How do you rate Lumis Student Living - Cardiff?

credit: https://www.crm-students.com/student-accommodation/cardiff/lumis-student-living-cardiff/
 image credit  |   report abuse
https://www.crm-students.com/student-accommodation/cardiff/lumis-student-living-cardiff/

Most helpful review

First year living here and the move in was simple and easy. Staff were very helpful and the facilities were easy to find my way around. The room was very clean on arrival and are very spacious fitted with lots of storage and desk space. The kitchen in the same with plenty of room for 7 of us to move around in with ease. Great facilities downstairs including the gym, study spaces, cinema room and pool/table footy. Highly recommend this accommodation having lived here first hand.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member563123
On 23rd October 21

Cardiff Hall Rankings


The Neighbourhood Cardiff #6
Crown Place - Cardiff #7
The Fitzalan #8
Arofan House #9
Lumis Student Living - Cardiff #10
Blackweir Lodge #11
Roy Jenkins Hall #12
Cyncoed Halls #13
Talybont Gate #14
Talybont Court #15

All Student Accommodation in Cardiff


Most helpful review

First year living here and the move in was simple and easy. Staff were very helpful and the facilities were easy to find my way around. The room was very clean on arrival and are very spacious fitted with lots of storage and desk space. The kitchen in the same with plenty of room for 7 of us to move around in with ease. Great facilities downstairs including the gym, study spaces, cinema room and pool/table footy. Highly recommend this accommodation having lived here first hand.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member563123
On 23rd October 21

Q&A


Q
Where can I park my car if I am resident at Lumis
By member863000 On 19th October 21
Q
Hi, heard that to go Lumis, need to walk under an underpass which is dim and worse, drug addicts loitering there. So my question is is there another way to get to Lumis? If for some reasons, need to walk through the underpass, is it safe?
By member645417 On 10th February 20
Reply from Lumis Student Living - Cardiff
On 4th May 21

Hi there, thanks for your question. There are no underpasses or unlit areas leading from the city centre or univerisities to Lumis Cardiff. There is a bridge that must be crossed over a railway line, however this is used heavily and is well let.

Please do let us know if you have any further queries.

Thanks!

The Lumis Team

Q

Ask a new question about Lumis Student Living - Cardiff

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Lumis Student Living - Cardiff Reviews


Student Review: 5 /5
By On 24th October 21

Having a fabulous time at the Lumis, lovely room with an amazing view of cardiff bay (on 10th floor), staff are lovely and helpful, social areas useful for studying in when i cannot focus in my room, very very warm on top floor so would definitely recommend getting a big fan but worth it for the views!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 23rd October 21

Great experience, been staying at lumis student living Cardiff for the past 3 years, through my BA and currently MA. If it was up to me I would never leave.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 23rd October 21

First year living here and the move in was simple and easy. Staff were very helpful and the facilities were easy to find my way around. The room was very clean on arrival and are very spacious fitted with lots of storage and desk space. The kitchen in the same with plenty of room for 7 of us to move around in with ease. Great facilities downstairs including the gym, study spaces, cinema room and pool/table footy. Highly recommend this accommodation having lived here first hand.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd October 21

I don't know about others but I love Lumis. Peaceful and quiet, with absolutely no drama. Everyone is okay and the environment is student friendly. Been here for over a year and will definitely be here till I'm done with uni.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd October 21

Spent my first two years at uni here and am loving every second, security are great and the staff are very lovely, no major issues to complain about. An all around great experience.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd October 21

Great place to stay, highly recomend

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd October 21

Great Facilities, no major issues, very welcoming all around! :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 22nd October 21

in my second year of uni and my first accommodation failed to provide a safe living space and areas too hang out with my mates. when moving into lumis i was shocked too see how big the spaces where for us too study, to hang out and watch movies with my mates. i went for a studio apartment this year and was amazed with how well the room was when i got there. everything worked and all was clean. it was very spacious and the tv worked well. living here makes me feel a lot safer from my previous place with alot of doors needing a fob too let you in and how the staff are ready too help the second you ask for it. highly recommend you stay here fir a first year of you’re looking too meet new people or even live on your own.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd October 21

Great location and rooms. Amazing common areas and a helpful team. Great experience

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 22nd October 21

Affordable and close to town which is nice. Lots of different places to study and the extra amenities (like the ice hockey) is cool!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd October 21

Is a great modern place and nice atmosphere nice common areas with hot and cosy rooms. Good management and excellent reception staff

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd October 21

Great accommodations well worth the money

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd October 21

very cost-effective accommodation for me and school!!!! Thanks

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd October 21

The best place I have ever stayed, the staff are lovely and are always happy to help with even the most random of things like opening nail varnish bottles. The post collection times are perfect times in the day to fit around uni, it’s not far from any campus and its 5 mins away from the town centre. Also the food options near by are great and don’t take long to be delivered.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 22nd October 21

Modern, nice building. Social areas are big and have a warm atmosphere. The location is very good.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd October 21

I'm in my third year at Lumis and have loved being here. Great Facilities, really friendly staff and really great value!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 1 /5
By On 22nd September 21

All I can say is save your money and don’t waste your time using this student accommodation. The customer service is outrageous and the facilities are always out of order. During the pandemic they neglected students and confined them to their rooms also they do their best to withhold your deposit

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3 /5
By On 23rd June 21

Great rooms for the price and also feels very secure with a nice environment and great location. Despite this it has felt like ive lived on a building site for the last year. The only way to make the noise slightly quieter is to shut your window as if it wasn't bad enough with the heat as the ventilation is terrible no number of fans will ever be enough. Don't live in the South building facing the Capital as it is so depressing as you get no sunlight! and a view of an empty office with builders in. The windows have not been cleaned once since I got here and are gross. Despite living alone in a studio you weren't allowed even one guest even when the government allowed another household to mix. So not only did student get depressed working from home constantly you can't even have someone over in the room you pay rent for. It felt like you were in prison and school with so many rules that were unnecessary. Wifi is awful and rooms weren't cleaned properly when moving in

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 10th June 21

Love lumis ! Lived here for 3 years and I'm leaving soon will miss it so much the staff are amazing and this place is what made me want to go to uni as I was obsessed with it the day I came for a viewing ! Highly reccomend

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3 /5
By On 10th June 21

Great Facilities, Okay Staff, The WORST social experiences ever. If you’re looking for fun extroverted flat parties.LOOK AWAY. The group chat sums up the people that tend to live here, they complain about every little thing about the Accomodation. The accommodation tends to contain mostly USW students with a few Cardiff Met and Cardiff Uni students. However, If you LIKE your own space and is someone who is Introverted and want to go for somewhere with a great location to Town, this is PERFECT for you. The Price is also great for value, £118 a week for a 7 bed cluster with amazing facilities with an en suite is honestly so so good. Overall experience 5/10

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Lumis Student Living - Cardiff
On 11th June 21

Hi there, thanks for your review. We’re sorry to hear your experience with us has not be overly positive. We appreciate that over the course of the academic year, the government-imposed lockdowns meant that social activities were extremely limited, however we’re planning to host a number of events in the coming weeks to close out the year. These will be a mix of events to cater to both our introverted and more social able residents alike. If you’d like to have any input in these events, we’d love to hear from you.


Student Review: 1 /5
By On 9th June 21

Awful cleaners who don’t wear masks and also didn’t bother to clean well during lockdown when things should’ve been the most sanitised (took 2 months to clean a dirty lift), awful wifi, *mysterious* landlord who wont let suicidal people cancel their contract this year but let 100’s of people leave last March for the 1st lockdown (provided they could leave before a certain date), building works on the walls outside your windows that shake the rooms 10am-5pm during 3rd years final weeks of Uni, rather than waiting an extra few weeks till everyone finished. Very rude and fake receptionist (some nice ones too) & weird parcel hours. Last July i was alone in my flat and had numerous staff walk into my flat without warning (illegal) and also not covid safe lol and scary as a young woman to hear ppl walk in your flat while you’re showering without notifying you previously (again, illegal). So many issues. Also moved to a 5 bed from a 7 and i pay £4 extra a week and yet have less space lol.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Lumis Student Living - Cardiff
On 11th June 21

Hi there, thanks for your review. We’re sorry to hear your experience at Lumis has not be completely positive. The early days of the pandemic proved difficult for all however our cleaning practices were quickly reviewed and improved with cleaners on-site every day for all common spaces. We are not able to discuss individual student cases, however the landlord’s details are given upon request. We are currently having the cladding of both blocks replaced. Whilst the site is completely safe for occupancy, these works are a requirement and therefore unfortunately could not be postponed. We’re sorry to hear that you were made to feel uncomfortable by cleaners and contactors entering your flat last summer. Communication was sent in May 2020 regarding entry to flats however we apologise if you missed this. With regards to a room move, all of our cluster rooms are within the advertised dimensions. The additional cost for the 5 bed cluster is due to sharing the facilities with less of your peers. If you would like to raise these concerns with us directly, we would be happy to discuss these further.


Student Review: 3 /5
By On 9th June 21

Super close to uni! The bridge is a little annoying when you're asthmatic but I could get from my bed to class at USW Atrium in 5 mins 😎 The building itself seems to always have the heating on - it's so hot in the corridors and the radiators in the rooms seem to have a life of their own. The windows have grates over them so even if you open them there's no air flow. The socials are nice when they actually happen, I loved the Halloween party but since covid there hasn't been anything so my socialising has been awful here. I've been here 2 years and only know people via my uni course because I'm living alone in a studio. The view is nice from my room, and the trains aren't too noisy for me, although the odd one squeaks through at 3am. The laundry is expensive but it's via circuit so the same with most accoms in the area, and the wifi is great beyond the odd drop or black out from external issues. Its probably the best value studio accommodation in Cardiff Central right now for USW.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3 /5
By On 19th May 21

Great staff, amazing security, help over COVID pandemic could be better

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 19th May 21

It's good, best in Cardiff price and quality

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3 /5
By On 19th May 21

Due to COVID we haven’t been able to use social spaces but they do look nice😊 The kitchen space is great because of the room and it doesn’t feel like a prison. Everyone is very nice and easy to talk to 👍

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 19th May 21

Due to COVID we didn’t manage to actually use the social spaces but every time we walked past they looked like they would’ve been nice to hang out :/ living here was enjoyable and the rooms are definitely good value as there’s loads of storage space and cupboards to fill! All the staff are very friendly and approachable if you have any sort of concern or problems

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 19th May 21

All of the reception staff are amazing!! Same for security!! Plus room is really nice too!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 18th May 21

I’ve had a really good experience living at Lumis. The staff are lovely and you get good value for money!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 18th May 21

Amazing place to live with great staff and brilliant maintenance

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By On 14th May 21

lumis student living in Cardiff, local to the centre. Easy access to local facilities!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 6th May 21

For the the most part living at Lumis is great but the only thing that really gets to me is that we are not allowed to collect post outside of set times. This has made me really think about chaning where I live as I am busy and find it hard to collect my post at set times.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Lumis Student Living - Cardiff
On 11th June 21

Hi there, thanks for your review. We have set mail times during week days simply due to the high volume of post we receive. This allows us time to ensure each piece of mail is correctly logged and can be distributed to the correct students. Please note that on weekends you can collect mail 24 hours a day.


Student Review: 4 /5
By On 5th May 21

This was my first year here and it was ok, but I'm pretty sure because of the Pandemic they weren't able to do anything like social activities. But every other thing is good, the flats are good also, but if you get lucky you'd have clean flatmates. But I prefer the studio for myself. Everyone has their preference. But to cut the long story short, I would r commend this accommodation to anyone I know, its value for money is 10/10 and the people here are nice and welcoming.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By On 4th May 21

Good value for money and convenient distance from the city centre.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Lumis Student Living - Cardiff
On 4th May 21

Hi there, thanks for your review!

 

The Lumis team


Student Review: 3 /5
By On 4th May 21

Since maintenance was done on the wifi, it has not been as good as before. Some maintenance issues with kitchen/bedrooms are not addressed and left unfixed. However, Lumis is a lovely place for students to stay that’s perfect for access to the city centre and USW. The apartments are spacious and modern. A very social space for students to interact. Due to covid the common spaces haven’t been open which is a shame.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Lumis Student Living - Cardiff
On 4th May 21

Hi there, thanks for your review! For any issues with your wifi service, please be sure to follow this up with GLIDE as they are our external providers and will be able to look into your individual connection. If you have any outstanding maintenance issues, please pop to reception to see us or drop us an email to the Lumis inbox so we can look into this further. Our on-site gym has already re-opened and we hope to open the remainder of our commons spaces as soon as Welsh Government Guidance allows.

 

Thanks!

The Lumis Team


Considering Lumis Student Living - Cardiff?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.