StudentCrowd-RGB-LongCreated with Sketch. Helping students make decisions SEARCH SIGN IN Write a Review

How do you rate Dun Holm House?

credit: Fresh Student Living
 image credit  |   report abuse
Fresh Student Living

Most helpful review

I have stayed at Dun Holm House for a 7 week tenancy. I have loved my time here. The accommodation has been perfect and the staff have gone above and beyond to make me feel welcome and ensure that I have enjoyed my stay!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member860630
On 30th June 21

Durham Hall Rankings


Grey College #4
Duresme Court #5
Ernest Place #6
Stephenson College #7
Dun Holm House #8
Trevelyan College #9
Hatfield College #10
St Cuthbert's Society #11
University College (Castle) #12
St Chad's College #13

All Student Accommodation in Durham


Most helpful review

I have stayed at Dun Holm House for a 7 week tenancy. I have loved my time here. The accommodation has been perfect and the staff have gone above and beyond to make me feel welcome and ensure that I have enjoyed my stay!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member860630
On 30th June 21

Q&A


Q
Given the comments about the ongoing building works, by which date will the accommodation site be fully complete?
By member1240004 On 28th June 19
Q

Ask a new question about Dun Holm House

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Dun Holm House Reviews


Student Review: 2.6 /5
By member467194 On 13th March 22

Fire alarms constantly go off at ridiculous out of office hours and the time for someone to turn it off is 40 minutes plus. Problem reported to staff several time but still not fixed. Staff have also issued more fire drills than advertised in the student handbook, issue is the drills are during staff hours which is when many students are studying or taking part in online lectures. Gym is advertised to be 24 hours but you can only access it when reception staff are here Mon-Fri 9am-5pm which is when many people are in uni. Social space is often messy and the pool/football tables can only be used when reception staff are here due to having to collect the balls/cues. Reception staff are often out of the reception so students are unable to collect their parcels/gym access cards. Only 4 washing and dryer machines for a large accommodation so it is hard to find times when there are free machines to do you laundry. Studios come with a microwave-oven which takes much longer to cook food.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 18th May 22

Student Review: 5 /5
By member860630 On 30th June 21

I have stayed at Dun Holm House for a 7 week tenancy. I have loved my time here. The accommodation has been perfect and the staff have gone above and beyond to make me feel welcome and ensure that I have enjoyed my stay!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 21st July 21

Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member1158452 On 21st May 21

A wonderful and vibrant place to live, with great facilities and in a very convenient location. The staff are absolutely lovely and make coming home every day a pleasure. Can’t recommend this place enough!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 21st July 21

Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member658077 On 18th May 21

The staffs are really kind. The equipment in the gym is new and useful.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 21st July 21

Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member1057681 On 12th May 21

The accommodation is situated at a prime location with easy access to local amenities and the university. The management is good, staff are always kind and helpful.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 21st July 21

Student Review: 4 /5
By member1257212 On 30th April 21

Nice, but its less boring due to COVID.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 21st July 21

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1056909 On 26th April 21

My experience of staying at dunholm has by far been really good. The staff here (Michelle, Jasmine and Gregg) are really supportive and friendly! The social spaces, the gym facilities are limited due to covid safety and the staff here takes good care of our safety. I can’t wait to book another year with dunholm!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 21st July 21

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1156689 On 21st April 21

Highly recommended for students who come to Durham! Best staffs ever and very comfortable to live in!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 21st July 21

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1056567 On 20th April 21

Michelle and Jasmine helped me a lot during my travelling quarantine. Thanks for all the staffs’ patience and the help from them!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 21st July 21

Student Review: 4 /5
By member1056521 On 19th April 21

The only one major problem (as I heard from my frirnd) is that some area are close to theconstruction site which is noisy in day time.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 21st July 21

Student Review: 2.7 /5
By member456176 On 13th April 21

I was disappointed with my experience during the COVID-19 pandemic, but the accommodation generally meets the needs of students.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 21st July 21

Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member1054764 On 1st March 21

A fantastic location central to the city and to both the humanities and science campuses. The staff are some of the most friendly, helpful, and accomodating people in all of Durham and are definitely the primary selling point of Dun Holm House.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 21st July 21

Student Review: 5 /5
By member654480 On 22nd February 21

amazing management team - really nice people, great location, decent flat/rooms

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 21st July 21

Student Review: 2.7 /5
By member647157 On 5th April 20

Overall, I would say my experience living here is BARELY ok. I don't have enough words, so I'll mention 1 main problem: I had a room next to a fire exit and people keep on using the exit, even in the middle of the night. I could clearly hear the annoying alarm (even the door slamming) every time someone exited from there. The management didn't try to stop this nor offer any solution. They promised me to look into this and prevent people from using the exit at the start of the tenancy, ended up doing nothing (I know someone who always use the exit every time when she leaves the building and has never been told off by the management). I was awakened between 12-6am more than I could count throughout the year! The worst thing is, the management lied to me saying that the alarm dies after a few seconds, but in fact it needs someone in the reception to push some button and turn the alarm off (IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT SOMETIMES THERE AREN'T ANYONE IN THE RECEPTION FOR UP TO 30 MINUTES)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member1244314 On 8th December 19

fantastic staff, very friendly and welcoming. The location couldn't be any better! Very close to all transport methods, very easy access to shopping and restaurants, entertainment etc as it is in the very centre. Dun Holm House is also a short walk/ very short bus journey to all areas of the university. Now the building is complete, there are very few issues (in terms of heating, plumbing etc.) If anything does need to be mended, it is done so quickly and efficiently. It is a very safe environment with fantastic facilities; for example a study room and a large gym. Most importantly for students, the wifi is good! No problems connecting electronics :D

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member644284 On 6th December 19

A generally good place to stay but little strange rules like only one entrance and no allowance for lift is strange. anyway got used to it.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member1244283 On 6th December 19

Really good living experience with nice rooms and kind staff. However, the location is not ideal because it is so far from all the lectures.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member944282 On 6th December 19

The site located in the town center, bus station is on the opposite side of the road, really convenient for us. The room had plenty of shelves, good for putting a lot of stuff. Also like the gym, basically I'll go there six days per week.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.4 /5
By Elf On 5th December 19

Good private space in studios and excellent common area. BTW, the wifi signal is really bad in my room.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member1344267 On 5th December 19

All staffs are so kind and lovely, always wear a smile and ready to help. The location is good, right beside the city centre with a bus stop within reach.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member1044265 On 5th December 19

great and comfortable living experience, good for us to concentrate on our study. better if get someone clean the room regularly like the dormitory in school.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2.4 /5
By member444264 On 5th December 19

You can clearly hear the noise from downstairs which makes u crazy

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member744263 On 5th December 19

Generally speaking, it is quite satisfactory. Just the range hood of the kitchen has little effect, there will be smoky if I want to cook in room.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1344262 On 5th December 19

It’s quite close to city center. I quite like here. The infrastructure is perfect. It has gym and study room which I need. It deserves money I paid.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1344260 On 5th December 19

Excellent but the door of gym would be better if not be automatically locked and the door of study room is difficult to push

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.6 /5
By Aramandreas On 5th December 19

Great accommodation , good value for money.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member1244258 On 5th December 19

pretty good I enjoy that thank you

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By kammy On 5th December 19

Very convenient although I need to go upstair to third floor without lift if I need to go out. This place is in city centre and near durham bus station and railway station!! Also, there is three bus station opposite to the accommodation

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member744252 On 5th December 19

The layout of the room is comfortable, the price is good, the location is excellent, and daily life is very convenient.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.3 /5
By member1044251 On 5th December 19

Good Experience,Good Location, However,too many room views. I am used to sleep late. Every time when I was sleeping, I was disturbed by knocking the door. I feel quiet dissatisfied about that. That will effect my sleep quality. Moreover, the lifts are often smelly. The rubbish bins are often full. Overall, a nice place for me.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member1144249 On 5th December 19

Good experience and meet your demands. This is a great choice to you.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.3 /5
By member844247 On 5th December 19

Nice place, very expensive, WiFi been terrible this past month. Social spaces could be improved. Just look at student castle and compare.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1344246 On 5th December 19

Dun Holm House is a place with great location and thoughtful staffs. Excellent choice for students.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member1044245 On 5th December 19

it is so great, but the E black is so far from the reception

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.1 /5
By member944244 On 5th December 19

See if Student Castle has any spaces first. It's better prices for a nicer accommodation. Also, the floors in the Dun Holm kitchen and flat common area are a nightmare to maintain.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member1040720 On 25th July 19

Great management, very responsible team, great location and cozy room. Only problem is the construction didnt finish by the start of our tenancy as promised so it was a bit noisy. Also the request for access of the room is a bit too often.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member740703 On 24th July 19

I personally had a great year having met our very nice and friendly management team whose efforts to sort out the issues and problems were highly appreciated and look forward to a better year ahead.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.1 /5
By member840699 On 24th July 19

It's not really worth the amount- but it is good i guess. The staff are nice and supportive.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.1 /5
By member439863 On 22nd June 19

Charges a bit too much for what it is, was unfinished at the start of the year, but well managed and staff were all friendly

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 30th June 19

Student Review: 3.7 /5
By member1039796 On 19th June 19

Potential to be a really good student accomodation experience, however the ongoing building work and poor WiFi is a considerable let down for the money paid. On the plus side, the entire management team really make Dun Holm a pleasant place to come home to after a long day at uni.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 20th June 19

Student Review: 1.3 /5
By member439791 On 19th June 19

Absolutely appalling. We were sold a tenancy that we were not given. Constant building disruption and disturbances from staff. An unfinished site, staff who bat off responsibility and senior management who need to go under urgent review. I feel absolutely violated as a tenant and am well aware of my rights and how they’ve been breached. Fresh Student Living should be ashamed.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 20th June 19

Student Review: 4.4 /5
By member939591 On 19th June 19

Dun Holm is well managed by Lynne and Michelle. They have successfully turned the building into a great place to hang out with your friends and meet new people.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Dun Holm House On 19th June 19

Considering Dun Holm House?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.