StudentCrowd-RGB-LongCreated with Sketch. Helping students make decisions SEARCH ARTICLES SIGN IN Write a Review

Canterbury Student Manor Reviews

36 Reviews by Students

3.6 / 5
3.6 / 5

How do you rate Canterbury Student Manor?

credit: CRM Students
 image credit  |   report abuse
CRM Students

Most helpful review

I have lived here for 3 years and am going to live here for my final year! It’s a very chilled out place to live and definitely feels like home! All the staff are lovely and have always resolved any issues I may have had (although hardly any but say I had a maintenance issue, for example, Darius would be right there). The court yard is really nice to hang out in whilst also having a great cinema room!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member10108625
On 14th May 24
verified Verified student
Read all reviews

Canterbury Hall Rankings


Pavilion Court #5
Alma Court #6
Turing College #7
Canterbury Student Village #8
Canterbury Student Manor #9
Keynes College #10
Tyler Court #11
Parham Student Village #12
Woolf College #13
Park Wood #14

*Minimum 10 reviews required to be ranked.


Most helpful review

I have lived here for 3 years and am going to live here for my final year! It’s a very chilled out place to live and definitely feels like home! All the staff are lovely and have always resolved any issues I may have had (although hardly any but say I had a maintenance issue, for example, Darius would be right there). The court yard is really nice to hang out in whilst also having a great cinema room!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member10108625
On 14th May 24
verified Verified student
Read all reviews

Q&A


Q
Not happy the way my complaint was handled about money not being transmitted on time whilst all along it was the problem with accounts/bank.
By member868657 On 4th May 22
Q
Does anyone have any info on the move in process I can’t get through to Canterbury student manor and I’m expecting to move in next week
By member662107 On 3rd September 21
Q
As a first year at the University Of Kent, social life is very important to me. Is this private halls or university halls ? Is there many people that live here that attend university of Kent ?
By member1261299 On 23rd July 21
Q

Ask a new question about Canterbury Student Manor

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Canterbury Student Manor Reviews


Student Review: 5 /5
By member10108625 On 14th May 24 verified Verified student

I have lived here for 3 years and am going to live here for my final year! It’s a very chilled out place to live and definitely feels like home! All the staff are lovely and have always resolved any issues I may have had (although hardly any but say I had a maintenance issue, for example, Darius would be right there). The court yard is really nice to hang out in whilst also having a great cinema room!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 16th May 24

Student Review: 5 /5
By member487557 On 14th May 24 verified Verified student

Been at Canterbury Student Manor for over a year, and it's hands down the best Student Accomadation for students in Canterbury! From stellar management to top-notch facilities, it's all A+. The staff are amazing—they go above and beyond to keep everything safe, clean, and awesome. Here's what I have noticed: - Staff are super friendly and detail-oriented. - Place is always spotless, with end-of-tenancy cleaning too. - Facilities rock—a cinema, gym, games room, study area, common room, and pantry/dining room. - It's safe, with noise kept in check. Shoutout to Jamie, Darius, and Holly—they're the real lifeline of this place. Without them, Canterbury Student Manor wouldn't be half as awesome. CRM have clearly got something right here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 14th May 24

Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member9108160 On 7th May 24 verified Verified student

Firstly, the staff at Canterbury Student Manor are all lovely people and are willing to go above and beyond to support students at the accommodation. The buildings are modern and well looked after with good appliances and easy to clean surfaces. The onsite amenities are all very good bar the washing machines which are circuit. I have had a couple of issues with circuit as a company but that does not reflect on the student manor as they are separate. The common rooms (gym, cinema room, kitchen and others) are all incredibly clean and kept very well. The internet is very good and you can add 6 devices for free or up to 1000 for just £15 a year. I will be staying here next year too as it is nearby to my university and very near to the supermarket (less than 10 min walk).

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 8th May 24

Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member9108146 On 7th May 24 verified Verified student

I stayed at this accommodation during my 3 years at uni and was definitely very happy. The staff and security are super helpful and friendly and made my living experience extremely pleasant. I would easily recommend this accommodation to any student.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 8th May 24

Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member4108134 On 7th May 24 verified Verified student

Have had a great experience with Student Manor, the management team have been really helpful whenever I've had an issue. The accommodation is always clean (before students come outside) and maintained well. The cinema room offers a great place to hangout with friends. The switch remotes work sometimes. Additionally, the internet speed is great but does have connection problems at times.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 14th May 24

Student Review: 2.1 /5
By member6108078 On 6th May 24 verified Verified student

The staff are absolutely terrible. They offer no help when it comes to complaints and only care if money is mentioned. Will ignore emails for weeks and be rude to you if you try and follow up on emails. Maintenance is terrible and can take months to fix simple issues, they tend to do cheap fixes which barely last a few weeks then you are back to waiting for months to get a repair or a replacement. All these staff care about is money and are unwilling to help any student and have often heard them talking negatively about students. Now staff are charging you £5 just for them to actually get up and help. Office staff were never this bad and I wouldn’t recommend this place based on the price and what you get for it.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 8th May 24

Student Review: 1.9 /5
By member13108075 On 6th May 24 verified Verified student

This place is not worth it, receptionists and staff are unfriendly and incredibly rude, treat you as if you are incompetent; they find any way to extort money from students, charging to be let into your own room, finding temporary repairs than fixing the issue, making you wait month for a repair with no time frame but still charge you for the services you never experienced. The halls do not get cleaned properly, I’ve seen the same wrappers and trash in the hall way for days? The doors do not get fixed, the maintenance guy doesn’t fix anything properly in-fact makes things worse. Everyone I’ve ever spoken to hates this place.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 8th May 24

Student Review: 3 /5
By member11107799 On 1st May 24 verified Verified student

Would not recommend to anyone, communication is severely lacking. Takes ages for issues to get resolved and residents are not kept informed. Have to go out of your way to ask if you want answers. Been spoken to sarcastically multiple times by staff. Think it could benefit from a monthly email maybe, as is a very impersonal accommodation.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 8th May 24

Student Review: 2.6 /5
By member13107762 On 1st May 24 verified Verified student

Way too expensive for what it has to offer.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 16th May 24

Student Review: 5 /5
By Senacolatse On 1st February 23 verified Verified student

BEST STUDENT ACCOMMODATION IN THE UK

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member474848 On 11th January 23 verified Verified student

Always clean and tidy throughout the whole accommodation, attentive staff who are always ready to help you. We have fun events throughout the year which the staff really engage in! So far I’ve had no issues staying here and don’t imagine any to arise

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1174714 On 6th January 23 verified Verified student

nice stay, I enjoy the facilities here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member973165 On 8th November 22 verified Verified student

Lived here both my first and second year, with plans of living here for my third, absolutely great place to live, staff are kind and incredibly helpful, extremely close to several super markets, and only a twenty minute walk from the city centre

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 1.4 /5
By member1171829 On 27th September 22 verified Verified student

Don’t stay here you have warned!! All the 5 star reviews they give out money and vouchers to get them! I thought living in a student accommodation will be safer than living outside No, This place has proved me wrong! Although it can be access the building and my studio room “only by the keycard” Some staffs used master keycard opened my room and took my Hermes First, the manager said the plan of maintenance my room is cancelled bc engineer is sick but I saw the door was fixed by some glue so she admitted later they actually entered my room! Besides, the cleaner also accessed my room and said I thought this room already checked out! I’ve reported crime however, The police emailed me said student manor Canterbury staffs did not provide him any cooperation nor time to check cctv and once he checked, cctv is no longer available nor functioning! Staff even said back to me “we don’t know your hermes was really there! in your room didn’t have cctv”

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member667253 On 15th March 22 verified Verified student

A very pleasant, calm and secure place to live that is close to universities, the city center and food shops. The team is very welcoming, warm and is always there for you.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 16th May 24

Student Review: 4.4 /5
By member867169 On 11th March 22 verified Verified student

Amazing place for students, not far from the city centre and my campus ( Kent Uni). Rooms are spacious enough and the management is always happy to help. Definitely recommend this place !

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.1 /5
By member1067162 On 11th March 22 verified Verified student

Good place to live while at uni, never have any problems with the services etc.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member567158 On 11th March 22 verified Verified student

Made me feel very welcome. Lovely place and has everything you need right at your door step!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member667157 On 11th March 22 verified Verified student

Excellent staff and service! Fairly good location in a quiet area

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.4 /5
By member1267150 On 11th March 22 verified Verified student

Great management, good social spaces, could have more social events and better cleaning

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1367148 On 11th March 22 verified Verified student

My experience has been good. The staff are very helpful and friendly and it has been nice and peacful stay.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 1.3 /5
By member1267145 On 11th March 22 verified Verified student

It’s so expensive for what you are given, it’s in a location where the only things that’s good about it is the asda. There is little to no parking the majority is on a permit road. The Wi-Fi is always cutting out

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.7 /5
By member567144 On 11th March 22 verified Verified student

Canterbury Student Manor is a good place to stay, I enjoy staying there and I have made a booking to stay there for the next academic year.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1367143 On 11th March 22 verified Verified student

Thanks for Diba, Cameron and Darius!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member562486 On 24th September 21 verified Verified student

Great place to stay if you're looking to have a clean nice-looking room with an en-suite. The staff is very friendly, the events are always fun, and the location is perfect. I would recommend viewing the property and booking with them if you're going to study in Canterbury.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member760658 On 1st July 21 verified Verified student

Such a great experience! I would definitely recommend this accomodation.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1360657 On 1st July 21 verified Verified student

Absolutely amazing! I’ve stayed in a few uni halls and private rented places. This is by far the BEST! The site has so many communal spaces and a gym and cinema! The staff are so lovely and they’ll literally help you with anything you need. It’s such a lovely friendly site.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1260656 On 1st July 21 verified Verified student

Canterbury student manor Is easily one of the best student accommodations in Canterbury you can find Loads of great facilities and the staff are second to none they will help with whatever they can. Any issues get resolved fairly quickly and I personally have not had any maintenance issues. The site is well located close to a retail park and not too far from all universities. The city is a short 15/20 minute walk, for the price I think you will struggle to find anything better suited to stay during your studies

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 1.6 /5
By member1360648 On 1st July 21 verified Verified student

The accommodation is in an area rampant with drug activity, robbery, and attack of students. The site has a facade of security; however, the layout of the entry gates (when working) does not prevent tailgating or access of non-residents to the site. There have been several incidents where non-residents have gained entry to the site, selling drugs to residents, attacking, and robbing residents. The accommodation staff are also inconsistent in their courtesy and support of residents, and can sometimes be quite rude and abrasive.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member1057432 On 7th May 21 verified Verified student

We stayed in a studio flat, and it was a nice stay. There were a few problems concerning things like, the oven, the toilet leaking, and the shower door not sealing. Other than that, there was not much that the management could do regarding social spaces and the social experience because they were unavailable for the majority of our stay due to the pandemic, which is no fault of the management obviously.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 7th May 21

Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member457394 On 6th May 21 verified Verified student

Overall, made some really good friends, and it's very clean and tidy. I love it! Bit on the dearer side, but still really worth the money!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 7th May 21

Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member657392 On 6th May 21 verified Verified student

Been here for three years and best choice I ever made to be honest. The staff are super lovely and make you feel welcome - the accommodation really feels like a home. The staff host events such as barbecues and fun parties around Halloween and Christmas and also Easter egg hunts at Easter, these are little extras but they make all the difference. They have a cinema room, games room and a gym which are super fun and convenient extras, I couldn’t have asked for more in a university accommodation :) Thank you so much, really going to miss this place! ❤️

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 7th May 21

Student Review: 2.1 /5
By member550902 On 2nd September 20 verified Verified student

Horrible experience. Staff are rude. So many problems with the property.Told us that we still had to pay last terms rent even though we wasn’t staying there because “they haven’t finished paying for the building” emails to prove.Not understanding whatsoever. The two girls that work there are disgustingly rude. I had people, and work men walk into my room unannounced (didn’t knock or give any warning) because they thought it was a door to a cluster Room. Why are strangers who don’t know the building allowed to walk around the premises unaccompanied? Only good thing is that it was a good location. The studio, for the money you pay for it, is disgusting. I had multiple of bugs come from the vent which I complained MANY times. It’s a tiny room, I suggest if you do stay with them there’s no point getting a studio.Was building work going on for 3 months outside mydoor,considerably loud. Workmen arguing outside my room, swearing shouting Icomplained nothing happeNed. Horrible place To stay!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 6th May 21

Student Review: 1 /5
By member650000 On 22nd July 20 verified Verified student

This accommodation is a literal scam; they charge you exhortation rate prices, but the place is literally falling apart, with construction taking place my whole stay there, it was living in a construction site with the walls peeling off and cracks everywhere. The staff, apart from Darius, was literally unhelpful and did not care about the wellbeing of any of the students. The WiFi was disastrous at best, with having too switch too hotspot all my devices at best. The worst accommodation ever!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 6th May 21

Student Review: 4.7 /5
By Courtney On 17th June 19 verified Verified student

Value for money is excellent, not only is the room worth it but you also have facilities within the accommodation; washing machines, cinema room, games room, gym and common rooms. Location is really good as you have lots of shops nearby, walking distance to town and bus stops very close - however would be convenient if there was a bus that catered for our accommodation as we have to get two buses to university which can be a hassle, but exchange of buses are still relatively quick. Hall management really good, cleaners always keep it clean, and there’s always security 24/7 so there is a high level of safety within the accommodation. Social spaces also really good as there are tv’s and sofas and vending machines, and also a study room but I think this could be bigger due to the amount of people living in this accommodation. Social experience is amazing as our accommodation makes events for us to socialise with other people within the accommodation. WiFi is amazing, never had issues.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 6th May 21

Student Review: 4.7 /5
By stephen070996 On 7th June 19 verified Verified student

overall great place to live, however if you are studying in University of Kent, it would be quite far

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor On 6th May 21

Considering Canterbury Student Manor?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.