StudentCrowd-RGB-LongCreated with Sketch. Helping students make decisions SEARCH ARTICLES SIGN IN Write a Review
3.66 / 5
3.66 / 5

How do you rate Brackenhurst?

credit: https://www.ntu.ac.uk/life-at-ntu/accommodation/find-ntu-accommodation/brackenhurst
 image credit  |   report abuse
https://www.ntu.ac.uk/life-at-ntu/accommodation/find-ntu-accommodation/brackenhurst

Most helpful review

The closest shop apart from the campus shop is coop and it can be a bit expensive, if there were more items available at the brack shop it would be better. And if there were night buses on more days it would be better

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member496267
On 11th December 23
verified Verified student
Read all reviews

Nottingham Trent University (NTU) Hall Rankings


Archer House #32
Castle Gate Haus #33
Graystacks #34
The Nest - Nottingham #35
Brackenhurst #36
Simpsons #37
The Rise #38
Byron Residence #39
Meridian Court #40
Bowman House #41

*Minimum 10 reviews required to be ranked.


Most helpful review

The closest shop apart from the campus shop is coop and it can be a bit expensive, if there were more items available at the brack shop it would be better. And if there were night buses on more days it would be better

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member496267
On 11th December 23
verified Verified student
Read all reviews

Q&A


Q
Do first years live on Brackenhurst campus? It says online suitable for postgraduate/mature students? Does this mean first years mostly commute from City based Halls
By member12104419 On 18th March 24
Q
Where is HC314? Thank you
By member1290598 On 30th August 23
Q
Are there any double bed rooms on the top floor of any of the brack halls and if so is there a specific code or lettering?
By member1182490 On 27th March 23
Q
Hi, which accommodation is block with rooms DD in please?
By member1368752 On 9th May 22
Q
What room is FB228?
By member767882 On 6th April 22
Q

Ask a new question about Brackenhurst

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Brackenhurst Reviews


Student Review: 4.4 /5
By member6109064 On 20th May 24 verified Verified student

I’ve enjoyed my time on Brack, everything is easy to get to on campus all the staff at the social spaces are nice and welcoming! I’m looking forward to spending my final year on this campus!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 21st May 24
Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member12101617 On 21st February 24 verified Verified student

Loud, could use some more sound protection for those who don't want to hear the people coming in drunk in the early morning

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 27th February 24
Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member9101577 On 21st February 24 verified Verified student

We are like our own little family at Brackenhurst due to us being so far out

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 22nd February 24
Student Review: 3.7 /5
By member12101298 On 20th February 24 verified Verified student

Rural location, can’t access food shops unless you fancy a half hour walk both ways to the only shop in Southwell (coop) or if you do online delivery/have a car/want to get the (hour) bus into city. Brack shop provides some essentials and meal deals but not enough to live off of. Not many events on this campus as barely any societies, regular brack bar events, Brack Ball and Brack fair are some of the highlights as well as the occasional markets but generally not packed and not a huge range of things to do. Accommodation is spacious, all with en suites which I liked, Cleaners in accomodation are incredibly friendly. Maintenance is lacking a bit, our flat (maple block), had no cold water for a month when we first started uni, had to buy lots of water bottles (not very environmentally sustainable), and had to fill up from other flats, did help us to make friends though! in addition to this our door lock was broken for 3-4 months, and we had no hot water and barely any cold for a week

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 21st February 24
Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member596568 On 20th December 23 verified Verified student

Considering the area it is situated in, it is a really good price for what it is. Just make sure your room is not near the bar, or you will never sleep. Ever.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 4.4 /5
By member696482 On 15th December 23 verified Verified student

brackenhurst is a beautiful campus where i feel so safe and have made lots of friends, although being a little bit rural i dont feel like i have nothing to do, busses are good too

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member596421 On 14th December 23 verified Verified student

great accommodation. well cleaned.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 3.7 /5
By member1196404 On 13th December 23 verified Verified student

it's okay,, good enough that I'm planning on staying here again for my second year

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 3.6 /5
By member696392 On 13th December 23 verified Verified student

It's been good. Quite far from good, big shops like aldi or lidi. But local co-op. Nice pubs nearby

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 3.7 /5
By member796388 On 13th December 23 verified Verified student

Room size is good. Noise from outside is very loud

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 3.6 /5
By member1396384 On 13th December 23 verified Verified student

Old block bathrooms are slightly disappointing and the drains can be quite faulty. Aside from that, the accommodation is very clean, well managed and nice to live in

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 2.7 /5
By member1196376 On 13th December 23 verified Verified student

Some issues from the day we moved in have not been resolved, I had to report things several times over several weeks before they were dealt with, windows seals and thickness are so bad it sounds like they are open, can hear everything throughout night. Been charged over £100 for a full repaint of my room that was not my fault but I couldn't prove they weren't because I assumed it was normal to have marks all over the walls and did not take photos of them.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 3.6 /5
By member1296281 On 11th December 23 verified Verified student

Location is isolated but good regular events on campus

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 4.9 /5
By CailynLau On 11th December 23 verified Verified student

Very helpful accommodation team!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 3.7 /5
By member796269 On 11th December 23 verified Verified student

Rooms are nice, kitchen is cleaned weekly but no common room or social space other than kitchen but often there's not enough seats or space for more than 5 -6 people. Every shop on campus closes at 4pm which is awful and the next closest shop is a 30minute walk

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 2.9 /5
By member496268 On 11th December 23 verified Verified student

Last year the accommodation was 2nd to none but it has gone down hill completely this year. The new cleaner doesn’t do anything, the wi-fi was “fixed” multiple times last year but it is about a quarter of the speed as when I first came to uni. It’s very expensive and I feel our concerns about accommodation are either falling on death ears or people with not enough training and experience.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 7th February 24
Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member496267 On 11th December 23 verified Verified student

The closest shop apart from the campus shop is coop and it can be a bit expensive, if there were more items available at the brack shop it would be better. And if there were night buses on more days it would be better

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member1296266 On 11th December 23 verified Verified student

My accommodation this term has been alright. I love the location and the cleaning team has been great. The accommodation management team were good but they did a load of inspections right near the end of term which was frustrating. Except from that the accommodation has served me well :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 4 /5
By member896265 On 11th December 23 verified Verified student

Overall the accommodation is okay. Last year I feel it was abit better in all ways and some standards may have dropped

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 7th February 24
Student Review: 3.3 /5
By member596263 On 10th December 23 verified Verified student

A beautiful campus, however it is quite isolated from most big shops etc. The uni and societies do offer activities most week to get involved in however there could definitely be more social spaces and indoor social rooms that could be used 24/7, for a group of blocks.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 4 /5
By member496251 On 9th December 23 verified Verified student

The only thing I want is for food waste to not be put with the main bins. we have a food waste bin but when the cleaners come it is just put in the main bin bag. theres either no point in having a food waste bin or food waste should be disposed of in a more sustainable way.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 12th February 24
Student Review: 3.1 /5
By member696178 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

The accommodation is fine, my block is old and a bit run down. We had issues with our oven and multiple power cuts in a single week before they were able to replace it. It takes a while for non emergency manintenance requests to be resolved. The bedrooms are reasonably sized with sufficient storage. The accommodation is very well situated on campus, but the nearest (and only) convenient supermarket is a co-op a 30 minute walk from campus. There is a small campus shop for essentials.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 12th February 24
Student Review: 3 /5
By member1296176 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

No gym or place to play football and other games. footpaths are terrible and always flooded. campus security and certain bouncers and groundsmen have a god-complex and are always power tripping. the drinks on draft at the bar always taste off. Bar closes too early on weekdays and busy nights. nowhere accepts cash. the campus shop is sometimes shut at random times for an unstated amount of time. The shop is never properly stocked, we like to call it “a shed with shelves”. Students will report you for absolutely anything and youll get warned and singled out from the whole flat with no evidence against you. The state of the paths going round campus often have obstructions that never get moved. theres only one allowed smoking spot out of the whole campus you're allowed to smoke in. Finally, in some blocks the cold tap is constantly putting out warm water and never gives cold.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 12th February 24
Student Review: 4 /5
By member896170 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

Accommodation here is really good in my opinion as there is not anything I'm unhappy about, rent prices are fine, people are happy and fun to be around. The only thing I would mention is going away from brackenhurst as there is only 1 bus service outside and also shops are a bit lacking in the area of Southwell, so a lot of people tend to order online for it to be delivered. So I could say that owning a car would be good at this accommodation.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 12th February 24
Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member896162 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

coming from a country background, brackenhurst feels very homely. Brackenhurst is nice in that it is a large student village without having the overwhelming nature of a city campus as there is little to no public around the site. Brackenhurst is the perfect stepping stone to getting your degree comfortably.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 4 /5
By member696161 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

good experience in halls, just far from the city centre

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 4.1 /5
By member1396157 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

The accommodation is good but if you don't have a car it can be a little isolating.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 3.6 /5
By member996149 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

Accommodation is safe and cleaners are nice. I wasn’t able to be with the students I requested so that is frustrating as they are on the other side of campus. Security is good. People I share a flat with are very messy and it makes it an unpleasant experience being in the kitchen. Our water is sometimes cold in the evenings which can be frustrating but is not often. Generally good.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 12th February 24
Student Review: 3.4 /5
By member596146 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

Problems take too long to be fixed and the accommodation is very run down and old

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 12th February 24
Student Review: 3.3 /5
By member1196143 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

not bad accommodation and fairly cheap in comparison to some other unis / options

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 3.3 /5
By member796140 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

The accommodation itself has been good but the staff help when dealing with issues has been severely lacking, we have made several reports but there seems to have been no change

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 12th February 24
Student Review: 3.6 /5
By member696136 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

The main issues here are responses from maintenance/unannounced arrivals for reported issues. It can be uncomfortable to come back and realise someone was in your room without your knowledge. Apart from that, the flats are good and the bus is usually fine. Southwell is only a short walk or bus ride to get small bits.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 13th February 24
Student Review: 4.4 /5
By member496135 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

Great accommodation with brilliant links with animals and the countryside. However, it is very far away from the city and events that it is easy to feel isolated in the middle of nowhere.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member496134 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

Great room, ample space and good bathroom but could have slightly more storage in the kitchen .

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 13th February 24
Student Review: 3.7 /5
By member596131 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

Nice location that lacks some amenities but that is the trade off for living somewhere so pretty, the staff themselves are great just the way the property is managed and maintained could be improved, e.g. unfair to pay the same amount as someone whose room is in much better condition and room visits should be planned with the student where possible.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 14th February 24
Student Review: 3.4 /5
By member796130 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

The accommodation is good and kept clean, but as the accommodation is in a rural area it can be difficult to attend lots of social events in the city centre. There is a bus, but there bus only runs late on a Friday and Saturday, making it difficult to attend social events during the week. Additionally, the only supermarket in the nearby area is a co-op which can be expensive. The campus then charges you for a parking permit, but are very strict on who can actually have a permit. I think these rules are very silly, considering it is a rural campus. These rules make it difficult for people to be able to get around, and do basic things easily such as a food shop, or getting home more easily.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 7th February 24
Student Review: 4.1 /5
By member1096129 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

Good environment, a little far from the city but very peaceful/green environment which I like

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member1396128 On 7th December 23 verified Verified student

Radiators don’t work and hot water is hit and miss.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 16th February 24
Student Review: 4 /5
By member587694 On 19th June 23 verified Verified student

Brack is great, the sense of community is fantastic, I've made friends in all sorts of situations just because we both knew Brack, and it's incredibly peaceful, just a bit far from the city. It's a 45-minute bus ride, and for a while, they stopped doing the night busses which meant a 30-minute taxi, so if you're planning on going out clubbing every night after freshers, don't live here, but if you're a normal human being, Brack is fantastic, with the night busses running again on the weekends, it's easy to travel in and out of the city for whatever reason. All major supermarkets (excluding Aldi and Lidl :') ) deliver here, and the drivers are really nice - 9/10 times they'll help you carry your shopping in if it's a lot, and there's a little corner shop on campus that sells the i-need-it-now essentials like bread and milk. There is a bar on campus that does events every term (unparalleled vibes) and has pub quiz and half-off nights every week. I would recommend Brack to anyone!!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 7th February 24
Student Review: 4.1 /5
By member784871 On 24th April 23 verified Verified student

Brackenhurst is a beautiful and serene countryside location, located just outside Nottingham city. The area is home to Nottingham Trent University's School of Animal, Rural and Environmental Sciences, offering exceptional facilities and opportunities for students pursuing careers in these fields. The green and peaceful surroundings make it an ideal location for outdoor activities and relaxation.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member1384444 On 17th April 23 verified Verified student

There is 24 hour security that is very reliable and maintinence has allways been great at fixing anything that comes up quickly. The wifi has spotty moments, but overall reliable.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 7th February 24
Student Review: 3.3 /5
By member1084373 On 17th April 23 verified Verified student

Brackenhurst is a beautiful campus but it is just too far from the city. Everytime I want to go for a food shop that isn't expensive I have to take 45 minute bus. To further this, there is supposed to be a night bus every friday and saturday night, but sometimes it doesn't even run so your are forced to take a taxi or stay round a friends house that lives in the city. WIFI is 10/10 never let me down. There isn't much socials besides the brack bar and creative wednesdays. If you like peace and quiet and nature brackenhurst is for you. But if you want to be involved in lots of different societies, go clubbing or out for drinks than Brackenhurst is not for you

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 16th February 24
Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member484322 On 17th April 23 verified Verified student

Great accommodation very modern and spacious with good storage and en-suite, great security and maintenance service. Wifi in bedroom cuts out a lot and is slow. Great location, quiet but friendly.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 7th February 24
Student Review: 2.9 /5
By member1284297 On 17th April 23 verified Verified student

The only good thing about living on Brackenhurst is the fact that you don't have to travel to get to classes. Being off campus can be frustrating as commuting from the city takes at least 45 minutes. The only social space for students is the kitchen, however, the temperature is always too hot or too cold, and changing the radiator does not help. Furthermore, as a postgrad I applied to go into postgrad halls. However, when I arrived I was in a flat with one postgrad and 4 undergrads. I also know that there are other postgrads living with undergrads. There are easily enough of us on campus to make 3/4 flats with just postgrads. It shouldn't have been advertised as postgrad if it wasn't. My room has had several issues this year, and I have also been told my floor and carpet needs to be ripped up and redone. This was decided by accommodation staff after being in my room for less than five minutes, which makes me question if the rooms were even checked by staff before I moved in.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 16th February 24
Student Review: 3.1 /5
By member984292 On 17th April 23 verified Verified student

Very isolated campus with lack of transport between here and City. Southwell is lovely but very expensive so forces most student to travel 20 minutes minimum for shopping.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 3.3 /5
By member884279 On 17th April 23 verified Verified student

The new accommodation says suitable for 6 people however only enough space for 5. Could be more social spaces.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 14th February 24
Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member1184280 On 17th April 23 verified Verified student

So so good, I’m beyond pleased

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 7th February 24
Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member782604 On 28th March 23 verified Verified student

on campus so very convenient. could do with better sports facilities.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 13th February 24
Student Review: 4.1 /5
By member982548 On 28th March 23 verified Verified student

Beautiful campus full of wildlife and green spaces. Great sense of community, everyone knows everyone!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 7th February 24
Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member782464 On 27th March 23 verified Verified student

beautiful scenic friendly and really good vibes. however small library with not enough study spaces

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 14th February 24
Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member1082428 On 27th March 23 verified Verified student

The halls here are a beautiful location and they are very safe and well maintained!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 7th February 24
Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member882397 On 27th March 23 verified Verified student

A simple accommodation but it has everything you need for a reasonable price, and an excellent location

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 14th February 24
Student Review: 3.6 /5
By member482380 On 27th March 23 verified Verified student

It is a 45 min. travel by bus to the city, and the nearest town only has a co-op (a bit expensive). Also, the latest bus you can get during the week is at 11 pm, night buses only run during the weekends.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 3 /5
By member1170930 On 19th August 22 verified Verified student

Lived in the old old (there is new, old but renovated and old old) accommodation and surprisingly it had the least problems and the best layout. The new accommodation flooded and everyone was evacuated and the renovated flats were without heat for about a month in the middle of winter so students were using ovens to keep warm and all sleeping in the kitchen and the university would provide a few small space heaters for them. The old old accommodation had the best layout in my eyes and the least problems. The bathrooms are acceptable, not great. Larger residents will have trouble fitting into the tiny showers so think carefully before you go old old

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 12th February 24
Student Review: 3.7 /5
By member638163 On 19th May 19 verified Verified student

Given that it's located in the countryside and takes around 40 mins to get to Nottingham on the bus, the location is about as good as it can be all things considered. The nearest town of Southwell is very quiet with very little other than pubs and a small football pitch for leisure. The prices are also quite steep given that the radiators take a long time to warm up and the boilers infrequently stop working for a few hours at a time.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 16th February 24
Student Review: 3.7 /5
By member1238148 On 18th May 19 verified Verified student

The staff who run the halls need to be more attentive and friendly and help students!! Very expensive for what it is!! But the location, layout and social aspects are amazing

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 16th February 24
Student Review: 2.7 /5
By SlickAsRick On 13th May 19 verified Verified student

•located in southwell, this is picturesque and calm. however extremely isolating and to really do ANYTHING you either need to get a bus into the city or the local area. •resident associates are advertised however have never been seen or done anything other than drop off leaflets can can easily be an email. •security are hardly seen unless an event is going on locally on campus. •the cleaning team are inconsistent, ill-managed, and sometimes sloppy. with cleaning days changing, the floor left soaking, and bins sometimes not touched. •the bar is small but packs a punch. it’s ideal for gatherings and has constant events going on. though maybe it just seems great because the campus has nothing else to offer. •everyone knows almost everyone. it’s a real community. this makes things more pleasurable. •only on one day ever has the wifi ever been bad. other than this it’s exceptional.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 16th February 24
Student Review: 5 /5
By member836377 On 6th March 19 verified Verified student

It’s very modern accommodation at Brackenhurst as it’s jsut been built! Very tidy

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 7th February 24
Student Review: 3.6 /5
By member1132315 On 11th June 18 verified Verified student

You’re encouraged to leave halls after first year which is a shame because the alternate accommodation cripples you

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 12th February 24
Student Review: 5 /5
By member1332171 On 5th June 18 verified Verified student

Love it. It’s so homely everyone knows one another like a family, and everyone sticks together

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 7th February 24
Student Review: 4.4 /5
By member932145 On 5th June 18 verified Verified student

Small but close knit campus, easy to make friends

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 7th February 24
Student Review: 3.7 /5
By Emilygood9 On 4th June 18 verified Verified student

Though the campus isn’t the most lively, the events that are put on at the bar are great fun. The only downside of the accommodation is that the cleaners are grumpy and cannot clean!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 16th February 24
Student Review: 3.7 /5
By member426970 On 11th July 17 verified Verified student

It's in the sticks so if you want to be out in city every other night this isn't the place. But brack bar is a great night out. Everyone knows everyone so you can always meet up with people. Great place with great people.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 4 /5
By member915163 On 2nd September 15 verified Verified student

Small halls, but an amazing experience!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 7th February 24
Student Review: 2.4 /5
By member414960 On 21st August 15 verified Verified student

Lovely area but not a lot to do around

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 6th February 24
Student Review: 2.5 /5
By member86249 On 20th April 15 verified Verified student

Its is a good 40min drive from anywere with a club. The cleeners like to bang hoovers off the doors at 8am. The washing facilities are always In use. The common room has 2 2-seater sofers for 6 people. The WI-FI will direct you to the "student com" website every outher time you click a link whitch is VERY annoying when trying to do work.and manternats doint seem to come on weekends so if your loo starts leeking on a friday night you have to live with it untill monday morning. And as I am 6" 6' there shower is at about my shoulder and there is not enough room to bend down. But the people are frendly. There is s good community feel amoung residents there is a SU bar about 30sec work from your front door and you are suranded by nature not to menton less that 1min work from class rooms.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Brackenhurst On 12th February 24

Considering Brackenhurst?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.