How do you rate Athena Hall?

credit: https://freshstudentliving.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/AthenaHall_Ipswich-Copy-Rights-to-UCS-Included-Copyright-info-1024x768.jpg
 image credit  |   report abuse
https://freshstudentliving.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/AthenaHall_Ipswich-Copy-Rights-to-UCS-Included-Copyright-info-1024x768.jpg

Most helpful review

For all the problems I've caused throughout the years I cant fault Debra for being caring and passionate about looking after us and providing everyone with a safe home while at university. My mental heath is not the best and she helped me through growing up (to a point). I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By Oliver NI
On 20th August 20

Ipswich Hall Rankings


Athena Hall #1
AXO Suffolk #2

All Student Accommodation in Ipswich


Most helpful review

For all the problems I've caused throughout the years I cant fault Debra for being caring and passionate about looking after us and providing everyone with a safe home while at university. My mental heath is not the best and she helped me through growing up (to a point). I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By Oliver NI
On 20th August 20

Athena Hall

FeaturesBike Storage, Onsite Manager, Daytime Only
PostcodeIP3 0FR
Price from £125.19 per week (subject to availability)

Secure the lowest price from our booking partner
£125.19 per week
(subject to availability)

Need help moving in? Door to door luggage and box delivery
From just £20

Q&A


Q
I've applied for a studio, can you advise whether cleaning is included? xx
By member1351463 On 8th October 20
Q
What date do students generally move into halls, planning ahead for next year to take annual leave?
By member1334040 On 8th October 18
Hello and thank you for your question. We find some students like to move in at varying times before course dates start. It all depends on the students requirements and needs. Kind Regards Athena Hall - Admin Team 
By Athena Hall On 24th October 19
Q

Ask a new question about Athena Hall

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Athena Hall Reviews


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 20th August 20

For all the problems I've caused throughout the years I cant fault Debra for being caring and passionate about looking after us and providing everyone with a safe home while at university. My mental heath is not the best and she helped me through growing up (to a point). I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Athena Hall
On 21st August 20

Hello!

 

Thank you for your review, We will make sure this is passed to the team.

 

We wish you luck for the future

 

Kind regards

 

Then Accommodation Team

Athena Hall


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 12th August 20

The photos they post online are a scam. Most ovens don’t have any stickers on. All the kitchen stools are broken. Curtains have suspicious stains on. No plugs in the sinks. The fridges are damaged. Mattresses are ripped and paper thin. Walls are stained and dirty. The showers are disgusting and mouldy. Same with the sinks. Water is never hot enough. One maintenance guy for the entire building, so nothing gets fixed. The common room is barely ever used because there’s nothing to do and rarely any events. The flats are dark and dingy. They don’t clean it before you arrive (and if they do, they do a shoddy job). It’s always too hot, or freezing cold. Overall, really poor student housing.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Athena Hall
On 12th August 20

Hello

 

Thank you for your review.

 

If you could contact me direct I would like to know more about your time here so we can better this experience for future students.

 

As you have not left no contact details I cannot contact you direct about this review, but my team and myself would happily talk through anything you have to say.

 

Kind regards

 

Daniel Boyd

Assistant Accommodation Manager

Athena Hall


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 30th July 20

Excellent service from the team! Over the past few months the team have managed to withstand the stupidity of self initialed people who think it's great to knock down the staff as they don't get their own way! Would recommend this accommodation to anyone who wants to live in a friendly and welcoming place! Debra and Daniel work hard and to slate them on other platforms is totally unnecessary! Good work guys and look forward to seeing you soon

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Athena Hall
On 31st July 20

Hello

 

Thank you for your review, the team and myself thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in September.

 

Kind regards

 

Daniel Boyd

Assistant Accommodation Manager

Athena Hall


1
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 24th July 20

Slow staff, slow internet, slow to act, slow to inform. Far from anything good, please commute if you can.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Athena Hall
On 27th July 20

Hello

 

Thank you for your review.

 

If you could contact me direct I would like to know more about your time here so we can better this experience for future students.

 

As you have not left no contact details I cannot contact you direct about this review, but my team and myself would happily talk through anything you have to say.

 

Kind regards

 

Daniel Boyd

Assistant Accommodation Manager

Athena Hall


1
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 24th July 20

This is an absolutely horrible place to live. Filthy in both my room when I first moved in as well as in communal spaces. Awful environment. Would not recommend.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Athena Hall
On 27th July 20

Hello

 

Thank you for your review.

 

If you could contact me direct I would like to know more about your time here so we can better this experience for future students.

 

As you have not left no contact details I cannot contact you direct about this review, but my team and myself would happily talk through anything you have to say.

 

Kind regards

 

Daniel Boyd

Assistant Accommodation Manager

Athena Hall


1
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 24th July 20

Absolutely shocking. The deposit given at the start of the year is NOT spent on fixing anything. They keep it for themselves and leave damages that don’t need immediate fixing. Rooms are dirty upon arrival for the new students. I found an diabetic needle in my draw and poo in my toilet. My friends have found much worse. I had a flood on my first night in first year as someone left the tap on upstairs. The rooms flood so easy. All my clothes were damaged and a pair of headphones. They tried to replace my Apple headphones for cheap ones. I wasn’t having it. They replace my damp laminate flooring with flooring that was a lighter colour and the shapes didn’t match. I had a patchy floor for the whole year. My friends have had much worse experiences. The landlord during covid is forcing us to pay 25% of rent even though none of us were living there at the time. They don’t care about our wellbeing You’re better off going to Spring Court round the corner.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Athena Hall
On 27th July 20

Hello

I hope you are staying safe and you and your family are all ok.

 

Thank you for taking the time to make this review, I understand your frustrations and if you would like to talk to us direct we can go over your concerns. We operate an open door policy and we always encourage students to come speak to us direct to speak about any issues they are having, so we would happily talk about the issues you have raised. 

 

Kind regards

 

Daniel Boyd

Assistant Accommodation Manager

Athena Hall


0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 14th July 20

Extremely overpriced, absolutely useless Management - particularly Debra, lack of social spaces, slow internet and they barely ever fix maintenance issues. AVOID at all costs

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Athena Hall
On 15th July 20

Hello 

Thank you for your review.

We would like to talk to you about the issues you have rasied, if you would like to talk about these please call the main office on 01473 221526. 

Kind regards

Daniel Boyd

Assistant Accommodation Manager


0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 5th December 19

I would not recommend this place. The amount we pay should mean that maintenance issues should not be a regular occurrence. This is not the case. And when maintenance issues are reported, they take a while to fix and sometimes don’t even fix them.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 29th November 19

Expect for the fire alarms this place does what it says on the tin! Daniel in the office makes you laugh with his emails but he means well! Overall happy here and the other students are friendly! The location is perfectly close to everything I need.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 21st November 19

Untidy environment, too loud, and most neighbors are not considerate of others. Pricing is ridiculously high and not worth the money for the 10 minutes of hot water in the studio flats.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 18th November 19

There is very little student-friendly accommodation in Ipswich that has bills included, is close to the uni and to the town; for less than the cost of Athena Hall. It is not bad for the price, but it could be a lot better. Overall rating 3/5.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 17th November 19

Most of the issues arise when management leave at 6, feels like the night staff/security do not do their job properly (doors are broken, broken glass on courtyard etc)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 16th November 19

Found a used condom wrapper behind my bed when I moved in.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 16th November 19

In general the place is quiet good but there's are other student accommodation that is better value for money in the local vicinity

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 16th November 19

The best thing about it is the location. All the rest are so bad and frustrating that make you want to move out right from the first day. I wouldn't even recommend it to my worst enemies. The staff treated me with disrespect on multiple occasions and the room was really dirty when I received it. Also, water infiltrated into my room through the walls when it rained for a small period of time and destroyed a lot of my work and materials which were worth a lot of money. Even in this situation, the staff treated me like they weren't responsible and it was such a big thing for them to resolve. They moved me temporarily in another dirty room, much smaller than mine and I have to go through the pain to talk to the insurance and wait god knows how much to claim the compensation.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 16th November 19

More modern than most. friendly staff in reception. great kitchen/living areas great maintenance could improve on cleaning external areas more regularly must improve online portal

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 15th November 19

Great location to uni but it’s far too expensive! The courtyard is a mess. Sometimes cannot collect parcels from reception in the day!

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 15th November 19

Poor security, a homeless person got into the halls. staff are cold and have been known to withhold mail from people they do not like. Washing facilities are too expensive. Internet is slow. Drugs are a problem. Getting out of tenancy is difficult. Mental health a moral are poor across athena hall. Manager refuses to engaged with the uni and su. Room prices are too expensive, silver room prices are pointless as they are only one floorboards wider than bronze. Overall a poor experience and poor value for money

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 15th November 19

If the laundry would take cards as it is at other universities, that would be great

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 15th November 19

Maintenance is too slow in fixing issues. Laundry is extortionate and complaints are not responded to.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 15th November 19

Halls are okay, however marks on the walls and missing paint was not painted over before moving in. Very view appliances were provided (not kettle, toaster, bin). However staff are very friendly and helpful. It is also close to campus

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 15th November 19

Not great. Noisy neighbors and nothing is done about it. A lot of money for a s***** broken room. Just commute or get student housing elsewhere

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 15th November 19

Friendly staff, ideal location with a 10 minute walk into town centre

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 15th November 19

Don't rely too heavily on the photos online because upon arrival you'll be disappointed. It does the job, but isn't worth the money in my opinion. Very convenient. Fire alarm goes off a lot. Staff are nice, just think it could do with a bit of upkeep (particularly with the kitchen appliance, painting and floor)

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 15th November 19

Wouldn't choose to live here... But here I am.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 15th November 19

Rude and obnoxious staff. Way too expensive rent for what the rooms are like. Cleaning people are shocking, had to deep clean the kitchen when I moved back in cause it hadn't been done...

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 15th November 19

Doesn’t take parcels on weekend but didn’t say when they changed. Very expensive considering washing and tumble dryer isn’t included and the machines only take cash only. Security spend the whole time on their phones watching Netflix. They let random people into the building and they were banging on the doors in the middle of the night

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 15th November 19

Is a very nice place to live for university bit pricy but that's expected for student living. The day staff and very nice and friendly never spoke to night staff so can't comment on them. There are little problems with this place but doesn't get in the way of living here. If you're going to live here definitely try get a gold suite room the extra space is worth it.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 15th November 19

No cleaners available but great location and nice rooms. Some small issues with cleanliness when I first moved in but nothing major. My personal experience has been positive but I know others have had issues.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 10th November 19

I recently moved in but wish I hadnt - the room was filthy, and it's too expensive. There isn't 24 hour security as they claim either. Had so many maintenance issues but had problems trying to get them fixed - freezer was broken when I moved in but staff said that it was my responsibility to fix it despite fact that I hadn't broken it in the first place. Took a month before they finally decided to look at it even then I was still left to fix it. Continuous fire alarms which is extremely annoying. Also had problems with the electrics keep tripping. Do not recommend staying here.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Athena Hall
On 15th November 19

Hello we are sorry that you have had a bad start to your stay with us at Athena Hall.

If you can come see us in the office we can address your issues raised.

We are in the office all day till 6pm then security take over till we arrive back in site so please come see us anytime!

Kind Regards

Accommodation Team


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 7th October 18

it’s a student accommodation but security moan and have ago on a weekend. Find that hard to understand at student accommodation at university.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Athena Hall
On 24th October 19

Thank you  for your feedback, we will take this information and speak to our security team and address this.

If you have any issues the office team are in Monday to Friday 08:00 - 18:00 please pop along and speak to us so we can help quickly. 

Kind Regards

Athena Hall Admin Team


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 8th February 18

It's great for making friends because you share the kitchen and living spaces, but you also get your own space and bathroom.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Athena Hall
On 24th October 19

Thank you for your feedback! It is greatly Appreciated!

Kind Regards

Athena Hall - Admin Team


0
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 27th January 18

The building itself is nothing spectacular, there is no ventilation residents are expected to live in rooms with no open windows throughout the year, rooms are barely even breathable in the summer, staff are extremely rude, miserable and unhelpful. The prices are extremely high, considering this is probably the worst accommodation in the Fresh Student Living company.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 21st November 17

I lived in Athena Hall for two years and it was my first time living away from my parents. The move in day was full of issues about an initial payment, and the issues only grew from then on. I had issues regarding fire alarms going off at 2am, not once or twice, but at least once a week. These issues were not resolved in my two years there. Issues regarding ventilation in the rooms was a huge one - you could barely breathe over summer in the flats as there was absolutely no way you would get fresh air through windows which open 2 inches wide. Along with these issues were issues with security who did nothing about rowdiness from people who didn't even live there in the car park who would harass residents, issues with other residents were also not resolved in an appropriate manner. Magnetic locks on doors did not work meaning anyone could walk in, and so long as you paid highly overpriced rent on time, the management did nothing. I would not recommend this accommodation to anyone.

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 10th October 17

Lovely accommodation, it's a shame some of the staff can't be bothered to Sort out some of the issues I've had that weren't my own fault. Usually takes weeks for them to sort it

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 17th December 16

modern, everything works, good staff, locations brilliant. very expensive

Value for money
Location
Property management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Considering Athena Hall?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to vote, comment, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.