4.27 / 5

New Park, Edinburgh Reviews

37 Reviews by Students

How do you rate New Park, Edinburgh?

credit: tbc
Most helpful review

New, fresh accommodation well-placed in the centre of Edinburgh. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff who make an effort to organise social activities. For me, the main negative being that the ventilation in the rooms could be better.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1140954
On 31st July 19

StudentCrowd Hall Rankings


Potterrow #1
Kitchener House #2
Turner House #3
Portsburgh Court #4
Lady Nicolson Court #5
New Park, Edinburgh #6
Darroch Court #7
David Horn #8
Ewing House #9
Holland Annexe #10

See full league table...

All Student Accommodation in Edinburgh


Join StudentCrowd, Like us on Facebook


Most helpful review

New, fresh accommodation well-placed in the centre of Edinburgh. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff who make an effort to organise social activities. For me, the main negative being that the ventilation in the rooms could be better.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
By member1140954
On 31st July 19

New Park, Edinburgh Information

Telephone0151 707 4338
PostcodeEH7 5PR
Price from £172.57 per week (subject to availability)
FeaturesLaundry Facilities in Room, Communal Kitchen, Entertainment Room
Top tipSpend spare time unwinding with friends, play games and watching a movies in the onsite games room.


Q&A


Q

Ask a new question about New Park, Edinburgh

Step 1 of 2
Let us know who's asking...
Step 2 of 2
* We'll create your StudentCrowd account and email you when we have responses to your question.


Already a member?
Click here to login and finish submitting your question.
Login to your account
Step 2 of 2


Don't have an account?
Click here to create one!
Thanks! Your question has been received.
We'll contact you via email to let you know when your question receives replies.

Read New Park, Edinburgh Reviews


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 31st July 19

New, fresh accommodation well-placed in the centre of Edinburgh. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff who make an effort to organise social activities. For me, the main negative being that the ventilation in the rooms could be better.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 31st July 19

Have had the most brilliant time this past year at New Park. Location is very central and easy to get around. Hall Staff and management could not have been more welcoming and kind. I arrived last September after a long day of traveling from Portugal and even though there were some paperwork issues, management were very helpful and reassuring which was great. All issues have always been resolved quickly and easily at reception by Rebecca and her colleague. They were both always happy to help and being away from home this was always appreciated. The common room is always a great place to socialize and there are constant updates on events going on in the area. Looking forward to returning this coming academic year.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 31st July 19

Service and essentials are really good, especially the 24-hour reception and free printers in the common room. however, the location is not very ideal as it is quite far away from the city centre and the main campus of the university (University of Edinburgh), i.e. George Square. It cost many people extra fees for transportation every month. A shuttle bus would be appreciated under this circumstance. Also, the bi-weekly cleaning only includes the common area in the flat such as kitchens and doorways, while many of the other university accommodation located in the city centre would provide cleaning for bathrooms of ensuites as well.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 31st July 19

New park is a great place to stay for overseas students. The facilities are new and modern. I really enjoyed the wonderful events held here. The staff are all nice and super helpful as well !

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 31st July 19

Wonderful reception and help anytime with all love and happiness. I will advise anyone who will come to Edinburgh to come here, it's a great place and every good thing is supported.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 31st July 19

I stayed in New Park for one year during my master studies. The place is very modern, safe and with great facilities. The social room is one of its greatest assets, the other being its super friendly and kind staff. I would only point out that since it is a bit far from the city centre and the rooms are not so big, it could be cheaper. In overall I enjoyed my staying and I would recommend it.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 31st July 19

New Park is a beautiful modern student accommodation! The living spaces as well as shared common rooms are very nice. And as a bonus the staff are super friendly. A lot of activities are organised for students, which has its pros and cons. The one negative I would point out is that there is high access required into the living spaces, be it for maintenance, checks etc. This made me feel rather uncomfortable. Overall I have enjoyed New Park.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 31st July 19

Everthing is nice. What I like the most is the spacious room annd bathroom! It is also nice for someone who likes quiet neighborhood and still close to shopping centre!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 31st July 19

I stayed here for 1 year. Everything was perfect. I like the room because it was spacious compare to otheer places in Edinburgh. The location is perfect for someone who likes quiet place but still very strategic. Its near shopping centre too

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 31st July 19

This is my second year living in New Park (but not the last one) and I recommend it to everyone for many reasons. Two years ago I chose New Park because it was a new building with good facilities and well placed (quiet zone, many groceries around, a mall 10 min walking, not too far away to the center, close to the lively Leith Walk street...). I got everything what I expected and even more, due to the staff is highly friendly and efficient. Believe me, it is impossible that you regret of living here.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 27th July 19

Lived here for two years and thoroughly enjoyed both of them. The accommodation is stylish, modern and practical, with great facilities and regular social events. The staff could not be more helpful and with security on through the night you feel both welcomed and safe at all times. It is a fairly long but nice walk into Edinburgh city centre and a little further to University campus, but nearby bus routes and cycle storage facilities help to cut down travel time. I will cherish my time here and am sad to soon be leaving.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 27th July 19

The best student accommodation in Edinburgh. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff, stylish rooms and a great common area. There are many shops and restaurants nearby. Great bus connections to the city centre, as well as to the University of Edinburgh and Queen Margaret University. If you're looking for a place to stay while you're studying in Edinburgh, New Park is the place to be!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 27th July 19

Great experience, staying on for a second year. Very friendly and helpful staff, halls are clean and secure with good facilities.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 27th July 19

Located only about a 15 minute walk from Prince’s Street in the centre of the New Town, and about a 20-30 minute bus journey from the main campus of the University of Edinburgh, New Park is student accommodation, but not as you know it. The size, layout and furnishings of the rooms are just not what you would expect for student housing, as each flat is decorated like a hotel room, but with ample space and little features (such as a wall-mounted TV, a kettle, a toaster, your own personal radiator, and a bookshelf) to make you feel right at home. Beds are also small doubles, so a good night sleep is almost a guarantee. On site facilities are also great for when you don’t feel like studying - in the common room there is a pool, table tennis and table football table, as well as plenty of places to sit, chat, study or watch tv. Finally, staff are extremely friendly and cannot do enough to help and support you, and have made my stay a pleasure. Second year here, but won’t be my last!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from New Park, Edinburgh
On 29th July 19

Thank you for your review - we are really glad you have been enjoying living at New Park. 


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 26th July 19

First and foremost the staff are friendly, understanding and overall wonderful and simplify your stay in every way they can. It is a little pricey but the standard of the rooms, kitchens and social spaces are excellent. The location of the halls are in my opinion too far away from the campus of the University of Edinburgh. The cleaning team is very good and the halls staff always put on a host of fantastic social events and horizon-broadening activities for the people that live in New Park. Unfortunately the wi-fi questionable at the best of times and will drop off at random times every day. I purchased the £50 wi-fi upgrade from New Park, I would not recommend doing this, the wi-fi remained very bad. However overall I would heartily recommend New Park to any students studying in the Edinburgh area.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 25th July 19

A very nice place to live filled with modern and stylishly designed amenities and facilities. The experience was enhanced greatly by the delightfully friendly staff who were always available for anything needed, be it assistance or even just a friendly chat :)

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 25th July 19

New Park is a new and modern accommodation, especially the kitchen is nice and spacious and the common room has everything you could ask for. I don't mind the location, it's close to the park and quite close to the beach. Unfortunately I hear the noise in the common room very well in my room, but the security do their best to keep it quiet at night. Also, it would be helpful if we could be notified when new people move into the flat, since we share the kitchen. Overall I absolutely recommend this accommodation. The New Park Team is very friendly and they put much effort into the social events, which are always fun and great to meet new people. A big thank you especially to Rebecca!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 25th July 19

Hall management is just fantastic. Social spaces have everything you can ask for. Furnitures are at a satisfactory quality. I would definitely recommend this hall. Only downside is that it’s a bit far from the uni, but in terms of value you are getting I would still prefer staying here than the ones that are located right next to the uni.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 25th July 19

Beautiful accommodation, occasionally let down by bad WiFi. Fantastic management. Expensive but worth it overall

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 25th July 19

New Park made my year in Edinburgh. I honestly can't recommend it enough. The staff especially - the support and sense of community they gave were priceless. You won't want to leave.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 25th July 19

Thank you to the wonderful staff at New Park for everything! I have enjoyed my stay in my comfortable, lovely home!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 23rd July 19

Living in New Park was a good accommodation for a year-long stay for postgraduate studies. The staff was wonderful and accommodating; however, the experience is not ideal if you love your own, smaller flat space. Great for people who want a little community and modern facilities for living!

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 22nd July 19

The location is a bit off the city centre, especially if your Uni is not in the central area it is a bit of a distance. Otherwise, the staff is really helpful, the halls are very clean and taken care of, with lots of room for activities, indoor parking for bikes and pools/ps4 in the common room. Overall a nice, quiet and welcoming place.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 22nd July 19

Great staff on the front desk, really friendly and helpful. Lots of social activities on all the time. Rooms are well equipped and plenty of kitchen space.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 19th July 19

the location is the biggest weakness otherwise it's perfect, the staff are super helpful and there are many events organized by RAs.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 15th July 19

One of the best student accomodation in Edinburgh,which feels like home.Always queit and calm.Close to city and aminities and shoping centres like lidl and tesco are near just 5 min walking and many take aways are also just across the street. All the staffs including security are very friendly,helpfull and warm.24 hours site monitors and reception desk opens till 3 am which makes our delivery collection very easy and convinient. site is very clean and tidy always ,have a big common room with many social activities in most days.has got space for pool,ps4 gaming,table tennis and fuse ball games. I highly recommends anyone who is there in Edinburgh for studies and holidays too.. my overall rating 4.5/5.0 my overall rating 4.5 out of 5

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from New Park, Edinburgh
On 18th July 19

We are so glad that you enjoyed living at New Park. We believe that by offering well looked after, contemporary buildings near to University campuses and minutes away from local amenities, you can focus on what's important - your studies.


0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 12th July 19

This hall is amazing. All the furniture in the rooms and common areas are new and very stylish. The common room is equipped with large TVs and can be converted for different uses like cinema, PS4 gaming or group meetings. The accommodation is located in a small park in Leith which is a little farer away from main campus than other accommodation sites but therefore close to the newest Lidl in the city and close to Loch Lomond Park and Portobello beach. There is also a very helpful, caring and lovely team on site one can ask everything. If needed repairs are done promptly. I have enjoyed my stay here in the last year with the quietness when I needed it but also plenty of events for socializing organized by the accommodation team. I have lived and seen other accommodations in Edinburgh and can say New Park is the best. I can't imagine living anywhere else.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from New Park, Edinburgh
On 15th July 19

Thank you for your review - we are so glad your enjoying your time at New Park :) 


0
Student Review: 3 /5
By On 12th July 19

Very polite reception staff especially Rebecca. Thank you Rebecca. Everyone is very friendly and kind. All the staff are very helpful.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 12th July 19

I stayed here when it first opened in a flat, and again recently in a studio. I've found everything is clean, comfortable, the study area/common room is very well equipped and the staff including security are always helpful and warm. It does use circuit laundry for laundry services, this is a downside. The internet is usually fine, not the fastest but serviceable - on the advice of another resident, don't waste your time paying for the premium service, bring an internet cable instead if you need high speed internet. It is expensive. But all the utilities are included, all your mail is collected, and its located reasonably close to the University of Edinburgh, (About a 30-35 minute walk), and within 20 minutes to Princes Street. It should also be noted that compared to other similar halls, the prices are roughly the same, Edinburgh itself is expensive for students. Finally, the hall offers several social events throughout the year, many with food provided.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 12th July 19

Extremely modern with all the facilities you need, including social, work, and chill space. Kind, friendly staff make this place welcoming and homely. Plenty of social events too.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from New Park, Edinburgh
On 15th July 19

Thank you for your review - no matter how great the building and facilities are, it is the people that make a place feel like home.  


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 12th July 19

I am a postgrad student that has been resident at New Park in a shared 6 person flat for just under a year. During my time here I found the common rooms always immaculately clean and tidy with very acceptable modern decor. The room can be separated into a cinema, workspace and games room which has been great for getting work done as well as relaxing. The kitchen includes all the modern conveniences with large American style fridge; a pair of quality ovens and halogen hobs. The front desk is manned until 4am, so help has always been at hand in case of any problems. Packages can be signed for by the reception too, which has been so convenient for any deliveries. I have found the staff helpful and most importantly very convivial; always happy to take time out of their day for a chat and a catch up. I have been made to feel very at home here which is most important when moving to a new city for the first time. There is no denying, though, that it is not the cheapest housing out there.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 5 /5
By On 12th July 19

Excellent! Modern building, very central but quiet, state-of-the art fascilities, very friendly staff

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from New Park, Edinburgh
On 12th July 19

We are so glad you enjoyed living at New Park. 


0
Student Review: 4 /5
By On 12th July 19

I have lived in a studio here two years now and am very happy with the spaciousness of my flat, the amenities available to me, and the friendly and welcoming staff.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited

0
Student Review: 2 /5
By On 30th June 18

Worst place I've ever stayed. All fittings were super cheap and broke regularly, including door locks. Internet dropped out a lot. Many flats leaked when it rained and as they used an external company for there washing machines when there was a problem they could do anything about it.

Value for money
Location
Hall management
Cleaning
Social spaces
Social experience
Internet / Wifi
All reviews are the views of StudentCrowd members, not of StudentCrowd Limited
Reply from New Park, Edinburgh
On 9th October 18

Hi there, we are really sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your time in New Park. We will circulate this feedback because keeping the building to a high standard is very important to us. Did you report any of the issues you had? 


Considering New Park, Edinburgh?

We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.
We love helping people make the best decisions about University life.

Keep reading...

Join StudentCrowd for Unlimited Access, to Write Reviews and Help Students.

We'll send you an email so that you can verify your free account.

By joining you agree to our T's and C's. We're committed to protecting your privacy.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to report, vote, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.
Thanks for the feedback!
StudentCrowd is free to use, but in order to vote, comment, and leave reviews, you need to create a free account.