4.13 / 5

Dun Holm House Reviews

30 Reviews by Students

How do you rate Dun Holm House?

credit: Fresh Student Living
 image credit  |   report abuse
Fresh Student Living

Most helpful review

Potential to be a really good student accomodation experience, however the ongoing building work and poor WiFi is a considerable let down for the money paid. On the plus side, the entire management team really make Dun Holm a pleasant place to come home to after a long day at uni.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1039796
On 19th June 19

Durham Hall Rankings


St Cuthbert's Society #7
St Chad's College #8
Trevelyan College #9
Van Mildert College #10
Dun Holm House #11
Josephine Butler College #12
University College #13
Hatfield College #14
College of St Hild & St Bede #15
Collingwood College #16

All Student Accommodation in Durham


Join StudentCrowd, Like us on Facebook


Most helpful review

Potential to be a really good student accomodation experience, however the ongoing building work and poor WiFi is a considerable let down for the money paid. On the plus side, the entire management team really make Dun Holm a pleasant place to come home to after a long day at uni.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1039796
On 19th June 19

Dun Holm House Information

Telephone0191 300 8775
PostcodeDH1 4SL
Price from £169.00 per week (subject to availability)
Features18 Minutes Walk from Durham University, social events, on-site team, gym, cinema room and social space.
Top tipCouples can share a studio for no extra cost

Q&A


Q
Given the comments about the ongoing building works, by which date will the accommodation site be fully complete?
By member1240004 On 28th June 19
Reply from Dun Holm House
On 30th June 19

Hi there, thank you for your interest in Dun Holm House. 

The accommodation is fully complete and has been for some time now. The construction works referred to are confined to the restaurant areas of The Riverwalk which are owned and managed by a separate companies which have no relationship with Dun Holm House, other than being part of the overall development.

I hope this puts your mind at rest but if you have any other questions please get in touch. Our email address is dunholmhouse@freshstudentliving.co.uk or alternatively you can call us on 0191 300 8775.

Many thanks,

The Accommodation Team.

Q

Ask a new question about Dun Holm House

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Dun Holm House Reviews


0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 5th April 20

Overall, I would say my experience living here is BARELY ok. I don't have enough words, so I'll mention 1 main problem: I had a room next to a fire exit and people keep on using the exit, even in the middle of the night. I could clearly hear the annoying alarm (even the door slamming) every time someone exited from there. The management didn't try to stop this nor offer any solution. They promised me to look into this and prevent people from using the exit at the start of the tenancy, ended up doing nothing (I know someone who always use the exit every time when she leaves the building and has never been told off by the management). I was awakened between 12-6am more than I could count throughout the year! The worst thing is, the management lied to me saying that the alarm dies after a few seconds, but in fact it needs someone in the reception to push some button and turn the alarm off (IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT SOMETIMES THERE AREN'T ANYONE IN THE RECEPTION FOR UP TO 30 MINUTES)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 8th December 19

fantastic staff, very friendly and welcoming. The location couldn't be any better! Very close to all transport methods, very easy access to shopping and restaurants, entertainment etc as it is in the very centre. Dun Holm House is also a short walk/ very short bus journey to all areas of the university. Now the building is complete, there are very few issues (in terms of heating, plumbing etc.) If anything does need to be mended, it is done so quickly and efficiently. It is a very safe environment with fantastic facilities; for example a study room and a large gym. Most importantly for students, the wifi is good! No problems connecting electronics :D

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 6th December 19

A generally good place to stay but little strange rules like only one entrance and no allowance for lift is strange. anyway got used to it.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 6th December 19

Really good living experience with nice rooms and kind staff. However, the location is not ideal because it is so far from all the lectures.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 6th December 19

The site located in the town center, bus station is on the opposite side of the road, really convenient for us. The room had plenty of shelves, good for putting a lot of stuff. Also like the gym, basically I'll go there six days per week.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 5th December 19

Good private space in studios and excellent common area. BTW, the wifi signal is really bad in my room.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 5th December 19

All staffs are so kind and lovely, always wear a smile and ready to help. The location is good, right beside the city centre with a bus stop within reach.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 5th December 19

great and comfortable living experience, good for us to concentrate on our study. better if get someone clean the room regularly like the dormitory in school.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 5th December 19

You can clearly hear the noise from downstairs which makes u crazy

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 5th December 19

Generally speaking, it is quite satisfactory. Just the range hood of the kitchen has little effect, there will be smoky if I want to cook in room.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 5th December 19

It’s quite close to city center. I quite like here. The infrastructure is perfect. It has gym and study room which I need. It deserves money I paid.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 5th December 19

Excellent but the door of gym would be better if not be automatically locked and the door of study room is difficult to push

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 5th December 19

Great accommodation , good value for money.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 5th December 19

pretty good I enjoy that thank you

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 5th December 19

Very convenient although I need to go upstair to third floor without lift if I need to go out. This place is in city centre and near durham bus station and railway station!! Also, there is three bus station opposite to the accommodation

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 5th December 19

The layout of the room is comfortable, the price is good, the location is excellent, and daily life is very convenient.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 5th December 19

Good Experience,Good Location, However,too many room views. I am used to sleep late. Every time when I was sleeping, I was disturbed by knocking the door. I feel quiet dissatisfied about that. That will effect my sleep quality. Moreover, the lifts are often smelly. The rubbish bins are often full. Overall, a nice place for me.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 5th December 19

Good experience and meet your demands. This is a great choice to you.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 5th December 19

Nice place, very expensive, WiFi been terrible this past month. Social spaces could be improved. Just look at student castle and compare.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 5th December 19

Dun Holm House is a place with great location and thoughtful staffs. Excellent choice for students.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 5th December 19

it is so great, but the E black is so far from the reception

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 5th December 19

See if Student Castle has any spaces first. It's better prices for a nicer accommodation. Also, the floors in the Dun Holm kitchen and flat common area are a nightmare to maintain.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 25th July 19

Great management, very responsible team, great location and cozy room. Only problem is the construction didnt finish by the start of our tenancy as promised so it was a bit noisy. Also the request for access of the room is a bit too often.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 24th July 19

I personally had a great year having met our very nice and friendly management team whose efforts to sort out the issues and problems were highly appreciated and look forward to a better year ahead.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 24th July 19

It's not really worth the amount- but it is good i guess. The staff are nice and supportive.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 22nd June 19

Charges a bit too much for what it is, was unfinished at the start of the year, but well managed and staff were all friendly

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House
On 30th June 19

Hi there, thank you for your review.

We believe that our prices are very competative and comparable to the accommodation choices in the same area. We are lucky enough to be located directly in the city centre which offers a lot of positive benefits to our residents.

Having an approachable and friendly staff is something that we pride ourselves on and I'll be sure to pass on your comments to them all.

Many thanks,

The Accommodation Team.


1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 19th June 19

Potential to be a really good student accomodation experience, however the ongoing building work and poor WiFi is a considerable let down for the money paid. On the plus side, the entire management team really make Dun Holm a pleasant place to come home to after a long day at uni.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House
On 20th June 19

Thank you for the review. We appreciate your feedback and apologise for the problems you have incurred whilst staying with us. We have not received any reports about the Wi-Fi being of a low speed, but if you would like to contact the Accommodation Team, we would be more than happy to look into this for you. You can also contact ASK4 on 01143033232 or email support@ask4.com and they will be able to help you.

Unfortunately, we do not have any control over the building works in the surrounding area (new restaurants are being readied for opening), although we appreciate this is an inconvenience for the students staying with us. We will pass on your concerns to the businesses involved and keep you informed if and when we hear a response. If you have any other problems, it’s always best to get in contact with the Accommodation team. You can see us at reception, call us on 0191 300 8775 or email us at DunHolmHouse@freshstudentliving.co.uk. Many thanks, The Dun Holm House Team.


0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 19th June 19

Absolutely appalling. We were sold a tenancy that we were not given. Constant building disruption and disturbances from staff. An unfinished site, staff who bat off responsibility and senior management who need to go under urgent review. I feel absolutely violated as a tenant and am well aware of my rights and how they’ve been breached. Fresh Student Living should be ashamed.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House
On 20th June 19

Hi, we’re sorry to hear this. We would like to discuss your concerns with you directly, please could you get in touch with the Accommodation Team on 0191 300 8775, by email at DunHolmHouse@freshstudentliving.co.uk or by popping into reception. Many Thanks, The Dun Holm House Team.


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 19th June 19

Dun Holm is well managed by Lynne and Michelle. They have successfully turned the building into a great place to hang out with your friends and meet new people.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House
On 19th June 19

Thank you so much for the lovely review! Have a great summer :)


Considering Dun Holm House?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to vote, comment, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.