2.48 / 5

McMillan Student Village Reviews

12 Reviews by Students

How do you rate McMillan Student Village?

credit: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/92/Mcmillan_Student_Village_Deptford.jpg
 image credit  |   report abuse
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/92/Mcmillan_Student_Village_Deptford.jpg

Most helpful review

Good location(less than 10 min walk to school) Nice price(check official website) However noise is a critical problem for student living in the student village. Worst case i experience was rock band practice held inside the kitchen during 01:00 AM. Yes, i mean AM. Furthermore, because McMillian is a student village mainly provide for year 1 student, don't expect they'll have enough common scene. There were multiple case that student put eggs into microwave and causing explosion or fire.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1031780
On 29th May 18

StudentCrowd Hall Rankings


Devonport House #1
Cutty Sark Hall #2
Daniel Defoe Hall #3
McMillan Student Village #4
Seymour Court #5

See full league table...

All Student Accommodation in London


Join StudentCrowd, Like us on Facebook


Most helpful review

Good location(less than 10 min walk to school) Nice price(check official website) However noise is a critical problem for student living in the student village. Worst case i experience was rock band practice held inside the kitchen during 01:00 AM. Yes, i mean AM. Furthermore, because McMillian is a student village mainly provide for year 1 student, don't expect they'll have enough common scene. There were multiple case that student put eggs into microwave and causing explosion or fire.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1031780
On 29th May 18

McMillan Student Village Information

Telephone020 8331 8000
PostcodeSE8 3BW
Price from£198.00 per week (subject to availability)
FeaturesBike storage, library study area, cctv


Q&A


Q

Ask a new question about McMillan Student Village

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read McMillan Student Village Reviews


0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 15th November 18

Hardly ever hot water, complaints take weeks to be fixed/ acknowledged, staff have a 'im better then you' feel, wifi is awful. the cleaning staff however are very nice and do an amazing job

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from McMillan Student Village
On 16th November 18

Hi, thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience whilst staying with us, please be assured that your comments will be passed on to our team. Altohugh, if you would like to discuss this issue further, please email us at communications@clvuk.com 


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 23rd July 18

Tiny, broken vacuums, laundry that will destroy every single cloth you have and super expensive for what they offer. Their rooms leak, are broken and when I first arrives it was as filthy as a trash machine.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from McMillan Student Village
On 17th September 18

Hi there thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry to hear that your room was not of a satisfactory standard when you arrived. Did you report the issue at all? Keeping the rooms to a high standard is important to us, so we will make sure to circulate this feedback with the team.


3
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 29th May 18

Good location(less than 10 min walk to school) Nice price(check official website) However noise is a critical problem for student living in the student village. Worst case i experience was rock band practice held inside the kitchen during 01:00 AM. Yes, i mean AM. Furthermore, because McMillian is a student village mainly provide for year 1 student, don't expect they'll have enough common scene. There were multiple case that student put eggs into microwave and causing explosion or fire.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from McMillan Student Village
On 17th September 18

Thank you for your review we really appreciate your feedback. Yes the location of the property is really convenient only a 15-minute walk from the University of Greenwich. We are very sorry to hear that you struggled with noise. To ensure that students have a pleasant stay at our McMillan Student Village, we encourage residents to report any noise complaints to the village reception or to security. This way, our team can deal with the issue as effectively as possible.


1
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 3rd December 17

COMPLETE WASTE OF MONEY! do not bother paying for this Accommodation. Rooms are inadequate , cleaning is rarely done properly . Maintenance requests take over a week-2 weeks to be sorted . The staff on McMillan reception are EXTREMELY rude (very bad attitudes!) and unhelpful ; some speak very poor English which doesn’t help. The mail receiving system is a complete failure of a system often resulting in lost mail . The WiFi is very slow and cuts out rather frequently . The bathroom is a ridiculous size and the water floods the entire floor after showering , a recipe for accidents! The kitchen fridge is about big enough for one person with a very small appetite! Inadequate for six people! The boiler is often switched off, meaning freezing cold showers! The cluster flats feel isolated due to no social area except the poorly maintained kitchen. The lifts often break the alarm goes off at least three times a week.Only half of the washing machines work, so be prepared to waste a lot of Daz!

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from McMillan Student Village
On 17th September 18

Hi there we are really sorry that you did not enjoy your time at McMillian Student Village. Please contact communications@clvuk.com so that we can discuss the issues you had further. We take your feedback very seriously.


1
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 24th July 17

This was honestly the worst year of my life. The rooms are all dirty and bashed up (completely not worth the £198.50 a week they charge). When complaints were made to staff absolutely nothing was done and I was made to feel like my requests were ridiculous and stupid. Repairs can be requested but don't expect them to be carried out - it took them 7 months to fix my kitchen tap. Noise is ridiculous and when you call security to complain they don't answer. I didn't live there for a large portion of the last term because things got ridiculously stupid and it wasn't worth the lack of sleep/study power in the end! Don't stay here.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 16th September 16

The room was filthy, the carpet had dried food and juices everywhere, the walls were dirty and the windows open only 10 cm and fresh air cannot come in or the house to dry up if you use water and soap (expl. Clean the bathroom, dry clothes). The management was helful but not that willing to resolve issues such as (in my room) the toilet paper hanger was broken and after complaining to the management im still waiting for it to be fixed by itself.... it is unacceptable to pay 750-800€ per month for this.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 15th April 16

Do not choose these halls, I have had the worst year of my life here. The showers do not work, the internet does not work, the staff constantly break the rules by entering rooms without prior notice, about half of the washing machines work at any given time, it is MEGA EXPENSIVE compared with the alternatives.... I could go on but you probably already get the picture.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 8th November 15

Have to pay for the wifi, which is rubbish if you have friends over as they can't just log in. There are some issues with maintenance

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 13th October 15

It is a little bite damaged and noisy (street side). But it is a very good flat at London...

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 22nd September 15

I really like my room and the kitchen, the shower is great (when there is hot water running) I was however disappointed that whenever I need to use the internet (for research or for browsing) that I have to sit on my desk because it's a wired connection rather than WiFi. Socially, it depends on what kind of a person you are, there are a lot of people here who already have friends and I was placed with second and third years and without knowing anyone and being the type of person who is not an extrovert nor an introvert being in large crowds of people, socialising and trying to make friends without reason (just introducing myself randomly) is something that does not come naturally - however if there was a specific reason for the social activity (a event where you are required to sit down and talk to people one on one) I find much easier, no events at the halls have been put on like this

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 18th August 15

fire alarm would go off all night, very noisy and often the hot water would not work. Post also got lost a lot. good thinks are the rooms are a good size and you get your own loo. its standard for london accomodation but if you share with friends you could get a much nicer flat or house for the same price. There is a social space to meet people are regular events if you feel like making new friends. all in all its fine for first year but could be better.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Considering McMillan Student Village?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to vote, comment, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.