3.42 / 5

How do you rate Winton Halls?

credit: http://aub.ac.uk/plan-visit-apply/accommodation/halls-residence/winton-halls/
 image credit  |   report abuse
http://aub.ac.uk/plan-visit-apply/accommodation/halls-residence/winton-halls/

Most helpful review

Wow.. I don't know if some of these reviews were in the same building but I guess haters gotta hate! I had a great time here - short walk to Uni, good shops nearby for stocking up the fridge and when my window handle got stuck I just reported it online and they fixed it the next day. Good times... :)

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By Ed!
On 11th December 18

StudentCrowd Hall Rankings


Madeira Road #1
Winton Halls #2
George Close #3

See full league table...

All Student Accommodation in Poole


Join StudentCrowd, Like us on Facebook


Most helpful review

Wow.. I don't know if some of these reviews were in the same building but I guess haters gotta hate! I had a great time here - short walk to Uni, good shops nearby for stocking up the fridge and when my window handle got stuck I just reported it online and they fixed it the next day. Good times... :)

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By Ed!
On 11th December 18

Winton Halls Information

Price from£115.00 per week (subject to availability)
CateringSelf-catered
CampusOff Campus
PostcodeBH9 2AH

Q&A


Q

Ask a new question about Winton Halls

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Winton Halls Reviews


1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 12th December 18

I made some great friends for life here and enjoyed treating myself to a HUGE dessert in Spinkles downstairs on rainy winter days. I loved having my own bathroom - now I'm working I'm sharing a flat and miss having my own space when I need me time.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 11th December 18

Wow.. I don't know if some of these reviews were in the same building but I guess haters gotta hate! I had a great time here - short walk to Uni, good shops nearby for stocking up the fridge and when my window handle got stuck I just reported it online and they fixed it the next day. Good times... :)

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 11th December 18

Wow.. I don't know if some of these reviews were in the same building but I guess haters gotta hate! I had a great time here - short walk to Uni, good shops nearby for stocking up the fridge and when my window handle got stuck I just reported it online and they fixed it the next day. Good times... :)

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 7th December 18

Just booked my room for next year and really excited to hear they're planning to face lift most rooms and provide a common room and furnished garden area, brilliant.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 7th December 18

Just booked my room for next year and really excited to hear they're planning to face lift most rooms and provide a common room and furnished garden area, brilliant.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 29th November 18

Good value for money and clean environment and friendly staff / management,

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 8th June 17

The only reason I stayed at these halls is cause I got a double bed.. but it was so not worth it man These halls are so bad. Our chairs were torn, walls were chipped, carpet was stained, the mop was broken and the vacuum cleaner was broken (throughout the year). My shower has been broken from the beginning of the year, the walls are so thin (you can literally hear everything) and one time water from my flatmates shower went into my other flatmates bedroom and all her stuff was soaked. The launderette downstairs is possibly the most expensive laundry place in the country. It's a 20 minute walk from uni which is amazing but then it's a half hour bus ride to everywhere else that's worth going. You can't receive mail in the evening or over the weekend. There's no overnight security and the main door breaks every once in a while. It's also hot as hell inside (especially on 3rd floor cause 'hot air rises'). Wifi is horrible. Just go to Madeira or get a house bruh

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Winton Halls
On 12th December 18

I'm sorry to hear your experience in 2016/17 was not as good as we would have liked it to be. You may be interested to know that in our 2018 Student Experience Survey 94.1% of residents "would recommend Winton Halls to a friend coming to study in Bournemouth". Any problems in rooms can be reported by phone, in person or through our online portal and are promptly dealt with and followed up with a feedback survey - 94.7% of respondents say the "time taken for a solution" was Good or OK.


-2
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 3rd October 16

There are some major problems with this building. First of all the management are a bunch of thieves. They don't give a damn about your complaints and in the end of your tenancy they will ROB you. When you first enter the halls make sure to take CLEAR pictures of: ALL the carpets All the utilities the mattress the shower doors (very important. they charge everyone for the salt on the doors when they give it to you in a bad condition from the start) and aaaany minor defect you see. Trust me, they are thieves. the Internet is bad, the communal areas are next to none and all that would be fine if the halls were cheap but they are waaaay too expensive for what they are.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Winton Halls
On 12th December 18

I'm sorry to hear your experience in 2016/17 was not as good as we would have liked it to be. You may be interested to know that in our 2018 Student Experience Survey 94.1% of residents "would recommend Winton Halls to a friend coming to study in Bournemouth".

From your comments it seems you were dissatisfied with the handling of your deposit. From 2019 Winton Halls will be managed directly by ASN Capital, but during your stay deposits were handled by Arts University Bournemouth - I am sure they will have advised you of their very thorough dispute and complaints process, but obviously we cannot speak for their handling of your case.


1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 3rd November 15

Halls are close to university but far enough away that you can get to know the local area. In a good location for personal needs with shops and food places close.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 9th July 15

It was quite nice, quite, spacious and lovely.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 4th July 15

Although a distance from the university, it provides an amazing 'halls experience'. The rooms now have double beds which is a major perk!

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

-1
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 26th March 15

I hated my stay there with every fiber of my being. While I still made some great friends and had a good time there, the services offered by the university were disturbingly lacking.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Winton Halls
On 12th December 18

I'm sorry to hear your experience in 2014/15 was not as good as we would have liked it to be. You may be interested to know that in our 2018 Student Experience Survey 94.1% of residents "would recommend Winton Halls to a friend coming to study in Bournemouth".


1
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 26th March 15

Halls are falling apart, no common room and I hardly see anyone that live in halls. A new sprinkles opened downstairs and it's always loud and my flat smells like sugar all the time. There have been things complained about at the beginning of year in September that still haven't be fixed in March. Management doesn't seem to listen to what there is to be said, and the halls aren't clean. Such a shame how they've neglected it when the location is this good.

Value for Money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Common room / Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Winton Halls
On 12th December 18

I'm sorry to hear your experience in 2014/15 was not as good as we would have liked it to be. You may be interested to know that in our 2018 Student Experience Survey 94.1% of residents said they "would recommend Winton Halls to a friend coming to study in Bournemouth". Any problems in rooms can be reported by phone, in person or through our online portal and are promptly dealt with and followed up with a feedback survey - 94.7% of respondents say the "time taken for a solution" was Good or OK.


Considering Winton Halls?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to vote, comment, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.