How do you rate The Coal Yard?

credit: CRM
Most helpful review

Really enjoyed my stay at the coal yard for my first year at York st John university. It is close Morrisons and the gym so super convenient and Also only a short walk to university and the town centre. the rooms are really clean and modern with nice big windows.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member858354
On 20th May 21

York Hall Rankings


Abode #1
The Coal Yard #2
The Boulevard #3
Langwith College #4
Goodricke College #5
James College #6
St John Central #7
Derwent College #8
Constantine College #9
Vanbrugh College #10

All Student Accommodation in York


Most helpful review

Really enjoyed my stay at the coal yard for my first year at York st John university. It is close Morrisons and the gym so super convenient and Also only a short walk to university and the town centre. the rooms are really clean and modern with nice big windows.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member858354
On 20th May 21

Q&A


Q
What is the expected WiFi speed for a wired connection?
By member458690 On 24th May 21
Reply from The Coal Yard
On 25th May 21

On site our internet is supplied by ASK4, average internet download speed is around 100mbps this will increase with a wired connection which should more than meet any internet requirement for streaming/gaming, etc.

There are a couple of wired ports within each room and the internet is included in the weekly rate allowing you to connect up to 10 devices.

 

Best regards,

Paul & Charlie

The Accommodation Team

Q
Is The Coal Yard reserved for YSJ students only? Or can students who attend the University of York stay here as well?
By member1252876 On 3rd December 20
Reply from The Coal Yard
On 29th April 21

Thank you for the question and apologies for the delay in response! We have just recieved access to reply.

The Coal Yard is for all students from both universities. Since opening we have had students from both universities stay with us, we do tend to have more YSJ students due to our location however all are welcome!

 

Thanks,

Paul & Charlie

The Accommodation Team

Q

Ask a new question about The Coal Yard

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read The Coal Yard Reviews


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 20th May 21

Really good student accommodation. Very nice rooms and big modern kitchen space. Really nice location, close to the city centre, a very short walk to university and Swift fitness gym is close by.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Coal Yard
On 21st May 21

Many thanks for the 5 star review! We really appreciate this and hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay.

 

Best regards,

Paul & Charlie

The Accommodation Team


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 20th May 21

Really enjoyed my stay at the coal yard for my first year at York st John university. It is close Morrisons and the gym so super convenient and Also only a short walk to university and the town centre. the rooms are really clean and modern with nice big windows.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Coal Yard
On 21st May 21

Thank you for the lovely review! We are very well situated for students with short walks to the university, shops and the city centre.

We hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay with us!

 

Best regards,

Paul & Charlie

The Accommodation Team


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 13th May 21

Location is spot on, 10 minute walk to uni and a 5 minute walk into town. Sight manager and care taker are top class, both easy to talk to and get stuff done quickly when you need any help with anything.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Coal Yard
On 13th May 21

Thank you for the review and kind words! We do try and make your experience as positive as possible.

 

Many thanks,

Paul & Charlie

The Accommodation Team

 


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 13th May 21

Paul and Charlie couldn’t be more sound, really enjoy living here, great rooms and great kitchens! 5 star

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Coal Yard
On 13th May 21

We certainly try our best! Glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us!

 

Best regards,

Paul & Charlie

The Accommodation Team


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 13th May 21

Sound as a pound, really really really good stuff, great scenery and characters for an enjoyable loving experience

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Coal Yard
On 13th May 21

'Sound as a pound' love it! Thank you for the positive review, much appreciated!

 

Best regards,

Paul & Charlie

The Accommodation Team


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 12th May 21

This is hands down the nicest university accommodation in York , the value for money and distance to local amenities cannot be beaten. The staff are always at hand to help , no matter what the issue.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Coal Yard
On 13th May 21

We might be slightly biased but we may just agree with you! Thank you for a great review, really appreciate it.

 

Best regards,

 

Paul & Charlie

The Accommodation Team


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 12th May 21

Very comfortable, and helpful staff. Would highly recommend 😊

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Coal Yard
On 13th May 21

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We really value the positive feedback and are glad you have enjoyed your stay!

 

Best regards,

 

Paul & Charlie

The Accommodation Team


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 12th May 21

Amazing staff, modern facilities, great safety & amazing value for money!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Coal Yard
On 13th May 21

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We really value the positive feedback and are glad you have enjoyed your stay!

 

Best regards,

 

Paul & Charlie

The Accommodation Team


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 12th May 21

Has a good time, met a lot of different people. I'd like to note that property management is indeed excellent and the manager is extremely friendly. The kitchen and bathroom appliances are tip-top, everything is fresh and refurbished.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Coal Yard
On 12th May 21

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and your kind words! It is much appreciated, along with your suggestion.

It's a shame we couldn't score a little higher with our socials however we are a small site with limited social space and our events have been impacted this year by Covid, we are however hoping to have a number of fun events and competitions between now and the end of the year as government guidelines relax so do get involved with that!

Also with our cleaning we do clean all landlord areas weekly ensuring site is tip top condition and also offer a complementary 2 hour kitchen/communal clean periodically to aid you and your flat mates out throughout the year!

We hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay with us.

 

Best regards,

Paul & Charlie

The Accommodation Team


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 15th April 21

Really nice and modern accommodation. Just a 10 minute walk to the university, nice and friendly staff as well.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Coal Yard
On 29th April 21

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a positive review,  we really appreciate it!

 

Many thanks,

Paul & Charlie

The Accommodation Team


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 15th April 21

Great modern accommodation in an amazing location with really helpful staff.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Coal Yard
On 29th April 21

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a positive review, really appreciate it!

 

Best regards,

Paul & Charlie

The Accommodation Team


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 15th April 21

Great accommodation for a first year student. Friendly staff, great location. :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Coal Yard
On 29th April 21

Thank you very much for the review! We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. As staff we try to provide any support we can just make sure you feel at home.

With the location, we would have to agree, it doesn't get much better being only 9 minutes away from YSJ!

It's a shame Covid has impacted the social expereience this year however health and safety is a priority and once restrictions are lifted, we are sure to set up some great events!

 

Many thanks,

Paul & Charlie

The Accommodation Team


Considering The Coal Yard?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.