How do you rate Canterbury Student Manor?

credit: CRM Students
 image credit  |   report abuse
CRM Students

Most helpful review

Absolutely amazing! I’ve stayed in a few uni halls and private rented places. This is by far the BEST! The site has so many communal spaces and a gym and cinema! The staff are so lovely and they’ll literally help you with anything you need. It’s such a lovely friendly site.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1360657
On 1st July 21

Canterbury Hall Rankings


Turing College #1
Keynes College #2
Tyler Court #3
Canterbury Student Manor #4
Palamon Court #5
Park Wood #6
Becket Court #7
Rutherford College #8
Parham Road Student Village #9
Eliot College #10

All Student Accommodation in Canterbury


Most helpful review

Absolutely amazing! I’ve stayed in a few uni halls and private rented places. This is by far the BEST! The site has so many communal spaces and a gym and cinema! The staff are so lovely and they’ll literally help you with anything you need. It’s such a lovely friendly site.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1360657
On 1st July 21

Q&A


Q
As a first year at the University Of Kent, social life is very important to me. Is this private halls or university halls ? Is there many people that live here that attend university of Kent ?
By member1261299 On 23rd July 21
Q

Ask a new question about Canterbury Student Manor

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Canterbury Student Manor Reviews


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 1st July 21

Such a great experience! I would definitely recommend this accomodation.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 1st July 21

Absolutely amazing! I’ve stayed in a few uni halls and private rented places. This is by far the BEST! The site has so many communal spaces and a gym and cinema! The staff are so lovely and they’ll literally help you with anything you need. It’s such a lovely friendly site.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 1st July 21

Canterbury student manor Is easily one of the best student accommodations in Canterbury you can find Loads of great facilities and the staff are second to none they will help with whatever they can. Any issues get resolved fairly quickly and I personally have not had any maintenance issues. The site is well located close to a retail park and not too far from all universities. The city is a short 15/20 minute walk, for the price I think you will struggle to find anything better suited to stay during your studies

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By On 1st July 21

The accommodation is in an area rampant with drug activity, robbery, and attack of students. The site has a facade of security; however, the layout of the entry gates (when working) does not prevent tailgating or access of non-residents to the site. There have been several incidents where non-residents have gained entry to the site, selling drugs to residents, attacking, and robbing residents. The accommodation staff are also inconsistent in their courtesy and support of residents, and can sometimes be quite rude and abrasive.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 7th May 21

We stayed in a studio flat, and it was a nice stay. There were a few problems concerning things like, the oven, the toilet leaking, and the shower door not sealing. Other than that, there was not much that the management could do regarding social spaces and the social experience because they were unavailable for the majority of our stay due to the pandemic, which is no fault of the management obviously.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor
On 7th May 21

We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay! 

We aim to respond to all maintenance issues within 24 hours when possible, and within a short time frame if an outside contractor is needed. Please come down to reception and let us know if there are any jobs outstanding, although hopefully these are all rectified now. 

We agree it is a shame about events and social spaces this year, however we have just had a BBQ and will be having another outdoor event very shortly! Hopefully come next September everything will be back to normal so we can plan some fun parties :)


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 6th May 21

Overall, made some really good friends, and it's very clean and tidy. I love it! Bit on the dearer side, but still really worth the money!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor
On 7th May 21

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here and made new friends, for so many people that's the hardest or most worrying thing about moving away!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 6th May 21

Been here for three years and best choice I ever made to be honest. The staff are super lovely and make you feel welcome - the accommodation really feels like a home. The staff host events such as barbecues and fun parties around Halloween and Christmas and also Easter egg hunts at Easter, these are little extras but they make all the difference. They have a cinema room, games room and a gym which are super fun and convenient extras, I couldn’t have asked for more in a university accommodation :) Thank you so much, really going to miss this place! ❤️

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor
On 7th May 21

Thankyou so much for your lovely review! It makes us so happy to hear that you loved staying here, and I'm so glad it felt like home to you. 

I think our events really help people get to know each other especially at the beginning, and are what makes Student Manor such a lovely community!

 


Student Review: 2 /5
By On 2nd September 20

Horrible experience. Staff are rude. So many problems with the property.Told us that we still had to pay last terms rent even though we wasn’t staying there because “they haven’t finished paying for the building” emails to prove.Not understanding whatsoever. The two girls that work there are disgustingly rude. I had people, and work men walk into my room unannounced (didn’t knock or give any warning) because they thought it was a door to a cluster Room. Why are strangers who don’t know the building allowed to walk around the premises unaccompanied? Only good thing is that it was a good location. The studio, for the money you pay for it, is disgusting. I had multiple of bugs come from the vent which I complained MANY times. It’s a tiny room, I suggest if you do stay with them there’s no point getting a studio.Was building work going on for 3 months outside mydoor,considerably loud. Workmen arguing outside my room, swearing shouting Icomplained nothing happeNed. Horrible place To stay!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor
On 6th May 21

Good Afternoon,

I am sorry to hear that you had some negative experiences here at Student Manor. Any rental disputes were dealt with on an individual basis and responded to accordingly to discuss payment plan option. We tried to work with students as best we could to help come to an agreement with residents an landlords. 

We sincerely apologise if any workmen went into your room unauthorized, this of course should not happen and we speak to all contractors on site before they start any work to ensure this does not happen. 

The work you are referring to was essential fire-safety work to make sure that Canterbury Student Manor is as safe as possible for our residents. The work was in multiple areas of the building so we tried as best we could to minimise the time workers spent in one place, and of course they were only allowed to work on weekdays at acceptable hours.

Kind Regards

Canterbury Student Manor Accommodation Team


Student Review: 1 /5
By On 22nd July 20

This accommodation is a literal scam; they charge you exhortation rate prices, but the place is literally falling apart, with construction taking place my whole stay there, it was living in a construction site with the walls peeling off and cracks everywhere. The staff, apart from Darius, was literally unhelpful and did not care about the wellbeing of any of the students. The WiFi was disastrous at best, with having too switch too hotspot all my devices at best. The worst accommodation ever!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor
On 6th May 21

Good Afternoon, 

We are sorry to hear that you feel this way about your stay here. Our prices are very competitive when compared to other modern accommodation sites in Canterbury and we feel the site is of a very high standard. 

Our staff care deeply about the welfare of all students here and we try to make the stay as enjoyable as possible with our many events and free food nioghts. We feel we have a lovely community here because of this. 

Our wi-fi speed is up to 100Mbps, however if you experienced issues with this we sincerely apologise. The provider, Ask 4, can always be contacted to review any issues.

Kind Regards

Canterbury Student Manor Accommoation Team


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th June 19

Value for money is excellent, not only is the room worth it but you also have facilities within the accommodation; washing machines, cinema room, games room, gym and common rooms. Location is really good as you have lots of shops nearby, walking distance to town and bus stops very close - however would be convenient if there was a bus that catered for our accommodation as we have to get two buses to university which can be a hassle, but exchange of buses are still relatively quick. Hall management really good, cleaners always keep it clean, and there’s always security 24/7 so there is a high level of safety within the accommodation. Social spaces also really good as there are tv’s and sofas and vending machines, and also a study room but I think this could be bigger due to the amount of people living in this accommodation. Social experience is amazing as our accommodation makes events for us to socialise with other people within the accommodation. WiFi is amazing, never had issues.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor
On 6th May 21

Hi Courtney, 

Thank you very much for your lovely review! It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here with us for the last few years.

The facilities on site are definitely what makes us stand out, along with our lovely community atmosphere and regular social events. 

I appreciate and understand your comment about transport, if you are a Christchurch student it is only 1 bus journey or a 15 minute walk. Did you know if you walk up to Sainsbury's (about a 4-5 minute walk) there is a University of Kent bus stop there that would mean you only need to get on one bus for 10 minutes?

We are really happy you feel safe here with our security! And it has always been a pleasure to have you here as one of our residents :)

Kind Regards

Canterbury Student Manor Accommoation Team


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 19

overall great place to live, however if you are studying in University of Kent, it would be quite far

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Canterbury Student Manor
On 6th May 21

Hi Stephen, 

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your point of view. 

Univeristy of Kent can be a little trickier to get to, however if you walk up to the big Sainsbury's on the roundabout (about a 5 minute walk) and jump on a Unibus there, the bus journey should only be around 10 minutes!

Kind Regards

Cantebury Student Manor Accommodation Team


Considering Canterbury Student Manor?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.