3.09 / 5

Burley Road Reviews

29 Reviews by Students

How do you rate Burley Road?

credit: http://www.leedsbeckett.ac.uk/accommodation/leeds-student-village.htm
 image credit  |   report abuse
http://www.leedsbeckett.ac.uk/accommodation/leeds-student-village.htm

Most helpful review

Nice place to live, but be warned payment dates are not the same as student finance payments so unless you have access to bank of mum and dad or simply rich be prepared to loose your room if you cannot pay the thousands of pounds of payments without your loan. They don’t take into account that some people are attending uni to better their and their families lives and are possibly leaving very poor living conditions and are desperate for somewhere to live and such stress to make the payments prior to getting your loan can trigger stress, depression and even worse on some occasions.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member533252
On 31st July 18

StudentCrowd Hall Rankings


Carnegie Village #1
Carlton Hill #2
Mill Street #3
Prodigy House at Leeds City (Formerly Opal 1) #4
Royal Park Flats #5
The Plaza #6
Burley Road #7
Broadcasting Tower #8
Kirkstall Brewery #9
Woodhouse Flats #10

See full league table...

All Student Accommodation in Leeds


Join StudentCrowd, Like us on Facebook


Most helpful review

Nice place to live, but be warned payment dates are not the same as student finance payments so unless you have access to bank of mum and dad or simply rich be prepared to loose your room if you cannot pay the thousands of pounds of payments without your loan. They don’t take into account that some people are attending uni to better their and their families lives and are possibly leaving very poor living conditions and are desperate for somewhere to live and such stress to make the payments prior to getting your loan can trigger stress, depression and even worse on some occasions.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member533252
On 31st July 18

Burley Road Information

Telephone01138 870140
PostcodeLS3 1LN
Price from£114.50 per week (subject to availability)
FeaturesShort distance to unis, all inclusive, 50MB Wi-Fi, free contents insurance, free student experience programme.
Top tipResidents get a free kitchen clean every two weeks.


Q&A


Q
Is there a shower cubicle? From the photos it just looks like a wet room with no shower screen
By member433216 On 30th July 18

Hi there, we provide showers with shower curtains which keep the water from spilling, but there's no shower screens.

By CLV On 7th August 18
Q

Ask a new question about Burley Road

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Burley Road Reviews


1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 31st July 18

Nice place to live, but be warned payment dates are not the same as student finance payments so unless you have access to bank of mum and dad or simply rich be prepared to loose your room if you cannot pay the thousands of pounds of payments without your loan. They don’t take into account that some people are attending uni to better their and their families lives and are possibly leaving very poor living conditions and are desperate for somewhere to live and such stress to make the payments prior to getting your loan can trigger stress, depression and even worse on some occasions.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Burley Road
On 7th August 18

Hi there,

We’re sorry to hear you’ve had a negative experience at the Village. We strive to offer the best experience possible for our residents, and would like to discuss the issues you have raised further so we can look into what may have happened here. Please contact us at communications@clvuk.com.


1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 4th May 18

Love living here! Refurbished rooms are amazing and my flatmates are so nice. 10 minutes walk to Uni and Tesco down the road.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Burley Road
On 17th September 18

Hi there, thank you so much for your great review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Burley Road! We are proud of our facilities and rooms and the location of the property is really convenient! Burley Road is only a 15-minute walk from the University of Leeds and 20 minutes from Leeds Beckett.


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 4th May 18

I stayed here this year and I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Always clean. Staff are extremely friendly. Especially Adam, he cannot do enough for you. 5 stars from me

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Burley Road
On 17th September 18

Thank you so much for your great feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Burley Road. We have passed on your feedback to the management team. They will be pleased to hear that you appreciated their service.


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 15th February 18

Nice little room with ensuite, newly refurbished. However, the staff there are awful, always making you feel uncomfortable and like you should feel bad for interrupting them.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Burley Road
On 17th September 18

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are really glad you liked your room- all our studios and rooms have lovely ensuites. We are really sorry to hear that you were not happy with the onsite staff.  We strive to provide the best service possible for our tenants, so this feedback will be circulated with the team.


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 31st January 18

Staff are embarrassingly bad. Place is like old people's home. Wi-Fi is ridiculous. Location is good

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Burley Road
On 17th September 18

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you were not satisfied with the service our staff provided. Is there anything in particular that you were not happy about? If you would like to discuss this further, please email us at communications@clvuk.com.


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 6th November 17

I have lived at Burley Road for two consecutive years within two different blocks. The room size is large and the decorations are of a high standard; i am in a refurbished room this year and the laminate floor and surfaces are so easily manageable to clean. The bed is larger this year and very comfy. The showers and warm and the Kitchen facilities are nice and tidy- especially with the fortnightly kitchen cleans! The staff on site are helpful and can assist you with any problems. With regards to the common room it has improved massively this year with the facilities it has to offer from game consoles to a Foosball table. I would recommend to any student looking for a homely environment to live in next year or in the coming years to give CLV Burley road a try as i certainly do not regret it!

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Burley Road
On 17th September 18

Hi thank you so much for your really helpful feedback. We are so(remove) happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are proud of our rooms and facilities and it is wonderful to know that you appreciated the free fortnightly kitchen cleans and our equipped social lounge. Our management team will be delighted to know that you were happy with the service they provided. Thanks again!


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 4th November 17

This is my second year staying at Burley road and, having issues with my Loan I have received great help from the team. Sometimes people can be noisy but what students aren't? 20 minute walk to city campus isn't terrible and I have enjoyed my stay here! understandably the rent can be high, but compared to other accommodation not unreasonable. however maintenance issues are quickly seen to and the staff are friendly. I'm staying in one of the newly refurbished blocks which is comfy, bright and modern.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 19th October 17

I have cancelled the booking and have been waiting for the refund of my deposit for more than a month also they kept taking rent from me, which should not be happening. I found out that I forgot to put in my bank details until I went to Burley Road few days ago for refund application. But no one has ever told me anything about that. If you noticed that the refund did not proceed to a customer, I believe that they should have the responsibility to inform me about the issue, but not until I ask them myself, not just keep the money themselves.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 21st December 16

Overly expensive. Horrible. Needs decorating. Cracked bathroom tiles. Patchy wall paint. Dents in the wall.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 15th November 16

The room is of average size but had mould in the shower, paint stains on the curtains and a water stain on the chair on arrival. The kitchen and communal living room area are badly furnished; we were supposed to have chopping boards and a mop/bucket but have never received these, and the sofas are very uncomfortable. The smoking areas are inconveniently places right outside the exits from each block, so non-smokers are hit with a cloud of cig smoke every time they leave their block. There is no gym/cinema area/games room like there is at Marsden house(right next to Student Village) and the only parking available for guests of residents is an overpriced car park. Many of my neighbours at student village are loud and inconsiderate of others, I have been woken up at 4am or later on many occasions because of loud music. Overpriced at £125 a week, if I had viewed a room in person instead of judging LSV from its online photos of rooms I would not have chosen this accommodation.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 26th September 16

Disappointing that the rent in Leeds student village is exactly the same as Marsden (next to LSV) and they have an extended range of great facilities like a gym, study areas, independent study areas and a lot more social spaces and events within the halls. LSV had limited facilities just a social space attached to the laundry room where there needed to be more space and also more social events. The rooms were clean and no massive problems with our flat and any maintenance was was completed quickly. The security was also good. Our flat had a problem when leaving as their inspection tried to blame us for a mark on the kitchen table that was so tiny we felt it was not worth checking upon arrival last September , especially as we had bigger problems such as a broken hob, broken toaster and old uncomfortable sofa chairs. We had to send a number of emails before they decided to pass the deposit charge for the table. Overall not the best accommodation Leeds Beckett has to offer.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 4th July 16

A LOT of money for what you get. The decoration of the rooms and the furniture feels like it's 20 years out of date. Much better accommodation out there.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 2nd June 16

Shabby accommodation, very basic. Very noisy. Also, if you want your deposit back, I wouldn't choose here. when leaving the accommodation, one member of staff came and checked our flat and said that it was in good condition-no damage to anything. A day later a different member of staff decided that the table was broken due to a tiny scratch on the surface! Which was there when we arrived!! So we have to pay for a brand new table! Ridiculous! On arrival the chairs were all stained. The kitchen sink dripped, which is has continued to do all year round. Also a cupboard door was hanging off Which we had to hassle the staff to fix. The staff working at LSV are also lazy, they don't seem to understand how to answer a phone. I have been ringing for about a week to sort this issue. They claim that has 'broken' too. Overall I would say the LSV is livable, and if you are accustomed to loud noise until 3 in the morning, then it is most definitely the place for you!

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 12th May 16

Nothing here apart from a tiny room and a ping pong table, way too over priced

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 10th May 16

Good location, quite pricey for small rooms

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 13th November 15

Very nice halls. Quite expensive. Overall good but the WiFi is utter balls

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 26th September 15

Good experience for social life but maintenance wasn't great

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 27th March 15

Like living in an office block but so many people around, great for nights out.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 18th March 15

Too expensive for basic accomodation and rubbish service. Everything breaks and nothing gets fixed for ages.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Considering Burley Road?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to vote, comment, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.