How do you rate Rutherford?

credit: http://www.lboro.ac.uk/media/wwwlboroacuk/content/campusliving/hallpicslarge/D2448-43.jpg
 image credit  |   report abuse
http://www.lboro.ac.uk/media/wwwlboroacuk/content/campusliving/hallpicslarge/D2448-43.jpg

Most helpful review

Rutherford is a great hall. It's in the middle of campus and is in a good location to get to lectures and sporting facilities. The dining hall is great with the meal choiceson offer each night. There isn't really a social space area because covid meant the common room couldn't be used and there isn't a seating area in the accommodation due to its size, but people ahve still mananged to socialise with each other.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member761071
On 28th July 21

Loughborough University Hall Rankings


Royce #12
Faraday #13
William Morris #14
Cayley #15
Rutherford #16
The Holt #17
Asha House #18
David Collett #19
Forest Court #20
Forest Rise #21

See full league table...

All Student Accommodation in Loughborough


Most helpful review

Rutherford is a great hall. It's in the middle of campus and is in a good location to get to lectures and sporting facilities. The dining hall is great with the meal choiceson offer each night. There isn't really a social space area because covid meant the common room couldn't be used and there isn't a seating area in the accommodation due to its size, but people ahve still mananged to socialise with each other.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member761071
On 28th July 21

Book your place for an in-person experience day.

Book your place for an in-person experience day. Book your place here

Applying to Rutherford

Covid-19 Response

QUARANTINE PROVISION:
Not yet specified
TEACHING MODE:
On-campus.
OPEN DAYS:
Selection of online introduction videos available on website.
TEACHING NOTES:
It is the universities intention that teaching in person will remain at the heart of the student experience.
This is the latest available data taken from the lboro.ac.uk website on 11th November 2021. Read all universities responses in our Covid-19 university response article.

Q&A


Q
What size bed in a shared en-suite bedroom
By member550441 On 14th August 20
Q

Ask a new question about Rutherford

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Rutherford Reviews


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 1st December 21

Noisy neighbours and dirty shared en-suite toilet. Flatmates only clean up after themselves on occasion.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By On 20th September 21

Coming to Rutherford was a horrible experience for me. It was so bad that I could only put up with it for about a month and a half before I took a leave of absence to get away from this place. Here’s just some of the problems I came across: Accommodation management closed and only open to email and phone calls because of covid-19. Accommodation management fully ignoring my emails. Accommodation repairs took a full month before they managed to bring somebody in. My toilet was leaking. My cold water tap was crazy stiff. The hot water tap went from cold to boiling in about 5 seconds. Impossible to get a good shower temperature. The bedside lamp was broken. The room was covered in drapes of dust when I moved in, hanging from the ceiling and from my desk. 1 of my desk drawers were bashed in. The door stop was wrenched out of the ground and bent at a 45 degree angle. My desk had broken planks of wood in places. My kitchen cupboard lock was broken. A piece of my ceiling randomly fell off. . .

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 6th September 21

Think classic basic uni room, nothing nice but does the job, the accommodation is made up for by Rutherford having a good social hall, there is a lot of socials and sports to be involved in. If your not expecting a 5 star hotel you'll be fine :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 28th July 21

Rutherford is a great hall. It's in the middle of campus and is in a good location to get to lectures and sporting facilities. The dining hall is great with the meal choiceson offer each night. There isn't really a social space area because covid meant the common room couldn't be used and there isn't a seating area in the accommodation due to its size, but people ahve still mananged to socialise with each other.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 21st July 21

Best years of my life. I stayed for 2nd year

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 21st July 21

Located on campus, close to everything that I needed

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 20th July 21

Rutherford is in the centre of the student village and easily one of the most sociable places to live in Loughborough uni. It's not the most modern or luxurious accommodation with the rooms being very basic and varied in size (which size you get is just luck of the draw). Also it is catered 5 days a week with the food being ok, not the best not the worst. However it is one of the most fun places to live and you get to know everyone really well.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 20th July 21

Food is alright, Whitworth is good fun

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3 /5
By On 20th July 21

Great atmosphere with students and a nice feel. However, maintenance took months to fix things, cleaners cut corners and tried to hide it, and there is a serious lack of communal areas indoors.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 20th July 21

I was in Whitworth which is part of Rutherford and although it was not one of the better accommodations, my flatmates and the size of the rooms made it a good experience and the hall community and events were always enjoyable and a good way to meet new people

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By On 5th February 20

Value for money is awful. The amount we pay and what we receive is laughable, most of the food in the dining hall isn't very edible and has been stored out for a long time, coupled with some of the staff is very rude in the dining hall, in particular, the woman who works on the sandwich bar who constantly has an attitude and is confrontational when asked to amend sandwich orders (normally as she doesn't provide what we ask). Furthermore, many rooms within rutherford have an abundance of issues, which have been reported constantly now since October and yet to be rectified, such as my light by my sink not working and one of my keys (for my locked draw) not being the right key, which I've been told they do not have the correct key to replace. I am lucky my radiator works as there are many other rooms in my block where the radiator is not functional! The location of the hall is OK. Central and conveniently placed closed to lecture theatres is the biggest perk about part of rutherford.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By On 9th December 19

I was assigned this and could only endure it for a month before I begged the accommodation office to let me switch to a different hall. I was the only International student which made me feel unwelcome and alienated by my flatmates. The kitchen had only two hobs which were shared between 12 people. Even though we were catered during the week, it was a nightmare to cook during the weekend. The hobs took 15 minutes to cook scrambled eggs. Forget about having a goodnights sleep in Rutherford- there are always pres which is completely fine during the weekend, but not when its a Wednesday night and you have a 9am the very next morning. The maintenance crew is absolutely horrible. I reported my leaky taps which wouldn't close completely TWICE. They still hadn't fixed it. Even after calling the sub-warden who came to check it out, it wasn't fixed. Only after I complained for the third time, someone came to fix it.The only good thing was Jayne, our cleaner who was always welcoming and sweet.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 17th August 19

Rutherford hall was like a giant family. I felt at home and knew everyone around me. The wardens and sub warden team were fantastic. Great location in centre of campus.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Rutherford
On 25th September 19

We're glad you felt at home at Rutherford!

Tendo 


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 11th August 19

Best hall on campus , met the best people

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Rutherford
On 25th September 19

We're glad you met the best people whilst staying at Rutherford!

Tendo 


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 14th March 19

Really close knit community, very friendly and warm atmosphere. Decent food.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Rutherford
On 25th September 19

We're glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere!

Tendo 


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 21st February 19

Best hall on campus without a doubt - my absolute family <3

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Rutherford
On 25th September 19

Thank you for this review! #LboroFamily 

Tendo 


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 18th February 19

Hall Life at Loughborough is very important and I am delighted to have had a fantastic experience within Rutherford - so much so, I chose to stay for three years! The staff are excellent and helpful, and the service provided by cleaners and maintenance staff is exemplary.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Rutherford
On 25th September 19

We're glad that you had a fantastic experience!

Tendo 


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 30th November 18

Rutherford was in the middle of campus which is ideal to get anywhere.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By On 25th October 18

"The best halls on campus" is a lie that you'll hear throughout freshers, and in Rutherford's case is a particularly bad one. You'll probably need earplugs to even get 1 nights sleep let alone 39 weeks of it. They will charge extortionate fees for "Fresher's subs" which if you're not an alcoholic, you'll never use. In the bundle are "Hall subs" which they won't let you pay separately for, which again are a waste of time because this hall is worthless. And on top of that you have to pay for an overpriced IMS tshirt which you'll barely make use of, which made me think what part of the year the hall subs actually cover. Want to cook food on a weekend? Good luck disposing of the pizza and pasta littering all side boards, and it took me 50 minutes to cook an omlette on those crappy hobs they provide. Nothing but lies , a waste of money and terrible, messy kitchens. Rutherford is the only part of University I really dislike, and I didn't even choose this accommodation.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Rutherford
On 25th September 19

Thanks for your review. I'm really sorry to hear that you feel this way. It would be great to find out more about your experience in halls so we can try and make improvements for future students. If you've got time to share your feedback with us, please contact us at emailus@lboro.ac.uk

Thanks

Tendo


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th October 18

Hall life is fun - you are supported by a Warden and Subwarden team and a committee of second and third years who organise the social life and sports activities etc. You have wifi and an wired cable to use well. The location of Rutherford is in the heart of the student village and near a shop called the Purple Onion and a Takeaway.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Rutherford
On 25th September 19

We're glad you had fun staying in our halls of residence!

Tendo 


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th October 18

Hall life is fun - you are supported by a Warden and Subwarden team and a committee of second and third years who organise the social life and sports activities etc. You have wifi and an wired cable to use well. The location of Rutherford is in the heart of the student village and near a shop called the Purple Onion and a Takeaway.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 21st June 18

Best hall on campus without a doubt (In my personal opinion!) Catered dining in a dining hall set up makes a really social environment where you can meet amazing friends. In particular, you make friends with the hall dining staff too!!! I stayed in Rutherford for three years because I loved it so much!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Rutherford
On 25th September 19

Great opinion! Thanks for the review!

Tendo 


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 4th June 18

Incredible hall and stayed here for the full 3 years because of that. Every Hall has a Warden and Subwarden team who are there to look out for you so I felt very safe. I made great friends within hall and that is down to the Committee structure that encourages you to get involved in social activities such as sport and volunteering. I was in a Catered Hall too and I really enjoyed that.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Rutherford
On 25th September 19

We're glad to hear that you made great friends in our halls!

Tendo 

 


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 28th February 18

Rutherford has made my first year at Loughborough uni impossible to beat. The location and the people who live here are amazing and I enjoy everyday. The committee are exceptional and make our time living here extra special.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Rutherford
On 25th September 19

Its great to hear that you had an amazing experience staying at Rutherford! Thanks for the review!

Tendo 


Student Review: 2 /5
By On 25th July 17

I don't like the floor plan of the hall. It is too noisy.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 16th July 17

Lovely social hall. I was in whitworth with was very central with great views and larger rooms compared to the rest of Rutherford. I did have a smaller kitchen although this wasn't a big problem being catered. The social life within the tower is great as everyone got to know each other and the hall in general was friendly and welcoming. Would recommend if looking for a catered hall and has a great position next to the PO on campus.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 3rd January 17

The committee (2015-16) were the main reason I enjoyed my hall experience so much. They were the people that made us freshers passionate about the hall. The wardens were incredibly friendly and helpful, which made me feel very safe.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 26th December 16

Great hall with great people. Best thing is it's location

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Rutherford
On 25th September 19

Thank you this review!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 20th December 16

It's one of the finest halls on campus. Ideally located, good catered food, amazing social experience and pretty good hall service. Better than the surrounding halls. Love it in here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 19th December 16

i gave the common room a bad review because it was extremely plain , value for money was bad because the shower took ages to warm up and when i did it barely had any pressure

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 19th December 16

It's like a family; everyone knows everyone and it's such a warm and welcoming place - there's a reason I came back for a second year!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3 /5
By On 19th December 16

Flat allows you to be friends with everyone around, dinning hall let's you get to know other people outside your halls.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 18th November 15

BEST HALLS BY FAR - amazing committee, good food and lovely wardens

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 24th October 15

The food here is good with many choices available each day. While the kitchen could be bigger, the place is excellent value and is right in the heart of campus.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 3rd August 15

Had an absolutely great time my two years there. The social aspect of it is so much better than any other hall it out ways the choice of a different hall for better food or bedroom size.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 25th June 15

Living in this hall was like living with family!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 25th June 15

It is quite expensive for the general rooms and food (food isn't great quality) however location is brilliant, right in the middle of campus and right by the PO

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 25th June 15

I didn't choose Rutherford but I couldn't have asked for a better year in a better hall. Rutherford has been the centrepiece in my amazing first year at university. It's great location means you are never too far from anything, it's really sociable and have lots of punch parties and pres in the common room. It's not the biggest or the sportiest or the oldest hall but it is one that you can call home.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 25th June 15

Rooms are relatively small but well laid out. Perfect location on campus, I was 5 minutes away from my lectures! Despite the lack of social spaces in the blocks the hall is incredibly social and you get to know people from different blocks in the dining hall during meal times (which can be at inconvenient times!).

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 25th June 15

Had such a good first year here, met some amazing people, everyone made me feel welcome- I liked it so much I'm moving back next year! Brilliant location, you're never too far away from anything- very central.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 23rd June 15

Wouldn't have chosen anywhere else to spend my first year of University if I could go back and choose. The catering was amazing and had so many options, and the location was the best thing about it.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 23rd June 15

This hall is .. Original .. Let's put it thag way. You certainly won't ever have a dull moment here. The location is amazing, centre of the village and near the SU, library and shop. The staff are great, rooms are great, food is great .. All rounder

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd June 15

The dining hall staff and cleaning staff are amazing! I love this hall, it's got a great atmosphere and I've lived here for three hears

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 5th June 15

Staying in Rutherford made my first year! The catering was really handy especially after 6 o'clock finish lectures! It's so good not having to wash up in the week and their is a variety of food choices. This year we had lots of punch parties in the common room which got everyone very silly and brought the hall together. The hall is in a great location, only 10 mins walk from practically anywhere on campus.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3 /5
By On 4th June 15

Cliquey and certainly not the best hall on campus. Wouldn't recommend for anything other than the location which is fantastic

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 20th March 15

Awesome hall to spend the first year of uni at!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Considering Rutherford?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.