3.71 / 5
credit: tbc
Most helpful review

Staff are friendly and very helpful and entertainment facilities and events are well organised. Maintenance can sometimes be delayed although our leak has now been sorted. The facilities are always clean and we enjoy using the social spaces and attending events together, it's a great way to make friends in the building.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By Rayyan iqbal
On 13th February 20

Newcastle upon Tyne Hall Rankings


Portland Green Student Village #8
Wellington St Plaza #9
The Foundry #10
New Bridge Street #11
Verde #12
Claude Gibb #13
Castle Leazes #14
Quay Point #15
Bowsden Court #16
The View #17

All Student Accommodation in Newcastle upon Tyne


Most helpful review

Staff are friendly and very helpful and entertainment facilities and events are well organised. Maintenance can sometimes be delayed although our leak has now been sorted. The facilities are always clean and we enjoy using the social spaces and attending events together, it's a great way to make friends in the building.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By Rayyan iqbal
On 13th February 20

Verde Information

Telephone0191 261 9337
PostcodeNE4 5TH
Price from £137.90 per week (subject to availability)
Features15 minute walk from Newcastle University and 20 minutes from University of Northumbria, common room with cinema, gym and social events.
Top tipKeep an eye on our regular social events, where you’ll be able to meet other like-minded students and feel like a part of the Verde community. With 112 exceptional studio apartments and 432 superior en-suite student bedrooms, there’s a great choice of accommodation for everyone, wherever you study in Newcastle. Visit website for more details. 


Q&A


Q
do all en-suite standard rooms have windows?
By member750193 On 1st August 20
Q
Hi, are visitors allowed in? Ive chosen a double bed so that my mom could visit me and stay with me when she wants. Thank you
By member1147106 On 2nd April 20
Reply from Verde
On 3rd June 20

Unless otherwise stated, bedrooms are for single occupation only.  Occasional overnight visitors will be allowed, at the discretion of the management, provided that no disturbance or inconvenience is caused to other occupants.

Q
Dear Downing, please can you reverse your ludicrous decision to charge students staying at Verde the full year of accommodation fees, including for those students who are now isolated a home because of Covid-19, following closure of Newcastle University and their advice to return home. Downing, my question is - do you have no morals? Disgraceful.
By member947028 On 30th March 20
Q
I have paid the deposit for a room for my son...I’m just hoping the reviews are not what the majority have experienced...and that you have taken onboard what has been said...I would like to know if you take the 1st rent automatically or do we physically have to call and pay?
By member433340 On 5th August 18
Reply from Verde
On 10th February 20

Customer feedback is very important to us and we take all feedback into consideration. The first rental instalment is debited from the card that was used during the booking process. If you want to change the card you can contact the payments team on 0151 707 2666.

Q

Ask a new question about Verde

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Verde Reviews


0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 2nd April 20

Don’t choose downing students. They are not giving the students who have left due to Coronavirus a refund - that’s £2000 down the drain and I’m not even there! Bbb

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 22nd May 20

Unfortunately I can see that this review was left before we were in a position to inform residents of the rent reimbursement we have offered to students in all Downing Student properties. We have committed to making significant refunds to those students who have left the accommodation and, as always, it is our policy to offer flexible payment plans to students who may be suffering hardship.I hope that otherwise you enjoyed living with Downing Students.


0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 30th March 20

Please do not consider the Verde or any other Downing Student properties as University accommodation. Despite the country lockdown due to COVID-19, Downing are insisting that all students pay for the full year of accommodation, even though they will not be using those rooms, as the University have told all students to return home.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 4th June 20

Unfortunately I can see that this review was left before we were in a position to inform residents of the rent reimbursement we have offered to students in all Downing Student properties. We have committed to making significant refunds to those students who have left the accommodation and, as always, it is our policy to offer flexible payment plans to students who may be suffering hardship.

A large proportion of our residents are still in their accommodation and we have provided virtual events for everyone to take part in.

I hope that otherwise you enjoyed living with Downing Students.


1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th March 20

Really nice place lovely staff clean and modern

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 27th February 20

actually the wifi always makes me angry :(

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 28th February 20

We're sorry to hear you are having issues with the WiFi. Please report any future issues to Glide right away, or the site team would be happy to do this on your behalf if you let them know :) 


1
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 25th February 20

the wifi is always down. It is managed internally so when there are issues the emergency numbers are redirected to another side of the country. The free food at events held in the reception is great !

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 27th February 20

 

Thank you for your review :)


1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 25th February 20

Nice place lovely reception staff especially Emily

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 27th February 20

Thank you for your kind review!


2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 20th February 20

The reception staff is very friendly, the apartment is well equipped, and it is close to the college. Sometimes the wifi is slow but I really like it here

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 28th February 20

We are glad you are happy with your accommodation. If you continue to have any issues with the WiFi please contact Glide who will be happy to help you :)


-1
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 19th February 20

the halls are always dirty and the internet never works well.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 19th February 20

When first moving in, I found that the bathroom was not that clean. The type of carpet in the bedroom is not good as it collects hair and is hard to hoover. The hoover itself is not good and hardly picks anything up. However, bedroom is modern with good storage and work space. Internet is not that great, but what else can be expected with free wifi. Moving on to the kitchen, which is a good size however I did notice that it would be more helpful if at least a drying rack for dishes had of been provided for us. More storage could also be more helpful as 1-2 cupboards for utensils, food, and pans etc isn’t really enough. Don’t think this can be done but having another fridge/freezer would also be good. Didn’t use common room much but a great space to socialise, likewise with the gym. Halls management were friendly and helped with anything you need.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 19th February 20

my room is very sound proof which I like so I can study in peace. However, I live with students who I have no common things with so i cannot bond with them

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

5
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 19th February 20

Overall I’ve really enjoyed my time at Verde. The best part is that it’s literally right next to both the business building and the FDC hall, where 99% of my classes take place. The rooms are also very spacious, as are the kitchens. It is a massive perk that each room has its own bathroom and shower. I would say you get your money’s worth here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 20th February 20

Thank you for your great review - we are glad that you find the Verde value for money. 

 


3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 19th February 20

The room is enough big and clean.the safety is great

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 18th February 20

No complaints in terms of accommodation or reception services, WiFi is very hit or miss but I know that is provided externally

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 17th February 20

2 years living here. Good value for money even though I would prefer to have an oven in the studio instead of a microwave which does not correspond to the one in the instructions. Love the location. Friendly staff.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th February 20

Love the location! Close to the university and the city!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th February 20

Friendly team, always happy to help. The location is perfect for town and for uni and the halls themselves are spacious and modern at a reasonable price. Would deffo recommend to anyone.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th February 20

Such perfect location for a first year student and the living area is so practical. The team are also so useful and friendly, overall great university halls at a reasonable price.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th February 20

Best place to live in, especially in first year! Management is lovely and always available to provide support. Would definitely stay again

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 17th February 20

Love it here, staff are friendly and helpful, social spaces are nice, good events.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 13th February 20

Reception are very helpful and friendly! WiFi at weekends is poor.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 13th February 20

Really nice accomodation with good location to city facilitie

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 13th February 20

A really good place to live, excellent location near the university and centre of town

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 13th February 20

Staff are friendly and very helpful and entertainment facilities and events are well organised. Maintenance can sometimes be delayed although our leak has now been sorted. The facilities are always clean and we enjoy using the social spaces and attending events together, it's a great way to make friends in the building.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 11th February 20

Really nice and clean living space, spacious room and nice social areas.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 16th May 19

Really nice, a bit too expensive though if you don’t make use of all the facilities (cinema room, gym etc)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 30th May 18

Value for money is bad and not particularly fussed about student satisfaction. After signing contracts and it being too late to pull out easily, we found out the building breached safety hazards, and the cladding was going to be removed. We were offered no compensation whatsoever for persistent disruption of building work which went on for 5 months, longer than they said it would. It went on throughout exams, affecting grades. Additionally, some of us had to have our blind shut all day due to builders being on the scaffolding outside out rooms.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 5th September 18

Hi, thank you for your review we’re very sorry you feel this way.

Following the release of the Government's definitive cladding system fire test results in August last year, Downing secured Building Control approval to replace some cladding panels at our Verde Student Accommodation in Newcastle to ensure the safety of the building and our residents. The work was limited to the external courtyard of the estate and was straightforward, with the existing panels clipped off and new panels clipped on in place.

Works were swiftly and responsibly delivered under close consultation with local authorities. The project commenced on November 2017 and completed April 2018. There was no impact at all on the rooms or the inside of the building, and the disruption was minimal, with any noisy works commencing each day after 10am. There was no disruption to wi-fi or any key services and Downing Students communicated continual updates to residents throughout the process on the progress of the upgrade.

Student experience is at the heart of our organisation’s ethos and operational objectives and we are deeply committed to ensuring students are safe, comfortable and secure in their accommodation. In order to ensure we continually deliver on student experience, we closely monitor our residents’ feedback with a number of anonymous surveys throughout the year. The feedback from our residents living at Verde has been extremely positive throughout the year, indeed our student satisfaction score was 86 per cent following a recent end of year survey – demonstrating a high level of contentment.

We are aware that another provider, whose residents may have experienced considerable disruption during the cladding replacement process, is offering compensation. However, given the positive feedback from students and the minimal disturbance experienced during the works, Downing will not be offering compensation. We look forward to continuing to deliver a positive student experience, and we would like to thank all our residents for their patience as these essential upgrades have taken place.


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 24th January 18

Poor management. Doesn't know how to deal properly with complaints, not very helpful staffs.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Verde
On 25th January 18

Thank you for your feedback we take onboard all comments from our residents. We would like to help you with your complaint, please email details to info@downingstudents.com where a member of the team will get back to you. 


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 24th October 17

Internet is terrible, cuts off constantly, staff are rude

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 8th July 17

Daughter loved it but she moved out 4 and a half weeks ago but complete silence regarding deposit. Disgraceful

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 4th April 17

Always too loud at nights, bad news if you want to sleep

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 4th April 17

Over priced. Rooms remind me somewhat of a hospital with the lighting. Security guards do minimal.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 3rd April 17

Modern, very nice to live in and has its own free mini gym

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 15th March 17

Poor staff and inconsiderate neighbours

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 15th March 17

Good accommodation, well managed

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 14th March 17

Fantastic a bit pricey but well worth the money

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Considering Verde?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to vote, comment, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.