4.05 / 5

Sheffield 2 Reviews

40 Reviews by Students

How do you rate Sheffield 2?

credit: Student Roost
 image credit  |   report abuse
Student Roost

Most helpful review

There is always a friendly face at reception desk to help us out . They Keep organising tea party and quiz night with free pizza . They try and address any issues regarding maintenance as soon as possible... over all i will give the place 4/5 ...,

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member543669
On 15th November 19

StudentCrowd Hall Rankings


Hannah Court #1
Gatecrasher Apartments #2
Bailey Fields #3
Carrysbrook Court #4
Stephenson Hall #5
Yarncliffe Apartments #6
Stanage Apartments #7
Laddow Studios #8
Millstone Apartments #9
Rivelin Apartments #10

See full league table...

All Student Accommodation in Sheffield


Join StudentCrowd, Like us on Facebook


Most helpful review

There is always a friendly face at reception desk to help us out . They Keep organising tea party and quiz night with free pizza . They try and address any issues regarding maintenance as soon as possible... over all i will give the place 4/5 ...,

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member543669
On 15th November 19

Sheffield 2 Information

Telephone0114 349 0710
PostcodeS3 7BY
Price from £115.00 per week (subject to availability)
FeaturesFully Furnished, Electricity, Intrusion Alarm
Top tipDid you know you can earn £150 Amazon voucher for every friend you refer to stay with Student Roost?


Q&A


Q
Hi, i would like to see more about sheffield 2 room types, where can i see this? And do you have 360 virtual tour? Thanks
By member539361 On 14th June 19
Q
is this catered accommodation?
By member933664 On 28th August 18
Reply from StudentCrowd
On 29th August 18
Hi there, Sheffield 2 is made up of 8 houses which are all self-catered. Each house has fully-equipped kitchens. I hope this helps! Lucie
Q
How much cost a Studio Flat please?
By member1032403 On 15th June 18
Q
I cannot find this hall on the Sheffield Hallam halls website. Does it have another name?
By member1029519 On 2nd January 18
Q

Ask a new question about Sheffield 2

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read Sheffield 2 Reviews


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 18th November 19

I’m first year at uni and I booked a room in halls, there were plumbing issues and Student roost team were very helpful, moved me to a new place down the road and everything is great, haven’t had any issues since. The maintenance team sorts out anything that’s needed - mattresses, kitchen appliances. Overall I’m very happy with my place and having a great experience.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 16th November 19

The location of sheffield 2 is so good. Around 5 min from the diamond, north campus and mappin building. The maintenance team is quite good and are keen to fix any issues. The 24 hr reception is really great especially in terms of the parcel collection. Tesco is like 2 min away. The tram stop is 7 min away and the city centre is 10 min away walking distance.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 15th November 19

The team is really friendly and helping.. everything is managed in a professional way!!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Sheffield 2
On 18th November 19

Its lovely to hear that you are enjoying your stay with us! 


4
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 15th November 19

There is always a friendly face at reception desk to help us out . They Keep organising tea party and quiz night with free pizza . They try and address any issues regarding maintenance as soon as possible... over all i will give the place 4/5 ...,

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Sheffield 2
On 18th November 19

Thankyou so much for the kind review, we are so happy to see that you are enjoying our social calendar! 


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 15th November 19

Close to the uni. Kitchen cleans would have been great but they no longer offer. Love the study room.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Sheffield 2
On 15th November 19

Thankyou for the review, glad you like the facilities and location! 


-4
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 10th November 19

unfortunately the (new) good reviews on this accommodation are obviously and clearly fake (most likely written by staff). you should trust all the low reviews. it’s a horrible experience with terrible service and no hygiene and cleaning (even though you’re promised a clean area before you move in, you’ll move in to find filth everywhere and then you’ll have to clean it yourself because they’ll never come). their contract is rubbish and misleading and false. spend your money wisely and live in a better place nearby, since the only good thing about this place is the location. receptionists and maintenance team are nice sometimes but at what cost

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Sheffield 2
On 15th November 19

Hi, We are sorry you feel like this, could you please contact us at Reception so we can discuss this with you further. Sheffield 2 Management team. 


-2
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 9th November 19

Receptionists are rude, especially to international students. Whenever I have a complaint about the state of my room, they don't come unless you call/pop down the reception atleast 3 times. Used to be affordable with £99/week, considering the state of the rooms& kitchens and service from receptionists, this was worth it. Common room is horrible and too stuffy, layout is bad, whenever there's events, there's no places to sit.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Sheffield 2
On 15th November 19

Hello, Could you please contact reception so we can discuss this further with you. Many thanks 


-2
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 9th November 19

I live in solly house, I am still getting used to it, it has its benefits but it was not what I expected. The photos on the webpage are completely different. The houses are really old, but the kitchen has just been renovated. I am happy about the laundry in solly house, since it is free. But whenever I have a problem I have to tell them at least 3 times for them to fix it, you have to insist a lot, which is really annoying. Also my contract said it included cleaning, but apparently they are not doing this anymore. It is not that bad but I definitely wouldn´t stay for another year.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Sheffield 2
On 15th November 19

Hi, Thankyou for the review. Were glad to see you are enjoying the benefits of the free laundry facility! If you have any outstanding maintenance issues please let us know at Reception so we can sort this for you. Thanks, Sheffield 2. 


-2
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 9th November 19

Worst managed student accommodation ever. The management team is extremely incompetent at solving issues. My flatmates and I were promised early bird discounts and we are still yet to receive them. Although we have been making complaints on this matter since the day we moved in, our issue was never settled, which is making us feel like we have been cheated. My flatmates and I were allocated to different flats when we especially asked to stay together when we applied for the accommodation. We had to argue with the management to settle this issue because their incompetent hands messed up the applications. The laundry room is also disappointing. The machines only accept cash with no change given. They even charge you a lot more than machines at other accommodations which allow you to use a convenient laundry card. The dryers are so hot they literally burn your clothing, sometimes you can even smell some smoke! Although the wifi speed is decent, it is frequently unstable.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Sheffield 2
On 15th November 19

Hi, Could you please make contact with us at reception as I want to ensure you recieve the vouchers and discuss these issues with you further. Thankyou.  


-2
Student Review: 1 /5
By On 9th November 19

The maintenance team is completely rubbish. My fob didn't work for 3 weeks, and I had to keep my room door unlocked during this period. Plus, we all have experienced no hot water for more than a week and there was no compensation. Water has been leaking from shower and windows since I moved in, and it has never been fixed. Finally, the water leaking problem causes a big patch of mould and the maintenance refused to fix. After I reported for couple times, the maintenance team came and just broke the wall and left a hole on the wall.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Sheffield 2
On 15th November 19

Hello, we have tried to contact you a number of times. Could you please make contact with us at Reception as we would like to discuss this with you. Thankyou, Sheffield 2 Management team. 


-3
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 9th November 19

My whole experience with Sheffield 2 has been awful from the start. On moving day we realised the flat didn’t have the finish we were assured it would and had not been cleaned since the last tenant with filth everywhere, in fact on moving day the maintenance team told myself and my mother details of the previous tenants sex life which did not go down well. We’ve had non stop issues with mould and no maintenance work being carried out and so many issues I can’t even go into detail because this would be pages long. The reception staff can be very rude when you ask for basic maintenance to be taken out and it takes up to two months. The manager is about the only person who genuinely wants to make your time there a good stay and the only member of staff I can’t actually fault

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Sheffield 2
On 15th November 19

Hi, I understand these issues should have been resolved for you now. However, if there are any issues still outstanding please let us know so we can sort this for you. 


-1
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 9th November 19

The location is near the university, which is quite convenient. However, we are not served for cleaning once two weeks and the wifi equipment is always unconnected.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Sheffield 2
On 15th November 19

Hello, We love our location too! If you are experiencing issues with the wifi, please let us know at reception so we can contact the broadband provider for you. Many thanks.  


-2
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 9th November 19

Terrible choice. The management unable to solve any problems, giving fake promises. Maintenance team is straight on rude.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Sheffield 2
On 15th November 19

Hi

I would really like to have the opportunity to speak to you regarding this, could you please make contact with us at Reception. Many thanks 


2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 24th January 19

Amazing place to live, 2 minute walk to the university. Tesco within the building.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from Sheffield 2
On 15th November 19

Thankyou for the lovely review! Glad to hear you like the facilities and location. 


-2
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 1st August 18

The reception is totally irresponsible, they do not solve problems for students. Simply by telling us to contact the company circuit ourselves to fix the washing machines while they are sitting around and chatting with others!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 26th December 17

Great halls, good value for money and a decent size.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 3rd September 17

All the staff who work here are friendly and helpful. Security are always quick to come if you lock yourselves out and most faults are dealt with quickly (although this is not always the case unfortunately). There are two common rooms and they are in good condition. The office can accept deliveries for you. The location is great and central. It's not perfect, some of the appliances are old and don't always work very well but overall I would recommend Sheffield 2.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 26th July 17

Brilliant are brilliant. The location is ideal

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 25th July 17

Good price, excellent location! - Very close to the university/library. Superb!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 6th July 17

Great accommodation, had the time of my life

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

3
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 28th June 17

Good price, excellent location! - Very close to the university/library, also close to a Tesco Express which is incredibly convenient! Also great social events have been held, variation of rooms so you're bound to find a room/flat type to suit you. :) Would definitely stay here again given the opportunity!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 28th June 17

Solly House - I stayed there for a few years whilst I was at The University of Sheffield - great location, great price, big rooms and a great service by the on site management team! Highly recommended.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 24th June 17

Great location, great staff, everything kept in good order. Top jokes had by all

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

2
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 24th June 17

Two very enthusiastic thumbs up.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 23rd June 17

Great location, loads of stuff going on. The staff are so friendly. I cant believe how cheap it is to live here

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 23rd June 17

Excellent halls, kept very clean, great vibe. Everyone is extremely helpful. Love this place.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 23rd June 17

Great place to live, so cheap compared to competitors, loads of social stuff going on and the staff are really friendly

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 23rd June 17

Look no further, this is the place to be! Great price, great location, excellent staff and service! Very close to the Sheffield University and the Sheffield Town Center and you can walk to these locations within a couple of minutes. Rooms are a good size and well presented and the location is safe and secure with 24hr staff coverage and CCTV throughout.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 5th June 17

Sheffield 2 is definitely one of the best student accommodations, at a great value. At £135pw for a one bedroom apartment, the price is significant cheaper than competitors, yet the service provided is still wonderful. The apartment is incredibly spacious , with a great layout. The service is brilliant, all faults reported are attended to ASAP, and if they require an external contractor to do the work, you will be informed regarding the delay. It was overall, a wonderful student living experience.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 5th June 17

Sheffield 2 provides all the basic needs that a student can ask for. Good location, cheaper price than most competitors, bills included, good management team. Good price overall for what it offers.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 2nd June 17

Social services is great, didn't expect it to be that way when I moved here. Heard that it wasn't this way last year so that definitely meant they considered previous suggestions and surveys. So keep it up! :)

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 2nd June 17

Sheffield 2 definitely has one of the best social lives ! Facilities are great as well!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

1
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 2nd June 17

Amazing!! Best in Sheffield I would say!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

Considering Sheffield 2?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to vote, comment, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.