4.37 / 5

Buchanan View Reviews

66 Reviews by Students

How do you rate Buchanan View?

credit: http://www.unite-students.com/binaries/929/321/glasgow-buchanan.jpg
 image credit  |   report abuse
http://www.unite-students.com/binaries/929/321/glasgow-buchanan.jpg

Most helpful review

My experience here was absolutely great. I don't have a single complaint of this place or its team. Everyone was lovely and helpful even in the most difficult times. Great ambience, socials, reception service, facilities and location. Best team in Glasgow you can bet!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member753229
On 23rd December 20

Glasgow Hall Rankings


Merchant Studios #12
West Village #13
Bridge House #14
Riverside #15
Buchanan View #16
St Mungo's #17
Foundry Courtyard #18
James Goold Hall #19
Forbes Hall #20
Collegelands #21

All Student Accommodation in Glasgow


Most helpful review

My experience here was absolutely great. I don't have a single complaint of this place or its team. Everyone was lovely and helpful even in the most difficult times. Great ambience, socials, reception service, facilities and location. Best team in Glasgow you can bet!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member753229
On 23rd December 20

Q&A


Q
Is it possible to book an accomodation from January 2020 until January 2021?
By member1351133 On 14th September 20
Reply from Buchanan View
On 17th September 20

Hello!

 

Good question! If you could contact us on buchanan.view@studentroost.co.uk, our team will be able to assist you.

 

Kindest regards, 

The Buchanan View Team

Q
What about council tax
By member850740 On 25th August 20
Reply from Buchanan View
On 7th September 20
Hello! You would be exempt from paying Council Tax as you would be a full-time student staying with us. Kindest regards, The Buchanan View Team
Q
Hi, Do you have plans for exchange students who would be staying for just a semester? (September - January) Thank you!
By member750067 On 26th July 20
Reply from Buchanan View
On 29th July 20

Hello,

 

Thank you so much for your question.

We currently offer semester lets which would fit your time frame perfectly. The rate is £120 p/w and the dates are September 5th - January 2nd. 

 

I hope that could help, but do not hesitate to get back in touch if you have any further questions.

Kind regards,

 

Buchanan View Team

Customer Service Advisor                                                                                                                                                  

 

Student Roost

Buchanan View | Glasgow | G4 0XG

T: 0141 3331372

 

 

 

Q
Is it possible to share with people at the same uni?
By member647641 On 1st May 20
Reply from Buchanan View
On 2nd May 20
Hi! We can certainly try our best to accommodate that request. Just note it on your application! Kindest regards, The Buchanan View Team
Q
Is this accommodation recommended for 1st year students?
By member546916 On 23rd March 20
Reply from Buchanan View
On 24th March 20
Hi! Of course, we have a mixed range of students from 1st year to postgraduates. If you feel more comfortable sharing with 1st years, we can try our best to allocate just that. Kindest regards, The Buchanan View Team
Q

Ask a new question about Buchanan View

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Buchanan View Reviews


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 22nd April 21

The staff are rude, unhelpful and invasive. Some of the receptionists go out of their way to be unhelpful and the security approach drunk students in the smoking area to try to find parties to crash.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 23rd December 20

My experience here was absolutely great. I don't have a single complaint of this place or its team. Everyone was lovely and helpful even in the most difficult times. Great ambience, socials, reception service, facilities and location. Best team in Glasgow you can bet!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 23rd September 20

Worst student accommodation in Glasgow, paper-thin walls with no noise cancellation and located right behind the M8 motorway. Rude staff, rude people and with all honestly it's been the worst place I've ever lived in my life. I wouldn't stay there even if the rent was free or even if they paid me to.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 6th September 20

I stayed in Buchanan View for my second year. In my application I stated that I would like to be placed with people the same age/ year of study as me. However I got placed with people who were complete opposite of me (doing postgrad etc) and they were all from the same country making me the odd one out. I asked to switch flats as the flatmates I was currently with did not interact with me whatsoever and it was making my halls experience very lonely, however did this not happen. I did not make a single friend at buchanan view for this reason. Furthermore, I got an early release due to COVID-19 and found it extremely hard to get a refund for the rent I paid in advance (in fact it has now been 4 months since vacating the premises and I have still not gotten anywhere) Of course, this is only my personal experience. On a positive note, I will say that the staff at reception and the maintenance team were always super friendly.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Buchanan View
On 7th September 20

Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience when you were residing at Buchanan View. 

We aim accommodate our students' preferences and, with over 600 students on-site, this can be a little tricky to match sometimes. We have always said and continue to say that we do not guarantee requests due to site availability. 

Secondly, in regards to your rent refund - I understand the frustration that you are facing. With Covid-19 a theme this year, our team across Student Roost having been working tirelessly to manage a surge in enquries. 

We apologise that you have been waiting for a while.

I would be keen for you to reach out to us on buchanan.view@studentroost.co.uk with your name and student ID and hopefully, I would be able to provide a insight that is unique to you.

 

Kindest regards, 

The Buchanan View Team


-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 25th June 20

Best value for money and the best staff ever, i would love to stay for another year.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Buchanan View
On 26th June 20

Hello!

 

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time here and we would be glad to accommodate you for another year. It's been a pleasure so far and we hope you will have a relaxing summer after a stressful and quite unsual semester.

 

Kindest regards,

 

The Buchanan View Team


-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 8th June 20

I stayed in buchanan view for 3 years, I had a great experience! All the staff was so lovely and caring. Whenever there was an issue they were always happy to help! It’s also perfect location to the city centre! Having lived in Foundry Courtyard the last year it really made me appreciate buchanan view even more! I only recommend buchanan view!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Buchanan View
On 9th June 20

Hello!

Wow! It's great to hear that you had a fantastic experience with Buchanan View. 3 years is a long time however, we hope it felt like home from home for you. You'll be missed at Buchanan View! Best of luck in your studies.

 

Kindest regards,

The Buchanan View Team


1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 26th April 20

It was a wonderful experience and without doubt, in terms of quality-cost, one of the best accommodation someone can ever find in Glasgow.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Buchanan View
On 9th June 20

Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to review Buchanan View. We are chuffed to hear that you had a pleasant time. Best of luck in your future endeavours!

 

Kindest regards,

The Buchanan View Team


-2
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 29th November 19

Second year here and it’s been amazing. The staff is incredible and so friendly. Definitely recommend.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd November 19

Lovely staff, they always help you whenever you get locked out of your room!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 19th November 19

Need more social spaces

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 16th November 19

Tony Tony Tony.. Because of him we feel at home

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 15th November 19

The accommodation itself is good. However, the staff aren't welcoming or friendly. They don't do anything to help resolve problems

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 15th November 19

I'm really happy I've chosen this accomodation instead of uni halls,so much better experience.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 14th November 19

Absolutely great accommodation with an extremely friendly staff. A lot of social events and freebies every week. Great management as well!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 13th November 19

Decent place and value for money. Near to the city centre, subway station and the bus station. Common room is really happening:)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 11th November 19

Good for the money, friendly staff, good security. Great location

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 11th November 19

It’s a nice place for students. It’s close to GCU and Strathclyde universities and a bit far from University of Glasgow. Common room is amazing. Great value for money.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 27th August 19

Very friendly and helpful reception staff, great community for new and returning students!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd August 19

I would recommend the accommodation. Friendly staff and a nice social space

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th August 19

I was very happy staying here, great location and such friendly staff

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Buchanan View
On 16th March 20

Hello! 

Happy to hear you had a lovely time with us. I would say we are a friendly bunch too however, I may be bias... Best of luck in your studies!

Kindest regards,

The Buchanan View Team


-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 29th July 19

Great student residence. Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Everyone’s working to make sure you’re satisfied. Great place to stay!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Buchanan View
On 16th March 20

Hi!

We're chuffed to hear that you thought highly of us. Best of luck in your studies! :) 

 

Kindest regards,

The Buchanan View Team


-2
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 11th July 19

In good condition, staff friendly and overall pleasant experience

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Buchanan View
On 12th July 19

Hello, 

 

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! 

 

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us :)


-2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 11th July 19

Good location very central and close to unis

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Buchanan View
On 12th July 19

Hello, 

 

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review :)

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!


-1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 11th July 19

I had a good year here with friends I moved in with from last year. It was great having access to maintenance so easily and always having someone in reception. Being close to uni was great. Sometimes security wasn't great as my boyfriends bike got stolen but other than that it was a secure place to stay. The constant maintenance was sometimes quite disruptive.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Buchanan View
On 12th July 19

Hello, 

 

thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review! Glad you overall had a great stay with us. Apologies about the bike, we were having some issues with our main gate but now that it is fully working again we shouldn't experience anything like this again. Also apologies about the disruption, we do try to keep it to a mimimum however this can be hard when bigger projects have to be completed. 

 

Hope to see you again :)


-2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 11th July 19

Fantastic location, close to city centre and university. Very friendly staff. Also have events taking place allowing you to meet other residents.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Buchanan View
On 12th July 19

Hey, 

 

Thank you for leaving us a review! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a good time at our events :)


-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 11th July 19

The accomodation is great, my experience both with the other students was great and the staff,especially the night one's were really helpful with everything when I arrived. The only thing that I don't like is the laundry and the app circuit that comes with it. It is a good first year location to stay.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Buchanan View
On 12th July 19

Hey, 

 

Thanks for leaving us a review! Glad you found our staff helpful and friendly. Sorry to hear that you didn't like the laundry system but thanks for letting us know!


-2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 10th July 19

I love it here. Fruity Friday is my favourite. Meg’s really funny and I like her ideas with the comics they are funny. (Need to see more of them) the other recpetion girls are lovely very friendly. Lauren is also lovely she has helped me a couple of times now. Great halls and best time away from home Thanks!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Buchanan View
On 12th July 19

Hello,

 

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! So glad you loved the comics and there will definately be more to come so keep your eyes peeled!! Happy to hear you felt welcomed and we hope to see you again soon :)


-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 10th July 19

I really enjoyed my stay here at Buchanan view. I was made to feel welcome. Staff are all very friendly. I love the girls on reception they are so friendly and bubbly. Really like the new girl can’t remember her name sorry- hopefully she will be there next year ;) facilities are great and I can’t wait to see what the common room is going to look like. They have a great rebooker offers every year too. See you all next year!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Buchanan View
On 12th July 19

Hello!

 

Thanks so much for leaving us such a lovely review! So happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you next year :)


-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 9th July 19

Checked out today, lovely staff. Clean site and so close to uni. Love the Instagram! See you next year :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Buchanan View
On 12th July 19

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, 

 

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you here with us next year :)


-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 9th July 19

Amazing stay here. I loved it. Felt so welcomed by all the staff. Kat and Hayley are really lovely and have been so pleasant with me. Since student roost took over this company has been amazing!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Buchanan View
On 12th July 19

Hello, 

 

Aww thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! 


Considering Buchanan View?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to vote, comment, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.