StudentCrowd-RGB-LongCreated with Sketch. Helping students make decisions SEARCH ARTICLES SIGN IN Write a Review
3.43 / 5
3.43 / 5

How do you rate Cranborne House?

credit: https://campuslivingvillages.com/united-kingdom/bournemouth/cranborne-house/
 image credit  |   report abuse
https://campuslivingvillages.com/united-kingdom/bournemouth/cranborne-house/

Most helpful review

i must say everyone has been saying how cranborne is bad i genuinely believe it’s probably one of the best and most affordable accommodation i have lived in and whilst being in final year i have lived in other student accommodations and the social life was not as great as living in cranborne as i believe the staff are more welcoming and considerate towards students

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member8100770
On 15th February 24
verified Verified student
Read all reviews

Bournemouth Hall Rankings


Oxford Point #6
Chesil House #7
Purbeck House #8
Madeira Road #9
Dorchester House #10
Lyme Regis House #11
Winton Halls #12
Cranborne House #13
Corfe House #14
Okeford House #15

*Minimum 10 reviews required to be ranked.


Most helpful review

i must say everyone has been saying how cranborne is bad i genuinely believe it’s probably one of the best and most affordable accommodation i have lived in and whilst being in final year i have lived in other student accommodations and the social life was not as great as living in cranborne as i believe the staff are more welcoming and considerate towards students

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member8100770
On 15th February 24
verified Verified student
Read all reviews

Q&A


Q
are the standard on-suit rooms on the 10th floor the same as the others? as the windows from the outside are bigger on the 10th floor?
By member489215 On 23rd July 23
Q
What are the bed sizes in a standard room?
By member942124 On 12th September 19
Q
Is there a 3 foot bed in a standard room
By member741516 On 16th August 19
Q
what is wifi speed?
By member736745 On 25th March 19
Q
Does the value rooms in Cranborne House have standard 3ft single beds?
By member1232357 On 12th June 18
Q

Ask a new question about Cranborne House

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Cranborne House Reviews


Student Review: 3.3 /5
By member4100848 On 16th February 24 verified Verified student

the accommodation in itself isn’t very good. for example the radiators need bleeding every other day and it’s not fixed promptly. however the staff at reception are so lovely and have made our stay here great! they always try to get things sorted for us.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cranborne House On 20th February 24

Student Review: 5 /5
By member8100770 On 15th February 24 verified Verified student

i must say everyone has been saying how cranborne is bad i genuinely believe it’s probably one of the best and most affordable accommodation i have lived in and whilst being in final year i have lived in other student accommodations and the social life was not as great as living in cranborne as i believe the staff are more welcoming and considerate towards students

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cranborne House On 16th February 24

Student Review: 5 /5
By member8100360 On 13th February 24 verified Verified student

Had problems with the shower and maintenance came the next day and we’re really friendly and gotten me a new shower

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cranborne House On 14th February 24

Student Review: 2.6 /5
By member899680 On 8th February 24 verified Verified student

Cranborne is cheap and cheerful but you pay £149 a week for there to be no kettle or toaster which was guaranteed, the room can be small and I have a lot of issues with my shower. People are nice but the best social life is at Purbeck

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cranborne House On 9th February 24

Student Review: 3.7 /5
By member599196 On 4th February 24 verified Verified student

The location is quite useful - there is Bournemouth Gateway Building, part of Landsdowne Campus, in a few minutes walking distance. The bus stop going towards Talbot Campus is also quite useful. The accommodation is cozy and we just like to stay in our rooms and enjoy the privacy. Rooms are quite compact and cozy as well, it's sufficient for one person. Reception service is good and all of them are friendly and hospitable. I am a final year student who got an offer for this accommodation from my university, since most of the students are first years. So, I really appreciate that I got to experience a student accommodation life before I will graduate.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cranborne House On 5th February 24

Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member1099096 On 2nd February 24 verified Verified student

Great place to live on a budget

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cranborne House On 5th February 24

Student Review: 3.4 /5
By member899023 On 2nd February 24 verified Verified student

Value for money, the quality of the facilities match the price. You get what you are paying for.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cranborne House On 5th February 24

Student Review: 3.4 /5
By member999017 On 2nd February 24 verified Verified student

decent place to live first year whilst on a long term course, only real complaint would be bedding but is understandably a single bed due to the size

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cranborne House On 5th February 24

Student Review: 1 /5
By member1292660 On 16th October 23 verified Verified student

The worst place i have ever lived. Everything is broken, the lift, especially the radiator i am freezing inside its 2 degree outside, the extractor fan. I reported like 5 times and they came to check and nothing was fixed. Extremely disappointed. I would never choose again.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cranborne House On 17th October 23

Student Review: 3.6 /5
By member1189150 On 20th July 23 verified Verified student

I was initially a bit skeptical about Cranborne having heard a few things on social media. However as a Nursing student I didn't have a lot of choice in regards to which accommodation I could pick (Most BU halls do not offer the 50 week NHS contract that you're sort of forced into if you go with BU affiliated halls). Overall the building isn't too bad, the rooms are quite nice, even the standard rooms are fairly spacious, the en-suite bathrooms do the job (showers are quite small, but I'm 6ft and fairly broad). The shared spaces leave something to be desired, on moving in we noticed that the floors in the kitchen/dining room were quite beaten and looked dirty no matter how many times we cleaned, the Oven and Microwave weren't the best but again they did the job. I personally didn't get a lot of use out of the common room but it has a PS4 and a ping-pong table. Overall my stay in Cranborne was pleasant, the staff were generally pleasant and helpful, it's a pretty social halls.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cranborne House On 21st July 23

Student Review: 2.4 /5
By member685719 On 4th May 23 verified Verified student

The walls are very thin so you can hear every single noise from outside of your room. Silverfish in my room, radiator has broken 3 times (still not fixed). Good location as it's close to stores, the town centre, and the bus stop for the uni. Nothing is enforced, so loud parties on weekdays that keep you up at night go on all the time.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cranborne House On 9th May 23

Student Review: 4 /5
By member1185605 On 2nd May 23 verified Verified student

I have enjoyed living here the past year. Reception staff are lovely and so are the students also in the building.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cranborne House On 4th May 23

Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member1285570 On 2nd May 23 verified Verified student

Really affordable accommodation with bus services accross the road. Perfect for a new student

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Cranborne House On 3rd May 23

Student Review: 4.4 /5
By member970471 On 28th July 22 verified Verified student

Despite what some people may think, I’d argue Cranborne was one of the best accommodations to live in- especially if you’re a social person. There’s usually 3 flats per floor (in each block) so it’s easy to make friends with your floor mates. The walls aren’t incredibly thin, though if you’re loud enough it’s likely someone will hear you. We had a lot of things break in our kitchen, so maintenance had to come a lot, but they usually came in quite a timely manner. However, if you have a night out and use your place for pres and maintenance come the following morning, they’ll likely report you to reception for being untidy and have to clean it up in a 48 hour notice. There are silver fish, yes. My flat didn’t struggle with it so much, we just saw them in the hallway lights and my flatmate found one in his cupboard, but other flats found them in their kitchen cupboards. Overall, they weren’t a huge issue. The wifi connection is fantastic. Most of the staff were lovely!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member1356110 On 12th April 21 verified Verified student

I see as the years have gone on, there seem to be more complaints. But if you look at the whole picture I think its because people are just becoming needy and wanting the best all the time. OF COURSE THERE WILL BE LOUD MUSIC, OF COURSE YOU WILL HEAR YOUR HOUSEMATES SHAGGING! THis is the university experience, and if you dont like it then dont go to uni. I started university in 2017, and didnt really look anywhere else. Cranborne is one of the oldest halls but my god it was the best. Everyone seems to refer s0 badly to it now, but i had the best year there. Met the best mates also. All halls are going to be loud, your in first year, Durrrrr. If you want the real university experience, cranborne is your one.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By member1253884 On 3rd February 21 verified Verified student

Full of silver fish, sort of a party halls so noisy most nights, central flats have separated kitchen and living room which means you barely use it and they don’t give refunds or let you end a contract because of covid... location is great though

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 1 /5
By BrandonVZ On 23rd April 20 verified Verified student

Campus Living Villages, the owners of Cranborne House, have consistently prioritized profits over the well-being and safety of their students. This has been extremely evident throughout the time I have spent there, let us start with the room itself. The walls are paper-thin, you can hear everything in the flat as well as whatever the person in the room next to you is doing. This noise is made louder by the huge gaps on the bottom of all the doors, which also allows dust to accumulate inside your room. There is also silverfish present in pretty much all the rooms, so at least you are not lonely throughout your time at Cranborne House. On arrival, my room had a broken mirror light which only got repaired by the time I had left, and it appeared the toilet was smashed to pieces and glued back together. Sadly, there is a character limit otherwise I would be here all day, don't make the same mistake I did. There are many better options in Bournemouth even if you have to pay more.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2.4 /5
By member544104 On 28th November 19 verified Verified student

I do not really enjoy living at this crap accomodation because there are so many f****** things that piss not just me but also my flatmates off. for example the noise from the building site and them taking over 2 months to dig up a road for no reason. in addition, the fire alarm goes off every day from all around the building for no reason other than you left your oven on for too long. Another terrible thing is the raditor doesnt even work , neither does the grill and the common room in the flat is always cold and also has a leak. Do not come to cranbourne pay the extra money and go somewhere better g

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2.6 /5
By member1142432 On 27th September 19 verified Verified student

Would not recommend Cranborne in the slightest. Right off the bat, internet is shocking. Shower temperature is either freezing or skin-melting - was told there was nothing to be done about it. There was damp when we moved in, nothing was done about it. Luckily didn't have silverfish in my room but have heard many stories. Flatmate had a value room which is the only way Cranborne is value for money. You will hear EVERYTHING. I mean it. You can hear people in the kitchen and living space from your room, you will hear people in their own rooms from your room. Nowhere is safe from 2am suspicious noises. Other flats will blast music and you'll hear it from separate floors entirely. One of the more sociable party halls if that's your thing - won't be difficult finding others who are interested in the same. Didn't see anyone use the common room once throughout my time there. It's nicknamed Crappy Cranborne for a reason.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2.7 /5
By member834676 On 28th October 18 verified Verified student

Prey nothing is broken upon arrival or breaks in your stay... they won’t fix it

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.1 /5
By LroseH On 23rd March 18 verified Verified student

Cranborne House is honestly the worst halls you could possible pick. WiFi barely works, shower is either freezing or scorching hot. Kitchen appliances always breaking, maintenance will come in and have a look but not always fix it properly (depending on the person fixing it) Homeless people have often tried to get in. Security is okay. Plenty of rats around, and silverfish. (i got told there is nothing they can do about it). Our car park was knocked down and one of the receptionist + maintenance shouted at me for having my sister park there for a few hours. The building sites surrounding us is terrible, so much noise and dust, definitely disrupts sleeping and mental health. There is so much dust and dirt and the building shakes. The fire alarm is annoying too, always goes off at the most inconvenient times. Maintenance wakes everyone up at seriously stupid times in the day , e.g morning 9am when people are still sleeping, absolutely horrible experience so far. CAN'T WAIT to move out!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2.1 /5
By member530584 On 28th February 18 verified Verified student

Probably one of the worst halls, I read the reviews on here and thought it would be good... if only I knew. The builders currentlt make my room shake every morning at 9am, the fire alarm goes off every other day for a painfully long time. The sofas are the most uncomfortable things in the world, accompanied by a under average kitchen. But the Rios aren't terrible and the social life is good. Please do yourself a favour and go to home park or Dorchester, believe me it's worth the extra money.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member1026738 On 7th June 17 verified Verified student

Great location, security can be a bit too strict sometimes, having to come downstairs to let a friend in every time can become very annoying

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.3 /5
By bendasilva On 22nd May 17 verified Verified student

I loved living Cranborne House, would definitely recommend it over the other halls. * Really sociable building,smoking area is good compared to other halls. * Day and night staff are great * Common room is a bit on the small side but is okay. * Rooms are good, showers can be a bit temperamental sometimes. * Kitchen space is good if you live in North or South Block. * Lifts often break down and sometimes take a few days to fix * Fire alarms do go off more than other halls * Really close to Co-op * 5 minutes away from Lansdowne, and about 15 from town * Doesn't get as hot as Dorchester House! I got on really well with my flatmates and had a decent mix of people, would definitely recommend living in Cranborne, gave me the best possible halls experiences ever.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2.1 /5
By member726000 On 1st March 17 verified Verified student

Dont waste your money and get trapped into a contract here, for just under £600 a month its not worth it. I cant wait to leave. Our oven doesnt work properly, the showers are cold. When you report this to maintenence they do come and check it out promptly but its never fixed properly. Rooms are okay but small. Not so bad if you dont mind noise all the time however the walls are so thin you can hear everything your housemates are doing when they come in drunk at 3am on a weekday, which means you cant sleep. Im not saying everyone has such a bad experience here but if you get stuck with housemates like mine who never seem to sleep or clean up after themselves its not the uni experience you are hoping for.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By member820060 On 1st December 15 verified Verified student

One of the best halls in bournemouth

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member814989 On 24th August 15 verified Verified student

Wifi was a bit iffy, wouldn't work quite regularly. Everything else was fine with it :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.5 /5
By member711025 On 10th July 15 verified Verified student

Best halls ever. Prime location, right by a bus stop, close to the beach, town centre and all importantly- the clubs and bars!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By member611020 On 10th July 15 verified Verified student

Cranborne house is the best halls at Bournemouth university in terms of the atmosphere in the building is fantastic and is the not social halls. Everyone is really friendly and outgoing

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 1.8 /5
By member1011005 On 10th July 15 verified Verified student

Halls is alright, but such a rip off for what you actually get given. Fire alarms are so annoying too! I didn't get on with my flat mates which probably made it worse, but I'd much prefer a house

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By member57067 On 24th April 15 verified Verified student

Very student orientated with interior/ location. I feel that it could be slightly cheaper, the rooms are very basic. But the staff are welcoming and good facilities. The social experience is great!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.8 /5
By member126812 On 23rd April 15 verified Verified student

good place to stay. Friendly staff and get great friends. Can be noisy at night a lot though

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.5 /5
By member46715 On 23rd April 15 verified Verified student

The staff are friendly enough, except some night staff but understandably it can be an annoying job. The common room downstairs is so nice, however they need to do more with it, for example Purbeck have events etc (Xbox nights, Ann summers) to get people involved. Also, I definitely think the washing machines should be 24 hours and be put onto a card which can be topped up online. Another thing, the smoking area is really nice as well compared to other halls. Very convenient location, right by the bus stop and co-op.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.5 /5
By 3ricdam On 22nd April 15 verified Verified student

Really pleasant time living in Cranborne House. Rent is good since bills is included in the cost so you don't have to spend hours sorting it out with your housemates like in 2nd/3rd year. Fire alarms were really prone to go off though.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Considering Cranborne House?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.