How do you rate Catherine House?

credit: The Student Housing Company
 image credit  |   report abuse
The Student Housing Company

Most helpful review

I really enjoyed staying at Catherine House. The rooms are a good price and bigger than my friends room over the road, even though they pay more money. The sky lounge is really pretty and reception staff were always friendly and helpful, night staff were chatty and quick to help when I needed it.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1259853
On 10th June 21

Portsmouth Hall Rankings


Crown Place - Portsmouth #1
Middle Street #2
Greetham Street #3
Margaret Rule Hall #4
Catherine House #5
Rosalind Franklin Halls #6
Rees Hall #7
Bateson Hall #8
Trafalgar Hall #9
Harry Law Hall #10

All Student Accommodation in Portsmouth


Most helpful review

I really enjoyed staying at Catherine House. The rooms are a good price and bigger than my friends room over the road, even though they pay more money. The sky lounge is really pretty and reception staff were always friendly and helpful, night staff were chatty and quick to help when I needed it.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1259853
On 10th June 21

Q&A


Q
Do many Erasmus students live there? If not, in which halls they usually do?
By member555143 On 11th March 21
Hi there, Thank you for your question! Our building is very popular with international students and students on placements yes :) once you're booked in, be sure to join our resident's Facebook group so you can connect with fellow students before you arrive. If you have any further questions, please feel free to reach out :)
By member459171 On 28th May 21
Q
When staying in a studio room, are there others on your floor that also stay in studio flats?
By member954922 On 4th March 21
Hey there, Thanks for your question - yes indeed, we have studios on every floor of our blocks so you won't be the only one :) I hope this helps and if you have any further questions, please get in touch. Kind regards, Pashka
By member459171 On 28th May 21
Q
Can we have guests staying with us overnight?
By member651146 On 15th September 20
Reply from Catherine House
On 28th May 21

Of course you can :)


Our usual overnight guest policy is 2 nights stay in a 7 day period.


You can reaad more about our guest policy here and if you have any further questions, please get in touch!

 

Kind regards,

The Catherine House Team

Q
Are all the rooms with private catering facilities or do some have shared kitchens?
By member1045370 On 8th February 20
Studios have private kitchens, "en suite" rooms or flats have a shared kitchen.
By Vee On 18th June 20
Reply from Catherine House
On 28th May 21

Hi there,

Thanks for your question :) at Catherine House we have:

- A limited number of en suite rooms in 4, 5 and 6 bedroom flats with shared kitchens

- 8 different studio types where you have your own private en suite kitchen (your kitchen - your rules ;)!)

 

We have communal areas for all our residents to use including a games room, lounge area and Sky Lounge with incredible views out to sea!

 

Hope that answers your question, if you have any more just ask.


The Catherine House Team

Q

Ask a new question about Catherine House

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Catherine House Reviews


0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 16th June 21

I think I was really lucky with my flatmates for the year, an excellent group of people who I have gotten extremely close with. The sky lounge was closed all year due to Covid which is understandable but a real shame. As for allowing any visitors, zero allowed. Our oven was really strange, it would burn the food before it was even done cooking. We got maintenance in and they did pretty much nothing. The rooms were lovely, having an on suite was a huge luxury to have. However because our rooms were facing the sun, and we were on a high floor it basically became a sauna. The showers are tiny but understandable, and they flooded SO EASILY. As well as this, the bathroom tap is basically a dribble, the water pressure is very low. There aren’t cleaners, so you have to do it for yourself which isn’t a bad thing at all. Overall it is overpriced for what it is, and the rent is increasing for next year. I would stay again as I enjoyed my time here, but it was absolutely too much.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 14th June 21

Living at Catherine House was one of the best experiences of my university experience, and one of the best choices only my first year. The staff are super friendly and helpful; I hardly had any issues but when I did they were dealt with quickly. The location is great, and super close to everything including my uni building which takes me less than 10 minutes to get to, and the value for money was also really great, and everything being included in the rent made everything really easy. I also got really lucky with my flat mates, who were all friendly and we got along throughout the year. I would definitely recommend Catherine House to anyone looking for student accommodation in Portsmouth.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Catherine House
On 15th June 21

Hi 

Thank you for your review and for recommending us! We are so glad you had a great time living with us and found our staff friendly and helpful. 

If you need a room for next year, do get in touch for information on our current rebooker offer :)


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 11th June 21

Great accommodation! Both the reception team and facilities team are super helpful and friendly. Would recommend to any students!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Catherine House
On 11th June 21

Hi there,

Thank you for your review and for recommending us! We are so glad you enjoyed living here and found our staff friendly and helpful. 

If you need a room for next year, do get in touch for information on our current rebooker offer :)

 

Kind regards,

 

The Catherine House Team


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 10th June 21

I really enjoyed staying at Catherine House. The rooms are a good price and bigger than my friends room over the road, even though they pay more money. The sky lounge is really pretty and reception staff were always friendly and helpful, night staff were chatty and quick to help when I needed it.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Catherine House
On 11th June 21

Hey there,

Thanks so much for your review we are very glad you enjoyed living with us and found our team helpful - we love the Sky Lounge too!

If you need a room for next year, do get in touch for information on our current rebooker offer :)

 

Kind regards,

 

The Catherine House Team


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 9th June 21

Don’t waste your money, go somewhere else. I ignored all the bad reviews before I can and regret it.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Catherine House
On 11th June 21

Hi there,

We pride ourselves on going above and beyond for our residents - please do get in touch with us with more information on what has happened so we can help and put any problems right for you.

You can reach us on 023 9219 1130 or catherinehouse@thestudenthousingcompany.com.

 

Kind regards,

 

The Catherine House Team


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 8th June 21

I love it here, it is clean, it have a tv and the price is lovely but it can go down a little bit just because not everyone can afford to stay here

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Catherine House
On 11th June 21

Hi there,

 

Thank you so much for your review we are very glad you have loved living with us!

 

We always make sure our rooms are priced fairly and competitively in the purpose built student accomadation market, and on average, ours are actually the cheapest price for floor space in the city so your rent payments do go further! For information on financial support available to University of Portsmouth students, do get in touch with ourselves and we can point you in the right direction :)

 

Kind regards,

 

The Catherine House Team


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 8th June 21

so expensive honestly - 6 grand and even more expensive if you don’t book through the uni - lovely rooms but get so hot in the summer great view and location would stay here again for my final year if it didn’t cost a kidney and my firstborn

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Catherine House
On 11th June 21

Hi there,

Thanks for your review and we're glad you have enjoyed your stay this year!

Our rooms booked through the Uni are rooms in shared flats which is why they are cheaper :) these are reserved by the Uni for first years I'm afraid.

Our Studios booked directly through us are private rooms with loads of space, a bigger en suite bathroom and en suite kitchen. We always make sure our rooms are priced fairly and competitively in the purpose built student accomadation market, and on average, ours are actually the cheapest price for floor space in the city so your rent payments do go further! We actually have a re-booker offer going on too at the moment with  £500 Amazon vouchers and shorter contracts available. If you're still looking for a place to live and would like more info, please do get in touch. 

Kind regards,

The Catherine House Team


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 7th June 21

The only things I disliked (especially for the price) is the limited parcel collection hours, the shower drains blocking frequently. Residents in studios don’t get an oven and shower pressure is weak. Also the wifi service in my room was really getting on my nerves. Apart from these problems, it was a great experience, sadly cause of the pandemic, I couldn’t meet many people but that is understandable. Staff & maintenance are lovely, the location is perfect and the interior is very nice. I enjoyed my stay here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Catherine House
On 8th June 21

Hey there,

 

Thank you for your review and feedback – we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and your kind words about our staff 😊

 

We are open for post collection Mondays – Fridays 8am – 6pm and on weekends 4pm – 6pm. If you have anything urgent you need that has been delivered outside of these times and no one is at reception, we have the Duty Mobile that you can call and a member of the team would be happy to help! You can find the Duty Mobile number on the wall at reception.

 

Our facilities team is on hand for any maintenance issues and we are happy to help you contact the WiFi provider to have a look at the connection in your room – please do give us a call or drop us an email so we can help.

 

This year was a difficult year full of restrictions meaning we had to follow the government guidance for meeting inside and while we continued hosting our virtual wellbeing and events programme, we know this isn’t for everyone. We hope that you are finding things more sociable now we can meet friends inside! If you have any ideas you think would be good events to get residents together now things are opening up again, we would love to hear from you so do get in touch if you would like to help shape events for our students.

 

Kind regards,

 

The Catherine House Team


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 20th January 21

Do not recommend this property at all, staff are rude and unhelpful, you wait days for post and weeks for replies to emails. They only reply to emails quick when its for their gain (money). They have had absolutely no regard for students during the pandemic and continue to act inhumane. I would advise any other halls above this one.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Catherine House
On 8th June 21

Hi there,

 

I am sorry to hear you have not had a good experience with our services.

 

Like many businesses, we have been affected by the pandemic and received a very large volume of enquiries from residents after the announcement of the 3rd lockdown, which may have meant that at this time we were not able to respond to emails as quickly as normal. We always aim to get back to queries within 48 hours. Our staff are very good at processing post within a few hours of its arrival and you should receive a notification shortly after we have done this. If a parcel has arrived outside of opening hours, we will process it as soon as possible when we open the following day. If this has not been your experience please do get in contact with further details so we can look into this for you and rectify and problems.

 

We understand that this year has been difficult for students and full of restrictions. We have remained open at Catherine House throughout the pandemic and are always on hand to support our residents. We were pleased to offer a rental discount for those students who were unable to return to their accommodation after the December break. If you need any further support from us, please do not hesitate to get in touch so we can help.

 

 

Kind regards,

 

The Catherine House Team


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 14th January 21

absolutely do not recommend this student accommodation unless you want to be completely ripped off throughout a global pandemic even though the government have told students not to return. Appalling attitude from the staff at Catherine house

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Catherine House
On 8th June 21

Hi there,

Following our response to the previous review, it looks like your review was also left before we had a chance to confirm and communicate our Covid Rental Discount to our residents.

As I am sure you're now aware, after the Government announcement of a third lockdown in January 2021, we worked with our partners towards providing additional support for those students who were unable to travel back to the residences and were pleased to offer a rental discount for those students who were unable to return to their accommodation after the December break.

The rental discount would have been added to your account, however if you did not receive this please do get in contact with us to confirm your details so we can investigate this for you.

We understand that it isn’t easy when you should be experiencing the best that university life has to offer. Here at The Student Housing Company we know how important your home is and we are here to support you. Kind regards

The Catherine House Team


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 13th January 21

Shame on the student housing company. Despite this third lock down, and many of us being stuck at home, they continue to take 100% of our rent as though this were any other year. Instead of following in the stride of more graceful companies and universities, which are almost all offering some kind of compensation, Catherine House holds onto every penny. Absolute shame of the world onto this company.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Catherine House
On 8th June 21

Hi there,

Unfortunately it looks like your review was left before we had a chance to confirm and communicate our Covid Rental Discount to our residents.

As I am sure you're now aware, after the Government announcement of a third lockdown in January 2021, we worked with our partners towards providing additional support for those students who were unable to travel back to the residences and were pleased to offer a rental discount for those students who were unable to return to their accommodation after the December break.

The rental discount would have been added to your account, however if you did not receive this please do get in contact with us to confirm your details so we can investigate this for you.

We understand that it isn’t easy when you should be experiencing the best that university life has to offer. Here at The Student Housing Company we know how important your home is and we are here to support you. Kind regards,

The Catherine House Team


0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 15th December 20

they’ve done their best - difficult time

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 21st September 20

The building is very well maintained and it caters very well to new and returning students. I went to a beer pong event on the first night organised by Student Housing Company and it was brilliant. My room's ethernet port didn't work which was problematic since I had a desktop PC and ended up using a slower modem for most of the year. They'll tell you to contact ASK4 for help and the whole process can take a few days.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 20th September 20

I recently moved in and there are so many issues with my flat which just shouldn't exist. The first time someone sat down, the kitchen sofa leg broke. One of our showers has a broken tap, and the drain is super sharp and rusty, a total health hazard. Our microwave also sparked when there was nothing in it and had to be turned off. Not impressed so far at all.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 29th July 20

Felt very homely and made me feel comfortable. Loved staying there

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 29th July 20

I didn't live in uni accomodation so I can't really give much insight, but I visited lots of friends living in halls & the flats were nice for the most part.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 18th June 20

I lived here in my first year 2018-19. I highly recommend the place. Ive always felt safe here. Their insurance policy came in handy, this covers many of your personal belongings. Wifi always brilliant. Fire alarms r expected to be frequent in the beggining of the yr, handy to have some clothes and shoes ready to hop into, be prepared for the ear piercing alarm at any point in time. (Even in your sleep). The layout of the blocks, staircases & fire escapes r placed efficiently for fast evacuation, unlike greetham! (Look it up). I was happy with the kitchen appliances (tv, grill/microwave, grill/oven, electric hob). You can fit lots under the bed. The desk, drawers & chair were comfortable. The shelving around the bedframe was ideal, wardrobe is deep and tall. Shower is tight but adjustabl n removabl showr head is great. Lots of complaints r students fault tbh. Shower drains r easy to clean. Rubbish in stairwells is their responsibility. Lifts break cause of jumping in them. Lots of free

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 25th April 20

Awful experience would recommend any other halls. You don't get the rooms they show you around there are plumbing issues. they wont help with any flatmate issues, security is awful. Infested with flys!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 17th April 20

Only student housing in Portsmouth to still make the students pay when the uni is closed with the covid 19 going on - Let this be a lesson don’t stay at this place for the new year . This company puts money before the well being of their tenants. Disgusting!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 4th April 20

Throughout the year they have been consistently bad at communicating, even when hundreds of people are begging them to answer, they choose to ignore or post a generic automated response like "we have a team working tirelessly on this issue to get back to you", leaving everyone in the dark. This was firstly an issue before even moving in, when they gave everyone the wrong room numbers and barely put out any public information for us to know what was going on, after we had been making friends with the wrong flatmates for weeks. Little did we know that this unnecessary stress was just the beginning of an even worse year. They do not replace items that are broken. Some items that are vital are just never provided (our ground floor flat never had a kitchen curtain, and did not have a radiator for the first 4 months, and our oven was never replaced when broken). The management is negligent and do not care about their tenants.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 4th April 20

During covid19 they continued to make us pay full rent even tho we have completely moved out and handed in the keys. Ridiculous they have no concern for student welfare only to make money. The whole place is unclean, staff unfriendly, WiFi doesn’t work at the best of times. Found that half the stuff was broken when moving in. Had to pay more money for smaller rooms and less people than other flats with 6 people. There was a mouldy loaf of bread on the stairs for a solid 4 months, where were the weekly communal cleaners .. never to be seen! Fire alarms went off every day.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 3rd March 20

Decor is nice but maintenance team is slow and laundry is far too expensive

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 9th February 20

I would say they are really attentive to issues apart from the cleaning the cleaning could improve massively

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 8th February 20

Staff made my friends wait at reception when they wouldn’t make anyone’s friends wait there. Staff mocked my accent throughout the year, even when I asked them to stop. Staff didn’t care when my tickets to a concert were lost when they were signed and they stated “they’re sometimes forged my the Royal Mail”. Wouldn’t recommend this place for students apart from location. Staff don’t care whatsoever and post has been lost. Not that they care.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 3rd February 20

Living here for 2 years, it has been a very good experience. The rooms are well designed and the staff is very friendly. The internet is very good and it has good security during the day and night. Location is a big plus. 1 minute away from Tesco Express and Commercial Road. I seriously recommend it.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 28th November 19

My son lived in Catherine House for his first year, the building was then brand new, then again for his third year (this year). It is hard to judge a company until you have an issue, which we have now had and I can say that Zoe, Pashka and the general manager have all taken time to sort it out to our satisfaction. Approachable, professional and willing to find a solution.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 2nd November 19

Amazing and it is very clean just no personal cleaning services provided, but do provide the equipment to clean

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 23rd August 19

I would 100% not recommend this place. Some of the rooms don’t have open windows.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 14th June 19

Ok so, this accommodation is EXPENSIVE don’t get me wrong, it’s well decorated and generally clean however the management are very hit and miss. In the room inspections if your room is not 100% clean and I mean surgical room clean, like not lived in clean, then you get b**** comments on your review if you don’t like your flat mates, so what? They don’t care. However on a brighter side, Euan at reception is lovely, absolutely brilliant! and the lot is very very close to everything you need which is fab but the lifts keep breaking down and take weeks to be fixed, there is only one laundry room for 4000+ students and the WiFi is just pure and utter crap. Basically you could get better for cheaper if you go to Margaret Rule or Greetham because the rooms are better bigger and everything works over there. Also tip for the building manager: Stop slagging off your staff in the middle of reception where everyone can hear you. It’s unprofessional.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Considering Catherine House?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to vote, comment, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.