4.27 / 5

The Kingfisher Reviews

66 Reviews by Students

How do you rate The Kingfisher?

credit: Downing Students
 image credit  |   report abuse
Downing Students

Most helpful review

I have lived in the accommodation since September and I am so impressed with the staff and the halls! All staff are wearing masks around the building even when sat behind the screens in reception. The cleaners are on top of everything I go in and out of the building a lot for my course and I always see them cleaning the door handles and lift buttons etc. The halls manger Hannah is so friendly and always makes time to talk to me. I haven’t been able to see my family for a while and it’s a bit lonely but I feel better that I can come down for a chat. We haven’t been able to have social events but the staff organized a ‘decorate your door’ competition for Halloween and has put up decorations for Diwali. I’m so glad I chose the Kingfisher!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1352077
On 12th November 20

Exeter Hall Rankings


Lafrowda Cottage #7
Rowancroft Croft #8
The Barn #9
The Northfield #10
The Kingfisher #11
Iron Bridge Studios #12
Exeter One #13
Birks Grange Village #14
The Printworks #15
St David's #16

All Student Accommodation in Exeter


Most helpful review

I have lived in the accommodation since September and I am so impressed with the staff and the halls! All staff are wearing masks around the building even when sat behind the screens in reception. The cleaners are on top of everything I go in and out of the building a lot for my course and I always see them cleaning the door handles and lift buttons etc. The halls manger Hannah is so friendly and always makes time to talk to me. I haven’t been able to see my family for a while and it’s a bit lonely but I feel better that I can come down for a chat. We haven’t been able to have social events but the staff organized a ‘decorate your door’ competition for Halloween and has put up decorations for Diwali. I’m so glad I chose the Kingfisher!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1352077
On 12th November 20

Q&A


Q

Ask a new question about The Kingfisher

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read The Kingfisher Reviews


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 19th February 21

Very happy to live here, the environment is very good, and close to the city centre. Most important thing is our receptionists are very friendly!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Kingfisher
On 11th March 21

We are glad you enjoy living in your accommodation!  Thanks for sharing your review!


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 12th February 21

The Kingfisher, Exeter is one of a good accomondation choices that come with great value and location. I do like the interior design because my room is modern and has a lot of storage spaces. Beside, the reception staffs are friendly.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Kingfisher
On 15th February 21

Thanks for the review!  We are pleased you have found The Kingfisher to be great value and well designed!


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 11th February 21

Close to the city center, also met a lot of good friends!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Kingfisher
On 15th February 21

Thanks for the review!


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 11th February 21

Very good. It's a great place to stay. Happy New Year

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Kingfisher
On 15th February 21

We are pleased you have enjoyed living in the accommodation!


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 11th February 21

A good place to stay in, and the room is cozy. It is worthy of renting.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Kingfisher
On 15th February 21

We are pleased you have found your room to be cosy! Thanks for sharing your review!


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 11th February 21

excellent brilliant wonderful perfect experience

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Kingfisher
On 15th February 21

Thanks for your review!


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 11th February 21

Good staff. Very nice rooms

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Kingfisher
On 15th February 21

Thanks for sharing your review!


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 23rd November 20

Ok location. Great management

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Kingfisher
On 1st December 20

Thanks for your review!


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 12th November 20

I have lived in the accommodation since September and I am so impressed with the staff and the halls! All staff are wearing masks around the building even when sat behind the screens in reception. The cleaners are on top of everything I go in and out of the building a lot for my course and I always see them cleaning the door handles and lift buttons etc. The halls manger Hannah is so friendly and always makes time to talk to me. I haven’t been able to see my family for a while and it’s a bit lonely but I feel better that I can come down for a chat. We haven’t been able to have social events but the staff organized a ‘decorate your door’ competition for Halloween and has put up decorations for Diwali. I’m so glad I chose the Kingfisher!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Kingfisher
On 1st December 20

Thank you for your lovely review and comments about living at The Kingfisher.  We understand that this has not been an easy year for our residents due to Covid and we have really tried to ensure that our residents feel safe in a clean and well maintained building and not isolated.  We are pleased that you have been able to participate in the socially distanced activities Hannah and our team have arranged. Keep an eye on our social channels for more events!


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 21st August 20

Great accomodation in a convenient location for both Uni campuses and the town centre. The Halls manager is very friendly and consistently ensured that we were very well taken care of. Any help I needed was immediately provided and I was treated as a valued guest throughout my stay. The rooms themselves are spacious, modern and clean. Having spent a year here I would thoroughly recommend anyone to stay, the rooms are great and you will be well looked after!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Kingfisher
On 23rd August 20

Thank you very much for the lovely review!  We are really pleased you have felt taken care of and a valued resident.  We will pass on your comments to the Halls Manager also!  Wishing you the best of luck for your next adventure!  Downing Students Team


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 29th June 20

I like Kingfisher. The location is good. It is close to restaurants and shops. Staffs here are friendly to me and help me a lot in life. Equipments inside are good. The room was clean when I moved in.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Kingfisher
On 1st July 20

Hi, thank you for your review of The Kingfisher.  We are glad you have found the location to be so convenient for local amenities and that our team have been welcoming.


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 29th June 20

All my flights were canceled due to covid-19 so I can’t pack my belonging kingfisher staff gave me number of company that will pack but I decide to get rid of items. I just need three book returned to my tutor in Exeter I asked manager if she would post them for me but she said she would deliver them herself so no charge to me. So thankful for this! Really help me a lot!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Kingfisher
On 1st July 20

Hi, thank you for your review!  We were sorry you were unable to return to The Kingfisher to collect your belongings but we are pleased that our manager Hannah was so helpful!  We will be sure to pass on your thanks!


0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 20th June 20

false advertising,no CCTV here. stuff attitude are the worst. Hard to get back deposit refund.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Kingfisher
On 1st July 20

We advertise CCTV and 24/7 support. There is CCTV coverage across all entrance and exits and the bike store. There are staff on site during office hours, and security on call outside of these hours, offering 24/7 support as advertised.  All deposits are held with the Deposit Protection Service and refunds are made in line with our terms and conditions.

We regularly survey our customers and satisfaction ratings have been consistently high, but we will always strive to improve and welcome any suggestions on how we can from prospective students and currently residents.


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 20th June 20

very awful experiences here,you will never find a worse internet service. The management team is very poor you even heard about your friends get stolen as those management stuffs could come to your flat without any permission at any time. Additionally,the fridge and cooking equipment are bad……

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Kingfisher
On 1st July 20

We have reviewed the reports from our internet provider, and they show only 5 issues logged between 1st October and 30th April, all of which were marked as resolved with no further connection issues. We can only support residents with the information and tools we have available, and all issues must be logged with the provider for them to be able to investigate and determine if any changes are necessary. 5 reports across 7 months does not suggest a problem with the service, however we will ask them to check connectivity again.

We have researched the issues mentioned and have found no evidence to indicate that there was a theft in a student’s room at the Kingfisher. We have been in touch with the student and actually reported the situation to the police on behalf of the student.  As a responsible landlord with over 30 year of experience, the safety of our residents and customer experience is our top priority.  Where we require access to rooms for maintenance purposes and residents are in house we give 24 hours’ notice. 


0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 20th June 20

Bad Wi-Fi,always no net. Bad stuff, enter rooms without any notice. Trating tenant with bad attitude. Bad security,no CCTV. Unreasonable charges.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from The Kingfisher
On 1st July 20

We have researched the issues mentioned and have found no evidence to indicate that there was a theft in a student’s room at the Kingfisher. We have been in touch with the student and actually reported the situation to the police on behalf of the student.  As a responsible landlord with over 30 year of experience, the safety of our residents and customer experience is our top priority.  Where we require access to rooms for maintenance purposes and residents are in house we give 24 hours’ notice. 

We have reviewed the reports from our internet provider, and they show only 5 issues logged between 1st October and 30th April, all of which were marked as resolved with no further connection issues. We can only support residents with the information and tools we have available, and all issues must be logged with the provider for them to be able to investigate and determine if any changes are necessary. 5 reports across 7 months does not suggest a problem with the service, however we will ask them to check connectivity again.

 


0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 4th June 20

living at Kingfisher is an awful experience cause you will find your money maybe get stolen in your room. Accommodation stuff wouldn’t admit due to their poor management. The staff even will entry your room without any permission at anytime they want

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 4th June 20

do not live at Kingfisher if you want your money to get stolen in your room and the company is not willing to be helpful. They wouldn’t admit due to their poor management, I lost my money and the staff even came into my room without my permission. It’s an awful company

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd March 20

Good value for money.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 19th February 20

Such good place to live. I really like the free hot drinks and sometimes treats for us. Social events are fun and meet new people. The receptionist is always friendly and also manager always say hello and ask how I am. Makes it feel like home. Common room is always clean but sometimes the halls are often need to use cleaner machine. Only bad thing is internet is slow sometimes.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 18th February 20

Very good living experience!! All the staff are worth to get 5-stars feedbacks. Especially the super receptionist Jenny!! She is the only staff who can speak Chinese in the Kingfisher, that is greatly improves the convenience and living experience of Chinese students. How nice to have a receptionist from China when more than half the residents are Chinese students. That would be the only reason I would stay in the kingfisher the next year.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 15th February 20

Glide is the worst interest service The kingfisher never help us to solve the problem of internet. They just said they have a contract with Glide so that they cannot change it. Okay I will never recommend this apartment. Fully s***

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 14th February 20

I think that some review have been done after someone was rude at the desk yesterday when I was waiting for parcel a boy was arguing about being told off for smoking in his room. The manager stayed calm and was explaining it was against the tenancy agreement. Reception does open 8am to 5pm because the part time staff who work till 6pm is not here sometimes. My review is that reception staff always smile and be nice, the halls is nice and clean and social events are done often like today is valentines day and there is hot chocolate with marshmallows and sweets!! very nice! I always get notification to collect parcel and have never had problem Kingfisher is best accommodation

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 13th February 20

The Kingfisher is a really good accommodation due to the great location and enthusiastic staff. I like Jenny quite a lot as she always is full of fun and cares for everyone. When Jenny is on holiday, the reception will be closed at 5 for some reason?The manager Hannah seems forgot to do stuff quite often as we wouldn’t get quick response from her and even tried to open my room door without my agreement for twice. This makes me feel panic sometimes when I heard any noise from the door.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 13th February 20

My apartment is great, has everything I need and any maintenance problems are always sorted very quickly. Particularly like that reception are always available to take packages when I am out and notify me when they arrive. The staff are all great, friendly and helpful. Particularly Hannah and Jenny!! Great place to stay and would highly recommend!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 13th February 20

Such good halls Hannah really helped me with my issue and was supportive Jenny is always smiling and happy

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 13th February 20

Really good halls nice staff tea and coffee free! Today they also did hotcocolate and marshmallows! always an event which have been so good this year!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 13th February 20

This is the best student halls in exeter! so clean and the rooms all have window so light get in staff are really nice Jenny and Hannah are so helpful

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 13th February 20

The building is nice looking space inside is clean and big social space is nice and has a big table for studying

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 13th February 20

Helpful staff and clean halls wifi is sometimes rubbish but maintenance happens and it works common room has football table and cinema area

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 13th February 20

Really nice halls, staff are so friendly and helpful parcels are kept behind reception so you can collect clean

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Considering The Kingfisher?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to vote, comment, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.