StudentCrowd-RGB-LongCreated with Sketch. Helping students make decisions SEARCH SIGN IN Write a Review

How do you rate Capital House?

credit: https://s3.eu-west-2.amazonaws.com/assets.crm-students.com/2019/01/Capital-House-Southampton-Student-Accommodation-Courtyard-2.jpg
 image credit  |   report abuse
https://s3.eu-west-2.amazonaws.com/assets.crm-students.com/2019/01/Capital-House-Southampton-Student-Accommodation-Courtyard-2.jpg

Most helpful review

I live in a premium studio and my friend lives in the en-suite room. Both our rooms are spacious and there is under bed storage and the floors are wooden. I found carpet rooms a lot harder to keep clean! The shower cubical is a decent size and the shower pressure is amazing. Compared to other student accommodation I have seen, they utilise the space in the bathroom well, so I can keep my skincare and makeup on the shelf which is useful. The social area is fun with table tennis and a Poole table. The study area is comfortable, good lighting and large. It is great to have a great study area as you can take small breaks and get snacks easily from your room. When you are in the library, you are unable to do this. The staff from the security, receptionist and cleaners are all friendly and kind. Collecting parcels are easy and stored safely. A big bonus is the location! There is a park close by and I would recommend Cafe Thrive as a place to eat if you live here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By Kimiko Maria B
On 19th May 21
verified Verified student

Southampton Hall Rankings


Austen House #8
Park House #9
Orion Point #10
Lucia Foster Welch #11
Capital House #12
Crescent Place #13
Deanery Student Residence #14
Mayflower Halls #15
Kimber Student Residence #16
Wessex Lane Complex #17

All Student Accommodation in Southampton


Southampton Student Accommodation


Most helpful review

I live in a premium studio and my friend lives in the en-suite room. Both our rooms are spacious and there is under bed storage and the floors are wooden. I found carpet rooms a lot harder to keep clean! The shower cubical is a decent size and the shower pressure is amazing. Compared to other student accommodation I have seen, they utilise the space in the bathroom well, so I can keep my skincare and makeup on the shelf which is useful. The social area is fun with table tennis and a Poole table. The study area is comfortable, good lighting and large. It is great to have a great study area as you can take small breaks and get snacks easily from your room. When you are in the library, you are unable to do this. The staff from the security, receptionist and cleaners are all friendly and kind. Collecting parcels are easy and stored safely. A big bonus is the location! There is a park close by and I would recommend Cafe Thrive as a place to eat if you live here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By Kimiko Maria B
On 19th May 21
verified Verified student

Q&A


Q

Ask a new question about Capital House

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Capital House Reviews


Student Review: 2.6 /5
By member1165794 On 29th January 22 verified Verified student

The accommodation attracts by its look as it is all new and the rooms are quite nice as well as social spaces, however, the staff is extremely unhelpful and it sometimes feels even little unsafe as the security just minds their own business most of the time. No social activities, we had one only on Christmas. Wouldnt recommend to a friend.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member860936 On 14th July 21 verified Verified student

Is a good location and has good sized rooms and social areas

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 15th July 21

Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member760730 On 5th July 21 verified Verified student

Lonely modern building. Loads of social spaces and study spaces, feels really homely. WiFi is not the best, drops out frequently

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 6th July 21

Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member460361 On 20th June 21 verified Verified student

Capital house is exactly what I look for in student accommodation. It's close enough to my university and the high street. It is also nicely kept by competent cleaners and the administrators and security are all switched on and polite. My only real Complaint is the combination microwave oven that we get as It's panel is a bit hard to use. Thankfully though there is a an excellently equipped room with a good kitchen and dining facilities that can be booked out for get togethers and the like.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 21st June 21

Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member1160239 On 17th June 21 verified Verified student

Great accommodation and very close to city centre. Staff were great too!!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 17th June 21

Student Review: 4.4 /5
By member1060238 On 17th June 21 verified Verified student

I’ve really enjoyed my time here. The location is very convenient and the services and space provided were very good.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 17th June 21

Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member1160187 On 16th June 21 verified Verified student

Good quality for money overall. The double beds are really nice and the ensuite showers are strong. Cleaning service is not included which feels like it should be for the amount you pay, but there are services available (if willing). Due to Covid, the use of social spaces wasn’t allowed but they seem good. The gym has quite basic equipment, useful if you want a little workout. Great location to the town centre and Solent University. Overall, I was happy with my choice to live here but would only recommend once restrictions are over as there is a lot you pay for that couldn’t be used.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 17th June 21

Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member1060064 On 13th June 21 verified Verified student

Capital Gate is a great property! The location is great as a nursing student and the staff are super friendly and helpful. The rooms are really nice and modern too.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 14th June 21

Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member1359717 On 8th June 21 verified Verified student

Lovely reception staff very friendly and helpful

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 14th June 21

Student Review: 5 /5
By member459660 On 7th June 21 verified Verified student

Amazing everything is really well

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 14th June 21

Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member1358322 On 20th May 21 verified Verified student

The building is really well kept, only a short walk from the city centre and all staff have been really lovely and accommodating.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 20th May 21

Student Review: 5 /5
By member658264 On 19th May 21 verified Verified student

Great place to live and reception staff are really helpful! :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 20th May 21

Student Review: 5 /5
By Kimiko Maria B On 19th May 21 verified Verified student

I live in a premium studio and my friend lives in the en-suite room. Both our rooms are spacious and there is under bed storage and the floors are wooden. I found carpet rooms a lot harder to keep clean! The shower cubical is a decent size and the shower pressure is amazing. Compared to other student accommodation I have seen, they utilise the space in the bathroom well, so I can keep my skincare and makeup on the shelf which is useful. The social area is fun with table tennis and a Poole table. The study area is comfortable, good lighting and large. It is great to have a great study area as you can take small breaks and get snacks easily from your room. When you are in the library, you are unable to do this. The staff from the security, receptionist and cleaners are all friendly and kind. Collecting parcels are easy and stored safely. A big bonus is the location! There is a park close by and I would recommend Cafe Thrive as a place to eat if you live here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 20th May 21

Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member658229 On 19th May 21 verified Verified student

Thoroughly enjoyed my time staying here, very friendly staff, easily approachable. Good value for money, would recommend capital house to stay as a student.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 19th May 21

Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member1158202 On 19th May 21 verified Verified student

This is my first year staying at capital and the receptionist are amazing. They’ve made my stay feel welcome. And I’m so excited to stay here again next year.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 19th May 21

Student Review: 5 /5
By member758052 On 17th May 21 verified Verified student

lovely place to live, feel very safe living here, reception team are wonderful

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 18th May 21

Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member458024 On 17th May 21 verified Verified student

Such lovely staff at reception that care for the individual people in the accommodation, communal areas are always spotless and is a safe environment to be living in!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 18th May 21

Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member958023 On 17th May 21 verified Verified student

Absolutely love my room and it's easy to go to the shops as they are really close!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 18th May 21

Student Review: 1.3 /5
By member457067 On 28th April 21 verified Verified student

Wouldn’t recommend, your promised a lot of things in terms of a cinema room which has been broken the whole year study room which has been closed the whole year but your still paying for these facilities. staff don’t care and security are rude and aggressive. For the amount your paying it’s not worth it better off staying at Vita Student Accommodation better value for money and can use ALL the facilities that You pay for!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 28th April 21

Student Review: 1.9 /5
By member1348272 On 15th May 20

Very poor management and staff do not respect with international students. It was hard to contact with staff through e-mail because they do not reply the thing that I would like to ask. And they normally do not take any response to help me.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 28th April 21

Student Review: 2.1 /5
By member737146 On 17th April 19

This place does not know how to run a STUDENT accommodation. No1, the only good thing about the accommodation is how nice the rooms are and I can’t stress this enough, that is it. The management here isn’t great at all, they work against you rather than with you. They also came up with a £500 payment that was supposed to be paid, without any knowledge of it until 4 days before moving in, and stated they wouldn’t give me the keys until I had paid this. Even though I paid the deposit 6 months earlier and could’ve paid this £500 then when I had the money. They also advertised this accommodations stating “no hidden fees” so if your planning to move here make sure you have money for these unannounced payments. Payments for accommodation fall in line 2-3 weeks before you get your student loans so they can give out fines for late repayments to maximise profit (as most of the rooms are not occupied).

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Capital House On 30th April 21

Considering Capital House?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Looking for Student Accommodation in UK?

Explore from 500,000+ rooms on UniAcco, an award-winning Cross-Border student housing provider.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.