How do you rate Beaverbank Place?

credit: https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0?ui=2&ik=ab03265fe6&attid=0.1&permmsgid=msg-f:1666046000496822254&th=171efc02a712c7ee&view=att&disp=safe&realattid=171efbf72ccea9d26e03
 image credit  |   report abuse
https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0?ui=2&ik=ab03265fe6&attid=0.1&permmsgid=msg-f:1666046000496822254&th=171efc02a712c7ee&view=att&disp=safe&realattid=171efbf72ccea9d26e03

Most helpful review

I would definitely recommend staying at Beaverbank place to a student. First, the staff is great, they are always available and answer your questions really quickly. Second, the studio in which I was staying was in extremely good condition. There is a big desk to work, a large bed (even if i have to admit that the mattress was not really good), and a very large window for plenty of luminosity. Third, I think that the location of Beaverbank place is great. There are two supermarkets within 5 min walk, it is very calm (no traffic noise) and it is close to a lot of green spaces (pretty nice to cool down after a hard day of work). It is within 20 min walk from the city centre which was ok for me. Fourth, i think the rent is fair considering the quality of the studio, the great staff and the fact that you do not have to care about anything (bills, council tax exemption, parcel collection). Overall I highly recommend staying in the studios of Beaverbank place.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1159353
On 1st June 21

Edinburgh Hall Rankings


The Mill House #8
Gateway Apartments #9
Darroch Court #10
Meadow Court #11
Beaverbank Place #12
Kincaid's Court #13
Vita Student Edinburgh - Fountainbridge #14
Riego Street #15
Deaconess #16
iQ Fountainbridge #17

All Student Accommodation in Edinburgh


Most helpful review

I would definitely recommend staying at Beaverbank place to a student. First, the staff is great, they are always available and answer your questions really quickly. Second, the studio in which I was staying was in extremely good condition. There is a big desk to work, a large bed (even if i have to admit that the mattress was not really good), and a very large window for plenty of luminosity. Third, I think that the location of Beaverbank place is great. There are two supermarkets within 5 min walk, it is very calm (no traffic noise) and it is close to a lot of green spaces (pretty nice to cool down after a hard day of work). It is within 20 min walk from the city centre which was ok for me. Fourth, i think the rent is fair considering the quality of the studio, the great staff and the fact that you do not have to care about anything (bills, council tax exemption, parcel collection). Overall I highly recommend staying in the studios of Beaverbank place.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1159353
On 1st June 21

Q&A


Q
Hi, Do you need to bring an iron and ironing board. What about pots and pans?
By member1150802 On 27th August 20
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 26th January 21

Hi, Thank you for your question.

We offer the ability to borrow an iron board and iron. The Iron is PAT tested to ensure safe to use on an annual basis. This can be signed out from reception.

Regarding pots and pans we ask residents to bring their own, although depending on items left from previous years we are sometimes able to offer some at the start of the tenancy.

Thanks, Dani

Q

Ask a new question about Beaverbank Place

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Beaverbank Place Reviews


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 1st June 21

I would definitely recommend staying at Beaverbank place to a student. First, the staff is great, they are always available and answer your questions really quickly. Second, the studio in which I was staying was in extremely good condition. There is a big desk to work, a large bed (even if i have to admit that the mattress was not really good), and a very large window for plenty of luminosity. Third, I think that the location of Beaverbank place is great. There are two supermarkets within 5 min walk, it is very calm (no traffic noise) and it is close to a lot of green spaces (pretty nice to cool down after a hard day of work). It is within 20 min walk from the city centre which was ok for me. Fourth, i think the rent is fair considering the quality of the studio, the great staff and the fact that you do not have to care about anything (bills, council tax exemption, parcel collection). Overall I highly recommend staying in the studios of Beaverbank place.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 11th June 21

Thank you for your detailed review, we are really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at Beaverbank and been able to share so much about your time here.

Thank you

Dani


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 28th May 21

I rue the day I chose Beaverbank as one of my 5 accommodations. For one, the location is so far from the university and the journey is almost entirely uphill. Next, for my entire stay the common room and general social spaces were shut and the only social events they planned seemed to be for children. Obviously staff can’t do anything about covid but we still had to pay full price for our stay which is a total rip off btw. My flat next year is literally cheaper than Beaverbank whilst being miles better (and miles closer to the uni). The elevator in block 10 was bust for months and I was on the 4th floor. Everyone I knew at Beaverbank felt the social aspect was lacking compared to other accommodations we know of (worth noting I didn’t know all that many people at Beaverbank because there was virtually no social aspect). With all that being said I don’t blame the staff at Beaverbank they were all lovely whenever I saw them and tried their best with what they had. Amen.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 28th May 21

Thank you for leaving us some feedback regarding your stay here. I would just like to respond to some of your comments to help us move forward with this feedback.

1) We supply a free shuttle service for residents to access the University of Edinburgh with great public transport links across the city also available, we are about 20 minutes from the city centre if you walk, but we also are in an area where you can get an alternative experience of Edinburgh, being close to the Water of Leith, Stockbridge, Inverleith Park and the Botanic Gardens.

2) Unfortunately due to Covid-19 we have had to ensure our residents stay as safe as possible and adhere to Scottish Government legisaltion and guidelines. We have tried our best to put on a variety of online events to help the experience. Additionally we have reached out to residents asking what they would like or enjoy to do. It is however helpful to us to understand what has been done well and what has not been so we can continue to improve the service for our residents. This feedback has not been something that has been expressed to us at reception and if we had have been contacted directly during the time we could have reviewed what else we could do that did not breach any Covid safety requirements.

3) I am sorry you feel your stay has been expensive, your tenancy is in line with rent payments within Edinburgh for this type of accommodation. Rent also covers all bills including internet. If you have a specific question relating to this we are more than happy for you to contact us directly and we can look into with the landlord. We adhered to Governement guidelines relating to any financial issues caused by Covid.

4) The issue with the lift was very unfortunate, however we did do our best to resolve as quickly as possible, we were reliant on our contractor sourcing the part to make good and we have raised the service with our supplier, as we appreciate it was an inconvenience to all residents within Block 10, so thank you for your patience and understanding.

5) Thank you for the feedback about staff, we do want to try and help with an excellent experience at our accommodation, and will take your comments on board. 

We are really hoping that moving forward as restrictions reduce we can get back to some element of normality and have more face to face events.

Thank you

Dani


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 25th May 21

Have been living here for a couple of years and it's been incredible, the staff and management are really good at what they do, especially the manager Dani.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 28th May 21

Thank you for the amazing review, it is really appreciated. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay here.

Dani


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 25th May 21

Amazing staff, good location. Quiet area. Price is good for the area when compared to other accomdation.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 28th May 21

Thank you for the review, really appreciated. We are very fortunate with the area we live in. 

Dani


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 14th April 21

Lovely accommodation with amazing super friendly staff. The rooms and kitchen area are all really good and the location is extremely convenient too since its next to Lidl and Tescos!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 15th April 21

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review! We are delighted you are enjoying your stay with us at Beaverbank. The location of Beaverbank is great as it is close to so many great amenities and green spaces also!

 

Thank you, Fiona.


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 5th April 21

Although a bit far from the university, the area is really nice with a variety of small shops and cafes nearby The staff are very nice and helpful, too.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 6th April 21

Thank you for leaving us a kind review! We have a free shuttle bus service which has frequent journeys to the main campus of Edinburgh University as well as journeys to the Kings Buildings and also there is excellent public transport links to the different University Campuses. 

We are very lucky with our location as we have lots of lovely cafes and shops nearby as well as the Botanic Gardens which is in close proximity to us. We always aim to create a positive experience for our residents.

Thank you, Fiona.


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 27th March 21

Such a great first year of uni experience. The staff are all so friendly and during this past year of covid have come up with so many things to keep us entertained. It is a short walk away from princes street so ideal in location and the rooms are a good size and have bathrooms which is a bonus

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 30th March 21

Thanks for such a great review, we really appreciate it.

We have tried really hard to try and make your time here has enjoyable as possible particularly given the current climate.

Thanks, Dani

 


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 23rd March 21

The rooms are very nice and easy to clean with big desks. The staff have been lovely and very helpful and accommodating.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 24th March 21

Thank you so much for a lovely review! We are pleased to hear that you like your room, the desks are generous in size and are great for studying/working from! We always aim to provide a positive experience for sll of our residents!

 

Thank you, Fiona.


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 20th March 21

Value for money was okay since it seems more modern than it actually is (kitchen was a little bit broken at some parts). Rooms could be a bit bigger. Can't say much about the cleaning as kitchen and corridor must be cleaned by the students themselves (which is no problem). Unfortunately, we couldn't use the common room due to Covid. Internet was good and fast. The staff was super lovely and helpful - 24/7 reception. The location is not that great if you consider that there are plenty of other university accommodations closer to the city centre. All in all, nice place to stay for a couple of months.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 23rd March 21

Thank you for your kind review! Unfortunately due to the pandemic our Common Room was unable to be used however we are hoping that this won't be the case for the next acedemic year. Beaverbank is a slightly quieter area however we have excellent transport links in and out of the city and the accommadation is just a short 20 minute walk into the cente of town. We are pleased you had a nice stay with us at Beaverbank, we always aim to provide a positive experience for all of our residents that stay with us.

Thanks, Fiona.


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 18th March 21

Have been staying here for 2 of my academic years, staff is super helpful and friendly and rooms are quite spacious and new. There is also a free shuttle bus to the university and back which I found extremely useful.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 18th March 21

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your time here. 

The shuttle service is certainly a great help for getting onto campus.

Thanks, Dani


0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 15th March 21

Situated by a lidl and a few green areas which is good, but quite far from the city centre. The hot water working is about as consistent as Ronaldo’s free kicks. Lift has been broken for a while and never been fixed. Interior is really nice though, and a generally nice and quiet accommodation. Staff are all friendly.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 15th March 21

Thank you for the review, it is appreciated. If you could contact us directly, we can look into the issues with the water. 

The lift is due to be fixed shortly as we are awaiting a part from our lift provider. We will be in touch with residents in due couse to confirm date for repair, but we do apologise for any inconvenience this will have undoubtedly caused many of our residents.

Thanks, Dani


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 15th March 21

Bedrooms are cosy & love the desk/notice board colour setup. Kitchen lovely & spacious. Safe location but quite far out but it’s been a good incentive to walk places in Covid times. Social experience has been seriously hampered by Covid. That said the staff are absolutely lovely, so friendly and very helpful.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 15th March 21

Great to hear you like the Accommodation, it has been a bit more challenging to ensure a great social experience as we have endeavoured to ensure the safety of our residents due to the impact of Covid-19 however we have encouraged participation through social media, online events and Covid safe events.

Thank you, Dani


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 25th February 21

I have really enjoyed my stay here at Beaverbank. The accommodation is very clean and well maintained. The staff are incredibly friendly and supportive, much more so than I could have imagined. I have made many great friends here and made many more memories.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 26th February 21

Thank you for such a great review- Really appreciate the feedback.

We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your time at Beaverbank and have made great friends and memories.

Thanks, Dani


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 11th February 21

I enjoyed my stay at Beaverbank place, although because of COVID-19 social interaction was limited. But still, there were online social events, the team are so helpful and kind.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 12th February 21

Thank you so much for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your time here.

It has been challenging with social interaction due to COVID-19, but we are doing all we can to look at different methods of engagement for the enjoyment, wellbeing and participation of residents.

Thanks, Dani


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 11th February 21

Excellent staff, great location (close to botanical gardens), convenient (near 2 big super markets, and on-site laundry room)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 11th February 21

Thanks for the very kind feedback, we are very fortunate to be so close to the Bonaical Gardens, its a fantastic spot to see the variety of plant life and for a nice walk.

Dani


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 9th February 21

Beaverbank is in a really good location in the city, with lots of activities around and good transport links. The onsite staff are very friendly and helpful with everything, and in email communications they are just as supportive. The rooms are spacious and the WiFi works everywhere at the accommodation. There is also a laundry room with washers and dryers which you can access through the common room (which is very easy to work).

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 9th February 21

Thank you, for such a fantastic review. Pleased to hear that you have so far enjoyed your time at Beaverbank.

Thanks, Dani


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 8th February 21

The most friendly and helpful staff. I would definitely recommend to other students who want to live in New Town for a different student experience.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 9th February 21

Thank you for the lovely review, We are pleased that you have enjoyed your time here and we do aim to be as helpful as we can!

Thanks, Dani


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 4th February 21

I've lived here for three years, and I love it. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help in whatever way they can. It has a lot of nice walks near by along with a good choice of supermarkets.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 4th February 21

Thank you for such a great review, and it is always good to hear from residents who have stayed with us for longer time.

We are also exceptionally fortunate with some of the walks we have near by and being close proximity to a Lidl and Tesco is exceptionally handy.

Thanks, Dani


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 3rd February 21

My experience at Beaverbank Place has been a nice one. Staff are absolutely brilliant, can't fault them for anything. The building is immaculate and has a great local bus service to get to uni and back. WiFi is very good (only had one glitch but was sorted quickly). Communication between student and staff is brilliant, they reply promptly and can easily resolve any issues. Can't recommend this place enough!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 4th February 21

Thank you for such an excellent review, we really appreciate the feedback and are really pleased you have enjoyed your time here. Dani


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 22nd January 21

It's a really nice place, even though a bit far from George Square, I could actually get up earlier and enjoy the morning of this city on my way to unversity and get some morning exercise as well. The bedroom and kitchen are good, I love this small space for cooking and chatting with my friends. There are two supermarket nearby so it is easy to buy food and other daily necessities. The staffs are very nice and friendly, Fiona helps me a lot in basically every problems I met and she is really nice and friendly. I hope I could met her again next year when I able to back Edinburgh. The security team officers are also very responsible, they helped me two times at 2am driving away my crazy roommates who held parties with at least 8 or 9 people on the first day social restriction rule published, I still think I am kind of lucy of beibg able to back to my own country without any problems. Thanks to them and all the beaverbank staffs who have offered help to me~ ♥(ノ´∀`)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 25th January 21

Wow! Thank you so much for such an incredibly kind review! The Beaverbank team are delighted you had such a lovely stay here and we are so glad that we made your stay so comfortable, we always aim to create a positive and welcoming enviroment for all of our students. :)

 

Thank you, Fiona.


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 21st January 21

Staff lovely and kind and services great!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 22nd January 21

Thank you for such a kind review, the whole Beaverbank team will be delight you had such a postive experience staying with us! :)

 

Thank you, Fiona.


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 21st January 21

My experience at Beaverbank place is definitely one to remember. I stayed here for 4 years because I loved everything about it. The staff are always extremely accommodating and are so friendly and approachable. If you need help with anything they are always so helpful and nothing is ever a bother to them! The rooms are lovely and clean with lots of storage space, with an en-suite bathroom with is extremely handy. The kitchens are also spacious and are kept to a high standard. There is a Lidl and Tesco just around the corner so not far to go for shopping which is so useful. The Omni centre is at the top of the road which is really good for flat outings. The only slight disadvantage to Beaverbank Place is that it’s quite far out from the universities, however there are plenty of bus stops close to the accommodation that take you to exactly where you need to be for uni. Overall I loved my stay at beaverbank and would definitely recommend it to anyone contemplating about staying here!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 21st January 21

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are thrilled you had a fantasic time at Beaverbank!

Although we are a bit further away there is a fantasic bus service operated by lothian buses, we also offer a free shuttle bus service to Bristo Square and Kings builidings for the University of Edinburgh.

Thanks, Dani


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 20th January 21

The Beaverbank team were all very polite and friendly, always offered a helping hand when needed. With the pandemic, socialising was difficult but Beaverbank has a common room and other common areas for socialising. The secure car park was very handy as well and was very useful! Staff knew how to deal with issues and most of the time they were very prompt about it too! Thanks Beaverbank!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 21st January 21

Thanks for your kind review, we certainly aim to support with a positive experience at Beaverbank and thrilled that you enjoyed your time here. The car park is a great incentive for city living as well. Dani


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 10th July 20

Beaverbank is a great place to live! I would say it's specially great if it's your first year at uni. The staff are lovely and always nice and helpful. Some people say it's a bit far away from uni, which it is, but there's a shuttle bus every weekday, and if you like walking, it's a nice walk in the mornings. There's also other public transport just around the corner. The area itself is great, with a nice pub around the corner, and nice cafés and restaurants down towards the sea. There is a Lidl right around the corner as well as a Tesco which keeps open until 10pm so it's almost always possible to pop out and get a snack:) I all in all had a great year living at Beaverbank. The area is nice and so are the people and flats. Would definitely recommend living here:) And enjoy the walks in the mornings:)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 20th January 21

Thank you for leaving such a great review! The staff team at Beaverbank are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We also think it's a great location, with lots of local amenities and free transport to Uni:)


0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 14th June 20

In terms of rooms, cleanliness and management these halls are wonderful, and I ended up meeting my best friend here. However, when the university websit tells you it is within walking distance of campus they are straight up lying. Be prepared to either walk up hill for a solid 45 mins whilst running late for a lecture or spend your precious student loan on the (very very reasonably price) bus service. Ultimately I cannot fault the accommodation, but I can fault the uni for continuing to tell students it's a ten minute walk from campus

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 21st January 21

Hi, Thank you for the kind review about staff and the site. It is an amazing part of University life to not only study, but to meet new people and potentially gain friends for life!

Apologies you were misled about the location, we are slightly to the North East of the city centre and it is about a 20 minute walk to Princes Street but we do have an excellent bus service, which also offer various bus passes to allow for a more cost effective use of the service. Details can be found on their website Lothian Buses – Local bus services in and around Edinburgh

Additionally we offer a FREE shuttle service to and from the University of Edinburgh Kings Buildings and Bristo Square between Monday-Friday. To Bristo Square it can take 10-15 minutes and to Kings building about 30 minutes depending on traffic.

The benefit of our location is we are only a very short walk from the Water of Leith, Stockbridge, The Bontanic Gardens and Leith, which helps give a vast experience of living in Edinburgh.

Dani


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 3rd June 20

Beaverbank was the nicest place I stayed in in the 4 years of my student life. The staff is lovely and helpful at all times. They made my stay and the move out process as easy as possible. I really liked the location- I had so many great walks, the Botanic Gardens are a great place to visit, but Beaverbank is also reasonably close to Deans Village and other places you can spend time in. Beaverbank is a bit further from the University than some other locations but there are free shuttle buses and public buses that go to uni. I personally really enjoyed walking to classes, it gave me an opportunity to relax a bit before lectures and kept me motivated to get some light exercise regularly. A little downsides are: laundry machines are a bit pricey and there is no cleaning service (didn't bother me personally, I have no problem cleaning my room and it's really not that difficult to set a rota with your flatmates to clean the kitchen. Overall, I really nice place to stay

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 21st January 21

Hi, thank you for the kind review. Glad you enjoyed the experience at beaverbank and got to experience the local area. There are a lot of cool places to explore here.

Thanks for the feedback regarding laundry, we use Circuit as our provider and more information about the service they provide can be found on their website Circuit | â„–1 Managed Laundry Equipment Supplier

As you mentioned, we don't offer cleaning within the bedrooms or flats. We clean the common areas on a daily basis, however it is the responsibility of residents to clean their flats and bedrooms which can actually help with the bonding experiencing.

Thanks,

Dani


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 30th May 20

Really great place to stay, staff are great and extremely helpful in all situations and problems you encounter. Living space is comfortable and access around the building is easy too, overall it was a good decision to choose to stay here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 21st January 21

Amazing, thanks for the positive review and we at Beaverbank are thrilled you enjoyed your time here!


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd May 20

The staff are lovely. The flats themselves are clean, the rooms are a decent size, comfy beds and en-suite bathrooms are an amazing utility. Location slightly further than university than preferred but worth it for the rooms and amazing staff. Can’t recommend highly enough.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 21st January 21

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are thrilled we could make up for the slightly further from University location with the flats and staff suiting better. Dani


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd May 20

I have stayed here for 2 years and I am very happy with it. The staff are very friendly and don't hesitate to help with any issues you have. The carpark is a great bonus for moving in and out. The only issue I have is the distance for uni, however there are shuttle busses that drive to the different campuses. It is located near two supermarkets and the botanic gardens which is nice for taking a break from studying.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 21st January 21

Thank you for this review, whilst we are slightly further we do have the free shuttle service as you mentioned and we also have the bonus of having some cool areas to explore, The Botanics are a great place for some relaxation and we have a lot of other green space near by as well as the Water of leith, Stockbridge, Dean Village- The list is endless!

Thanks, Dani 


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 21st May 20

A quiet place with helpful staff, I have a good experience staying here this year :D

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 21st January 21

We are glad at Beaverbank, that you enjoyed your experience here. We aim to be as helpful as we can to all our residents. Thanks, Dani


0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 12th May 20

Very nice accommodation in terms of aesthetic and staff are very friendly. Only issue would have to be the distance from uni campus.

Covid-19: My lease was ended one month earlier than it was supposed to.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 21st January 21

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your time here. 

Whilst we appreciate we are a slightly bit further from the city centre, we do have 2 large shops near by- Lidl and Tesco, we are a few minutes away from the Water of Leith, 10 minutes walking from the Water of Leith and Stockbridge, so residents get to enjoy a vast experience Edinburgh, we also offer a free shuttle service to University of Edinburgh Bristo Square and Kings Builiding. 

Thank you, Dani


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 11th May 20

I had a nice stay at Beaverbank, whereby I rebooked for another year as it just felt right. The staff are lovely, I really enjoyed the short walk to stores and botanical gardens. The people staying at Beaverbank are also lovely, and I had a great experience. However, I do think it needs more social events and would be great to see improvements to the flats (maybe include televisions and music systems?)

Covid-19: I don’t stay here at this moment. But I was offered summer Accomodation from a friend that works at Beaverbank. I have not accepted, but i would not hesitate to stay here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 21st January 21

Hi, Thanks for the feedback, it is certainly a benefit the location we are in as a short distance away from some fantastic spots in Edinburgh.

Really appreciate the feedback and that is helpful for us to continuously improve the service. We are in a dificult situation with events just now due to ensuring we are following Government guidelines and keeping residents and staff safe, but we are doing all we can to hold virtual events and are really keen for feedback from residents on what type of events they would like during their time here. 

Thanks, Dani


2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 8th May 20

All in all, I had a good experience living here. Everyone who works here is pleasant, helpful and responsive. The flats themselves are pretty good -- enough storage space, a fully functioning bathroom, the kitchen's spacious. The mattress isn't the comfiest but there you go. I became really close with my flatmates so I can't complain at all about the social experience and I didn't use the common room much. The laundry facilities are through Circuit Laundry which is pricey and the setup is finicky but it's convenient. Many people complain about Beaverbank being far from the uni but I really love the area. It's far enough from the city centre so as it's quiet but it's still in the city so all the necessities and amenities are within walking distance. There are lots of lovely places to explore nearby like the Botanic Gardens and the Water of Leith Walkway. Also, being a bit of a walk from the uni isn't too bad as there's a shuttle to and from, Monday to Friday.

Covid-19: They were extremely helpful and supportive! Honestly, they went above and beyond. They made me feel secure during a very unstable time and helped me with things even after I had left. Again, the Beaverbank staff is great :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Beaverbank Place
On 21st January 21

Hi, Thanks for your comprehensive review. I am glad you enjoyed your experience at Beaverbank and got the best out of your time here.

We are fortunate that there are a lot of nice areas around Beaverbank that can be enjoyed.

Apologies that the mattress wasn't as comfy but that is something we can look at for the future to rectify. 

Thanks, Dani


0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 19th June 19

This is the worst place you could stay at. It is expensive for what it is, extremely isolated and there is no professional cleaning, you have to do it all yourself. On top of that the room is so small you will be clostrophobic.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 3rd November 18

This place is a big concrete block, so noise travels so easily. I am on the third floor and is someone is talking on the pavement outside the building, they might as well be in my room having a conversation. My neighbors are very noisy, so it gets incredibly annoying. The place was dirty when I got here, I have cleaned it since, but I think a lot of it is just wear and tear. The people in the reception are nice and respond relatively quickly. The street itself it boring, but there are two large convenience stores close by and it is only a 30-40 minute to the city center. There are buses running quite often. It is quite expensive considering the price, but it seems to be generally expensive to live in Edinburgh, so I can't complain too much.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 16th October 15

Been here just over a month it's crap social aspect is rubbish there's no cleaning it's too far away and none of the people I've spoken to actually had Beaverbank down on their choices, everyone was just put here. A lot of people have transferred to other accommodation and I'd like to join them, don't come here!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 16th April 15

It's just so far out, much more expensive than average and that doesn't include a bus pass! No cleaners in flats - just monthly ridiculously overzealous inspections. It's nicely designed and easy to clean, however, and the social side is good.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 27th March 15

To an outsider, Beaverbank looks great. It's a very new build, every room is en-suite with a double bed and there is twenty four hour security. However, it's a TREK. It's roughly a thirty-five minute walk uphill to get to the main campus uni (and that's on a good day). This means that the accommodation is very isolated in terms of students who live near by - and Beaverbank becomes clique-y to say the least. The staff are lovely, and will do all they can to help but there is no free cleaning service at Beaverbank, and if you live in a flat where not everyone gets along then the monthly kitchen inspections can take their toll. The rent is also sky-high at £660 a month this year (14/15), despite the less than ideal location. The common room promises so much and delivers so little: there is only space for about 10 people, and the "full sky tv" package actually lacks movies and some freeview TV channels. Beaverbank looks nice, but is definitely not the ideal fresher halls.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Considering Beaverbank Place?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to vote, comment, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.