such as a flat move if we have availability.    I'm sorry to hear that you feel the social events have gone down hill, we would love to put on events that you want to attend and have this year had to name a few free cookery lessons, a free ice cream van, free pool coaching and pizza, film night and pizza, therapy pets on site, and an end of exams pizza night just last week but please let us know what else we can do to have events that you want . I'd be keen to know what events used to be held that have changed so that I can re-instate them if possible. 

We do have a restaurant  / pub close by but get very few noise compaints or complaints about behaviour but please let us know if this happens again so that we can check our cctv and report any issues to the landlord of the pub / the police if necessary.    

Thanks again for your feedback and I hope that you are happy in your new home.

Traycie  


3
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 5th June 19

the social area is run down, too hot or too cold the rooms smell at night if you have the windows open and the mattresses break your back even with new ones.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 5th June 19

Hi Sam, I'm sorry to hear that you feel the social area is run down, this is an area that we get great comments about so I would be keen to find out how we can improve it, we have recently added more tables , soft furnishings and games to the area and check it several times a day, would you be able to report any issues to reception please so that we can resolve or email us on the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk   Good news we are able to adjust the temperature in the area so please let us know if it is too hot or cold at reception and we can change it to something more comfortable.

If you need a replacement mattress please let us know and we can have this changed for you.

Thank you for your feedback

Traycie


1
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 5th June 19

unfortunately this place is not what it used to be. The social events are going down hill, no one wants to paint rocks OR have dogs, would love one as a pet but not as a social event. the only go thing here is the cleaning and colin the security guard.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 5th June 19

Hi Sam, thank you for your 2nd review, I'm sorry you feel the social events are going down hill, the therapy dogs that we had on site during mental health awareness week were one of our most popular events and the feedback from residents is that they wanted them back on site , we want to provide events that our residents want to attend and welcome suggestions so that we can incorporate them, this year we have had cookery lessons for cooking on a budget with a wagamama chef, pool coaching and pizza, free massages, free easter treats, valentines treats, film and pizza night , end of exams pizza just last week to name a few but we would love to know what events you want so please email us on the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk or pop in to reception. 

We agree our team is fantastic and our cleaning standards are excellent so thank you for your feedback.

Traycie


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 4th June 19

Staffs are really kind, they manage the property so good that I can pay all my attention to the study.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 5th June 19

Thank you so much for your review , I'm so glad you feel that the property is managed well and this helps you to concentrate on your study.  I will pass your lovely comments about the team on to them.   I agree they are wonderful.

Thanks again

Traycie


0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 3rd June 19

the towpath is awful and would not recommend anyone to live here. there are only 2 good things about this place. 1, it's close to uni 2, there's a pub next to it but honestly not even them reasons I would stay here.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 4th June 19

Hi John, I'm really sorry to hear that you feel this way, please could you reach out to us via the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk so that we can discuss your concerns. 

Thanks

Traycie


0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 25th May 19

I originally wrote an excellent review for The Towpath, but since then i believe it has changed. The Towpath has become a horrible place for me to live, i believe its become a very unhappy place. Since December, it just seems to have got worse and worse and there is only so long you can put up with it for. I didn't move out to be treated like a child and thats how i feel by the staff now. There is only one good staff member left, which is the security guard who doesn't even work for student roost! i write this review with sadness as this place in september was amazing but now it's like a drugs den! There are drugs in ever block of The Towpath and nothing is done. I don't think i can live here another year. So if i was you i wouldn't live here in september and i would consider living elsewhere.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 5th June 19

HI Thank you for your review, I'm really sorry to hear that you are no longer enjoying living here, we would welcome the chance to discuss any concerns with you so that we can try and resolve them so please feel free to pop into reception or email the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk , our reception is manned 24/7 .

Thanks again for your feedback.

Traycie

 


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 23rd May 19

The staff at Towpath are so kind and helpful. I am lucky to live where the management are so kind and understanding. I needed to make a room change half way through the tenancy and no questions were asked, the job of moving was made simple and with no stress. You don’t get that opportunity and understanding anywhere else. Thank you everyone.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 4th June 19

Thank you so much, we are so glad we could help you when you needed to move rooms.

Thanks again

Traycie


0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 21st May 19

All I hear is trains every night. These beds are terrible I feel like my back is gonna give way at any point. Prices are a joke and all the events are aimed for 5 year olds like I don't want paint rocks I'm 18

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 4th June 19

Hi Joe, I'm really sorry to hear that you are experiencing trouble with the trains and the mattresses, if you need a new mattress please let us know your flat number and pop and talk to us in reception to see if we can suggest anything for the train noise. 

I'm sorry that you feel the rock painting was not for you, our residents had indicated they wanted to do this via facebook, but we know it wasn't for everyone so we have lots of other events happening that may be more suitable for you, this month we have had Therapy Pets on site, Free Massages, Free Pool Coaching and Pizza , an Ice Cream van and an end of term pizza night.

We would love to put on events that our residents want to attend so any ideas gratefully received in person or you can email them to the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk

Thanks

Traycie


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 15th May 19

If you look at the student roost website there is better accommodation in other places for better value for money. Which is why I have said it’s not value for money, since their facilities can be better and you can pay for studios for the price of a en-suite here! For example Northgate point and Northgate studios! The location is chilled!! Considering there are 300+ students living here over met a minimum of 20 since there aren’t many social events! They got rid of freebie Friday and pizza night! Only recently have they been doing event again. But one event which included pizza and a cinema night was set during the half term. So there weren’t many students here. They are just after money! I know people who rebooked then cancelled and they said they cant cancel or they can’t get their money back that they paid for next year... it isn’t worth the money. I know 9 people who rebooked and have cancelled to go to cheaper, more worth your money accommodation

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 4th June 19

Hi thank you for your review, We love the location too,  we would like an opportunity to discuss any concerns that you may have in person so please pop to reception or email us on the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk

We hold events each month and have been trying some new things for our residents such as cooking lessons, pool coaching, massages, therapy pets , pizza is still on the menu though you will be glad to know and we have had 3 pizza events this year .  We would love to know what events our residents want at the Towpath so that we can do our best to incorporate them so please let us know.

Warm regards

Traycie


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 30th April 19

I've lived in the Towpath for the last two years and have rebooked to spend my final year there too! The staff and halls themselves are amazing and the views from the rooms are insane! If you want a hassle free and modern space to live the Towpath is where you need to be!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 4th June 19

Thank you so much for your review, its great to hear that you are staying with us an extra year and enjoy living here.   We think the rooms are pretty insane too .  If there is anything we can do to make living at the Towpath better please let us know on the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk or in person at reception.

Thanks again

Traycie


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th April 19

Absolutely incredible place to live, staff are friendly and supportive and always know how to cheer you up. Location is beautiful and students are welcomed into office with a welcoming smile. On site security are fabulous and friendly and couldn’t make you feel safer (also good to chat to while having a fag). Office staff are always there to listen whether a personal issue or financial issue there always there. Highly recommend living at the towpath made my uni stay amazing.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 4th June 19

Hi Charlie, thanks so much for your review, I'm glad the team have been there to listen for you.  Colin is fabulous and its great to hear that you think this too.  

Warm regards

Traycie


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th April 19

The Towpath is always 100% the best place in the towpath, the staff Traycie, Lorna, Paul & Colin are all so friendly and always happy to help. The security is top notch, Colin the security guard is the funniest and super friendly. The cluster flats are the best thing about the towpath, it’s the best way to meet new friends as well as the social events. The best place to live in Chester

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 4th June 19

Thank you so much for your review , we are so glad you love the cluster flats and have been able to make new friends and enjoy the social events.  Its great to hear that you find Colin super friendly and I'll be sure to feed that back to him.   Anything else that we can do to help continue to make Towpath a great place to live please let us know in reception or email us on the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk

Thanks

Traycie


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th April 19

Good accommodation and nice staff espically colin. Big up colin

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 4th June 19

Thanks so much for your review, its great to hear you are happy with the accommodation and team and we agree that Colin is wonderful. 

Thanks

Traycie


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 4th April 19

Amazing modern rooms with en-suites. Perfect location between uni and town. Safe and secure with security guard. Friendly, helpful staff who will do anything to make sure your time at university is smooth and enjoyable. Onsite maintenance to help with any issues. And a social space and social events which really help with socialisation and making friends with a wide range of people!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Towpath
On 4th June 19

Thanks so much for your lovely review, we agree the rooms and location are perfect and so close to town and uni.   Really glad that the team have been able to help you make your time more enjoyable and that you are enjoying the social space and events.  If there is anything we can do to make your time here more enjoyable please let us know at rececption or via the.towpath@studentroost.co.uk

Thanks again

Traycie


Considering The Towpath?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to vote, comment, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.