3.97 / 5

New Park, Edinburgh Reviews

15 Reviews by Students

How do you rate New Park, Edinburgh?

credit: tbc
Most helpful review

Living in New Park was a good accommodation for a year-long stay for postgraduate studies. The staff was wonderful and accommodating; however, the experience is not ideal if you love your own, smaller flat space. Great for people who want a little community and modern facilities for living!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1140679
On 23rd July 19

StudentCrowd Hall Rankings


Haddington Place #1
Potterrow #2
Kitchener House #3
Turner House #4
Portsburgh Court #5
Darroch Court #6
David Horn #7
Ewing House #8
Panmure Court #9
Holland Annexe #10

See full league table...

All Student Accommodation in Edinburgh


Join StudentCrowd, Like us on Facebook


Most helpful review

Living in New Park was a good accommodation for a year-long stay for postgraduate studies. The staff was wonderful and accommodating; however, the experience is not ideal if you love your own, smaller flat space. Great for people who want a little community and modern facilities for living!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1140679
On 23rd July 19

New Park, Edinburgh Information

Telephone0151 707 4338
PostcodeEH7 5PR
Price from£187.35 per week (subject to availability)
FeaturesLaundry Facilities in Room, Communal Kitchen, Entertainment Room
Top tipBook now and save up to £750!

Q&A


Q

Ask a new question about New Park, Edinburgh

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read New Park, Edinburgh Reviews


0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 23rd July 19

Living in New Park was a good accommodation for a year-long stay for postgraduate studies. The staff was wonderful and accommodating; however, the experience is not ideal if you love your own, smaller flat space. Great for people who want a little community and modern facilities for living!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 22nd July 19

The location is a bit off the city centre, especially if your Uni is not in the central area it is a bit of a distance. Otherwise, the staff is really helpful, the halls are very clean and taken care of, with lots of room for activities, indoor parking for bikes and pools/ps4 in the common room. Overall a nice, quiet and welcoming place.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd July 19

Great staff on the front desk, really friendly and helpful. Lots of social activities on all the time. Rooms are well equipped and plenty of kitchen space.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 19th July 19

the location is the biggest weakness otherwise it's perfect, the staff are super helpful and there are many events organized by RAs.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 15th July 19

One of the best student accomodation in Edinburgh,which feels like home.Always queit and calm.Close to city and aminities and shoping centres like lidl and tesco are near just 5 min walking and many take aways are also just across the street. All the staffs including security are very friendly,helpfull and warm.24 hours site monitors and reception desk opens till 3 am which makes our delivery collection very easy and convinient. site is very clean and tidy always ,have a big common room with many social activities in most days.has got space for pool,ps4 gaming,table tennis and fuse ball games. I highly recommends anyone who is there in Edinburgh for studies and holidays too.. my overall rating 4.5/5.0 my overall rating 4.5 out of 5

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from New Park, Edinburgh
On 18th July 19

We are so glad that you enjoyed living at New Park. We believe that by offering well looked after, contemporary buildings near to University campuses and minutes away from local amenities, you can focus on what's important - your studies.


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 12th July 19

This hall is amazing. All the furniture in the rooms and common areas are new and very stylish. The common room is equipped with large TVs and can be converted for different uses like cinema, PS4 gaming or group meetings. The accommodation is located in a small park in Leith which is a little farer away from main campus than other accommodation sites but therefore close to the newest Lidl in the city and close to Loch Lomond Park and Portobello beach. There is also a very helpful, caring and lovely team on site one can ask everything. If needed repairs are done promptly. I have enjoyed my stay here in the last year with the quietness when I needed it but also plenty of events for socializing organized by the accommodation team. I have lived and seen other accommodations in Edinburgh and can say New Park is the best. I can't imagine living anywhere else.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from New Park, Edinburgh
On 15th July 19

Thank you for your review - we are so glad your enjoying your time at New Park :) 


0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 12th July 19

Very polite reception staff especially Rebecca. Thank you Rebecca. Everyone is very friendly and kind. All the staff are very helpful.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 12th July 19

I stayed here when it first opened in a flat, and again recently in a studio. I've found everything is clean, comfortable, the study area/common room is very well equipped and the staff including security are always helpful and warm. It does use circuit laundry for laundry services, this is a downside. The internet is usually fine, not the fastest but serviceable - on the advice of another resident, don't waste your time paying for the premium service, bring an internet cable instead if you need high speed internet. It is expensive. But all the utilities are included, all your mail is collected, and its located reasonably close to the University of Edinburgh, (About a 30-35 minute walk), and within 20 minutes to Princes Street. It should also be noted that compared to other similar halls, the prices are roughly the same, Edinburgh itself is expensive for students. Finally, the hall offers several social events throughout the year, many with food provided.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 12th July 19

Extremely modern with all the facilities you need, including social, work, and chill space. Kind, friendly staff make this place welcoming and homely. Plenty of social events too.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from New Park, Edinburgh
On 15th July 19

Thank you for your review - no matter how great the building and facilities are, it is the people that make a place feel like home.  


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 12th July 19

I am a postgrad student that has been resident at New Park in a shared 6 person flat for just under a year. During my time here I found the common rooms always immaculately clean and tidy with very acceptable modern decor. The room can be separated into a cinema, workspace and games room which has been great for getting work done as well as relaxing. The kitchen includes all the modern conveniences with large American style fridge; a pair of quality ovens and halogen hobs. The front desk is manned until 4am, so help has always been at hand in case of any problems. Packages can be signed for by the reception too, which has been so convenient for any deliveries. I have found the staff helpful and most importantly very convivial; always happy to take time out of their day for a chat and a catch up. I have been made to feel very at home here which is most important when moving to a new city for the first time. There is no denying, though, that it is not the cheapest housing out there.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 12th July 19

Excellent! Modern building, very central but quiet, state-of-the art fascilities, very friendly staff

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from New Park, Edinburgh
On 12th July 19

We are so glad you enjoyed living at New Park. 


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 12th July 19

I have lived in a studio here two years now and am very happy with the spaciousness of my flat, the amenities available to me, and the friendly and welcoming staff.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 30th June 18

Worst place I've ever stayed. All fittings were super cheap and broke regularly, including door locks. Internet dropped out a lot. Many flats leaked when it rained and as they used an external company for there washing machines when there was a problem they could do anything about it.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from New Park, Edinburgh
On 9th October 18

Hi there, we are really sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your time in New Park. We will circulate this feedback because keeping the building to a high standard is very important to us. Did you report any of the issues you had? 


Considering New Park, Edinburgh?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to vote, comment, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.