StudentCrowd-RGB-LongCreated with Sketch. Helping students make decisions SEARCH ARTICLES SIGN IN Write a Review
3.97 / 5
3.97 / 5

How do you rate Central Place?

credit: https://www.studentroost.co.uk/locations/sheffield/central-place
 image credit  |   report abuse
https://www.studentroost.co.uk/locations/sheffield/central-place

Most helpful review

I got a really clean and sweet accommodation with all the facilities, like electricity, water, wifi and toaster, oven, microwave and refrigerator. and they have a spacious Common room with Pool, PS5 and other indoor game, they have a fitness room as well I'm enjoying my time here. Central Place is value for money and great to shift here. i even got a free breakfast on my first day of University, they organised various events every month, like basketball tournament, pool tournament, and PS5. Absolutely no word to describe the greatness, of the accommodation.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By Navedkhan07
On 15th January 24
verified Verified student
Read all reviews

Sheffield Hall Rankings


LIV Student Sheffield #27
Charlotte Court #28
Truro Sheffield #29
Redvers Tower #30
Central Place #31
COSMOS #32
Sheffield 3 #33
The Moor #34
St Vincent's Place #35
Exchange Works #36

*Minimum 10 reviews required to be ranked.


Most helpful review

I got a really clean and sweet accommodation with all the facilities, like electricity, water, wifi and toaster, oven, microwave and refrigerator. and they have a spacious Common room with Pool, PS5 and other indoor game, they have a fitness room as well I'm enjoying my time here. Central Place is value for money and great to shift here. i even got a free breakfast on my first day of University, they organised various events every month, like basketball tournament, pool tournament, and PS5. Absolutely no word to describe the greatness, of the accommodation.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By Navedkhan07
On 15th January 24
verified Verified student
Read all reviews

Q&A


Q
Hi, i would like to see more about sheffield 2 room types, where can i see this? And do you have 360 virtual tour? Thanks
By member539361 On 14th June 19
Q
is this catered accommodation?
By member933664 On 28th August 18
Q
How much cost a Studio Flat please?
By member1032403 On 15th June 18
Q
I cannot find this hall on the Sheffield Hallam halls website. Does it have another name?
By member1029519 On 2nd January 18
Q

Ask a new question about Central Place

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Central Place Reviews


Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member11107549 On 27th April 24 verified Verified student

An overall good experience, regarding cleanliness, space and maintenance. I especially like the fast response from management when there are issues (appliances, electrical, etc), which are unavoidable of course, but the fast response helps quite a lot.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 30th April 24

Student Review: 5 /5
By member9102318 On 27th February 24 verified Verified student

Jonah, Harry, Matt, Adam, are the best night staff ever. Helped at all times whenever I needed. Always present at the reception except for when they need to go for their rounds.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 28th February 24

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1199212 On 5th February 24 verified Verified student

i would recommend it the other student

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 7th February 24

Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member1197870 On 23rd January 24 verified Verified student

I appreciate the proximity of the accommodation to both the university and city center. The rent is reasonable, reflecting the quality and value provided. The social experience has been enjoyable, and the service received from Currar has been exceptionally nice and friendly. Overall, a positive living experience. Thanks x.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 26th January 24

Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member697699 On 20th January 24 verified Verified student

I am very happy here. The staffs are all very friendly and helpful. Shout out to Adan, matt and ahmed. Best staff among all. :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 22nd January 24

Student Review: 2 /5
By member597698 On 20th January 24 verified Verified student

Ever since the management team is changed from Summer 2023, they have been very slow with replying to emails for general and maintenance purposes. Simple issues such as door lock that is not functioning, missing kettle and no hot water are still not resolved even after months of moving in (4 months to date now). Emailed and called multiple times but the maintenance team never came and the issues never got resolved. They are very proactive with asking for rent payment though! Would 100% *not recommend* anyone to stay here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 22nd January 24

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1397457 On 17th January 24 verified Verified student

Its amazing... Amazing staffing and lovely experience. Curran very friendly and helpful... And just like the other staff.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 18th January 24

Student Review: 4 /5
By member597228 On 15th January 24 verified Verified student

Reception are always there to help, it's great living near uni

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 16th January 24

Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member797158 On 15th January 24 verified Verified student

I have really enjoyed my time at student roost. It's been my home away from home! Whenever I needed help regardless of anything, the receptionists have been very helpful and student friendly. And I really appreciate their help.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 15th January 24

Student Review: 5 /5
By Navedkhan07 On 15th January 24 verified Verified student

I got a really clean and sweet accommodation with all the facilities, like electricity, water, wifi and toaster, oven, microwave and refrigerator. and they have a spacious Common room with Pool, PS5 and other indoor game, they have a fitness room as well I'm enjoying my time here. Central Place is value for money and great to shift here. i even got a free breakfast on my first day of University, they organised various events every month, like basketball tournament, pool tournament, and PS5. Absolutely no word to describe the greatness, of the accommodation.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 16th January 24

Student Review: 5 /5
By member997143 On 14th January 24 verified Verified student

Amazing place with amazing staff and up and at em by a call

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 15th January 24

Student Review: 4.1 /5
By member497142 On 14th January 24 verified Verified student

My time at Central Place has been positive overall. Despite a few minor issues, it's a fantastic place to stay. The CP team, especially individuals like Matthew, Curran, Lillee, and Maddy, have been incredibly helpful, making it feel like home. I would definitely recommend it.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 15th January 24

Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member697141 On 14th January 24 verified Verified student

Friendly and fun staff and good community especially Matt, Curren and Alan

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 15th January 24

Student Review: 3.6 /5
By member797055 On 12th January 24 verified Verified student

Lovely reception team. Maintenance top notch!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 15th January 24

Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member1096922 On 10th January 24 verified Verified student

Great value for money as student accommodation. The rooms are spacious and come with the necessities to start uni life. The buildings are always clean and tidy too. The people living in the same building are always friendly and the staff are also very friendly and helpful. The maintenance staff are super friendly and efficient, any issues get solved really quickly and everyone does their best to help you out. In great proximity to the universities within the city centre, and very close to the trams too for travel out of town. Couldn’t recommend central place enough, there’s always something on to get involved in and meet new people!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 15th January 24

Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member1296867 On 9th January 24 verified Verified student

Socially amazing great staff great social space great vibes, locks on many room doors don’t work, maintenance are a bit slow at fixing things and you have to chase it up with reception for a week when something breaks but location is worth it and things only break once or twice all year. Would recommend.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 9th January 24

Student Review: 3 /5
By member873513 On 26th November 23 verified Verified student

My 2nd yr living in Central Place & will stay for 3rd yr. When you book a room, feel free to use referral code RAF652248 Good: Location. How the room looks. Noise isolation is relatively good. 24/7 parcel collection, no missed delivery Bad: Maintenance issue fix can be slow. A few staff are sweet but some don't care (dismiss emails) / inefficient -- had to be assertive & proactive. Was hugely misinformed abt council tax payment & got wrong flat assignment before -- double-check helps Hmm: -Social event: yes but poorly advertised. Small social space -Flats are distributed across many diff buildings so residents' experience can vary. Road-facing flats prob are noisier -Poor mobile data signal in my room but good free wifi -I find that flatmates' behaviours matter more than anythg here. It made my last year's stay so comfortable but this year's so stressful. If you're OK with Bronze + room & looking for a quiet & clean female flatmate in 2024/25, pls contact me on insta (y.enn.97), thx

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member694367 On 31st October 23 verified Verified student

This place has been very helpful during my stay here. The night staff especially do everything that is possible to make our stay good. Few people who have helped me a lot are Matthew and Adan.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member892907 On 19th October 23 verified Verified student

People like Adam and especially Matthew make this place feel like you are crashing at a friends place and you immediately feel at home. Social places and social experience 10/10!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1092905 On 19th October 23 verified Verified student

Best location for students. It's safe at night and Tesco is right in the corner.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member492904 On 19th October 23 verified Verified student

Perfect, amazing, good, nice, funny thanks to Matthew

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2 /5
By member579247 On 22nd February 23 verified Verified student

Been here for 2 year was amazing since xmas 2022 and new management and some staff there is a strange atmosphere when i go into reception, sarcastic new manager and new receptionists could organise a p*** up in a brewery to be honest. Lucky to get hot water 7 days a week, contractors turn up unannounced without notice, losing water and electric which no compensation or apology. However any repairs done for me by the on site repair staff throughout the 2 years have been top notch and friendly. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND TO REBOOK OR IF YOU ARE A FIRST YEAR UNDER THIS NEW MANAGEMENT

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member873513 On 21st November 22 verified Verified student

I am a current resident and have felt satisfied with my stay here, so will be extending my tenancy for 2023-24, feel free to ask me accommodation questions on Instagram (y.enn.97) and use my referral code: RAF652248 when you make your application. To me, Central Place has the best location of the many student flats I have surveyed in Sheffield - it's close to Tesco Express (just downstairs from my flat), libraries and my campus building, not too far from eateries and other cheaper groceries stores too. Also, I much prefer carpeted floor in the room because it is warmer and dampens any noise. I found that Central Place is the only one that has carpeted floor around this rental price range. The noise isolation is decent, I don't really hear my flatmates, but I do get noises from corridor and outside from time to time since my window faces the backyard. The furniture is not of the best build - I guess you get what you pay for, but room storage space has been well sufficient for me

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.3 /5
By member1272892 On 30th October 22 verified Verified student

I had good time at central place but they were slow in acting to concerns esp maintenance.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member1272360 On 12th October 22 verified Verified student

Great value for money but lack common spaces

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 1.3 /5
By member461685 On 13th August 21 verified Verified student

FOR ALL PEOPLE COMING FROM INDIA: As a lot of people have already suggested, this place is really not worth staying at! All they want is your money and they will go to any extent to ruin your happiness. They don't really care about Pandemics or students concerns. A place with EXTREME levels of miscommunication, chaos and makeshift interiors! Having stayed in another company's accommodation last year, I know what a good accommodation experience feels like. But this place is simply the worst experience I've ever had! Please do yourself a favour and do not stay here!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 2.4 /5
By member761196 On 21st July 21 verified Verified student

I chose Central Place for my university accommodation. The location is central and very close to the University of Sheffield. However, the property is not in good shape. I could have found better accommodation at the same price. Living in the property was so unbearable, so I decided to shift to Sheffield 3, their other property. But that is a disappointment as well, as the property indoor stays so hot during summer, and they don't even let you open the windows. I am currently using 2 fans and am still, very dissatisfied with the room temperature.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.3 /5
By member561094 On 20th July 21 verified Verified student

I suppose the last year with covid didn't help but my biggest summary is this isn't really great for anyone going into 1st year if your looking for the great uni experience, don't get me wrong I've loved every second and enjoyed the convenience of the tesco downstairs and it was nice having the balcony

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1359933 On 10th June 21 verified Verified student

Not only are the flats designed nicely, clean and in a good area, but the staff here are all very friendly and helpful. It has been a brilliant experience living here and I highly recommend it.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member559847 On 10th June 21 verified Verified student

The location is great. It is very near with university of sheffield and city center. They have tesco express right under the building make it everything easier for me to find food and daily needs. It would be great if they provided the weekly cleaning service even though there will be an additional payment. The maintenance team are great. I just reported the room problem to the reception and they are very responsive. ASK4 wifi service broadband is fast connection. It supports me for my Ph.D study even when I must work from home during this pandemic covid-19 time. They gave me room price discount due to this condition. The price of the room needs to be reviewed and I think we need fitness facilities, not a fancy facilities but just simple, for example treadmill or static bike. Many thanks for the service you've given to us.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.7 /5
By member457566 On 11th May 21 verified Verified student

I live here and have also booked for next year. This place is a great mix of stuff that every student needs. First of all, the rooms are quite good. The prices of specific room types change every year but they seem worth it. The location of this building has the most advantages I must say. The uni is just 10 mins from here, a Tesco downstairs (less time wasted shopping). The main street (west street) is again 10 mins away. Not much vehicles come here, so it's pretty quite, good for studying I am an international student so when I booked it before coming to the UK, it was like a leap of faith. But it turned out to be really good. The uni accommodation is far costlier than this one. And the ranmoor/endcliffe accoms are really far (20-25 mins by walk). In conclusion, it's a good accommodation I wanted to say a lot more but there word limit. Dm me on insta: sa.cruzado . I will surely try my best to help y'all.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 1 /5
By member1048556 On 21st May 20 verified Verified student

Bad service!! Do not stay here! Firstly, pictures they put online are not accurate. They only nicely furnish one display room to make people think it is a nice place. When I stayed there it so much worse than I expected it to be. VERY DIRTY and amenities are poorly maintained. Secondly, online support is so slowly and unhelpful. Have to send multiple emails to get my message across. Most of all, in light of the pandemic, they were unsympathetic towards needy people with extenuating circumstances. Blood suckers they are. You can do so much better in other accommodation companies.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 24th May 20

Student Review: 4.3 /5
By member1043769 On 18th November 19 verified Verified student

I’m first year at uni and I booked a room in halls, there were plumbing issues and Student roost team were very helpful, moved me to a new place down the road and everything is great, haven’t had any issues since. The maintenance team sorts out anything that’s needed - mattresses, kitchen appliances. Overall I’m very happy with my place and having a great experience.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.9 /5
By EEEstudentSheffield On 16th November 19 verified Verified student

The location of sheffield 2 is so good. Around 5 min from the diamond, north campus and mappin building. The maintenance team is quite good and are keen to fix any issues. The 24 hr reception is really great especially in terms of the parcel collection. Tesco is like 2 min away. The tram stop is 7 min away and the city centre is 10 min away walking distance.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1243672 On 15th November 19 verified Verified student

The team is really friendly and helping.. everything is managed in a professional way!!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 18th November 19

Student Review: 3.7 /5
By member543669 On 15th November 19 verified Verified student

There is always a friendly face at reception desk to help us out . They Keep organising tea party and quiz night with free pizza . They try and address any issues regarding maintenance as soon as possible... over all i will give the place 4/5 ...,

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 18th November 19

Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member1143623 On 15th November 19 verified Verified student

Close to the uni. Kitchen cleans would have been great but they no longer offer. Love the study room.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 15th November 19

Student Review: 1.3 /5
By member443404 On 10th November 19 verified Verified student

unfortunately the (new) good reviews on this accommodation are obviously and clearly fake (most likely written by staff). you should trust all the low reviews. it’s a horrible experience with terrible service and no hygiene and cleaning (even though you’re promised a clean area before you move in, you’ll move in to find filth everywhere and then you’ll have to clean it yourself because they’ll never come). their contract is rubbish and misleading and false. spend your money wisely and live in a better place nearby, since the only good thing about this place is the location. receptionists and maintenance team are nice sometimes but at what cost

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 15th November 19

Student Review: 2.6 /5
By member943393 On 9th November 19 verified Verified student

Receptionists are rude, especially to international students. Whenever I have a complaint about the state of my room, they don't come unless you call/pop down the reception atleast 3 times. Used to be affordable with £99/week, considering the state of the rooms& kitchens and service from receptionists, this was worth it. Common room is horrible and too stuffy, layout is bad, whenever there's events, there's no places to sit.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 15th November 19

Student Review: 2.3 /5
By member1143386 On 9th November 19 verified Verified student

I live in solly house, I am still getting used to it, it has its benefits but it was not what I expected. The photos on the webpage are completely different. The houses are really old, but the kitchen has just been renovated. I am happy about the laundry in solly house, since it is free. But whenever I have a problem I have to tell them at least 3 times for them to fix it, you have to insist a lot, which is really annoying. Also my contract said it included cleaning, but apparently they are not doing this anymore. It is not that bad but I definitely wouldn´t stay for another year.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 15th November 19

Student Review: 2.7 /5
By member543383 On 9th November 19 verified Verified student

Worst managed student accommodation ever. The management team is extremely incompetent at solving issues. My flatmates and I were promised early bird discounts and we are still yet to receive them. Although we have been making complaints on this matter since the day we moved in, our issue was never settled, which is making us feel like we have been cheated. My flatmates and I were allocated to different flats when we especially asked to stay together when we applied for the accommodation. We had to argue with the management to settle this issue because their incompetent hands messed up the applications. The laundry room is also disappointing. The machines only accept cash with no change given. They even charge you a lot more than machines at other accommodations which allow you to use a convenient laundry card. The dryers are so hot they literally burn your clothing, sometimes you can even smell some smoke! Although the wifi speed is decent, it is frequently unstable.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 15th November 19

Student Review: 1.4 /5
By Leo_CHL On 9th November 19 verified Verified student

The maintenance team is completely rubbish. My fob didn't work for 3 weeks, and I had to keep my room door unlocked during this period. Plus, we all have experienced no hot water for more than a week and there was no compensation. Water has been leaking from shower and windows since I moved in, and it has never been fixed. Finally, the water leaking problem causes a big patch of mould and the maintenance refused to fix. After I reported for couple times, the maintenance team came and just broke the wall and left a hole on the wall.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 15th November 19

Student Review: 1.9 /5
By member1043371 On 9th November 19 verified Verified student

My whole experience with Sheffield 2 has been awful from the start. On moving day we realised the flat didn’t have the finish we were assured it would and had not been cleaned since the last tenant with filth everywhere, in fact on moving day the maintenance team told myself and my mother details of the previous tenants sex life which did not go down well. We’ve had non stop issues with mould and no maintenance work being carried out and so many issues I can’t even go into detail because this would be pages long. The reception staff can be very rude when you ask for basic maintenance to be taken out and it takes up to two months. The manager is about the only person who genuinely wants to make your time there a good stay and the only member of staff I can’t actually fault

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 15th November 19

Student Review: 3.1 /5
By member743362 On 9th November 19 verified Verified student

The location is near the university, which is quite convenient. However, we are not served for cleaning once two weeks and the wifi equipment is always unconnected.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 15th November 19

Student Review: 2 /5
By member643360 On 9th November 19 verified Verified student

Terrible choice. The management unable to solve any problems, giving fake promises. Maintenance team is straight on rude.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 15th November 19

Student Review: 5 /5
By member735570 On 24th January 19 verified Verified student

Amazing place to live, 2 minute walk to the university. Tesco within the building.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Central Place On 15th November 19

Student Review: 2.7 /5
By Haydn On 1st August 18 verified Verified student

The reception is totally irresponsible, they do not solve problems for students. Simply by telling us to contact the company circuit ourselves to fix the washing machines while they are sitting around and chatting with others!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By shefstudent331 On 26th December 17 verified Verified student

Great halls, good value for money and a decent size.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 3.9 /5
By member1128044 On 3rd September 17 verified Verified student

All the staff who work here are friendly and helpful. Security are always quick to come if you lock yourselves out and most faults are dealt with quickly (although this is not always the case unfortunately). There are two common rooms and they are in good condition. The office can accept deliveries for you. The location is great and central. It's not perfect, some of the appliances are old and don't always work very well but overall I would recommend Sheffield 2.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1327075 On 26th July 17 verified Verified student

Brilliant are brilliant. The location is ideal

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member727063 On 25th July 17 verified Verified student

Good price, excellent location! - Very close to the university/library. Superb!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member926937 On 6th July 17 verified Verified student

Great accommodation, had the time of my life

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.9 /5
By Jen On 28th June 17 verified Verified student

Good price, excellent location! - Very close to the university/library, also close to a Tesco Express which is incredibly convenient! Also great social events have been held, variation of rooms so you're bound to find a room/flat type to suit you. :) Would definitely stay here again given the opportunity!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1226893 On 28th June 17 verified Verified student

Solly House - I stayed there for a few years whilst I was at The University of Sheffield - great location, great price, big rooms and a great service by the on site management team! Highly recommended.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member826869 On 24th June 17 verified Verified student

Great location, great staff, everything kept in good order. Top jokes had by all

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.9 /5
By member1326870 On 24th June 17 verified Verified student

Two very enthusiastic thumbs up.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1326868 On 23rd June 17 verified Verified student

Great location, loads of stuff going on. The staff are so friendly. I cant believe how cheap it is to live here

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member726867 On 23rd June 17 verified Verified student

Excellent halls, kept very clean, great vibe. Everyone is extremely helpful. Love this place.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member926866 On 23rd June 17 verified Verified student

Great place to live, so cheap compared to competitors, loads of social stuff going on and the staff are really friendly

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member1026865 On 23rd June 17 verified Verified student

Look no further, this is the place to be! Great price, great location, excellent staff and service! Very close to the Sheffield University and the Sheffield Town Center and you can walk to these locations within a couple of minutes. Rooms are a good size and well presented and the location is safe and secure with 24hr staff coverage and CCTV throughout.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By member726702 On 5th June 17 verified Verified student

Sheffield 2 is definitely one of the best student accommodations, at a great value. At £135pw for a one bedroom apartment, the price is significant cheaper than competitors, yet the service provided is still wonderful. The apartment is incredibly spacious , with a great layout. The service is brilliant, all faults reported are attended to ASAP, and if they require an external contractor to do the work, you will be informed regarding the delay. It was overall, a wonderful student living experience.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.6 /5
By member826701 On 5th June 17 verified Verified student

Sheffield 2 provides all the basic needs that a student can ask for. Good location, cheaper price than most competitors, bills included, good management team. Good price overall for what it offers.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4 /5
By Member1402 On 2nd June 17 verified Verified student

Social services is great, didn't expect it to be that way when I moved here. Heard that it wasn't this way last year so that definitely meant they considered previous suggestions and surveys. So keep it up! :)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 4.1 /5
By member426683 On 2nd June 17 verified Verified student

Sheffield 2 definitely has one of the best social lives ! Facilities are great as well!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Student Review: 5 /5
By sklim On 2nd June 17 verified Verified student

Amazing!! Best in Sheffield I would say!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Considering Central Place?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.