StudentCrowd-RGB-LongCreated with Sketch. Helping students make decisions SEARCH ARTICLES SIGN IN Write a Review

Helen Graham House Reviews

32 Reviews by Students

3.22 / 5
3.22 / 5

How do you rate Helen Graham House?

credit: https://www.optivostudents.co.uk/student-accommodation/helen-graham-house
 image credit  |   report abuse
https://www.optivostudents.co.uk/student-accommodation/helen-graham-house

Most helpful review

Some of the staff members here are very rude and sometimes disrespectful which i have came across in this place

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1397079
On 12th January 24
verified Verified student
Read all reviews

Central London Hall Rankings


iQ Highbury #43
Paul Robeson House #44
Furzedown Student Village #45
iQ The Arcade #46
Helen Graham House #47
Beaumont Court #48
Great Dover Street #49
High Holborn Residence #50
Harrow Hall #51
urbanest King's Cross #52

*Minimum 10 reviews required to be ranked.


Most helpful review

Some of the staff members here are very rude and sometimes disrespectful which i have came across in this place

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1397079
On 12th January 24
verified Verified student
Read all reviews

Q&A


Q
Do you offer viewing?
By member4102331 On 28th February 24
Q
are overnight guests allowed?
By member9101088 On 19th February 24
Q
when does 24/25 bookings open
By member798449 On 29th January 24
Q
Can i chose my room? any floor plan map available?
By member773500 On 21st November 22
Q
Single standard room available?
By member773060 On 5th November 22
Q

Ask a new question about Helen Graham House

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Helen Graham House Reviews


Student Review: 3.3 /5
By member4106505 On 14th April 24 verified Verified student

- Helen graham house is close to quite a few restaurants - I arrived at Helen Graham House from an 11 hr flight, and the security guard told me was that someone was in my room and "slept there overnight because no one showed them to their room like they were supposed to do" - I waited 2 hours for the room to be cleaned - From my room one evening, I saw a resident being pushed by the shoulders by one of the security guards - I have had bed bug bites and am severely allergic to them since October 2023 from the room. After pest control only came once during that period last year, an individual from the management team specifically said, “Some people move to a new country without their parents and have no idea how to do their laundry” - After pest control treated my room, I was told that, “bed bugs are attracted to your body heat and the air you let out so you must sleep in the same bed in the same room to attract the bugs out, but during that time you will still be getting bitten"

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 19th April 24
Student Review: 3 /5
By member6103211 On 7th March 24 verified Verified student

Price is decent for student living in central London. Experience mostly made worthwhile by good location: visit the British Museum all you want, bus stations abound and a 5-minute walk to the nearest tube station. Shops are in close proximity as well. Staff not nearly as racist as Google reviews will have you think — a bit slow in responding to reported problems, but overall friendly. Package delivery is mostly smooth and secure. Small bathrooms and cleanliness entirely dependent on quality of flatmates. Be warned that not everyone has a kitchen on their floor, and will have to use the main kitchen on the ground floor. Overall good choice if you’re not picky and prioritise location above all else.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 8th March 24
Student Review: 3.4 /5
By member11102055 On 25th February 24 verified Verified student

Management is extremely unhelpful and rude. The security are incredible hostile and not cooperative. For the amount that you pay to live here, you'd expect to not be bullied by the people at the front desk. The accommodation itself is very nice but its a shame that the management and especially the security/people working at the front desk are so rude.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 4th March 24
Student Review: 5 /5
By member697233 On 15th January 24 verified Verified student

Everything in there let me feel all satisfied

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 16th January 24
Student Review: 3.3 /5
By member697115 On 13th January 24 verified Verified student

The one reception named Francis is extremely rude. And the policy that we can’t put our kitchen stuff at the kitchen is unreasonable.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 15th January 24
Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member1397081 On 12th January 24 verified Verified student

A very good place for accommodation, highly recommend🥰👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 15th January 24
Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member1397079 On 12th January 24 verified Verified student

Some of the staff members here are very rude and sometimes disrespectful which i have came across in this place

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 15th January 24
Student Review: 2 /5
By member990113 On 13th August 23 verified Verified student

It’s a terribly managed place with nothing actually happening as they promised. There’s no cleanliness at all especially washrooms and showers, they said it’ll be cleaned daily but after 2-3 weeks, they are cleaned like once a week. The kitchens are really dirty the hallways are tiny. The lifts barely work. But all this isn’t even the worst part. The guards have no manners to talk to students and know nothing about anything that could be helpful to the students. It’s a complete waste to have them there they barely know coherent English. The office management is equal to not being present because I’ve stayed there for a year and I’ve rarely ever seen them around since Maria, the previous manager, left. In my time there the place has just gone downhill and I would not suggest anyone to stay here. Places like these should be boycott from university halls

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 17th August 23
Student Review: 2.7 /5
By member1288229 On 28th June 23 verified Verified student

The first term of the academic year at Helen was good, however, as we got closer to Christmas the whole building was freezing with the management refusing to turn on heat. As well as this, once the building was acquired by Southern Housing the contractual obligatory cleaning and upkeep of the building fell aggressively. People were getting skin infections from using the toilets alongside garbage bags and flies filling up the kitchens. All of us were going through it together towards June. The management also fell short on many promises such as vouchers to make up for the clear discarding of their contractual obligations

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 10th July 23
Student Review: 1.4 /5
By member488200 On 28th June 23 verified Verified student

Horrifying management. Unable to respond to emails within 15 working days. No on-site management personel present. Rude staff in general. Drop in cleaning quality over time. Strict guest-sign in rules. Agreed to give amazon voucher in compensation of these issues, but did not follow up. Lied on emails exchanges, where they previously agreed that summer contract extension is possible but later informed me that it was not possible, one week prior to the end of my contract. Constant leakages, and fridge and lift breakdowns.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 10th July 23
Student Review: 2.6 /5
By member1388178 On 27th June 23 verified Verified student

Staying here was not a good experience. The room was tiny and the cleaning was terrible. The main positive was the location, but it was still overpriced for what it was.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 13th July 23
Student Review: 2.4 /5
By member1080821 On 9th March 23 verified Verified student

The security are the front desk are extremely rude and they should be replaced. You can ask anyone who lives here and they would say the same thing. They are fed up with life and convey that into every conversation that they have with the guests living here. This company should be ashamed for not doing anything about these men when there have been hundreds of reviews online complaining about them.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 13th March 23
Student Review: 2.1 /5
By member1180811 On 9th March 23 verified Verified student

Cleaners all left because they were overworked and underpaid.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 13th March 23
Student Review: 3.1 /5
By member780805 On 9th March 23 verified Verified student

Long story short except it is cheap (for this location), nothing good.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 13th March 23
Student Review: 2 /5
By member579409 On 23rd February 23 verified Verified student

All in all very disappointing. Concerned with the management team at Helen Graham House as the building all year round was run poorly. Will not be staying again.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 24th February 23
Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member1179207 On 22nd February 23 verified Verified student

I've had a wonderful experience living here for the past 3 years. The only major issue I have is the staff and the guest policy. It is way to strict and causes students to have anxiety whenever they consider bringing a guest (often a family member). The staff (specifically the guards) are really mean and often students would sneak in people because doing it the "right way" would result in them being scolded for doing nothing wrong.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 24th February 23
Student Review: 3.3 /5
By member971788 On 25th September 22 verified Verified student

The "most helpful review" that gave 5 stars for every category is as close to a blatant lie as a subjective opinion could be. First off, this is a review for a single room, let's see what you get: 1 big kitchen for every 3 floors - as someone who loves to cook, this is unacceptable. From the description I had expected something akin to flats where every 5-8 people had a kitchen, but no, just the singular large kitchen for 3 floors worth of people. 2-3 toilets per floor. I had gone in expecting 1 toilet per 3 people per the descriptions given in the reviews, but no. There are maybe 2 male and female showers, and then 1-2 toilets for each gender for an entire floor of 27+ people. WTF. Sink in room: Average sink. Not drinking water, which feeds into the kitchen point. Do they expect us to go down 2-3 floors every time we want a glass of water? I've been in prisons with more amenities than this. This feels like a close to a scam. Cleaners/Property Management: fine. No complaints

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 24th February 23
Student Review: 5 /5
By member771560 On 14th September 22 verified Verified student

I moved to HGH last year to study. Overall, I’d highly recommend this accommodation! The location is fantastic (Zone 1)! Everything is within walking distance: university, food stores, tube stations, bus stops, nightlife and landmarks, which is very convenient—moving from zone to zone in London when commuting can be very costly. The fixtures and fittings of my room were in great condition. However, the number of rooms facing the British Museum is limited, so residents will likely have views of the courtyard or the backstreet (less noisy). The communal areas (shared toilets, showers, lifts, courtyard, stairs, tv room, corridors, standard room and study rooms) are also in good condition. Although the staff cleans the common areas daily, you’ll likely find dirty dishes in the kitchen or rubbish left by other residents. The people of management are really lovely (special shout out to Maria, Chanel and Frances). If you've any concerns, I'll recommend addressing them with the staff.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 15th September 22
Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member1171423 On 8th September 22 verified Verified student

I found this accommodation very nice, great location, very clean, the social environment is a mixed bag but I had an overall good experience, I even decided to stay on for my last year.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Helen Graham House On 9th September 22
Student Review: 3.1 /5
By member963946 On 17th November 21 verified Verified student

I’m currently staying here a second time and had been satisfied with the accommodation. However, there have been reports from my fellow students about discrimination and harsh treatment from one of the receptionists which should not be tolerated. The management have yet to take this seriously. The reception should make us feel safe but this is a clear breach of that.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 2.6 /5
By member961512 On 1st August 21 verified Verified student

DOT BOOK THIS ACCOMODATION So, honestly I am not one to normally write reviews, let alone ones like this, but if even one person gets saved from living I'm this hell hole it's worth it. I'll start with practicalties: The internet connection is unreliable. There are constantly issues with the water temperature and pressure and on countless occasions the water has gone completely off for hours. The rooms are generally small and get very hot on warm days (the windows are locked so you can only open them a few inches). Now for the more personal stuff: Although it made sense that we werent allowed guests during lockdown, now that the government has lifted ALL restrictions, we are still not allowed to have anyone over, even just for a study session or for dinner. In general, even during normal years, the staff are apparently a pain about letting people in, so if you wanna move out of your parents place only to feel like you still need permission to do anything then this is the place for y

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 2.9 /5
By member459436 On 2nd June 21 verified Verified student

Would try living in International Halls just up the road, this place is a joke. It was ltrly a building site during the pandemic, woken up by relentless drilling most mornings. Vibe isn't amazing, met some of my best friends here but most of the kids are really weird and antisocial. The lifts and basement kitchen freezer break all the time. I will say location is amazing though and the building is clean. Not value for money though when there are cheaper and nicer halls about. Also what they dnt mention is that there's this old american lady that just roams about shouting at people lol. All the other older women that live here are lovely though (they bought their flats before it was bought by Optivo I think). Staff are a bit s*** tbh they give u food from time to time to try make up for their incompetence e.g. they forgot to tell the ground floor residents that they were CEMENTING THE FLOORS and they culdnt leave their rooms until 6pm, with no access to their toilets/kitchen. 6/10

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 5 /5
By member1053327 On 7th January 21 verified Verified student

Loved it there!! Best student dorm experience! The staff are really nice and friendly and they’ve helped me out many times.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 1.4 /5
By member750203 On 2nd August 20 verified Verified student

The shared bathrooms here are really disgusting, often dirty, uncleaned and the basement kitchen is just awful, dark, dated, claustrophobic. For the same price there are other student places with newer facilities and a kinder, warmer, friendlier atmosphere. The atmosphere here is not conducive to studying. The less said about the staff that work here the better.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 1.9 /5
By member1050075 On 27th July 20 verified Verified student

Wouldn't recommend living in this place. The house is very poorly managed with several episodes of malfunction of kitchen or laundry facilities throughout the year. The last drop, though, is the massive renovation that is happening in the middle of our contracts and in the middle of a global pandemic. Now, residents are forced to live with excessive noise early in the morning from Monday to Saturday. Don't expect a calm study and work environment from Helen Graham House or Optivo. The feeling one gets is that of a place where they take advantage of the fact that often people have nowhere else to go and, therefore, push residents around with complete disregard for their health and comfort

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 2 /5
By member747667 On 2nd May 20 verified Verified student

I really wish I’d visited before I signed my contract, because there’s no way I’d have made the mistake of spending an academic year here if I had. It’s a grim, miserable place, and they treat students terribly. Before lockdown, it wasn’t worth the rent, but just about tolerable as a place to eat and sleep. Most things work, just about, but everything’s a bit old and shabby, the staff are hostile and stressed, and the social spaces are just grim. My room has a nice view, but there’s very little that’s nice or cosy inside. The bed and plastic desk chair are hard, flimsy, and too small for a 5ft 7” adult. During lockdown, being stuck in a shoebox room for 20+ hours a day with shared bathrooms and a single kitchen for the whole hall soon started to mess with my mental health, but Optivo has refused to end contracts so I can’t afford to move out. It could be a lot worse, but it could be a lot better - I’d recommend students to choose one of the many, many other options.

Covid-19: They haven’t helped, they’ve made it clear that they prioritise making money over keeping us safe. Optivo’s refused to cancel contracts and done the absolute bare minimum by refunding 10 weeks of rent for students on 50-week contracts who’d already gone home. Other than that, they’ve done nothing in my hall besides put a few signs up and close common areas. I don’t think the cleaning schedule has changed either (no cleaning at weekends, for a start), so the shared bathrooms and kitchen are probably a hotbed of disease. And of course, they haven’t provided their staff with any protective equipment.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 5 /5
By member1142528 On 3rd October 19 verified Verified student

Hi, everyone I am Johanna from Westminster university I found this accommodation really affordable and comfortable to my needs. it is quite central I can walk every where from here so I have been saving money . moreover when i want to hang out at night i don't have to worry about transport timetable to return because Soho is just 15 mins by walk so is perfect location. I have not have any problems with other students about cleanliness because every day there is someone who clean the kitchen, toilets and corridors. all staff is so lovely and helpful they treat you like family. so, due to all of these advantages, I consider its price is worth the price

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 1.7 /5
By member1337751 On 8th May 19 verified Verified student

1. There is always something broken in the hall, e.g. elevators (sometimes only 1 out of 5 works), etc. The maintenance takes at least a month to fix it. 2. The receptionists are insufferably rude, and I am not talking about people who are done with life/just impatient in general. They yell at you, interrupt you when you are speaking, dismiss your problems and victim-blame you, treat you like you don’t understand English. They are for some reason so entitled to treat you like scum, it’s hard to believe you paid them. Even my friends who only visited a few times are extremely uncomfortable with their rudeness. Sometimes you are so shocked that you left the reception without being humiliated. 3. They abuse our rights with other ridiculous reasons and blame us. One time they confiscated our kitchen tools with no prior notice and left. We were not able to cook that night, and the staff at night shift were not helpful at all. Therefore my advice is: avoid this place like a plague.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 1.6 /5
By member1136332 On 2nd March 19 verified Verified student

The accommodation is the worst I have lived in London. Staff (excluding security staff/cleaners) are rude and have little investment in resident wellbeing or experience. If you choose to live here you will be consistently bothered by them and treated with suspicion. HGH is an old building, the condition of toilets and showers are very poor. Although staff make an effort to keep spaces clean they are unable to be fully effective. The showers are dangerous, they have timed lights which will leave you in complete darkness while in them and the sensors are hard to trigger again. Kitchens are often unclean with decomposing food left in fridges. The rubbish/waste from resident is often piled outside of the rubbish room and there has been issues with vermin in the accommodation in the last 6 months. Internet is wifi only and is extremely poor at times, though this is a new system and therefore may improve. For the expense of this accommodation there are plenty of better alternatives.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 2.7 /5
By member824802 On 24th November 16 verified Verified student

The staff are rude enough wıth residens and they are really unfriendly treat others with no dignity abd lower your selfesteem

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Student Review: 2.1 /5
By member519956 On 28th November 15 verified Verified student

HGH staff can be very abusive to residents. They abuse residents in the name of Health and Safety. They go to your room and remove things with the excuse that is for H&S reason. You can complain at Viridian Houses Head Office. Ask for a complain form at reception. They must give it to you.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Considering Helen Graham House?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.