3.75 / 5

The View Reviews

111 Reviews by Students

credit: tbc
Most helpful review

I’ve had an amazing experience at The View, everyone on reception is really helpful and maintenance is always on hand. I have felt very safe with the level of security here. Socially, I am very lucky because I get on very well with my flat and I have also met loads of really lovely people. There’s a great atmosphere and people seem really genuine here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member452855
On 3rd December 20

Newcastle upon Tyne Hall Rankings


Verde #10
Wellington St Plaza #11
The Foundry #12
New Bridge Street #13
The View #14
Claude Gibb #15
Castle Leazes #16
Quay Point #17
Bowsden Court #18
Byron Central #19

All Student Accommodation in Newcastle upon Tyne


Most helpful review

I’ve had an amazing experience at The View, everyone on reception is really helpful and maintenance is always on hand. I have felt very safe with the level of security here. Socially, I am very lucky because I get on very well with my flat and I have also met loads of really lovely people. There’s a great atmosphere and people seem really genuine here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member452855
On 3rd December 20

The View Information

Telephone0191 261 8995
PostcodeNE1 4SH
Price from £177.30 per week (subject to availability)
FeaturesIt's a 10-minute walk from Newcastle University, Tesco Express right next door, games room and laundry facilities.
Top tipRefer a friend and get £250 each! Visit website for more details. 

The View Biography

The View offers fantastic city-centre accommodation for students in Newcastle. The accommodation has a mix of self-contained studios and shared apartments and boasts excellent facilities. There’s a games room, on-site laundry facilities, secure bike storage and lots more to make student living easy. 

It’s situated within close proximity to universities with both Newcastle University and Northumbria University under a 15-minute walk away. There is a conveniently located Tesco Express on the ground floor for those last-minute necessities and students at The View benefit from being right next to the city centre and parks. 

All the rooms are fully furnished with high-quality fixtures and fittings. The ensuite rooms in shared apartments are reserved for first-year students at Newcastle University. Each flat has a shared kitchen and living space which is great for those looking for a social atmosphere. The studios are open to anyone and are perfect for those looking for more independent living. 

Book a room today!


Q&A


Q
Does a standard on suite have Ethernet ports
By member1041724 On 22nd August 19
Q
Good day, What is the size of the beds?
By member1141414 On 13th August 19
Q
what are the size to the room in the standard ensuite . thank you
By member537689 On 5th May 19
Q
what size are the beds in the standard ensuite
By member833631 On 26th August 18
Reply from The View
On 17th December 18
The beds are 'small double'
Q
I was wondering if having a friend (who isn't a student) staying over in my room for a period of a couple days would be a problem.
By member1033299 On 2nd August 18
Reply from The View
On 17th December 18

Thanks for your enquiry - students are welcome to have guests stay with them for a few days, but they just need to check in at the reception desk for health and safety purposes. 

Q

Ask a new question about The View

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read The View Reviews


0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 4th December 20

Great location and modern. More seating is needed in communal areas. Bad service but good wifi.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 4th December 20

Nice and modern rooms with a good location that is close to everything

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 4th December 20

Really nice and location is perfect

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 4th December 20

Around a good accomodation, a few issues with the internet. Really friendly and welcoming reception staff is a big plus. Perfect location for the city centre and next to the businesss school. Would be better minus covid obviously

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 4th December 20

Good place and good location, everyone is friendly

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 4th December 20

Great place to stay. Very clean flats and luxurious flats.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 4th December 20

Great, absolutely loved every minute of it!!!!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 4th December 20

Great honestly it’s been absolutely amazing. Big up the view yeah 01610,

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 4th December 20

Pretty solid I can’t lie still

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 4th December 20

Lovely staff very friendly and always help.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 4th December 20

Highly reccomend, really social and helpful staff. I love living here!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 4th December 20

Very nice place to live in, great access to the city

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 4th December 20

Relatively good value for money , would be ideal without Covid.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 4th December 20

I have really enjoyed my time here so far.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 4th December 20

Very good experience but WiFi goes off occasionally.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 4th December 20

Social experience is non existent at the moment but that’s not the buildings fault

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 4th December 20

Enjoying living here. Reception are really friendly.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 4th December 20

Love it, good service and maintenance

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 4th December 20

Good service and maintenance, lovely location.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 4th December 20

internet is poor, which is really bad considering we have to study from home, but everything else is pretty much spot on. social aspect has been more difficult this year, but really good location, so close to the town centre. tesco’s downstairs is so handy.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 3rd December 20

Nice area to live in accommodation is clean

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 3rd December 20

Good place to stay, clean and tidy.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 3rd December 20

I’ve had an amazing experience at The View, everyone on reception is really helpful and maintenance is always on hand. I have felt very safe with the level of security here. Socially, I am very lucky because I get on very well with my flat and I have also met loads of really lovely people. There’s a great atmosphere and people seem really genuine here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 3rd December 20

Friendly staff and good service

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 3rd December 20

It has been a very enjoyable experience

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 3rd December 20

The View offers high quality accommodation and a good overall service. Room size is brilliant. Maintenance services are very quick and wifi is excellent with rarely any outages

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 3rd December 20

Very friendly staff and nice rooms and kitchen

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 2nd December 20

Poor sound-proofing, loud noises from upstairs 24/7. Sometimes it is too noisy to have online lessons and to sleep.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 30th March 20

nice accommodation but since the COVID-19 outbreak uni students were advised to go home as lectures were cancelled, however downing students are still demanding payment for an unoccupied room whilst almost every other accommodation has refunded students who are no longer living in accommodation. The reception is closed along with the common room and the waste disposal room was disgusting, neglected by staff and is in a dangerous state as it is a breeding ground for vermin. This is clearly selfish and to students who are out of work along with their parents will find it difficult to pay this substantial amount of money. I will definitely not be recommending any of downing students accommodation to anyone at all. I am also disappointed with the lack of representation from the uni who have abandoned ‘The View’ students on this issue.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The View
On 4th June 20

We have committed to making significant refunds to those students who have left the accommodation. Unfortunately your review was posted prior to this information being released.

In line with Government guidelines we closed the social spaces to minimize the risk of the virus being spread. Whilst the Reception was closed our staff have remained on-site throughout the COVID-19 pandemic to ensure the safety and security of the residents and our buildings.

For many students from the UK or international it was not possible for them to return to their family home when the pandemic first occurred and as requested by the Government they have continued to reside in their student accommodation. We have provided a virtual events programme for all students to participate in.


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 30th March 20

Before the covid-19 experience I would have recommended to anyone, the WiFi did go down often but they were very apologetic, however they have been really unhelpful during the situation. They have closed all services (no access to common room, no security, no reception services, very slow maintenance requests) they are also still requesting the final payment, when all other student accommodation in the city have excused residents from the final payment.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The View
On 4th June 20

Unfortunately I can see that this review was left before we were in a position to inform residents of the rent reimbursement we have offered to students in all Downing Student properties. We have committed to making significant refunds to those students who have left the accommodation and, as always, it is our policy to offer flexible payment plans to students who may be suffering hardship.

In line with Government guidelines we closed the social spaces to minimize the risk of the virus being spread. Whilst the Reception was closed our staff have remained on-site throughout the COVID-19 pandemic to ensure the safety and security of the residents and our buildings which has always been our priority.


0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 30th March 20

Haven't even considered refunding us due to COVID-19 despite being the only accom left that haven't in NCL and Downing have refunded students in Leeds

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 30th March 20

Don’t refund us and are still making us pay even though we had to go home due to the virus pandemic. All other accommodation had refunded and ended student contracts. So unreasonable and a bad company to go with

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The View
On 4th June 20

We have committed to making significant refunds to those students who have left the accommodation. Unfortunately your review was posted prior to this information being released.


0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 30th March 20

Downing only care about profit. Continued taking our money when every other accommodation company gave money back to students and released them from their contracts due to Coronavirus. WiFi went down all the time. Only positive was that the staff were lovely.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The View
On 4th June 20

I’m sorry your review was made left before we were in a position to inform residents of the rent reimbursement we have offered to students in all Downing Student properties. We have committed to making significant refunds to those students who have left the accommodation. As always, it is our policy to offer flexible payment plans to students who may be suffering hardship.

Thank you for your nice comments about our staff, we will be sure to pass this on.


0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 30th March 20

Do not live here under any circumstances. Completely selfish company that is only out to make money and does not care about the well-being and care of its tenants

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The View
On 4th June 20

Since the posting of your review we were pleased to inform our residents about the rent reimbursement in all Downing Students properties.

The well-being and safety of our residents is our priority.   A virtual events programme was launched to ensure students were able to enjoy exercise, cookery, study and art classes from the comfort of their rooms.


0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 30th March 20

Won’t put the interests of students first, only their money and getting paid.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 30th March 20

Regret choosing this residency. Staff with bad attitudes and are not helpful at all. We are now is this kind of situation (covid-19) and most of us had left the accommodation and they don't refund us the rent for last term while apparently other accommodations all did refunds. The reception team had also left very early and no one is in charge of the deliveries and services, not being responsible. The floor of the rooms is also quite dirty when I first moved in to my room.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 29th March 20

This place is the worst accommodation amongst the Newcastle uni ones (and I visited quite a few) which is a joke considering it is also the most expensive. It's called "the view" but you have to be very lucky to actually get a flat with a "view", in most cases you'll stare at the Business School all the time (and from real close, you literally can see what they're doing on lectures) and you can only see Liberty Plaza from your kitchen. Rooms are small. There is a common room which is pretty cozy but doesn't give you anything extra, there is no cleaning inside the flats, you don't even get breakfast, so I literally have no idea what we're paying for. (it's almost as expensive as a Vita Student accommodation and at Vita you get breakfast, a huge common room and even a gym on site, the rooms are bigger too!) This place literally doesn't worth it. They're also refusing to give us refund for the last term amidst the COVID-19 outbreak even though most of us don't even live there anymore.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 29th March 20

WiFi down all the time. Things broken when I moved in, emailed multiply times but not fixed till January. Refused to cancel payments when all other accommodations did due to corona.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 29th March 20

During the 2020 COVID-19 outbreak, Downing Students failed to acknowledge student needs and refused to issue refunds to students no longer living in The View. This is appalling from such a large company and as a result I will not be recommending The View or any Downing Students accomodation to anyone.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 20th February 20

Front desk staff are really helpful & the location & quality is amazing.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The View
On 28th February 20

We're so glad to hear you are enjoying your stay with us! Thank you for the review :)


2
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 19th February 20

The View is a very nice place to live, well-maintained and in a convenient location. It is quite expensive though.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 19th February 20

Great location; stylish, modern rooms and lovely reception staff. Cleaners don’t clean your flat but the rest of the building is always kept clean.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 19th February 20

Very pleased to have chosen this as accommodation

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 19th February 20

Overall very good experience. Great location and staff are all very helpful.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 19th February 20

I do really enjoy it in most aspects

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

5
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 19th February 20

i really enjoy living at the view, its close to town so no need to spend money on taxis, its close to uni, it has good social spaces and the rooms are spacious enough. The view is great from the view being on the 8th floor.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 19th February 20

The View is very convince including good felicity and nice location.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 19th February 20

I am enjoying my stay at The View, the location to uni and to the city centre is ideal.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The View
On 21st February 20

Great to hear that you are enjoying your stay at the View. If your studying Business there is no better location to stay than right next door :) 


2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 19th February 20

I like this place very much, because it is very close to my school. The only bad thing is that my neighbors are very noisy sometimes, and I can hear them talking in the corridor at night, so the sound insulation effect is not good.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 19th February 20

Good design, bedroom and kitchen feel spacious for student accommodation and when in your room the soundproofing is good. Very hot so I would recommend to bring a fan as I have needed it even in the colder months

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 19th February 20

Everything is good condition but the WiFi need to be a lot stronger

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 18th February 20

Great location and nice bedroom and en suite. The kitchen could do with improvement as there isn’t really enough space for everyone in the flat.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 18th February 20

Great location flatmates and helpful staff

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 18th February 20

Great accommodation, nicely maintained and lovely staff. Value for money decent, would expect a gym and study spaces in this price range though. Rooms well sized and equipped. Would recommend!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 18th February 20

Social amongst the flats but quiet along the corridors. Pretty friendly during freshers, too. Good location, good WiFi, best for those who want a small group of close friends instead of a large pack of people all living in close proximity. Encourages friends being made from course and other accommodations.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 18th February 20

The View is a really good first year hall, handy location (10 min walk from Newcastle University) and the room are big enough with social areas in the kitchen too.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 17th February 20

I have absolutely loved living here. I had to move flats unfortunately due to circumstances but Claire Holmes was amazing and helped me move and change effortless and stress free. Every staff member is lovely!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 17th February 20

It's a great place to live but a tad over priced. Walls are quite thin and you can hear parties going on above and below. If you're a snitch then the security guards deal with it pretty quickly though :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 17th February 20

This would be a great accommodation if it was cheaper because the price literally doesn't worth it. It's called the "View" but most of us just see the Business School (and from real close! not only you can see everyone in like 6 different rooms in 3 different floors but sadly they can see you too) or the other nearest accommodation. For this price, there is no gym, no cleaning in the rooms (not even in the kitchen) and it is not catered so before you decide to choose this accommodation, please do compare what you might get elsewhere for the same price (or just for a bit more). Apart from that, the rooms are comfy, the kitchen has everything you need and the staff is very friendly. If you're lucky enough to get a flat on a higher floor and on the right side, there is an actual view.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 17th February 20

Best location & good size rooms. The Kitchen and en-suite have modern facilities. However it is very expensive, considering we have to pay for our own wash/ dry and don’t receive cleaning in our shared flat areas. On the whole it is a great place to live.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 13th February 20

Living at the view is very fun its such a great location and the staff are so lovely! The accommodation is kept very clean and all services are very quick , its an amazing place to live.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 11th February 20

I've had a really good experience here!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 10th February 20

Great accommodation at the view

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The View
On 10th February 20

Thank you for your lovely review :) 


2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 10th February 20

Pretty good, room is great, plenty of plugs

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 7th September 19

Perfect location, 5 mins from everything. The rooms were newly refurbished and the kitchen-lounge areas were like new as well. However, after 3 months in they stopped caring about the wifi, it was experiencing tons of issues, they didn't care about the laundry machines, (only 2 were working in a building of 17 floors, with 5 flats each), plus the laundry was expensive( 7 pounds for a wash and dry) no-one was hanging out in the common social spaces, and most of the people were posh. If I could choose again I would never consider the view again, totally a waste of money apart from location mostly cause you can find more spacious and friendly places around uni. Definitely not a place for internationals.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 17th April 19

excellent lovely place and the staff is great

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 21st January 19

Terrible place Excessive noise Poor layout Some students always do bot respect you!!! Espectially when they got drunk!! They often knock your door and scream at night!! Managment team cannot manage and solve this problem. Oh my goodness this is the worst thing I’ve experienced since I live in the UK. Please think carefully if you think that I will live here just because it’s near business school. There are a lot of accommodations you can choose!!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 18th January 19

Terrible place Massive noise Poor managment team A lot ot durnk students Management team cannot control anything Please think again and again before rent this place

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 14th December 18

Terrible place!!! staff are not friendly. Nightmare to live here because of excessive noise from other flats. No one can help you solve this problem. It doesn't worth to live here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The View
On 17th December 18

Sorry to hear that you are having problems with noise from other flats and tenants in the building. When noise is considered to be excessive our reception and security teams can try and help, but often the best option is to try and confront your flat mates and have a conversation with them directly. The tips on the save the student website might be helfpul for you.


2
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 14th October 18

Awful place, staff are extremely rude and unhelpful. Talk to you like dirt. You can hear the wind from the corridor to such an extent that you cant sleep. There is honestly no social life in this building. Washing facilities are a joke, they flooded and had to shut it down. 0/10

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 20th July 18

Really good halls but also the most expensive. Best thing is the location. Perfect for nights out

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The View
On 26th July 18

Thank you for your review, we're pleased you enjoyed your time with us!


-1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 16th December 17

Great location and on site facilities

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 7th September 16

No social experience, flats are nice but cheap appliances, rooms are really hot and windows hardly open to let air in. Kitchens don't have extractor fans so it just turns to an oily mess. Security is over the top and sometimes mates can not come to visit you.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The View
On 15th December 17

Thank you for your feedback we take onboard all comments from our residents to improve the student experience. In 2017, we introduced a new social programme for all of our sites which encourages students to mix and make new friends. 


0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 4th May 16

Great location, beautiful building however the layout doesn't encourage people to be sociable

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The View
On 15th December 17

Thank you for your feedback. The building really is beautiful - here's our 360 degree tour. We've recently opened Verde, a building around the corner, where we host social events. This is so that students from both sites can feel part of a wider community. 


1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 16th February 16

Location is the best part. 10-15 minute walk to campus. Right by the centre of town. Downside of this is it is stupid loud at times. I had a room facing the Sandman Hotel. I would hear people partying outside until late at night, garbage truck crushing all the glass bottles early in the morning (around 5 am). The sun would heat the room up extremely when it was up, but opening the window would bring insane amount of noise in. It's hilariously impossible to sleep at times. The doors are notorious for being banged (hinge is heavy), which can wake you up in the nights. The rooms aren't big, but they are modern and nice. Being a first year place, the people can be quite noisy and party centred, if you like it, great. if you don't - its terrible. My experience social was s***, and its impossible to change room so. Some people write it's dead socially, how the f*** I dunno, there were constant parties. Sucks for me because I prefer to sleep and eat myself to a heart attack.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 21st January 16

When I arrived the the rooms were disgustingly dirty, No cleaning is done for students, the location is ideal, but the cost of rent is not worth it in my opinion.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The View
On 5th September 18

Hi there thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry to hear that your room was not of a satisfactory standard when you arrived. Did you report the issue at all? We will circulate this feedback with the team because keeping the rooms to a high standard is of utmost importance to us.


-1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 12th January 16

Very spacious kitchen and living area with well set up bedrooms. Great halls for first year students.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The View
On 5th September 18

Hello, thank you so much for your review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at The View. We are proud of the apartments we offer and you're right, the living areas are incredibly spacious!


1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 12th January 16

It is ok! Having an ensuite is the best bit!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 12th January 16

It is truly great to live here. Ideal location, so pretty - you feel like in a hotel. Also I have never ecperienced not having hot water and you can actually control the temperature of your room! I really appreciate, as it is a new accommodation, that everything works and if you have any kind of problem, the management team is so lovely and they always solve the problems very quickly. Except for the price, can't recommend more. I believe that it is worth it though.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The View
On 5th September 18

Thank you for your great review and we couldn't be more pleased that you enjoyed your time at The View! We have passed on your feedback to the management team. They will be pleased to hear that you appreciated their service. We are located conveniently close to Newcastle University- less than 10 minutes!


1
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 12th January 16

Great place to live for location as is only 15 minutes from the train station, 10 minutes from Newcastle University and 5 minutes from nightlife and Eldon Square. However, it is not a great place for socialising.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 12th January 16

Nice place, safe (24/7 security) good location. But payment method could be made better. Unfortunate cheap kitchen appliances.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The View
On 5th September 18

Hi thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you appreciated our trained onsite security team, they do a wonderful job! If you would like to tell us how you think our payment process could be made easier, please send us an email at info@downingstudents.com. We are always looking for ways to improve our service.

Thanks!


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 12th January 16

The View offers great, modern accommodation and is in a good location. The staff are very friendly and help with any problems you may be having in your room very quickly.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 12th January 16

Great location and the flats are really nice but the social scene is next to none existent, would recommend Castle leazes or Ricky over the view.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 25th March 15

Although the view offers a brilliant location in terms of access to the city's shops and nightlife in a Very modern looking building its not without its flaws. Being privately owned comes with the burden of poor value and inexperienced staff who treat security as if you were in a prison and come into your room whenever they want. The social spaces are designed Perfectly for students but are painfully underused.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 16th March 15

Best place to live but by far the best the deadest. Security is so over the top

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 14th March 15

Really good location to the shops/bars/clubs etc, about 20 minutes walk from newcastle university campus. No cleaning services provided, but flats are modern and nicely decorated with a living space and kitchen for every flat

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 14th March 15

the most expensive place you can stay, but it is probably worth the money. The location couldn't be better- close to uni, China town, shops, all bars&clubs. You get a double bed & nice ensuite. The kitchen/lounge is a good size and there's a big tv. However, I needed to move out due to harassment & the manager is the most unhelpful person ever! She lied through her teeth to do anything to keep me paying to live there, saying I chose to move out to be with my friends in another place when I would have happily moved to another room in the same building which she wouldn't let me do! Be warned that as it is privately owned, it is not easy to move out & no one will move in as it so pricey. Lots of international students.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Considering The View?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to vote, comment, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.