StudentCrowd-RGB-LongCreated with Sketch. Helping students make decisions SEARCH ARTICLES SIGN IN Write a Review

How do you rate The Tannery?

credit: https://www.thisisfresh.com/leicester/the-tannery/gallery
 image credit  |   report abuse
https://www.thisisfresh.com/leicester/the-tannery/gallery

Most helpful review

The staff are really accommodating. I felt finding somewhere to live for the academic year quite late and I called and me and my friend were able to be sorted with a flat, by opening up an unavailable flat for us.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member6104776
On 19th March 24
verified Verified student
Read all reviews

Leicester Hall Rankings


St George's Tower #1
73 Princess Road East #2
Study Inn Leicester - Reynard House #3
The Tannery #4
Newarke Point #5
Castle Court #6
Merlin Heights #7
Applegate Place #8
Liberty Park #9
Dover Street Apartments #10

*Minimum 10 reviews required to be ranked.


Most helpful review

The staff are really accommodating. I felt finding somewhere to live for the academic year quite late and I called and me and my friend were able to be sorted with a flat, by opening up an unavailable flat for us.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member6104776
On 19th March 24
verified Verified student
Read all reviews

Q&A


Q
is there many year 1 students there?
By member896259 On 9th December 23
Q
Is it recommended to stay here for first year students?
By member594755 On 11th November 23
Q
do you have any 44 weeks or around that range for 4 people?
By member874007 On 5th December 22
Q
is there parking? And are the residents there diverse?
By member472068 On 3rd October 22
Q

Ask a new question about The Tannery

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read The Tannery Reviews


Student Review: 3.1 /5
By member9104778 On 19th March 24 verified Verified student

The staff are so lovely and so understanding

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 5 /5
By member6104776 On 19th March 24 verified Verified student

The staff are really accommodating. I felt finding somewhere to live for the academic year quite late and I called and me and my friend were able to be sorted with a flat, by opening up an unavailable flat for us.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4.1 /5
By member12104705 On 19th March 24 verified Verified student

lovely place and management are so welcoming and sweet

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member7104676 On 19th March 24 verified Verified student

Staff are very supportive and kind when especially I was going through a hard time and location is perfect

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 3.4 /5
By member5104622 On 19th March 24 verified Verified student

in terms of location as a university of leicester student i’d opt for somewhere closer to campus however for dmu students this is a good location and city centre is not far

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member494900 On 19th March 24 verified Verified student

The Tannery, is a great accommodation and most likely the best in Leicester. Great location , facilities and staff; as well as very convenient as it’s a walking distance from DMU campus and we also have a corner shop right next to the building. I would highly recommend this accommodation to any first years looking for a place to stay during their studies as this is my 2nd year staying at this building

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4 /5
By member13104590 On 19th March 24 verified Verified student

Great accommodation, aesthetically pleasing rooms. The staff at reception are great and if you’ve got any issues with any sort of maintenance it’s resolved quickly.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 5 /5
By member1199611 On 7th February 24 verified Verified student

The accommodation is fabulous and the staff is really helpful

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4 /5
By member899202 On 4th February 24 verified Verified student

Very good accommodation, security and staff all very friendly. Modern, clean rooms and kitchens. Great value for money

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 6th February 24
Student Review: 5 /5
By member1098949 On 1st February 24 verified Verified student

Great place to stay. Very clean and warm and around the clock security willing to help at any inconvenience.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 6th February 24
Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member598415 On 29th January 24 verified Verified student

I love the staff at tannery they’re so nice and welcoming. It’s really helped me settle into the city and kind of feel at home

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 6th February 24
Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member498127 On 25th January 24 verified Verified student

Good so far, nice place to live

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member1398100 On 25th January 24 verified Verified student

Best accommodation! Lovely staff!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 5 /5
By member698057 On 25th January 24 verified Verified student

The accommodation is good and staff is also very supportive.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member597973 On 24th January 24 verified Verified student

Best accommodation in Leicester.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member897927 On 24th January 24 verified Verified student

Great atmosphere with engaging and exceptional staff members who are always there to accomodate

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member1297877 On 23rd January 24 verified Verified student

Samantha, Tom, Ella and Kerry are the greatest people ever any query they resolve it and really care about the people in and out the accommodation

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member1397819 On 23rd January 24 verified Verified student

Can’t complain, the rooms are nice but the only downside is that the heater turns off every 10-15 mins

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 5 /5
By member1097771 On 22nd January 24 verified Verified student

Lovely staff, close to town centre and rooms are spacious and modern ❤️

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member1297768 On 22nd January 24 verified Verified student

I love staying here, it’s so safe and it’s so clean and everything is very modern, the staff are so so lovely and are willing to help at any time.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member697753 On 22nd January 24 verified Verified student

GREAT EXPERIENCE AT THE TANNERY, very social. made a lot of friends

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 5 /5
By member1197031 On 11th January 24 verified Verified student

It’s a really good place to stay, reception and security are so nice.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member796971 On 11th January 24 verified Verified student

very cute and aesthetic , very friendly staff too !

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member1296934 On 10th January 24 verified Verified student

Particularly excellent staff team, Sam and Tom especially. Very modern and well maintained building with all the facilities you need as a student, also appreciate the location as being by the city centre is so useful.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 2.3 /5
By member896275 On 13th December 23 verified Verified student

The common reviews about the staff here are true. Management and Day Staff are “nice” until they’re not. When you first arrive they’re nice until you have an enquiry/problem and then they quickly become very rude and snarky. Management here are also completely unprofessional, they will even stop responding to your emails and ignoring you and they will gossip about you amongst eachother. Be wary before being stuck in a contract here. Security are the loveliest people and always helpful. Also there’s always unnecessary charges added here on top of what you already pay. No social events ever happen here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4 /5
By member1094901 On 15th November 23 verified Verified student

Good accommodation and nice receptionist

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member877825 On 9th February 23 verified Verified student

The accommodation is excellent with good amenities and Management. It feels like home here and I’m really glad that I found this place and booked it right away.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 5 /5
By member976074 On 26th January 23 verified Verified student

The property is fantastic and the indoor facilities are quite good whether it is gaming zone or gyming area overall its nice.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 5 /5
By member1175959 On 25th January 23 verified Verified student

Its like 5 minutes from uni of and 2 from dmu and modern

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 5 /5
By member775640 On 24th January 23 verified Verified student

Tannery is so beautiful and the room are nice

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 5 /5
By member1175637 On 24th January 23 verified Verified student

It have been an amazing experience.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member1072204 On 7th October 22 verified Verified student

great place to live, friendly staff

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 11th October 22
Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member1271754 On 23rd September 22 verified Verified student

Very nice accommodation, friendly staff and great value for money, making my university experience even better !

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 11th October 22
Student Review: 4.4 /5
By member871554 On 14th September 22 verified Verified student

Beautiful property, Staff make it well worth the money and make it feel like home, good distance from DMU. Tom is a real one :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 11th October 22
Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member1071553 On 14th September 22 verified Verified student

So far, from Day of viewing to day of move in it’s been the best experience I’ve had with accommodation. I’ve enjoyed the freindly staff and the amazing hospitality in terms of generous spacious rooms and easy to use facilities in the kitchen and around the flat. It’s been an amazing time so far and it’s only just started. I cannot wait for the year ahead.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 11th October 22
Student Review: 2.4 /5
By member1270821 On 15th August 22 verified Verified student

The staff are welcoming at first but soon became unwilling to help with serious issues. Did not investigate issues properly and became hostile and rude to students involved. Multiple parties took place within the courtyard, causing damage to communal areas, no action was taken about this. Basketball hoop installed caused noise complaints, again, nothing done about this. Radiator broke and wasn’t fixed for at least a month. Wi-Fi cut out for a month and wasn’t fixed with hast. Got locked in my room due to cheap door fittings and had to be cut out by security after almost 3 hours. Only fire evacuation test was done the whole year. Doors to building broke and didn’t lock properly at all, allowing random people to walk in. Communal areas were wrecked by students constantly and left uncleaned. Rooms are good value for money, and location is a good distance from city centre. Security staff are lovely.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 11th October 22
Student Review: 2.9 /5
By member470820 On 15th August 22 verified Verified student

The location is very good but the building is very cheaply built. Fire guards broke a week into moving in and all had to be replaced. Loud parties happened in the courtyard and were never sorted and a basketball ring was installed so if you have a room on the inside of the building it’s all you will hear. All the keys randomly stopped working for the bin storage so people were just throwing their bins down the stairs and leaving it lying around in the courtyard. Unnecessary charges were made in order to keep parts of our deposits and the staff were unwilling to hear our sides of the story so had to accept the charges. Staff are nice but not willing to help in serious situations and quick to turn against you. Lifts break regularly as well as the heating and the WiFi broke for two months without any compensation being made to sort it out. No parking if you have a car and residents that parked their cars behind the accommodation had their windows smashed. Security is lovely though.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 11th October 22
Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member1165453 On 17th January 22 verified Verified student

friendly staff and nice accommodation

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 14th March 22
Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member665332 On 11th January 22 verified Verified student

From the day I arrived the staff were really welcoming, and made sure I felt settled straight away. The building is also a lot better than majority of accommodations and gives access to a nice game area, study room and a lot more. Residents living here are also easy to get along with. The whole experience living in the tannery is amazing, really made my university experience as a first year.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 14th March 22
Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member1065314 On 11th January 22 verified Verified student

The staff are great and super supportive can’t complain at all would recommend anyone to live here

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 14th March 22
Student Review: 5 /5
By member1265300 On 10th January 22 verified Verified student

2 months ago Friendly and welcoming! I booked this accommodation last minute as everywhere else was sold out. At first, I was apprehensive as it’s a new building with no reviews but honestly could not find any faults. The staff are lovely and will go above and beyond to ensure all your needs are met. The rooms are nice with plenty of storage and the overall atmosphere of the building is very warm and welcoming, not to mention the additional social spaces such as the cinema and games room. By far the best student accommodation I’ve stayed in

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 14th March 22
Student Review: 5 /5
By member465291 On 10th January 22 verified Verified student

The Tannery is honestly the best halls in Leicester! After living in university owned accommodation last year, I was really anxious about returning into halls again but the staff are so helpful and welcoming. Any issues you have, the staff will try there hardest to help you resolve them. Everyone that lives within the tannery are so friendly, and I can truly say I wouldn’t choose anywhere else to live. The rooms are amazing, a lot more spacious than you think.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 14th March 22
Student Review: 5 /5
By member1265284 On 10th January 22 verified Verified student

I LOVE THIS ACCOMMODATION IS BEAUTIFUL, CLEAN and the staff are the best and very welcoming

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 18th January 22
Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member765277 On 10th January 22 verified Verified student

ITS A GREAT ACCOM WITH AMAZING STAFF I WOULD RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 18th January 22
Student Review: 5 /5
By member1265188 On 5th January 22 verified Verified student

The tannery is a great place to live in a great location, with a lovely reception team to greet you every Monday to Friday, who are ready to help with any issues or worries you may have! it’s a brand new build and everything is very modern and and great atmosphere to live in. The flats are nicer then most student accommodations in Leicester with a spacious kitchen which is great for socialising and all in all really good for the money! The study room the games room, the cinema room and the court yard are all places used by the the students living here and are great aspects to the tannery.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 11th January 22
Student Review: 5 /5
By member564818 On 10th December 21 verified Verified student

Beautiful accom and I love it here it’s fantastic

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 5th January 22
Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member764812 On 10th December 21 verified Verified student

My experience at the tannery has been amazing, the staff are kind and will always look out for you. They always have a chat and are very friendly. The tannery has exceptional social spaces such as a games room which has a pool table which is my personal favourite. They also have a study space which is really calming and helps me to do my work I use it all the time. The rooms are a good size which is very modern. The tannery is a great place to live !

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 6th January 22
Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member1064786 On 9th December 21 verified Verified student

Lovely accommodation, very useful study space and social areas. Close to DMU, not very close to uni of leicester. Would still recommend

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 6th January 22
Student Review: 5 /5
By member464384 On 30th November 21 verified Verified student

Amazing location, 5 min walk from high cross which makes it good for meeting with friends and nights out. The rooms are modern and clean, the windows bring in so much natural light which makes it a lovely environment to be in. All the staff are very welcoming and are always there for anything you need or if you have any questions. I wouldn’t choose to live anywhere else and I’m excited to stay here again next year :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 6th January 22
Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member764383 On 30th November 21 verified Verified student

Lovely place in the city centre; with a dedicated staff, and great facilities, made the stress of post-covid University manageable!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 6th January 22
Student Review: 5 /5
By member1264382 On 30th November 21 verified Verified student

One of the best accommodations I’ve been to, friendly staff and great location!!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Tannery On 6th January 22

Considering The Tannery?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.