credit: tbc
Most helpful review

Best accommodation in Newcastle City Center. I've been in a new accommodation during each year at Newcastle University from a university-managed one to private ones and Verde has been the best. Room is huge but still easy to clean; the big window allows fresh air entering and the fan in the toilet permits air changes. Bed is bigger than expected and the ensuite is just perfect Desk is big enough to have space for two monitors. Wifi could be better, I advise changing providers to have a better performance. Location is perfect, next to the computing campus and business campus; everything is within walking distance; it's in the middle between Monument, the train station and Newcastle uni's main campus. Customer service is the best, any time you need to fix something you can raise a ticket through the online system and the following morning you will have someone ready to help you. When moving out my stuff or even when receiving a parcel I can count on someone helping me with the boxes.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By Italianboy
On 29th June 21

Newcastle upon Tyne Hall Rankings


Manor Bank #12
The Shield #13
The Foundry #14
Park Terrace #15
Verde #16
The View #17
Vita Student Newcastle - Strawberry Place #18
St James' Point #19
Camden Court #20
New Bridge Street #21

All Student Accommodation in Newcastle upon Tyne


Most helpful review

Best accommodation in Newcastle City Center. I've been in a new accommodation during each year at Newcastle University from a university-managed one to private ones and Verde has been the best. Room is huge but still easy to clean; the big window allows fresh air entering and the fan in the toilet permits air changes. Bed is bigger than expected and the ensuite is just perfect Desk is big enough to have space for two monitors. Wifi could be better, I advise changing providers to have a better performance. Location is perfect, next to the computing campus and business campus; everything is within walking distance; it's in the middle between Monument, the train station and Newcastle uni's main campus. Customer service is the best, any time you need to fix something you can raise a ticket through the online system and the following morning you will have someone ready to help you. When moving out my stuff or even when receiving a parcel I can count on someone helping me with the boxes.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By Italianboy
On 29th June 21

Q&A


Q
How many students live in this accommodation? And is it main Newcastle university first year students ?
By member1261857 On 21st August 21
Q
I’m going to be a first year for 2021/22 can I choose to stay in private accommodation like this or will I be the only one?
By member855000 On 6th March 21
I’m going to be a first year for 2021/2022 as well and I have booked to stay in private accommodation. My friend has as well :)
By member1255472 On 21st March 21
Q
do all en-suite standard rooms have windows?
By member750193 On 1st August 20
Q
Hi, are visitors allowed in? Ive chosen a double bed so that my mom could visit me and stay with me when she wants. Thank you
By member1147106 On 2nd April 20
Reply from Verde
On 3rd June 20

Unless otherwise stated, bedrooms are for single occupation only.  Occasional overnight visitors will be allowed, at the discretion of the management, provided that no disturbance or inconvenience is caused to other occupants.

Q
Dear Downing, please can you reverse your ludicrous decision to charge students staying at Verde the full year of accommodation fees, including for those students who are now isolated a home because of Covid-19, following closure of Newcastle University and their advice to return home. Downing, my question is - do you have no morals? Disgraceful.
By member947028 On 30th March 20
Q

Ask a new question about Verde

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Verde Reviews


Student Review: 2 /5
By On 22nd November 21

Wifi is horrendous in some rooms, staff don’t care about your issues.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 29th June 21

Had a really enjoyable first year living at verde, one of the most modern accommodations in Newcastle and the location is literally right in the city, 2 minute walk from monument. Really good room size with huge desk and nice modern en-suite. The kitchens are also huge and very modern. Would recommend to anyone looking for accommodation! Very friendly staff as well.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 6th July 21

Thank you very much for recommending Verde to other students!  We are pleased you have enjoyed your first year living there!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 29th June 21

Really enjoyed living at verde this year the flats are nice, spacious and modern and the reception team are really lovely.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 6th July 21

Thanks for sharing your review for Verde!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 29th June 21

Best accommodation in Newcastle City Center. I've been in a new accommodation during each year at Newcastle University from a university-managed one to private ones and Verde has been the best. Room is huge but still easy to clean; the big window allows fresh air entering and the fan in the toilet permits air changes. Bed is bigger than expected and the ensuite is just perfect Desk is big enough to have space for two monitors. Wifi could be better, I advise changing providers to have a better performance. Location is perfect, next to the computing campus and business campus; everything is within walking distance; it's in the middle between Monument, the train station and Newcastle uni's main campus. Customer service is the best, any time you need to fix something you can raise a ticket through the online system and the following morning you will have someone ready to help you. When moving out my stuff or even when receiving a parcel I can count on someone helping me with the boxes.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 6th July 21

Thank you for sharing your detailed review for Verde.  We are pleased to hear that out of all the providers you have lived with you consider Verde to be the best!


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 21st June 21

Loved my first year in Verde! All the furniture and fittings in the rooms and kitchens are clean and modern with plenty of storage. Location is perfect with tons of shops and restaurants nearby. Reception and maintenance team are always responsive and happy to help. Thank you!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 28th June 21

We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your first year at Verde!


Student Review: 3 /5
By On 20th June 21

The staff are absolutely amazing! Both Emily and Claire have made me feel very welcome. As for location, this is probably one of the best areas to reside in, especially for Newcastle University students. A small Tesco is literally downstairs and the building is just minutes away from Eldon Square, town, uni & etc. On the downside, the windows are a bit small so you won’t get that much sunshine which can be a bit bleak sometimes. The mattress could also be slightly larger (it’s a 3/4, not a double). The wifi is not the greatest either. However, the worst part is noise which obviously isn’t the staff’s fault, but way more should be done by security about this. It’s sometimes completely impossible to sleep with drunk students shouting both indoors and outdoors throughout the entire night.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 19th June 21

Really enjoyed my time, great rooms and location

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 21st June 21

Thanks for sharing your review!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 13th June 21

Absolutely amazing location right in the centre of town, great onsite facilities and brilliant staff that are always happy to help! Easily one of the best halls in Newcastle.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 28th June 21

Thanks for sharing your great review!


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 11th June 21

Love the rooms, location and staff however the wifi wasn’t the best which was annoying when everything was mainly online

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 20th July 21

We are really pleased that you have loved the room, location and the staff!  We raised the Wifi issue with our service provider as we always look to improve the service we offer.  Further resilience has now been put onto the network, meaning we have 3 routes for the fibre rather than the original 1, so recurring issues should no longer happen.  Thank you for sharing your review!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 9th June 21

Brilliant, helpful staff, and a lovely place to live. The commodities nearby are great, and I’ve enjoyed my time here :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 10th June 21

Thanks for sharing your lovely review!


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 8th June 21

After a hectic first year in university, I wanted to live in an accommodation near the medical building where my lectures where located. Verde was one of the best options I had, regarding both money and location, and so, I decided to live there for this year. The amazingly friendly staff as well as, the services and the fact that everything was nearby - Verde is centrally located, next to Tesco express and only 10 minutes from the Leazes Park and 15' from the medical building and the sport's centre - accounted for my decision to rebook for the next year. Hence, unlike other student accommodations, Verde provides a peaceful and quite studying environment, while socialing is possible in the common rooms.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 10th June 21

Thank you for sharing how good the facilities are at Verde and its convenient location.  We are really pleased you have chosen to re-book for next year!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 8th June 21

Really enjoyed living at Verde this year! The accommodation is really modern and very well kept. Great facilities, we’ve loved using the gym and cinema room. The reception team are amazing, they’ve been so accommodating and friendly, Claire and Emily especially. Would deffo recommend!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 10th June 21

We will share your review with the halls team as they will be pleased to read your lovely comments about them and the facilities we have at Verde!  Thank you for sharing your review!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 8th June 21

Had the most pleasant experience living at Verde this year, reception staff always lovely and willing to help, within good walking distance of both uni and the city centre, would definitely live here again. Facilities are amazing and could still be used during covid which was a bonus. Couldn’t really ask for anything more from an accommodation!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 28th June 21

Thank you for sharing your lovely review for Verde!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 8th June 21

I am glad I chose Verde for my first year at Uni. It’s in such a good location with everything in walking distance. The facilities are really good especially the cinema room. The rooms are a great size with plenty of storage. The staff are so friendly and helpful. I’m so happy that I get to stay here for 2nd year!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 10th June 21

We are really pleased to hear you are living at Verde for your 2nd year too!  Thank you for sharing your nice comments about our facilities and friendly staff!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 7th June 21

I've lived at Verde for 2 years, and it really feels like home. My favourite part of this accommodation has to be the lovely people who work here. They always try their hardest to ensure that your experience is the best it can be, and are just really nice to have a chat with whenever you go down to reception. The gym is great! As for the other common area facilities, I haven't used them due to covid so can't really comment. My room is big enough and the kitchen is a great size for entertaining. The location is great, equidistant between uni, town, and the train station, so you have everything you need within a 15 minute walk! I really couldn't recommend this accommodation more :) the only real downside is the Internet is sometimes less than reliable

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 10th June 21

We are really pleased Verde has felt like home and that you have enjoyed living there for 2 years.  The halls team will be pleased to read that you have had the best experience!


Student Review: 3 /5
By On 5th February 21

Corporate policy abandoned students during the pandemic refusing to refund or withhold charging payments during the lockdown. Students were left in debt without being able to take advantage of the place they are paying for. Competing private accomodations did not have this problem. I would not recommend if you would like the peace of mind that your landlord has your best interest in mind and is not afraid to screw you over.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3 /5
By On 4th February 21

Refused money back during lockdown and rude about the whole thing despite accommodation buildings in the area offering refunds and support. Wifi goes down a lot. Socialising is punished. I wouldn’t be surprised if they found a crumb on my floor and took my deposit away at the end to finish off

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 27th January 21

A good place to stay in a fantastic location. Just the Internet sucks

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3 /5
By On 8th December 20

Very good location and really nice reception. Haven't been to the social spaces nor had the chance to interact with other tenants. A lot of parties, but the walls isolate sound relatively well. The wifi works well on a phone, not as well on a laptop, but there's ethernet cables for that; however, if the internet is down, there's no signal and no way of getting internet connection. Overall rating- 4/5

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 8th December 20

The best accommodation I have ever lived in! Nice staff and clean place! Will surely live here for next year!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 9th December 20

Thanks for your review and we are delighted you are going to live with us next year!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 8th December 20

Love this accommodation, lived here for 2 years. Feels safe secure and all the staff are so friendly

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 9th December 20

Thanks for your review.  We are pleased you have loved living in the accommodation for the last two years!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 8th December 20

I love living here and recommend to everyone, staff are lovely

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 9th December 20

Thanks for your comments about our friendly staff and for recommending it to friends!


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 5th December 20

That flats are really nice and very spacious, and the staff are really friendly and helpful. The WiFi’s not always great but that’s the only real complaint

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 5th December 20

Security staff are very helpful and friendly

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 25th January 21

Thanks for the great review, we are pleased you have found the security staff helpful!


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 5th December 20

Great property management and great location

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 25th January 21

Thanks for the review!


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 4th December 20

Really clean and organised accommodation for students. The employees: receptionists and security guards are so friendly. WiFi works only sometimes but that's been worked on, and because of covid there's no way to meet neighbours.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 25th January 21

We are pleased you have found our on site team friendly and helpful!  Thanks for the review.


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 3rd December 20

Absolutely love Verde, I love mostly the staff!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 25th January 21

Thanks for reviewing us!  We are pleased you love living at Verde especially the staff!!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 3rd December 20

Nice rooms and kitchen, good reception staff.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 25th January 21

Thanks for the review!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 3rd December 20

Quality I really enjoy living here

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 3rd December 20

Very nice building, nice facilities

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 25th January 21

Thanks for the review!


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 3rd December 20

Amazing condition and well kept! Lovely management team, feel very safe and welcome.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 25th January 21

Thanks for reviewing us!  We are glad you agree that we have a lovely team in the accommodation and that we ensure the buildings are well maintained.


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 3rd December 20

Great accommodation, perfect location, well designed rooms

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 3rd December 20

Very nice accommodation in a great location especially good kitchen/living room

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 2nd December 20

I love this accommodation, it’s the best and Emily is my favorite employee

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 25th January 21

Thanks for sharing your review!  We will pass on your nice comments to the team (and to Emily!).


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 2nd December 20

Such good high end accommodation for a good price! Staff are lovely and super helpful! Would 100% recommend.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 25th January 21

This is a great reivew thank you!  Our team in your accommodation will be delighted!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 2nd December 20

Great staff that have always been friendly. facilities are great and would be better if covid want about!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 25th January 21

Thanks for the review!


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 2nd December 20

I have now lived here for my 3rd year running. My experience here has been nothing but exceptional. The team at the reception and management have been very helpful and responsive to any queries I have had. Emily deserves a lot of credit for her hardwork and effort especially for all the support she provided for my flat when we were self isolating as well as many other general enquiries and times we needed help. Definitely deserves a pay rise! Jan has also been wonderful, she has tried her hardest to keep us happy and this is evident through the number of years she's managed to keep us! We're even planning to renew our flat for next year and are bringing some more friends in to replace friends who have now finished.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 25th January 21

Thanks for the great review!  We are thrilled you have enjoyed your time with us and that you are planning to live there again next year!  We hope your friends who are joining you enjoy it as much as you!  We will pass these lovely comments on to the Halls team!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 1st December 20

I really enjoy the living time. The staffs are friendly and the room is well equipped.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 25th January 21

We are pleased you have enjoyed living in the accommodation!


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 1st December 20

Overall happy I chose the accommodation

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 1st December 20

Hi, we are really pleased to hear you are happy with your choice of accommodation!


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 30th November 20

Very good and nice apart from we haven’t been able to access common rooms due to covid

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 9th December 20

Thanks for your review.  Depending on Government restrictions the common room can be booked out for your household bubble via the link on our website.  In the mean time we are hosting events virtually and information for these can be found on our Instagram page!


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 30th November 20

Verde has every facility and caters for the wide community. I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this modern and simplistic environment which is kept clean.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 1st December 20

We are really pleased you feel that Verde offers every facility you need and that our high standards have been maintained!


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 30th November 20

Very good but I thought tv licence was included.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 30th November 20

Verde is a very well run building with loads of first years so having parties at flat 48 is the place to be after a night out in the best city in the uk

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 30th November 20

It’s fantastic, value for money is perfect , best accomodation in newcastle

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 1st December 20

Thanks for your review!  We are thrilled to hear you think it is the best acccommodation in Newcastle and value for money!


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 30th November 20

Very helpful and brilliant staff

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 1st December 20

Thanks for your review!  We will also pass on your comments to the Halls team who will be pleased to read them!


Student Review: 1 /5
By On 2nd April 20

Don’t choose downing students. They are not giving the students who have left due to Coronavirus a refund - that’s £2000 down the drain and I’m not even there! Bbb

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 22nd May 20

Unfortunately I can see that this review was left before we were in a position to inform residents of the rent reimbursement we have offered to students in all Downing Student properties. We have committed to making significant refunds to those students who have left the accommodation and, as always, it is our policy to offer flexible payment plans to students who may be suffering hardship.I hope that otherwise you enjoyed living with Downing Students.


Student Review: 1 /5
By On 30th March 20

Please do not consider the Verde or any other Downing Student properties as University accommodation. Despite the country lockdown due to COVID-19, Downing are insisting that all students pay for the full year of accommodation, even though they will not be using those rooms, as the University have told all students to return home.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 4th June 20

Unfortunately I can see that this review was left before we were in a position to inform residents of the rent reimbursement we have offered to students in all Downing Student properties. We have committed to making significant refunds to those students who have left the accommodation and, as always, it is our policy to offer flexible payment plans to students who may be suffering hardship.

A large proportion of our residents are still in their accommodation and we have provided virtual events for everyone to take part in.

I hope that otherwise you enjoyed living with Downing Students.


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th March 20

Really nice place lovely staff clean and modern

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 27th February 20

actually the wifi always makes me angry :(

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 28th February 20

We're sorry to hear you are having issues with the WiFi. Please report any future issues to Glide right away, or the site team would be happy to do this on your behalf if you let them know :) 


Student Review: 3 /5
By On 25th February 20

the wifi is always down. It is managed internally so when there are issues the emergency numbers are redirected to another side of the country. The free food at events held in the reception is great !

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 27th February 20

 

Thank you for your review :)


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 25th February 20

Nice place lovely reception staff especially Emily

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 27th February 20

Thank you for your kind review!


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 20th February 20

The reception staff is very friendly, the apartment is well equipped, and it is close to the college. Sometimes the wifi is slow but I really like it here

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 28th February 20

We are glad you are happy with your accommodation. If you continue to have any issues with the WiFi please contact Glide who will be happy to help you :)


Student Review: 3 /5
By On 19th February 20

the halls are always dirty and the internet never works well.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 19th February 20

When first moving in, I found that the bathroom was not that clean. The type of carpet in the bedroom is not good as it collects hair and is hard to hoover. The hoover itself is not good and hardly picks anything up. However, bedroom is modern with good storage and work space. Internet is not that great, but what else can be expected with free wifi. Moving on to the kitchen, which is a good size however I did notice that it would be more helpful if at least a drying rack for dishes had of been provided for us. More storage could also be more helpful as 1-2 cupboards for utensils, food, and pans etc isn’t really enough. Don’t think this can be done but having another fridge/freezer would also be good. Didn’t use common room much but a great space to socialise, likewise with the gym. Halls management were friendly and helped with anything you need.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3 /5
By On 19th February 20

my room is very sound proof which I like so I can study in peace. However, I live with students who I have no common things with so i cannot bond with them

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 19th February 20

Overall I’ve really enjoyed my time at Verde. The best part is that it’s literally right next to both the business building and the FDC hall, where 99% of my classes take place. The rooms are also very spacious, as are the kitchens. It is a massive perk that each room has its own bathroom and shower. I would say you get your money’s worth here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 20th February 20

Thank you for your great review - we are glad that you find the Verde value for money. 

 


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 19th February 20

The room is enough big and clean.the safety is great

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 18th February 20

No complaints in terms of accommodation or reception services, WiFi is very hit or miss but I know that is provided externally

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 17th February 20

2 years living here. Good value for money even though I would prefer to have an oven in the studio instead of a microwave which does not correspond to the one in the instructions. Love the location. Friendly staff.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th February 20

Love the location! Close to the university and the city!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th February 20

Friendly team, always happy to help. The location is perfect for town and for uni and the halls themselves are spacious and modern at a reasonable price. Would deffo recommend to anyone.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th February 20

Such perfect location for a first year student and the living area is so practical. The team are also so useful and friendly, overall great university halls at a reasonable price.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th February 20

Best place to live in, especially in first year! Management is lovely and always available to provide support. Would definitely stay again

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 17th February 20

Love it here, staff are friendly and helpful, social spaces are nice, good events.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 13th February 20

Reception are very helpful and friendly! WiFi at weekends is poor.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 13th February 20

Really nice accomodation with good location to city facilitie

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 13th February 20

A really good place to live, excellent location near the university and centre of town

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 13th February 20

Staff are friendly and very helpful and entertainment facilities and events are well organised. Maintenance can sometimes be delayed although our leak has now been sorted. The facilities are always clean and we enjoy using the social spaces and attending events together, it's a great way to make friends in the building.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 11th February 20

Really nice and clean living space, spacious room and nice social areas.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 16th May 19

Really nice, a bit too expensive though if you don’t make use of all the facilities (cinema room, gym etc)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By On 30th May 18

Value for money is bad and not particularly fussed about student satisfaction. After signing contracts and it being too late to pull out easily, we found out the building breached safety hazards, and the cladding was going to be removed. We were offered no compensation whatsoever for persistent disruption of building work which went on for 5 months, longer than they said it would. It went on throughout exams, affecting grades. Additionally, some of us had to have our blind shut all day due to builders being on the scaffolding outside out rooms.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 5th September 18

Hi, thank you for your review we’re very sorry you feel this way.

Following the release of the Government's definitive cladding system fire test results in August last year, Downing secured Building Control approval to replace some cladding panels at our Verde Student Accommodation in Newcastle to ensure the safety of the building and our residents. The work was limited to the external courtyard of the estate and was straightforward, with the existing panels clipped off and new panels clipped on in place.

Works were swiftly and responsibly delivered under close consultation with local authorities. The project commenced on November 2017 and completed April 2018. There was no impact at all on the rooms or the inside of the building, and the disruption was minimal, with any noisy works commencing each day after 10am. There was no disruption to wi-fi or any key services and Downing Students communicated continual updates to residents throughout the process on the progress of the upgrade.

Student experience is at the heart of our organisation’s ethos and operational objectives and we are deeply committed to ensuring students are safe, comfortable and secure in their accommodation. In order to ensure we continually deliver on student experience, we closely monitor our residents’ feedback with a number of anonymous surveys throughout the year. The feedback from our residents living at Verde has been extremely positive throughout the year, indeed our student satisfaction score was 86 per cent following a recent end of year survey – demonstrating a high level of contentment.

We are aware that another provider, whose residents may have experienced considerable disruption during the cladding replacement process, is offering compensation. However, given the positive feedback from students and the minimal disturbance experienced during the works, Downing will not be offering compensation. We look forward to continuing to deliver a positive student experience, and we would like to thank all our residents for their patience as these essential upgrades have taken place.


Student Review: 2 /5
By On 24th January 18

Poor management. Doesn't know how to deal properly with complaints, not very helpful staffs.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 25th January 18

Thank you for your feedback we take onboard all comments from our residents. We would like to help you with your complaint, please email details to info@downingstudents.com where a member of the team will get back to you. 


Student Review: 2 /5
By On 24th October 17

Internet is terrible, cuts off constantly, staff are rude

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 8th July 17

Daughter loved it but she moved out 4 and a half weeks ago but complete silence regarding deposit. Disgraceful

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3 /5
By On 4th April 17

Always too loud at nights, bad news if you want to sleep

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By On 4th April 17

Over priced. Rooms remind me somewhat of a hospital with the lighting. Security guards do minimal.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 3rd April 17

Modern, very nice to live in and has its own free mini gym

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 1 /5
By On 15th March 17

Poor staff and inconsiderate neighbours

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 15th March 17

Good accommodation, well managed

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 14th March 17

Fantastic a bit pricey but well worth the money

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Considering Verde?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.